Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Olympus Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Olympus Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

The Olympus SLR Digital Camera offers all the features you need to take terrific pictures anywhere you go, every day. Autofocus Live View function allows you to frame and focus your photos using the large 2.7-inch LCD as a viewfinder. You can take advantage of scene select modes or switch to manual mode to expand your creative control. This feature-rich digital SLR also sports shadow adjustment technology and face detection, that are viewable in real time on the Live View LCD screen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%32 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

I like the camera.

12/09/2012
By ,
Chesterfield, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item through the website but when I got the item the package was opened. It looks like this item was on display and never used. Since this item is no longer available on the store I decided to keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 2 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Very Good Deal!!!!!!!

12/07/2009
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had camera for about a month. I bought with extra lens for $100 more plus got free 2GB XD card. All for $499. Price this bundle at Olympus site and you will see the value. I would rate image quality about 3.5-4 out of 5. Depends on lighting and subject. Forget close-ups with a DSLR with theses standard lens, for that you will have to purchase macro lens. It's a good idea to keep a good point and shoot for indoor casual and close-ups in my opinion. This camera is fast when using view finder. Live-view slows it down. I have found that when you crop images you retain high quality. I am still learning. It's a good but not great camera. Bundled software is not so good, but there are many other software options out there. Anyway, for the price I think I made a good purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Nice starter camera

11/05/2010
By ,
Sanford, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always wanted a camera like this and have always liked Olympus camera's and when I seen this camera for under $500, I jumped on it. I've had this camera for almost 1yr now and haven't completely figured out all the features about it but it takes GREAT pictures.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 4 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD
01/13/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good, just a problem with close ups when using the flash, lens shadow is ever present
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Great buy for the money

01/17/2010
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera! This is my first DSLR camera. I've had several point and shoot cameras before this one. I had a very top of the line Nikon Coolpix, Kodak and then a not so great Samsung camera. I needed a camera that would allow me to be more versatile in taking product picture shots for my online business. I could get by with the point and shoots I had before, but this camera absolutely blows me away. I never realized that the cameras I was using before did not accurately represent the colors of my products while viewing online. When I retook some product pictures with this new Olypmus, the colors were crisp, vibrant and very true to real life. So far, my favorite feature is being able to adjust the flash. You can even choose from 1/4, 1/16 or 1/64 flash. This is perfect for choosing the correct flash for your lighting situations to make sure your pics come out true to color every single time.
I'm also amazed at the shutter speed. It takes very rapid pics of my 2 year old, and I've been able to catch silly faces that I'd otherwise been missing with the delay in my other point and shoot cameras.
Like others have said, it is very light weight. I can take up to 100 product shots in one day and it's not cumbersome or heavy at all. Some of the other DSLRs I handled felt bulky and were too hard to handle with one hand (and I'm 5'8", so not exactly petite). For my use, all of the buttons are in perfect positioning. I'm not accidentally setting the timer, for instance, when I'm holding the camera to take a shot (a problem I've had with other cameras).
The Live View mode is a little more difficult to use than a point and shoot, but it's more accurate. It does not shutter as fast when it's in live view mode either. And it definitely drains batter power. I've been sticking to using the view finder.
All menus and buttons are logically laid out so it's easy to find what you need to be able to quickly adjust settings. I think it's the absolute best value for the money and it's just as awesome as an $800 Nikon. Especially for a new DSLR user.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 6 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

pleased with this camera

01/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this camera and so far I am very pleased with the photos I've taken just out of the box on auto setting. I've been looking around for a digital photo class and found some tutorials online and I hope to learn more about how to use the features it comes with. This is my first DSLR camera. The price is also very good. I've been searching online and this is the best price I've found. This camera also gets good reviews from many camera review websites.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Cool Camera

11/05/2009
By ,
Memphis, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this small DSLR for my wife who loves shooting pictures of my son. Excellent very small lens with power for 28mm wide angle because she love landscape shots, and will zoom equal to 84mm for people pictures. Image quality is superlative. We have the 40-150mm lens which is pocket sized and zooms in to a 300mm equivalent of my clunky old 35mm lens. We can fit both lenses and the camera into my wife's purse. The sports mode and 3.5 frames-per-second shooting mode works great at my son's soccer games. This was a killer value at $399 for the camera with second lens for $99 and it is simple to use. A great DSLR for the money! Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Review 8 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

I love this camera!~

10/23/2009
By ,
Waynesville, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was turned on to this camera doing a search and looking for reviews. What they say is true, it is the smallest DSLR camera that I have ever seen, and the quality not only of the materials used, but the quality of the camera itself impress me.
I couldn't wait to get this camera so I went to my local Walmart to buy it and they only had one there. I didn't get the 2GB memory card for free, but I did take advantage of the special offers for the additional lenses.
For the price, you can't go wrong. This little DSLR works wonders, I give it two very enthusiastic thumbs up!~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 9 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Great Price, Good Product

12/28/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited to go buy this camera. The reviews were very helpful and I decided this was the best bang for my buck. After using the camera for three weeks I have decided to return it and purchase another camera instead ( I am think the Canon Rebel or the Nikon D3000 or D40).
The pictures this camera takes are wonderful and full of detail, but I can't always get the camera to take the picture. It just keeps zooming in and out and making focul adjustments, but never takes the picture. I dont know if this is my inexperience preventing the shot, but the picture will be perfectly clear, in a well lit environment and still nothing. I bought this camera to take pictures of my 3 month old and 95% of the time I miss the initial shot I wanted.
If you aren't trying to take pictures of small children, or moving objects I think you will love this camera, but if you are, I suggest either going with a different DSLR or just getting a really good little digital.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Great starter SLR

11/10/2009
By ,
Wausau WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at SLRs now for about a year. I dont know much about photography, but I wanted to start learning more. This camera is very user friendly and has settings for just about everything! I couldnt beat the price even with a used SLR. great for a person who wants to start taking awesome pictures!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 11 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

I LOVE my new camera!

12/07/2009
By ,
Modesto, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this camera before a trip to washington for thanksgiving, it arrived just in time. I started taking pictures right away and fell in love with this camera. If the camera is on the right settings your pictures come out great, so if you have never used a SLR digital camera before read the manual it helps.With two very young kids traveling with this camera wasn't too bad becasue it is small and fits just about anywhere. I was able to take my own pictures for christmas cards this year, and the pictures turned out better than I expected. You will not find a camera this good for the price, trust me we did the research.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 12 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Great Camera

01/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this camera for several weeks now and I love it. I bought it knowing nothing about SLRs and have learned a lot since. The manual is cumbersome and not always clear. There is some noise when you zoom in on a picture taken at a high ISO, but overall it takes great pictures. An excellent buy for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 13 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD
06/06/2010
By ,
Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased after browsing in the store after getting intertested in photography. I already had a point and shoot Panasonic that was given to me by my sons before returning to Iraq in Oct. '07 and it served my purpose for that type of use (i.e. traveling, going thru airports, passport control, etc,). Since this purchase I have used it for all kinds of pics and have not been disappointed with anything. It takes some practice to learn how to use all the modes. I really don't see any reason to stray from the "auto" mode unless you encounter low light conditions. This camera struggles in low light in auto. It is fun to explore all the different modes and setting you can use. Also, when I purchased it in Oct. '09 the price was 399 so it was not too expensive. Olympus has been around for a long time, but always in the shadow of Canon and Nikon. There products are just as good, but not as expensive. This is a good camera!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Just what I wanted!

04/08/2010
By ,
Double Springs, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. I was tired of my cheapo digital camera that missed the shot I wanted every time. I hated the delay that caused me to end up with pictures of the back of daughter's head, etc. I talked to a friend of mine that is a professional photographer and for what I wanted he recommended the Nikon. I was in the store about to purchase it when another shopper told me he had just bought this Olympus over the Nikon and how he loved it and it's a little less expensive. I took his word, bought this one and have been taking pictures like crazy since. I love it and the pics are beautiful no matter what! Not to mention that all my pics are of my sweet little girl. Anyway, this camera is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Dad's First Camera

01/02/2010
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He loves it, takes pictures with ease every day. Good guides included with the camera to help you get started. Great zoom as well! Tons of options for pro and new photographers. Great for a first DSLR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

awesome camera for the price

12/01/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching on and off for about a year looking for a point and shoot camera, with very little success, I happened upon this one. I thought it was a misprint on the price (close out). I immediately researched this product through professional reviewers and buyers as well, and quickly went back to buy it. So far this camera is flat out awesome, takes great pictures and has easily exceeded my expectations. After reading the manual, which is very informative, getting used to the features is becoming much easier. I expect to use this for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Olympue E 420

07/14/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value. Small size with great features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Everything I expected!

08/09/2010
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much, much (and I may add exhausting) research, I decided on the Olympus E-420, primarily because the price was right for a brand new DSLR. Not to mention the included
Olympus M+ 2GB xD-Picture Card.
Although I purchased this camera because the price was on the lower end of competitors, I couldn't be happier with the camera.
It's quick, responsive and downright easy to use. There's also plently of tweaking and manual adjutments that can be made by the veteran user. I'm still learning the various (and numerous) settings and adjustments. I love the scene options, which adjusts the necessary settings to optimize specific scenes. For example, the camera has eighteen different scenes to choose from, including full auto, sunset, active children, night shots, and sports (among others). I am very happy with the scene selections, as it allows for great pictures with various settings, while not having to actually tweak the settings myself. It's great that the camera does it for me!
I'm also happy with the shutter time and lag with this camera. My past digital cameras have been of the point-and-shoot variety, which always aggravated me because of the lag time between pictures. There is a small lag time (around three seconds) for the camera to auto-focus if the lens is zoomed in. This is especially noticeable in dim lighting. With that said, there is virtually no lag between shots with the lens fully retracted (not zoomed). I love that! This is surely the best feature in my eyes.
As for picture quality, I am so far satisfied. I have developed 150 pictues so far and I'm happy with the color reproduction in each one.
As for the
Olympus M+ 2GB xD-Picture Card, it is noticeably faster in processing than my "old"
Olympus M 2GB xD-Picture Card. The difference is the "+" after the "M." The "+" increases the processing speed.
Overall rating? Excellent! Highly recommened for someone looking to enter the DSLR market at a truly affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

one nice camera

01/18/2010
By ,
fort wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera may be inexpensive compared to Nikon and Canon but the features make it wonderful for someone that is entering the world of DSLR photography. The live view is there for those who like it but I have not used it yet. I received this as a gift and my kids are sure putting it to quick use. I have not had time to experiment with all the manual settings or most of the auto settings but there are many. I couldn't be more pleased with my camera. My next purchase will be one of the telephoto lenses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Olympus E-420 Black SLR Digital Camera With 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 2.7" LCD

Great Product

06/09/2010
By ,
Redondo Beach,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the camera last month so far so good, take very sharp and clear pictures, sometimes takes a while to get the shot..but is my first time with a SLR camera so I guess I still need to learn how to use it properly, I know Canon and Nikon are better but for the price this camera works pretty good and is one of the only ones that basically have a live shot, the Nikon D300 and the Canon for around that price don't have it,if you are used to your compact digital camera you should look at that...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next