Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog My Pal Violet

LeapFrog LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Give learning a personal touch with LeapFrog My Pal Violet, a soft, cuddly purple puppy and learning toy. Violet connects to the computer so you can customize the music and personalize the learning games with your child's name and favorite food, animal and color. LeapFrog My Pal Violet comes with five pre-loaded songs, or you can select and download your choice of learning tunes and lullabies from an online list of 30 songs. Press a paw to play music, learning songs or educational games. Parents can connect via LeapFrog My Pal Violet to the online LeapFrog Learning Path for customized learning insights and ideas to expand the learning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(435 Reviews) 380
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%421 out of 435reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Fantastic Toy

01/02/2010
By ,
Franklin, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to buy another similar toy but this caught my eye, my favorite color is purple. I looked at it and thought it was the perfect toy for my now 5 month old. I read that it would say your child's name and thought to myself, "Oh, it wont say my baby's name." Boy was I fooled. My daughter's name is Sanaya and it says her name so well. I was so excited i just kept pressing the paws, lol. There is a different spelling of her name but I changed that. Even though she is just 5 months old, i like that she hears it say and spell her name. Whoever designed this toy is amazing. I could just literally hug them. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Amazing!

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother bought Violet for my daughter when she was only a few months old. She is now 14 months old and Violet is like her best friend. She sleeps with Violet every night and she knows exactly which paw to press for bedtime music. It is so great because you are able to customize Violet to your child's liking. You choose favorite color, song, food, and can also customize it to say (and sing) your childs name. It is overall the best toy that my daughter has.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE

01/01/2010
By ,
Lake Butler FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toy is absolutely adorable! I highly recommend this toy from ages 1-5, for sure. It superceeded my expectations based on the price. I got my nephew one for Christmas and I fall in love with it. I went back and got my 2 year the girl "Violet" and she loves it.
It was very easy to download, maybe 10 mins. tops. My daughters name is spelled a little different so I wasn't sure if it would have her name. It didn't have her spelling but it did have it in a different spelling. Being you can listen to the name before downloading it, I picked the name that sounded like hers but changed the spelling of her name in the box. So when Violet spells her name out, she says it right. I total love seeing her little face light up when Violet says her name... She is even spelling her name with her new puppy. It's way to cute! The puppy's voice is very soft also. It says everything very clear. I have to say this was one of the best toys she got for Christmas. My 5 year old said she wanted one because it's so personalized. Great toy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Violet

11/21/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The toy is a good toy, but like the other reviewer that gave a poor rating, my Violet did not connect to the computer and run the program as it said it should. I tried another USB cable, though, and it WORKED just as it should. This is a very inexpensive toy, and the USB cable is not a quality cable. I tried my digital camera cable and it worked IMMEDIATELY. I tried Violet's cable with my camera, and it did not work. There is something wrong with the USB cable. Don't give up on the toy until you try another cable. It might work for you too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

So cute

11/21/2013
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased Violet for my one year old granddaughter. I am impressed at how simple it was to hook up to the computer and download her name, favorite food and color and I liked that I could pick out daytime songs and nighttime songs to download. It only took a minute. My granddaughters name is Jacki and Violet says her name very clearly and uses it often. She will get this for Christmas and I am sure she will love it. I think her sisters will also. I know I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

I love this toy!!

08/30/2009
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter got this toy for her first birthday. Very easy to set up! You program the childs name and favorite food and color ect. My daughters name is Avery and it speaks her name very clearly! I was very superised of the quality of the features and I have to say it may be the most awsome toy i've ever seen! And the price? I think the toy is worth WAY more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

This is the best toy ever for a child!

11/05/2009
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Pal Violet is great. It was so easy to plug into my computer and download more songs and to have it say her name, and sing a song with her name and all her favorite things in it. My daughters name is Alyssa and the mypal violet sings and says her name so clear. I would highly recommend it and will be giving these out to all the little ones for christmas thats on my list.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

AWESOME Product!

11/18/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for my niece last year for Christmas. I carefully got it out of the box, took out all of the computer accessories, and set it up on my computer. I read several reviews on it prior to purchasing it, and knew that Violet sang the child's name, but I was really worried it would not have the spelling of my niece's name (Maddison). To my surprise, it did (as well as many others)! The program to set it up was easy to use. I got it all set up, then turned it completely off, carefully arranged all of the items back into their original places in the packaging, and wrapped it up. Christmas morning, she opened it up, I flipped the switch, and instantly Violet was singing her name and mentioning her favorite color and food! It is a perfect gift for toddlers!! Here it is a year later, and she is STILL playing with it!! I highly recommend it, it's the PERFECT gift!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

My daughter loves her Violet

12/01/2013
By ,
Waldorf, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter when she was 6 months old and she is now 2 years old and still loves Violet. We customized the learning games with our daughter's name, favorite food, animal and color. Violet also teaches her feelings and emotions and my daughter mimics them along with Violet. She loves it when Violet says her name. She also sleeps with it every night. We put bedtime music on it and she presses the selection she wants and goes right to sleep. We now have a 4 month old and we plan on buying her one as well. We seldom have to change the batteries in it. Has good battery life. Thanks to LeapFrog for creating such a wonderful learning product for kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Christmas Present for my daughter

11/29/2010
By ,
Angola, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this on black friday for a Christmas present for my daughter. I program it already and it is so cute I want to give it to her now. LOL It say her name which is spelled different but it has a list of names that are similar and said the same. Like her name is spelled Gabryelle instead of Gabrielle. It even sings a song were it spells her name and when it first started I thought it would spell it with the i cause that is the name I had to pick on how to say her name and it didn't. It spelled it with the y. I was very happy. It was so easy to program and set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

the only toy my daughter uses EVERY day

12/15/2013
By ,
Golden, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter got this for her first birthday and she loves the songs and the cute things Violet says. She's two now and won't go to sleep without Violet's lullaby songs- usually 10 minutes, not 5 min or 2 min (which are the options). This purchase was a gift for my niece's Christmas gift because she fell in love with it when my daughter brought it over for their sleep over. Now she can hear it say her name. Oh, and the batteries last a long time without having to replace!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

My daughter's favorite toy

01/28/2014
By ,
Sahuarita, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom bought this as a Christmas gift for my daughter, and she absolutely loves it. You can customize it to say the child's name, favorite color and food, etc. You can also pick out some of the songs. She never goes to bed without it. To me, this is far from annoying (like many other toys), and I am very happy with it.
The only thing I wish is that you could wash it in the washer. My daughter has thrown up on it more than once, and scrubbing it with soap and water (and spraying Febreze) didn't get rid of the smell. That's why I had to buy a new one. Other than that, it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

adorable

02/13/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nana got the playschool puppy for my daughter and it was freaky. Exchanged it for this and she loves it!!! Her reaction to how it says her name was priceless. But I almost think my friend liked it more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

My Pal Violet

12/18/2013
By ,
Healdton, OKlahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect gift for my granddaughter. Her Mother can record her Daddy talking and my
granddaughter will settle right down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

holds the childs attention

02/06/2014
By ,
Waldron, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good learning toy and holds the childs attention.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Frustrated with One Minor Detail

12/27/2010
By ,
KC, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this Leapfrog toy for my 14-month-old for Christmas. I'm a little frustrated because she can't play with it yet. Our home computer crashed several months before Christmas and we haven't been able to fix it. When I open up Violet from the packaging the back says, "STOP Do not PLAY until you download..."
Well without a computer how is one supposed to download anything? I'm using a computer at someone elses' home at the moment checking email and was prompted to leave a review. But I do not have their permission to download content to their computer. So I have my baby's one Christmas gift from us sitting on a shelf until we get our computer fixed.
I'm sure it's a lovely toy and we cannot wait to try it! But for the express purpose of not having a computer (which is not Leapfrog's fault) I gave the toy 4 out of 5 stars. Not everyone who purchases this toy is going to have the ability to use it to it's fullest potential and I believe the toy should have the capability of being already programmed or programmable without Internet access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Great toy!

11/28/2013
By ,
McMinnville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love both Scout & Violet so much I've bought them both for each of my kids, very cute, and soft
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Best Toy Ever

10/16/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought Violet when it first came out. She has been my daughters best friend since she was 6 months old and she is almost 5 now. Violet has been every where with us. We had to buy a couple of Violets over the years because she takes her everywhere and Violet gets dirty. Wish there was a way to wash her. My daughter learned her ABC's, numbers and how to spell her name before she was able to speak clearly. Great toy. Have bought a Violet or Scout for all my friends that have had babies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

I LOVE IT! It's my 1 year olds FAVORITE toy!

10/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this toy for my daughters first birthday. She fell in LOVE with it very quickly! She loves when it sings her name! She just lights up! She now can't go to sleep unless I put it on bedtime music! I love that you can put it on for 2, 5, or 10 minute play. I just wish that it didn't talk before the music starts. When you push the button it yawns and says "two minutes of bedtime music" "5 minutes of bedtime music" "10 minutes of bedtime music" so right before the 10 minutes is up if she isn't asleep I have to push the button to keep the music going but it talks which peaks her interest.... and if I wait til the music stops to hit the button it still talks again making her open her eyes and look at the puppy... but that said it is still SOOOOOOOOO worth it! That is the only flaw!! My daughter must take it with her everywhere... she freaks if we start walking out the door without it lol!! Definitely a must have toy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LeapFrog My Pal Violet

Great toy

01/06/2014
By ,
Wantagh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is 4 months and of course I need to get sometime for Christmas even though I believe that she is too young; she loves the puppy and she turn and pay more attention when the puppy call her by her name
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Learning Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next