Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

The Mr. Coffee Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3, prevents scorching of the beans, and because there is no paper filter involved, all the natural, flavorful oils are infused into your drink. Simply measure out your desired amount of course-ground coffee into the Mr. Coffee Press using the convenient scoop and pour very hot water over it. Let the contents brew in the French coffee press for at least four minutes, then slowly press down to experience a rich cup of coffee. This Mr. Coffee Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3, includes one French coffee press, one handheld battery-operated milk frother, one plastic measuring scoop and two glass latte mugs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation57%12 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Hard to enjoy

02/02/2010
By ,
Canton, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pro's
Makes a GREAT cup of coffee.
Impressive features:
* (2) Mr. Coffee glasses: They are nice! But most people drink they're coffee out of ceramic mugs, not glass
* Cool milk frother, works rather well
Cons
The press itself fell apart the first time I used it! When gently pulling up on the plunger, the handle popped off with the plunger still in the press. It doesn't seem to be attached very well. I've used it for 4 weeks and maybe twice it hasn't come apart.
There is a black plastc stand on which the press rests upon between the counter top and the bottom of the press. This stand has four tabs that keep it attached to the press itself. Three of them broke causing the stand to be flimsy and unusable before I used it the first time.
The handle seems like cheap, thin plastic.
The Milk frother requires 2 AA batteries! ..For a Milk Frother!?
I actually was excited to buy another Mr. Coffee product. I have a Mr. Coffee auto-drip and a coffee bean/spice grinder that work great, however, I will be writing to the manufacturer about this sadly designed, disappointing product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Awful design

08/25/2010
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product to replace the French press that got knocked off the counter by my daughter. I bought the previous French press at Wal-mart as well.
It was a good one. I miss that French press. This French press is terrible.
My old one had all metal hardware. This is mostly wimpy plastic. The hardware that attaches the plunger to the filter is plastic. Actually the plunger screw is metal, and it screws into plastic. A metal, small groove screw into a plastic nut. Not good. It fell apart the first time I used it.
Also, the (plastic) base fell off this morning.
I hate this French press so much that I went here to warn others. This product should be discontinued immediately. Bring back the French press you used to sell, Wal Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Broken Item

01/25/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited to get this french press. When it arrived I could only think of making a fresh pot of coffee. It was, however, broken around the rim. I went to return it and order another, but there didn't seem to be any in stock. I was quite disappointed to say the least. Shipping suggestion - check all items prior to sending out and put fragile on the outside of the box...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Great Product

12/28/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You've never tasted a great cup of coffee til you've made coffee in a press. My friend has always made me coffee with his. I got hooked and got my own! The frother is an added bonus & is really neat to froth the cream.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Defects and poor design

12/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible design and manufacturing. The handle wasn't welded onto the metal body frame in two spots (there should have been four welds). Because of this the whole unit was wobbly as I lifted it by the handle. The instructions specify to unscrew the handle from the base to thoroughly wash all parts. The big problem with this is handle rod has thin metal threads, and where it screws in is plastic. It never screws back in properly and you wind up forever stripping the plastic. I'm returning to Walmart asap for a refund. Am very disappointed the Mr.Coffee brand would put out something like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

don't buy this one

08/27/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm an engineer so I'm a pretty handy guy. My first one broke on the 3rd use because of a poor plunger design. The second one had it's glass container crack at the bottom when I poured hot water in. Imagine that!
This product is not worthy of your shelf space - I highly recommend you buy a different brand. I am taking back my second one this morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

not the greatest

12/01/2010
By ,
Pleasant Hill, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i purchased this product for my husband for his birthday, and after about 3 or 4 uses the plunger stripped off the disk at the bottom. we still use it, but it is a pain to get the pump out after you pour out the coffee. i would recommend choosing a different french press than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Buy something else

05/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The most cheaply made piece of junk I have ever seen from Mr Coffee. Spend a little more and get a quality Bodum brand press that is actually made to last.
I used to equate the Mr Coffee brand with decent quality, not anymore.
Cons: Low quality
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3
01/13/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the bottom broke off 2 days after we opened it
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Poor Design

04/07/2010
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been looking for a French Press for quite a while. I've been to 6 different stores and finally discovered this Mr. Coffee version here on Walmart.com. I was very excited when I got it today. Within the hour I had a mug full of coffee and some milk frothed. I went to clean the Press and the plunger came apart in the bottom of the press! I am very displeased with this poor quality. Spend a little extra and find yourself a Bodum French Press instead.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

simple and easy to use

01/12/2011
By ,
Fort Wood, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this due to my traditional coffee maker dying on me. A friend had a French Press and me being an avid coffee drinker, was really interested in owning one. It is affordable, easy to use and clean and is nice looking! I love my French Press and have recommended it to others!!!! Since I'm the only one in the house that drinks coffee, I make a full pot, drink what I want and stick it in the fridge and reheat later...sooo simple!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Replacement Parts

12/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I need a new part. The very bottom is a plastic wheel with a projection that broke. Cannot find any mention of the french press on the Mr. Coffee website. HELP. Otherwise the pot is good for the price, about half of bodum. One thing I noted is that the glass container fits both the bodum and Mr. Coffee. Problem the glass replacement is almost as expensive as the whole Mr. Coffee pot. Would love to know if Mr. Coffee carries replacement carafes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

I love my new French press!

04/09/2010
By ,
Pass Christian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the smoothest, richest cup of coffee ever!
I don't know if I'm supposed to or not but I heat the water directly in the carafe in the m-wave to just boiling. I then add the coffee and let steep for 4 minutes before pressing. Works great -the carafe is holding up fine after many uses. And this way the coffee is reallllly hot -- just the way I like. Also, the glass mugs are nice and love the milk frother thingy. Cool product and great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Great french press

02/16/2010
By ,
Eglin AFB, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my husband who works outside almost all day. Its perfect! He can have fresh hot coffee anytime he wants it! He only uses the frother when he makes me coffee, tho. I do have to add that the frother accidentally was soaking in the sink for like 2 hrs with batteries in. When I took it out, I took out the batteries and let it dry. It still works! Overall, this is a great product and my husband and I are very happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Yummy coffee

08/22/2010
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for coffee while camping and have continued to use it at home. Makes very tasty, not burnt, coffee. Just as easy to brew as with a coffee maker but does have a higher likelihood of grounds showing up in your cup... This is to be expected with a French press from what I understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Terrific Coffee!

09/07/2010
By ,
Eastern Shore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reluctant to buy this given the reviews, but I took the chance and am so glad that I did!
The coffee is phenomenal, and I've had no problems with the pot.
I wish that I had purchased this sooner.
Delicious!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3
10/30/2010
By ,
Waco, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The glass part of this pot was broken when I opened the box. It was not well packaged.
A lot of trouble for nothing!!!
Item was returned to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

French Coffee Press

05/03/2011
By ,
Vian, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's everything I expected. The price was low and it included a milk frother and two glass coffee cups. I also use it for making tea.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Good Buy

06/29/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The french press is great for the money. However, I could do without the "tiny" little glass cups. All in all, it's a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee French Coffee Press 5-Piece Indulgence Kit, BVMC-AC3

Well worth the money.

07/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the price, works flawlessly and if I lost it or broke it, I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next