Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Victor Trap Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Victor Trap Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Never needs baiting!
Average Customer Rating:
3.471 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation65%11 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

How to do it...

10/17/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my mouse inside of a day. These are actually an improvement on the old traps as a mouse can't get at all the bait without standing on the trigger platform.
The little "Cheese" has holes in it. Don't coat the whole thing like a loaf of bread. Just fill the holes in with peanut butter. Then the mouse has to climb up on the cheesy platform to get at them. If he stands on the platform, it's going to go off.
Just like the classic traps, it takes some decent finger strength to set. Keep fingers away from the strike end of the board and tension the trap bar -holding firmly. Lay the trigger bar over the top and flip the trap inverted to let the platform cover the end of the trigger bar.
Release a slight amount of pressure on the trap bar to create moderate friction, but maintain control of it so it will not trigger while adjusting.
The pressure and friction will allow you to adjust the platform to a proper height above the board (I suggest slightly above level) to encourage the mouse to climb up on.
When satisfied, slowly release more pressure until certain the trap is set properly and carefully grasp the board from below and away from the strike end of the board. Maintain that level hold from below and clear of the swing arc and gently place in a suspected mouse traffic location clear of any obstructions. Held properly, the bar will move harmlessly away from your hand if set off by accidental bumping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk
08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never tried these without bait although the listing says no bait is required. I usually use peanut butter. I see a number of 1-star ratings, which is odd because I have found this style trap to be the best and came specifically looking for it. If you put the peanut butter on the middle of the pad the mouse has to climb onto the pad to get to it and will trip the trap. I have found this to be much more effective than other traps where they have eaten the bait without tripping the trap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Bad Product

03/06/2010
By ,
Genoa, NY USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used the old stype traps for years, in fact I still have a bunch of them I use.
I bought two 4 packs of the new traps today. I had high hopes for them.
Sadly they did not work well at all. Set one way you can whack the bait with a screwdriver and they do not go off. IN the other setting, they do not catch and tend to close on yor hand.
Stick with the old style traps if you cna get them, or the glue style traps. They are not as re usable but at least they work.
These would be going right back if they did not cost less then the cost of gas to take them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

DON'T BUY THESE

11/18/2010
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BAD PRODUCT! I have bought close to a dozen of these. It's all I can get since all of the local stores seems to have switched to this style. In many cases, the mouse was able to lick the peanut butter off of the trap without setting it off.
There seems to be two problems with these. First, the hinge point is metal into plastic. The plastic can get off center resulting in the hinge jamming. Second, the trigger arm must be carefully set just on the edge of triggering. Too deep into the plastic and it won't trigger.
If you can find the old style, I suggest you stock up.
Product Attributes:
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Ignore the 1-star reviews...

06/12/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea what the low-rating people are complaning about. Picked up this four-pack, brought it home and set them. A day later I had four dead mice. Pretty good in my book...
However, there are three things to keep in mind when using these:
1) Use a thin layer of peanut butter on the cheese pedal when baiting. A nickle-sized amount about 1/16 inch thick is all you need. Too much and they'll take it without tripping the trap. In this case, less is more.
2# Be patient when setting the traps. They're designed to be extremely sensitive and may snap once or twice when setting them until you get the hang of it. Just line up the locking bar with the notch by the spring #not the one on top of the cheese pedal, that won't work) and slowly release your thumb off the kill bar until it's set.
3) Placement is key. Don't just put them out on the floor or some random spot. Look for droppings or gaps/holes they might enjoy, and place the trap there. If you don't see any evidence or don't know where they're coming from, make sure the traps are perpendicular to a wall, as mice run along walls when they travel. It may help to double up traps next to each other, too, since mice may jump over an obstacle in their normal path.
Used properly, these have proven to be the most effective traps money can buy...and they're dirt cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

The best of the best

01/10/2010
By ,
Memphis, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this product yesterday at walmart and put peanut butter as bait on all 8 traps I set at night. Had no success that night but went to church and when I returned home sure enough 1 mouse was dead in my kitchen. Not hard to set- up and very easy to use with common sense. I'm a single parent and was able to do this on my own. I have previously bought the victor electronic mousetrap with no success for 3 days so I decided to go with the old fashion style of catching a mouse.. Yes it's true this is the best way of getting rid of a mouse. Excellent product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Would recommend

01/08/2010
By ,
Murphy, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took a few minutes to figure out how to set these but once we figured out the little metal thing went over not under the part you hold back with our thumb it was easy. This worked very well. We did not use any bait just like the package said and it worked great without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

NOT easy set

10/20/2009
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried setting all 4 of these mouse traps and got my fingers snapped a few times and they are still not set. very disappointed. would rather have the old little metal piece back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk
12/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to be smarter then the mouse trap. I see people complaining about its not sensative enough and the mouse is eating the peanut butter off without setting it off. Then people are complaining about snapping their fingers. I have always used this style of mouse traps and I set 4 and caught 2 mice so Im happy. Use cheese and smash it on the trigger then they cant steal it. be carefull setting it or you will snap your fingers. if you do whats the big deal. Its not like its going to break your finger. what do you want for the money? a mouse trap made of gold. set it and be very gentle setting it down and you will have a mouse in no time. IF you catch one throw the mouse and the trap away. Dont be a tight wad and try saving the trap. Thats just plain nasty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

A small scrape of PB is all you need

06/14/2012
By ,
Central NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not sure about all the bad reviews, but Ive used atleast 20 of these things and Ive never had an empty trap. I think people bait with too much peanut butter or something. You need a tiny tiny bit. I knife it on so it goes in the little holes on the 'cheese' and thats it. You only give em a taste and WHACK! Gobs of peanut butter does nothing but feed several mice after the trap is set off, empty or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Works good

10/28/2009
By ,
Oconomowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had some old victors that were reused several times but quit working. Threw them out and tried these with peanut butter against wall. Work great.
Since they set a little different there is a short learning curve.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

The best product!

03/04/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it two times and each time I put a piece of nut in it. After a few hours two mice were trapped!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Hard to set.

05/02/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
They do work if you use cheese.Mold a small piece into a ball then press it onto the yellow plastic piece so it goes threw the holes just a liitle bit..Press the back part so the mice dont pull it off.Dont use Peanut Butter they clean it dry with out setting off the trap.Very hard to set.Bring back the old style with the all metal mechanism,and wood.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

What a waste!!!

12/11/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After setting the trap and it not working I decided to put some peanut butter on the "cheese". The critter licked every bit of the peanut butter and never set off the trap!!! To even get the trap to go off I had to whack it hard with my cane. Threw the other three traps away. Why waste even more money in gas to return them!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk
10/08/2011
By ,
Cheraw, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried this new type mouse trap for over two weeks and haven't caught a mouse yet.
I cannot find the older style mouse trap anywhere and they actually worked.
I will not waste my money on these traps that do not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk
04/01/2012
By ,
DaVille, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didnt use this 4 a mouse trap but in science class i used it to power a mousetrap car and this is the absolute best prodict for that. definately powreful and i aced the project
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Victor Easy Set Mouse Traps, 4pk

Feed Your Mice Easily!

10/21/2011
By ,
Somewhere in Middle America
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had four of these licked clean (peanut butter) with no springing. You get what you pay for - sticking with the Quick Set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.