Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

The Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes is the perfect exercise equipment for people who prefer to do their workout at home. It gives them a complete workout and helps them to stay fit, the fun and easy way. It is requires little space which makes it apt for people who have limited space and budget. The mini stepper exerciser comes with 2 resistance band and with removable toning tubes. There is an electronic monitor attached to the Gold's gym electronic stepper, which enables you to check the time, calories burned, total steps and the number of steps taken in a minute. The exerciser helps you to tone your muscles and burns good number calories easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
59
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation90%174 out of 194reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
59
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Golds Gym Electronic Stepper

01/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've worked out in gyms for over 20 years and wanted something for home use that I could just jump on and get in a good cardio workout while watching TV or working on my computer. I’m 6’ and weigh 185lbs. This machine works great. I bought this product about 2 weeks ago and use it for 30 or 45 minutes twice a day. I try to get in 10,000 steps per day. An added bonus is you can get in a fairly good bi / tri workout using the bands if you go to failure each time.
I read reviews about the squeaking and after about a week and a half it began squeaking very loudly but the squeaks can be eliminated. It took me a while to figure out the source but it was coming from the pulley bracket that inserts into the collar on the main frame. Take the bracket out of the main frame and oil the post as well as the hole that the post fits into on the main frame and the squeak disappears. I am sure the squeak will eventually return but it's easy to remove, oil, and reinsert the post. It takes about a minute.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

gold's gym stepper

01/24/2010
By ,
jersey city nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stepper it does work i feel it in my legs.It would work much better if i used it more ,i have been lazy i admit it,but i also have a slip disc and in pain alot too.But i would recommend this stepper to anyone that wants to start working out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Works great, doesn't last long

04/28/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like some of the other reviewers here, I love love love this stepper. The construction is sturdy, the workout is terrific, and the portability is unquestionable. I love this machine so much, I've bought 3 of them in as many years. But I won't buy any more.
On the first one, the cable broke after about six months of regular use, and I realized I'd never sent in the warranty information so--too bad for me.
On the second one, I realized when I got home with my new purchase that I'd forgotten to take the receipt (a requirement for warranty registration), so when the cable broke after 4 months, too bad again.
On the third one, I finally did everything necessary to register the machine for the warranty. This time, when the cable broke after three months, I successfully sent off for a free replacement cable. That cable broke after only one month.
At $45, what do you want, right? Well, I want a stepper that doesn't break all the time. So now I'm hunting a new stepper that doesn't use a cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Wasted Calories

08/24/2011
By ,
Russell Springs, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stepper based on customer reviews, and I'm glad I did! This is such an easy workout, it doesn't take up a lot of space, and I actually have more control over my workout than I thought I would. The only bad thing I would mention is that this is definitely a woman's stepper. When I put my sneaks on my feet hang off the back by about an inch. I imagine this would be uncomfortable for someone with larger feet. The calorie counter will really make you understand what a wasted calorie is!
My recommendations for you would be to buy a good diet book to go along with this if you really want to see lose weight. When I first started I used what I call the saucer diet, which is when you use the small saucer plates to put your food on and eat only whats on the plate. I saw a difference, but when I switched to the fat smash diet I really saw a difference. Most importantly!!! give yourself time to build stamina. It doesn't take long to get used to it and really work it out! Plus, it makes your soul feel good when you do something that's good for you. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Works Perfectly

10/23/2009
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stepper is exactly what I wanted. I am able to move from room to room easily. It works you much harder than I thought it would. In 1 week I am seeing and feeling results.
Love the timer. It seems to time just my actual stepping time, which is about 10 minutes in 20 ( I am so out of shape)
You must wear good tennis shoes. The only time I thought I was falling forward was when I was wearing old tennis shoes.
I am not really using the armbands yet.
The machine is very quiet. I am very happy with this purchase. The price was wonderful, too. I believe I have seen the exact stepper under another name for $25 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+112points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

GREAT WORKOUT!

01/25/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS STEPPER! VERY STURDY & WELL BUILT, EASILY TO MOVE AROUND. I LOVE THE TIMER & CALORIE COUNTER! THIS MACHINE GIVES YOU CARDIO AND RESISTANCE AT THE SAME TIME. TO REALLY GO FASTER I LEAN FORWARD(ON A CHAIR OR TABLE) & REALLY PICK UP THE PACE, TO REALLY BURN MY GLUTES, QUADS & HAMS I GET INTO A SQUAT POSITION ON THE PEDALS & GO! IT REALLY BURNS!!! WHEN I GET OFF THE MINI-STEPPER MY LEGS FEEL TIGHT! ITS TOTALLY WORTH THE GREAT PRICE!!!!!GO FOR IT!!! CHALLENGE THOSE MUSCLES!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Gold's Gym Mini Stepper

11/16/2009
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Excellent quality. Heavy duty construction yet portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CA
Excellent Mini Stepper!
Posted 08/27/2011
This is great, sturdy, portable, exercise machine. I've seen these price much higher on other sites.
0points
Customer Avatar
El Paso, TX
Very Disappointed
Posted 06/23/2011
I've purchased two of these machines within the last 6 months and to my dissappointment they have both broken (cable freyed/snapped) same area for both, I suppose this is a good machine for someone who doesn't work out with it daily but it is not the case with me I work out daily.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Five stars!

11/15/2009
By ,
Tornado Alley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this based on the reviews. I needed something portable and affordable to use on the days it is too nasty to take a power walk.
It is easy to set up and easy to learn to use. The only thing I would change is to have the resistance adjustable. I am lightweight and it took all my weight to get the pedals down, but once I got into a flow, it gave an excellent workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+18points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Great Little Machine

11/09/2009
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister has one of these (sans the resistance tubes) and my wife fell in love with it when she tried it out... so I bought her one.
We had free weights, a tread mill, an excercise ball, blah blah blah... but none of them got used. The treadmill and free weights are too bulky, can't be moved around, are loud... the ball doesn't really give a full workout. Basically, they were all collecting dust.
This little stepper is a jolt of energy in our fitness routines... it can be moved easily from room to room, it's quiet, convenient, and easy to get started... but it packs a punch when used correctly. You get a great, low-impact workout burn from 15 or 20 minutes.
After about 3 weeks of using it, it feels really well made. It's solid and quiet, has a smooth, even pressure through its full range of motion, and it's stable (doesn't slide or tip) (although you might... see next paragraph).
It takes a few sessions to get used to it, so have a couch or a chair nearby to steady yourself. Now that I'm better at it, I've started really using the resistance tubes, and it adds a whole other facet to the workout... I like 'em.
Not only that, but we're using the treadmilll again, and I'm digging out the garage to set up the free weights again. This little guy's been true catalyst for change for us. We love it.
I wish the resistace tubes were adjustable. For working my shoulders they're perfect, and when I swing my arms against their resistance, it really gets the blood pumpin', but when I do curls, the tubes aren't extended far enough to create good resistance. Maybe I'll try gripping 5 lb mini weights as well to ramp it up.
Over all, a fabulous product. I'd recommend it to anyone, regardless of fitness level. I've never seen a better fitness solution for the price, anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

super great work out!

05/03/2010
By ,
Barto, Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little compact stepper because it really works! You WILL sweat especially if you do use the bands, it is up to you and what kind of work out you want for yourself. Wear a sweat band for sure or at least have a towel to keep by your side. If you dedicate yourself to a 15-30 minute workout you will feel so great. Watch t.v., it makes it so much easier and the time flies! It works great on bare floors. You can't beat the price and it is simple to put together. I think they should make a bigger foot size for guys as my son is 13 yrs. old and his feet are too big to fit on the smaller foot pedals or he would use it too! It is a super little machine. I think it is a good competitor for the larger machines that take up way more room and cost a lot more. A little tricky to get your footing at first but once you get the hang of it, no problem. You don't want to quit! Highly recommend, especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Read me....

03/01/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok so I just bought this stepper today based on it's reviews and I'm really hoping to get a good one when I exchange the one I just bought.
Why I like it:
It was really easy to put together.
It's small and compact.
It had my heartrate up within minutes of using.
It really hits those target areas; legs and butt.
Why I am exchanging it:
The resistance is greater on the right side in comparison to the left. No it should not be like that. When you go to the gym and see a sign on a machine that says "sorry, out of order" it's because of little problems like this.
My review may change depending on how the next one works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

LOVE IT!

01/26/2010
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for my 60th birthday and I've used it everyday and LOVE IT! I have balance issues and haven't had any problems with this sweet little machine. I actually look forward to using it, two or three times a day, while I watch TV. So far this is my favorite piece of equipement ever and I own a exercise bike and a treadmill, also lots of bands and yoga equipment. Try it, you'll like it! Lol!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Good Product; Didn't Last Long.

01/12/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I exercised every so often and wanted a small exercise equipment that doesn't take up alot of space and easy to move.
This stepper fitted the bill perfectly. I used the stepper 3x a week about 30 mins (10 mins/each interval to prevent the burning smell). Even used oil to coat the cable.
After 8 months of usage, the cable snapped today. The stepper was useful for the price. Trying to find something similar but more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Not again!

09/08/2010
By ,
NW Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the idea of the small stair-stepper. Allows me to keep the thing handy and work out in front of the TV, watching mind-numbing shows to kill the pain. Bought the cheapest thing I could find the first time, and a non-replaceable bolt, yes bolt, just snapped after a few months. I weight 170# and use it about 45 minutes a day. Bought this item as a replacement and, guess what? Today, the bolt on this one broke, also. I keep hoping not, but it certainly appears that you get what you pay for. By the way, had to spend a lot of time lubricating it from the start in order to not be diven nuts by the squeaking.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Good for very casual exercise but broke with use

02/18/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Everything about this stepper is amazing, if only the wire it uses for resistance had not broken.
When I started to use it for serious workouts (1-2hrs a day) the wire snapped. So I'd only recommend it for casual exercise of 15 minutes or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+8points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Broke quickly, customer service unsatisfactory

02/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At 170 lb I am well under the advertised 250 lb limit. But after just a few weeks of use the cable broke. The replacement cable broke after a few days and the frame began to crack. Three phone calls and an email to Impex Fitness (www.impex-fitness.com, their phone number is on the product) has not resulted in replacement or refund. The BBB has given Impex Fitness a grade of F. Shoddy construction. Shoddy response. Shady vendor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes
10/18/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good mechine to have when you just can't make it to the gym. I definately feel my muscles working. Over-all, I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Functional But.....

02/01/2011
By ,
Newark NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gold's Gym stepper is inexpensive and therefore a good value, but the user is not able to change the resistance level. This fact is not noted in the product specifications; if it was, I wouldn't have purchased this product. Also noted is that the resistance level is very difficult when you first start to use the machine, but gets less difficult as the machine warms up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Don't waste your money

07/18/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband bought the mini stepper from Walmart on 12/18 as an anniversary gift for me. Barely 4 months later, One of the resistance tubes snapped. While waiting for the replacement resistance tube to arrive in the mail, we could still use the mini stepper.
And then in May this year, the cable connecting the pulley snapped. This time we could only wait for the cable to arrive. Fortunately the replacement cable did not take too long to arrive. We resumed using the mini stepper.
Then 2 days ago, the new cable snapped. What a total letdown and what an inferior product. It's not as if we are overweight or very tall (under 5 foot 10 inches and 166 lbs). Even then we would use the mini stepper about thrice a week and for a duration of about 20 minutes each time.
So now we are twiddling our thumbs again, waiting for yet another replacement cable to arrive. In the meantime, we are keeping our fingers crossed that we do not gain too much weight from lack of exercise.
My advice is therefore do not waste any money purchasing this inferior product. It is very frustrating and a total waste of time and money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Madison, WI
Oh no, not again!
Posted 08/01/2011
The saga of my mini stepper has not ended yet. One would have thought it would end when the replacement cable arrived in the mail. No, it was not to be. When my husband was removing the bolt beneath the pedal cap to replace the cable, it broke off. I mean, the bolt just broke into 2! How could it be? So we are back to square one, twiddling our thumbs again and waiting to hear from the manufacturer whether we could please have a new mini stepper. After all, how many people would experience what we had gone through, namely replacement of a resistance tube, 2 replacements of the cable and lastly (hopefully), the bolt beneath the pedal cap. And all in less than 8 months! What a lousy product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Mini Stepper with Resistance Tubes

Great workout, quiet and stores flat

11/17/2011
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great stepper for super-small places. I have barely a closet-sized space to workout and this thing has me sweating hard. I am very short, too, like the lady with the RV, but maybe she's in better shape than I am because I found the arm bands just fine for a decent arm workout. Grabbing them a little lower might help to get a stiffer arm workout, but the leg workout was great. 15 minutes on this thing and I'm spent! Great for a beginner or athlete alike! Folds down enough so I can fit it under my nightstand! Travels well in a car. I would SO buy this again. It's quiet, too, and tracks how many steps you've gone and how long you've been actually stepping for; not how long you've been standing on it (in case you take a break). It's awesome and cheaper than a gym!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next