Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Traditional bike styling meets modern functionality with the GMC Denali 700c Road Bike. The GMC Denali men's road bike is a popular model that's ideal for recreation, commuting, and exercise. The GMC Denali road bike features a lightweight and strong aluminum frame and a 21-speed Shimano drive train, as well as racing-style alloy wheels and sure-stopping caliper brakes. Additional features of the GMC Denali men's road bike include race-style drop handlebars, high-profile aero alloy wheels with machined braking surface and a comfortable Vitesse seat. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your GMC Denali 700c Road Bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.201 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(432 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
144
3 stars
34
2 stars
19
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation89%383 out of 430reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
144
3 stars
34
2 stars
19
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Excellent road bike for starters

07/04/2011
By ,
Aubrey, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the right road bike for someone thinking about getting into bicycling and on a budget. Stock setup with Shimano parts is very nice and adds a sense of stability and reliability. Being a former military person and was always in good shape and health, after being out for years and becoming one with the couch, with this road bike I am inspired to ride. Not only does the revo shifters shift smoothly for me, it makes it easy to ride up hills and on long stretches I have been able to reach 28.5 mph on flat stretches and 32 mph down hill. Also recommend a bike computer as well. I added a Bell Wireless for under $20.
Yes maybe that isn't fast for many, but for me for now it is fine and probably all depends on your weight as the bike weighs in on the heavier side of 27lbs. This bike isn't made for professional competition, but it has been said over and over again in forums that it will perform well in events like Tour de Cure for local races. I haven't yet been able to enter in one, but I will soon. The main thing is I am off the couch and exercising, building stamina and conditioning my body.
Sharp color scheme almost looks like the 2010 Cannondale SuperSix model/color. Sure there is no comparison from $1000 road bike and a less then $200 road bike, but let me tell you it stands up to it and performs like a champ. Tweak it if you like with different pedals such as caged pedals or clipless (you will need special cycling shoes), but you will see how much potential this road bike has to come. My only upgrade that I am thinking about is changing the pedals to caged pedals. The yellow and black color with the sleek Vitesse racing seat and Vitesse Lite racing rims, turns heads from other riders that I pass. It is almost like when I pass them they have to speed up and pass me to get another glimpse. I have owned this road bike for 3 weeks now and have put on it over 100 miles and loving it!
Overall, this entry level road bike is a diamond in the rough and all it needs is for you to purchase the bike and get out there and ride. Soon you will see what I see and it shines! So come ride like me and do it "Denali Style".
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 2 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Really can't be beat for the price

04/11/2010
By ,
Hilo, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive a isuzu trooper which gets about 9 mpg and i wanted to start biking to school and work instead of burning my money away on gas. So i went to a couple local bike shops in town and found two i liked. my favorite was a hybrid trek bike, but it was $480!! Im a broke college kid with stingy parents, so i was on my own. With this bike, i was thinking with the price, it must be junk.. I was very much mistaken, when i got the bike, i was very pleased. The bike looks good in the pictures, but its even more pretty in person. Im used to riding mountain bikes, so the set up with this road bike is very different. i didnt know that the seat was supposed to be level or HIGHER than the handle bars. for me it was weird at first, but i got used to it pretty quickly. so dont think the bike is too big for you, im 5' 10" and it fits me perfect. After a couple weeks of riding the bike, i took of the GMC stickers so i could put on my own.. bad idea. it looks like they dont completely finish the paint job under the bigger stickers, so i dont recommend it unless you have nicer looking big stickers to cover it. out of the box, it is very easy to assemble. Just attach the seat post, front wheel, and handle bar stem. The only negatives I would have to say is; the seat is kind of hard for long trips, (but what would you expect), a couple of the parts that come reassembled came loose within a couple times of riding (so dont assume whatevers assembled in the box is nice and tight) and- it might have been just mine, but the first time i rode my bike to school (7 miles downhill) when i got to school, walking into my first class i heard a "pssssssshhh" and the tube in my tire released allll my air. luckily theres a bike shop across the street that checked it out and said it was a defective tube, not really the bikes fault but just be aware of that small stuff. the PROs: very smooth shifting up and down hill, I can hit 40 MPH going downhill and still have enough tension on the pedals to go faster, the lowest gears allow very easy climbing for steep uphills, and the best thing- its really sexy! its a really good looking bike, GREAT for the money, and it seems like it will last me a looong time. so if your on a budget and cant afford a 500 dollar road bike, or you just want to give it a try, i really recommend this bike. its very fun, great value for the price, and very efficient.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Review 3 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Decent for light riding and interested looks.

07/15/2010
By ,
Lubbock, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As in all things, you get what you pay for and you pay for quality.
This bike is fitted with low-pressure Kenda tires, thin inner tubes, poorly-indexed Shimano Revo grip shifters intended for mountain bikes, and finicky derailleur cages.
I used it 5 days per week for a 10mi round commute, as well as on weekends for 25+ mi rides for 8 weeks. During that time, I cleaned it every third day, lubed all spinning parts, adjusted derailleurs & brakes as needed and kept my tires right at 85 psi (specs as on sidewall).
The left Revo broke some internals after frequent use and rendered the three chainrings useless (left me with just the 38 tooth middle ring), the front derailleur would not stay adjusted despite being well set, the rear brakes were soft at every level of adjustment.
Not everything was bad, though. The front brakes were exceptional for the price, using a vertical pull, single pivot cantilever. The frame is incredibly heavy (about 23 lbs without wheels) but is durable and stable while cornering. If you're between 5' 10" and 6' 3" the bike is an excellent fit, the saddle is firm (good for longer rides or faster cadences), the bike accepts a rear rack well, and the knurled pedals are good for tennis shoes.
Don't expect to get race-ready with this bike, or to commute quickly every day. But if you'll take it slow, maintain it faithfully, and have reasonable expectations, the bike will turn lots of unknowing heads.
A poor buy for me, who got a road bike to train for a triathlon, but a great bike for someone looking for something different and no aspirations to race.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Good bike for the money

11/27/2011
By ,
Bridgewater MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bicycle late spring and have put many miles on it. One could spend twice the money and not get what this bicycle has to offer. If there is one downside it is you need to bring bicycle to a bicycle shop for a good tune up. This bicycle is made by Kent which bought out schwinn and it's got the quality of a schwinn.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+4points
Review 5 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

My son bought this bike for me.

10/19/2011
By ,
Fresno, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike "GMC Denali" is awesome and was practically already assembled.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Great price and possibilities

03/06/2012
By ,
greater LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got mine for the holidays. I wanted something light and simple so I did some modifications.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Broke down.

08/31/2010
By ,
Cleveland, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1st 15 mile ride, bike did ok. Noticed the pedals slip a few times. Second ride the gears completely stripped after 8 miles. Had to walk 8 miles back to car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Review 8 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Great deal

05/18/2010
By ,
Reno-Tahoe, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at this product while researching others costing much more for some time now, including on Ebay and Craig's List. The price is incredible, so I was suspicious of the quality, difficulty in assembly, etc. I kept coming back to this product, however, primarily to read the reviews and remind myself of its features. The features and, most importantly, reviews finally convinced me to make the purchase. I picked it up last night at about 9 p.m. and then assembled it in about an hour. (It comes nearly assembled out of the box and only slightly nocked down.) The instructions are thorough, but to be candid (and I am not a big biker), I didn't need to more than glance at the istructions once to assemble the bike. Then, with some really easy adjustments to the brakes, it was all ready to go. I took it out on the road today, and it worked like a charm. Gear changing was a breeze. I thank all the prior reviewers who steered me to this steal of a product. Looks great and feels reliable too.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+133points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
miami,fl
slight disappointment
Posted 08/25/2011
I purchased the GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, manufactured by http://www.kentbicycles.com/ as a cross trainer for my MTB. The bike is not bad for the money, but the pedals and cracks began to rust within two months being kept indoors and clean - and no I do not live anywhere near the beach.
Also the seat is horrible for long distance - after an hour and a half my bottom is in pain ( I ride three hours on my Specialized Stump Jumper without issue)... I called Kent who were very nice but do make it hard to replace bad parts...
I know the bike is not top of the line, but I also think it shouldnt be rusting within two months of purchase thus I am disappointed. I would hope that Walmart's quality control would insist on Kent using better parts and replace the cranks and pedals for those having this issue; from what I heard from Kent themselves - I'm not the only one...
Carlos
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Pretty Good

02/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My feelings toward this bike are conflicted. I only paid $100 for it, and I have to say that for 100 bucks I can't complain at all. I have put a little over 300 miles on the bike just riding once a week a little over 25 miles each.
I just got in to biking, and this bike got me hooked. I am now looking to upgrade, but not because of any great flaw in this bike. I simply need something with the capability to attach aero bars for triathlon purposes.
I am probably way too short for this bike to be honest at just 5'7", but I was able to make some seat adjustments and body position adjustments and it worked just fine. Most of the time i was blowing by people on bikes that were upwards of $2000. I attached one of the handle bar computers to clock distance, speed, and time and have hit a max speed of 37 mph. Not too shabby. This bike is going to be just fine for a beginner, and honestly people that aren't obsessed with the name on the side of their frame. I will be upgrading to the Triace here soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 10 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Awesome value!

10/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike with site to store shipping, and it arrived a week earlier than it estimated. As soon as I got the bike, I had it set up by a bike mechanic. He got the brakes and derailluer's dialed in. We set the stem and seat height up for me and were done.
My first impressions of the bike were great. I've ridden older road bikes like schwinn's and peugot's, and I instantly liked the GMC more than both. The bike is fast and comfortable. My first 8 miles have been smooth and I can already tell my cardio will improve with this bike.
My only complaint with this bike is the handlebar setup. It isn't necessarily uncomfortable compared to traditional handlebar setups, but it definitely takes a ride or two to get used to it.
I would 100% recommend this bike to anyone interested in getting into the sport. It has some bad reviews in forums, but I would expect people with $2000+ bikes to talk down on this bike. But honestly, your getting the same enjoyment as them, spending 10% what they paid.
You wont regret buying this bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 11 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

A Really nice bike for the money.

09/21/2009
By ,
Beautifel East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I fell in love with this bike on Walmart.com and when I saw it I had to have it. At 6'1" I can get by, but this bike is really built for riders over 6'2". It is well put together and weighs in at 30lbs. ready to ride. So far I really like the bike, but I've only begun to ride it because of inclement weather since I bought it. Here are my opinions so far: the seat is very hard and became uncomfortable after only a few minutes of riding. I will have to change it out for a higher quality one. The brakes seem very good to me, though a person answering a question on this site said his were terrible on his '09 model. I do not like the quality of the shifting. The shifts are not positive and seem to take too long to accomplish. I know this is an entry level bike, so I'm willing to cut it some slack. I have not missed a shift thus far. Over all a really nice entry level touring bike. Just be aware that when riding this bike you will be bent over at the waist in a racing posture. If that's not what you want to do, then consider a hybred, with upright seating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wilmington nc
Posted 05/27/2012
ive had this bike for 3 years and have put over 4000 miles on it. use it every day to get to work. every bike needs routine work done to it. true the wheels change a flat whatever. for the price it cant be beat
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Fantastic.Double check everything. DO IT.

03/05/2013
By ,
Livermore
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike on February 22nd 2013. I'm 6'4 225 pounds and did a couple bike rides (nothing more then 2-4 miles.) just to get a feel for it. On March 1st 2013 I rode the bike from Livermore to Mount Diablo. First things first. IF you buy any bike from walmart. PLEASE. PLEASE. For the love of god, get the bike checked and double checked. Half way up mount diablo the handle bars started to loosing up( I had forgotten my alan wrench.) So I could not pull on the handle bars at all for any climbing(leg power baby) After the 61 mile trip this bike was very impressive (other then the handle bars.) I felt like it was a fantastic value for the money. (I don't have thousands of dollars to spend on a road bike, If you're like me you'll get pure joy passing those dudes on those expensive bikes on this baby.) The major con of this bike(which hasn't happened yet) I've bought 5 bikes from walmart. All of them had something break, or go wrong within 5 months. So buy the 2 year service plan. its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Not bad, Not Great

07/24/2010
By ,
Provo, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Install was very easy, only had a little trouble adjusting the brakes but nothing too bad. The first real problem I found was that the crank was not entirely straight causing slight chain rub on the front derailleur. The derailleurs were both very difficult in my attempts to correctly adjust and I eventually gave up and took it to a shop. Once on the bike, it is a huge improvement from the last beat-up mountain bike I had but still no where near as smooth or solid as my 5 year old trek that I got for about the same price. Overall, the components are the lowest quality you will ever find on a road bike but the price does reflect this. My biggest reservation in recommending this bike is that if you do your homework and spend some time shopping, I think you could find a better used bike (old) for around the same price. Just my opinion. Oh and you should be at least 5'10" to feel comfortable with this tall bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 14 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Great Value

11/09/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main reason I purchased this bike was the PRICE, plus I liked the colors. So far I am satisfied on my purchase. I have ridden a total 25 miles so far and the bike works well. I am 6’5” and am glad to say this bike fits me perfectly. I have the seat about 3/4ths of the way up and the handle bars at the minimal insertion line. I am not a professional rider but the bike is a great starter bike.
Out of Box:
The majority of the assembly was easy since the back half of the bike was pre-assembled.
After you assemble it you more than likely will need to bring it to a bike shop to have them tune it. The bike was way out of whack I couldn’t even ride it, I had to being it to them because I never adjusted a derailleur before and do not know how to true the wheels. I paid $40 for them to adjust the brakes, adjust derailleur, true the wheels and tighten everything (including what the factory assembled). The previous posts made comments on the brakes. They are acceptable, by that I mean they will stop you but the brakes are cheap, hard plastic so I will soon be upgrading them so I can stop better.
Stuff you should know:
This bike does not include the pedals that you can use cycling shoes (the ones that lock).
Be prepared to make adjustments for the bike to be right.
This bike does not have quick releases for seat and wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+186points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
PA
Posted 04/07/2013
25 miles is nothing, your cables wont even stretch at that point. You mention the brakes being cheap well hate to tell you every single component on this bike is the lowest end possible.
THIS BIKE HAS A QUILL STEM, Our cheapest kids bike in my bicycle shop doesnt have this ancient type of stem. Save your money and get a REAL bike from a quality brand that will last umm i dont know....THE REST OF YOUR LIFE.
This bike weighs more the any mountain bike we have in the shop including our lowest end. It doesnt have road tires their HUGE 32s, and i could keep going on. The owner just had bough it and put 65 into a tuneup right after. The chain rings were so waving we broke out the heavy hammer.
0points
Customer Avatar
New York
GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Large
Posted 08/10/2012
FYI the GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Large does not fit someone who is 6'5". I had to purchase a new seat post that cost an additional $25.00 plus an extension for the stem that cost another $25.00 and with that new cables for another $20.00, plus installation. The brakes are garbage and do not stop on a dime. With those extra additions someone who is 6'5" can ride comfortably without stressing their back. Although the price of the bike is worth it, and you will get your money's worth over the life of the bike, consider spending a little more and purchasing a bigger bike for people who are 6'5" or taller.
0points
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia, PA
Wonderful Bike For The Price
Posted 01/04/2012
Brought this bike as was shocked how well I liked the bike. Could not believe how much I like it for all I paid for it. I will differently buy another if the opportunity araises that I need another or a friend. The only two problems I have had was I am 6'3" and the handle bars was a little to low for me but I had an extension added to correct the problem and the other is that the seat was a little to hard for me but it probably would be find for someone else. Besides the purchase of another seat and the extension bar added, the only other cost was an inner tube and the air to inflate the tires as needed. Good bike, very good price.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Great Entry Level Road Bike.

07/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warning.. Check your local Walmart for Price before you purchase online. I got mine for $139.99. Okay that was the bad stuff. Now to the good stuff. Thiss bike is worth what ever VALUE price you get it for. Its not going to give you a Tour to France, but it will give you a comfortable commute, a great workout and lots of enjoyment. All this bike needs when you get it is a basic safety tune up just like all bikes need. This safety tune shouldn't cost more than 40 bucks. This will ensure that your brakes, gears, shifters, cables, and wheels are secure and safe. This is the same thing that the thousand dollar bikes have to go through before they are peddled off. Don't get all caught up in the hype of names and advertisements. Just Ride Safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 16 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Well worth the money

05/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike last December and have ridden the bike over a thousand miles (avg. 15-40 mile rides)with the only maintenance cost was tires and C.0. 2 air inflater so far. There are a lot of reviews on sites that criticize the quality of the bike and i would say most of them have never even ridden the bike. I had not ridden a bike in many a years so i did not want to invest a large amount of money that they charge at the bike stores just to find out that I was stuck with something i would never use. I am 6'2" 260 so i am rating the bike as high as i can for the money you can't go wrong. There are plenty of videos on line that will help you set the bike up(tune up) or you can take it in and have and have them set the bike up for you. The bike i have was already assembled. Before you take the bike to a shop you might want to do a safety check set your seat and handle bars to a setting that is comfortable for you the shifting was a little stiff at first but i found that the the cables stretch out and it shifted fine with no further need to adjust for quite a while. The bike is heavy and the gearing ratio is not going to let you when any races, but if you need a bike to ride and enjoy for training and exercise i would highly recommend it. It has been an excellent started bike for me. The only other things i might recommend get a speedometer ($10.00) and helmet ($20.00) also C.0.2 air inflation tire repair kit ($30) extra tire tube($5) ( schrader valve is required) and enjoy the fact that you are getting the most bang for your buck. Hope this review is of some value to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+666points
Review 17 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

best road bike under $200

12/30/2012
By ,
Wilmington, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is under $200. There is no other road bike that can compare to this bike for under $200. The bike is fast light and sturdy. The ride is smooth. My advice is if you get this bike make sure you get it fine tuned. The brake pads dont stop the bike well. Walmart has brake pads for five bucks and they work great. The tires are a little wide but that is good because you can ride over rocks and small glass in the road without getting a flat. The bike is not really light but it is light enough to lift with one hand. The gearing is smooth if adjusted properly. overall i am very happy with the bike. I put a cell phone mount on the handle bars for my android phone which has an app that is a cycling computer. I added lights to my tire valves head and rear lights too. And toe straps for extra speed and torqe. She looks real good and is a head turner. Also got a trunk rack on my car. Now i can park and ride my bike through out philly baltimore dc and new york. One other thing put slime in your tires and you may never get a flat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Great deal!

04/25/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are on clearance in WM stores for $100. It's an unbelievable price for a bike of this quality. I don't know why it's still more expensive online, but look in stores near you for the sale price. I'm 5'11", 225 lbs, and this bike fits me very well. It's a heavy bike, at around 31 lbs, but it is very easy to ride fast, and takes off like a rocket. I sold my high dollar Gary Fisher mountain bike last year, and I'm surprised that the quality of this bike is about equal with it. The tires are not true "road bike" tires, but more of a hybrid tire, having nice tread and more thickness to them. I'm surprised at how comfortable it is to ride, but I did put a cushioned cover over the torture device they call a seat, before I rode it. The only thing I'd change is that the brakes don't have safety levers, that allow you to brake both in upright and hunched positions, so if you ride with your hands on the top of the handlebars, where the shifters are, you must switch positions before you can brake. I'm overall very happy with it. Just a word of caution: Go over any bike you buy, to make sure everything is tight and straight. No matter where you buy, you never know who is putting these things together, and it would stink to find out on the road, that your gears, wheels or brakes weren't on right. This bike was put together ok, but did need some adjustments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 19 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Parts quality is poor

11/25/2011
By ,
Oviedo, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 1 day of riding (~12mi) the freewheel started to produce clanky sound while rotating pedals.
Of course I tuned both derailers well, so it was specifically from inside the freewheel while I rotate pedals.
After 3 days of riding (~36mi total) the crankset started to produce a clanky sound too.
When I swang the crankshaft - there was no play, so it happened only under heavy load and the cone nut was tight enough (it is not a good idea to overtighten it).
So it is probably low quality of ball bearings in the bottom bracket, or wrong adjustment (though I do not understand how it could be wrong).
Returned it.
Another thing to notice: they write "Shimano" on the frame, though really only derailers are Shimano, the freewheel and the bottom bracket are not Shimano...
If it was the same bike, but with all moving parts from Shimano - it'd be a different story, and by the way it would not be much more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 20 for 22.5" GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike, Black/Yellow

Amazing Deal! Great Bike!

05/30/2010
By ,
Sicklerville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike at walmart for 99 bucks. It was the only one left on the bike rack so i quickly snagged it. I wasnt even into biking, since i had just bought a mountain bike from the same store a few weeks earlier. Ive been riding a bike since i was little of course, but havent been into the major distance racing that long. Only like a month. I rode 107 miles in 9 hours, 45 min. on my mountain bike one day. I ride everyday for at least 30 miles. So i wanted something faster and more stylish. The bike is made by GMC which is amazing. The bike runs great. The tires havent popped on me yet, and the chain hasnt slipped. When i first got the bike, the tires would lose air quickly, but for some reason hold very well now. I was expecting a low quality bike but instead i got professional. Hopefully its good enough to race with. It is a fantastic built bike and i would recommend it to any cyclist.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 378 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next