Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog My Pal Scout

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LeapFrog LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Snuggle up to learning with a true best friend! My Pal Scout is the lovable puppy who can learn your child's name and favorite things, for personalized daytime learning and nighttime comfort. Sing, play and move along to more than 40 songs and melodies. Personalize the learning in 15+ activities by teaching Scout your child's favorite food, animal and color. Scout will even help your child spell his or her name!My Pal Scout is easy to personalize, right in the box, with your smart phone, tablet or computer, so he can say your child's name the very first time they meet! Designed for little ones ages 6 months to 36 months, My Pal Scout teaches first words, feelings and emotions, counting and colors. He also features a lullaby timer with 5, 10 or 15 minutes of bedtime music, a blinking collar and volume control to help little ones transition to quiet time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(490 Reviews) 429
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
416
4 stars
51
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation97%475 out of 490reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
416
4 stars
51
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Almost a year later he loves it

05/12/2013
By ,
Pearl City, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son when he was six months old. He started out by only looking it when the bow tie lit up, but now that he's fifteen months old he can press the buttons himself and loves to hear Scout say his name. Absolutely adorable. If this one ever breaks I would not hesitate to buy a new one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

My daughter loves it!!!

01/21/2011
By ,
Military town, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom actually had me order this online as a birthday present for my daughter. I love that I can go on the computer and change the songs on it with the leapfrog program. I love that it says her name, too. The only thing I don't like about it saying her name is it sounds like it is asking, not stating, but her name is some-what unusual so I can't expect it to be perfect.
I'm not sure how educational this really is. My daughter is 14 months and hasn't learned anything from it yet. She does love the bedtime music and I love that I can set it for 3 different lengths.
Battery life is great. I think I've changed the batteries once, if at all, and it just recently ran out of battery life.
She received another dog toy for Christmas that is very similar to this one but a different brand and no customizable features and it is so sensitive. If the surface it's sitting moves at all, it turns on. I like that you actually have to push the buttons on this one. It makes it so that battery life is not wasted if you forget to turn it off by the switch.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Leap Frog Does it Again!!!!!!

01/23/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is, hands down, the best product of its kind. My son in 20 months old. He goes to bed holding Scout and wakes up asking, "where 'Cout?" It is a very clever toy. I think the personalization factor is what puts it so far ahead of its competitors. My son loves playing with Scout because Scout knows his name and knows all of his favorite things. My friend's daughter has Violet and she gives Violet the same review I'm giving Scout. The low price is just icing on the cake. This is, by far, the best toy my son received this Christmas! (Thanks, Santa!)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

liken it:)

09/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves his new toy..he will set and play with it for along time and that is good for him cause he is always on the run..i am very happy with it:)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Best Gift EVER!

12/26/2009
By ,
Sioux City, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my two year old and my one year old. My one year old isn't quite into it yet, but my two year old absolutely LOVES it!! Especially when it says his name, which it does quite often. It took no time at all to get everything downloaded. Quick and simple. Best gift he could have ever gotten and VERY worth every penny!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Scout is new best friend!

01/05/2014
By ,
Fairplain, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandson loves him! Keeps him entertained.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout
01/12/2013
By ,
mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Great Toy

09/06/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off this toy is so darn cute! It comes with a USB cable to go online and customize the dog to say your childs name as well as favorite food, color and animal. You can also select five "daytime" songs and five "nightime" songs to program the dog to play from a list of 30 songs. You can select the "nightime" music to play for 2, 5 or 10 minutes which is a nice feature. There is an activites mode in which it teaches counting, favorite color, feelings and animal noises. There are two levels of volume control although I feel the low level could be a little softer. On a side note there was a recall on the original one in which there were decals on the paws instead of the new stitched paws. If you have one that has the decals they can come off per the website. I am extremely happy with this purchase and well worth the small price tag. As of yet my son has not played with it (just got it today) but I am sold and I am sure he will be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 9 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Great toy for any baby/toddler

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son received this for Christmas last yr when he was 8 months old. I was excited, but hesitant when I learned I could program it to say my sons name, since he has a uncommon name (Jerrick. To my surprise I was able to program my sons name, a long with his favorite food, animal, color and I got to choose which songs it played. He is now 19 months and we still use this toy every single day! The left foot plays 2,5, or 10 minutes of bed time music (soothing, and you can pick the songs...you have to have internet in order to download the app, which is free). One of my favorite game/songs it plays is his name, Scout (the dog) says "Jerrick, lets sing a song about you! J-E-R-R-I-C-K!" it also has other educational learning for toddlers such as "Jerrick, can you tell me what I am? Oink Oink? I'm a pig! Oink with me!" I couldn't be happier with how educational this gift has been and we literally use it everyday (especially for the bed time music)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Great Toy, Inconvenient to Clean

01/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My two-year-old loves her Violet so much that I recently bought Scout for my other much younger daughter. Violet is a hit because it says my daughter's name (an uncommon name, too). Since this toy is a favorite, it also suffers from anything a toddler can inflict, and keeping it clean has been my only complaint. I would love to throw Violet into the washing machine, but her electronics won't allow for that. I've used a wet rag with dish soap, which worked quite well--except for the crying toddler wanting Violet back before the toy had a chance to dry. Other than that, this is a great toy; I've even given it as a gift:
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Messed up when we attempted to change the things

07/14/2012
By ,
Tn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter in December 2011 for her birthday. She LOVES LOVES this toy and we have had to take him everywhere. We decided today to change out the things he says and the songs it plays etc. for some reason it completely messed up. At first he would only say half of his dialogue now all he does is bark with a word here and there. Unfortunately we are going to have to buy another one because she loves him so much. The price is reasonable so I dont mind I just hate that he only lasted a little over 8 months. I have emailed the leapfrog customer support people and am waiting to hear back from them to see if there is a fix for this issue before we buy a new one. Dont get me wrong this is a great toy and I think any kid would love it. I just wanted to give my experience with it so other people can make a sound purchase without worry. So overall it was a good buy but not very good quality as far as the electronics in him go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Puppy Love

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for my nephew for Christmas and he LOVES that the puppy knows his name.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Christmas Gift for my 3 month old grandson

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was such a delight to see my 3 month old grandson's face light up as Scout sang to him. "Jha" had never heard Old McDonald before but as Scout sang it, "Jha" sang along. Thank God the camera was rolling. We caught that special moment on video. I love this toy/dog and will stay with the LeapFrog product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

can't program

01/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought two of these now & haven't been able to program them.. I do everything it says to do but it still won't program. My phone & computer r both comparable to program is but still won't work.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

great toy for a toddler

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gift for my 10 month old nephew and the toy was age appropriate and can be used for several months. The noise level was great and the songs and quotes were excellent. I liked the toy mostly because it does not scare the child.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Great toy

01/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very great toy I got it for a very good price of only $15 my four month old just goes crazy when he her his pal call his name...this is a must get toy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Love this Toy!

09/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great new Leap Frog toy. It was easy to install the program and add my son's personalized information..favorite food, color, music, and name. The voice is so cute when it says your childs name. His face just lit up like "wow is that dog really talking to me". It is not scary at all. We love it and would highly reccommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 18 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

wonderful Toy

12/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 8month old daughter loves her violet pup. We were able to program her name, so that violet can speak directly to her. Violet also has 5min of night time music for baby to whine down. Love it. Cute baby item
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

A great to toy!

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson absolutely loves this toy! It It does so many things! I love that it even says his name!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for LeapFrog My Pal Scout

Perfect Pal

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We saw Scout in a Pre-Black Friday flyer on line. Reviews looked good so we got him for our 17 month old grandson for Christmas. We took him out of the box to personalize and thought Scout was too cute to save for Christmas. Our grandson loves the way Scout says his (our grandson's) name. First thing he does in the morning is find Scout and give him a hug. He has started singing with him and making the animal sounds. This is fantastic because he only said a few words before he got Scout. Since he's had it, less than 2 weeks, six of our friends have seen it and ordered Scout for their child/ grandchild.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next