Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MTD MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

MTD MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

The Yard Machines 12.5" 8.5 Amp Electric Single-Stage Snow Thrower is a hard working machine for a hard day's work. This snow thrower gets the job done so you can get on with your life. It features just enough power for clearing light snow conditions on smaller driveways, decks and patios. .
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

just what grandma needs

12/15/2009
By ,
Burley, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best deal I have purchased all year. As a babyboomer, I am getting to the point that shoveling snow is too hard and then I hurt all week. Now I just turn on the machine (which is very easy) and clear out a path for the car and off I go. If I wanted to I could do the entire driveway and sidewald in about a half hour. I do have to say pay attention to the direction the wind is blowing. I didnt know to and blew it back on me, just once was all it took. Now I know to take notice of that before starting to blow the snow. All in all it is a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Review 2 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

shoveling is faster

02/07/2010
By ,
MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well umm, maybe im too tall but at 6'2" this isnt a back-saver whatsoever. I can see it having an advantage over a shovel on a patio where one would have to lift snow over a railing but for sidewalks and driveways, this is more "toy" than "tool". using it is kinda like trying to vacuum snow... seems like a good idea but in truth really isnt. I really like the idea, but it takes longer than shoveling, and sloppier too. I would end up going back and forth several times (hunched over) in the same area trying to clear the snow, a shovel would have done the job in one pass. the hour it normally takes me to shovel my drive was stretched to 1 &1/2 (the last 1/2 hour i went back to my shovel) and the first half of the driveway looks terrible..... maybe i'll have the patience for this when im 65. not so much when im 30 and my back is young enough to still throw the snow! -cheers
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 3 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Small snow blower

05/05/2010
By ,
Dresher, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit does very well for what is expected from it. It sure beats using any type of a shovel. Perfect for small home & twonhomes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Review 4 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Easy to use

12/21/2009
By ,
Brockton, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a last minute buy in preparation for a noreaster we were had yesterday, it was the last one on the shelf so went with it. Wasn't expecting it to do wonders since we have a driveway that can fit up to 6 cars and Mr. Fox is so little:) We got close to 2 feet of snow so my husband cleared the top half of it and Mr. Fox & I did the rest. Doesn't throw very far but does the job all the same. Really good buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 5 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Beats a shovel

01/12/2010
By ,
Ripplemead, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got an unexpected foot of snow and we have a deck that wraps around the house. Usually a lot of work to clear off with a shovel, but with this little thrower had it done in two hours. Easy to assemble and easy to use, but it throws the snow much farther to the front than the sides. Still believe you'll get your money's worth of work out of this handy machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Review 6 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Snow Fox

02/10/2011
By ,
Leavenworth, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my Snow Fox snow thrower just prior to a 9" snowfall. While the product manual says it will easily handle up to 4" of snow, I found the Snow Fox capable of tackling the 9" we had. The machine is light and easy to use, and never bogged down in deep snow. You can set it to discharge right, left, or straight ahead, but it seemed to do best straight ahead. The only confusion I had with the machine was the red plastic key enclosed with it. The key is required to start the machine, and having found one enclosed with the product manual, I assumed that was the key to use. Only after searching for the correct slot to put it in did I realize the machine had shipped with a key installed into the controller on the handle. This key does not seem to come out, so I'm not sure what the other one is for. Other than that, the Snow Fox seemed like a good value for light duty snow removal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 7 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Happy so far...

01/30/2010
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this in last week and my husband couldn't wait for it to snow to try it out. Well we got 4" last night and he was out bright and early this AM. He really likes the blower, but we need a longer cord. Ours was only 100' and the driveway is a bit longer. He said it is lightweight and easy to use, quiet too. It is all plastic so I do wonder how long it will last and how well it will hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 8 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Disappointment

03/21/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We've had several storms to try it out: It's actually more work to use this machine than the shovel we were hoping it would replace. Did NOT work well on our roof; semi-OK on driveway, not so much on sidewalk. Still had to shovel where the machine had been used, as it leaves quite a lot on the ground. Would not buy it again. It IS quieter than a gas-powered snow blower, tho.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Back-saver

03/20/2011
By ,
Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was great to use on my deck, which up until now had to be done by hand. It took a little getting used to with the cord, but once I did, it made a tough job much easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

met my expectations

02/05/2010
By ,
Washington D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product 5 years ago. It has performed very well through 2 historic snow D.C. storms!! I have a longer than average driveway and walkway. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 11 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

Mtd snow thrower

02/11/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice snow blower. The only problem i have with the blower is the handle is about 6in. too low for a 6ft. man. Also there is no adjustments for the handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower

great little blower

01/26/2010
By ,
Overland Park, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little snow blower. It is light and easy to handle. I handles about 4" - 5" of dry snow with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for MTD Yard Machines Electric Snow Fox 8.5 Amp 12.5" Electric Snow Thrower
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5