Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Haan HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haan HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

HAAN HS-20 Handheld Steam Cleaner allows you to clean and sanitize every nook and cranny of your home interior. This Portable Steam Cleaner can help you clean kitchen countertops, tiles, smelly shoes, gym bags, windows, garments and more. With the high-temperature steam of 212+ Degrees from the Flexible Nozzle Vacuum Cleaner, you can remove stubborn stains, dirt and grime and kill the germs, bacteria, and dust mites in your home effortlessly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.748 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation72%88 out of 123reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Very useful steamer

05/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cleaned my suede couches with this steam cleaner and they look brand new!!! they had stains and spots and it took them all away in seconds. I only wish I didn't have to stop to refill the water container, but since it is a small product it has a small tank. I didn't give any stars to the durability part since I just purchased it, but it looks very strong and it seems durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 2 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Excellent Purchase!

07/03/2010
By ,
Oxnard, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to assist me in cleaning kitchen fixtures where sticky/oily residue builds up (the vapor the fan doesn't catch) and to sanitize counter top surfaces after a general wiping. When the steamer arrived, my wife became so interested in it that she did the cleaning for me. She cleaned the grout in our shower too. Therefore the product works better than I ever hoped for. It also does what it claims to do, but be prepared to knock down lime build up with liquid cleaners first (shower cleaning). It is very versatile: You can even steam the shower head holes to unclog them. The long power cord makes it easy to maneuver within a room. We haven't had this item but only a week, so I can't speak to it's true durability, but it appears rugged. I'd rate this a good value. Walmart delivered it quickly. Another good experience: Shipping costs were low.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+53points
Review 3 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

This product is AWESOME

01/19/2010
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a stay at home Mother to 4 children and a Boxer puppy, along with a husband :) I do not like using chemicals to clean my home with as they just clean the SURFACE and are also bad for your body. It amazes me when the bottle says, "WARNING: use with adequate ventilation, may burn eyes, throat, skin, etc"...but yet soo many people use these products to clean their bathtubs and then put their children in there to "get clean"..meanwhile sitting in all the residue left behind from the chemicals. Anyways, I'll get off my soap box and onto the review :) This product is amazing! I've had it for about a month or so now but have used it about 12 hours so far. The drains in the sink APPEARED clean but when I used this mean machine it blew soo much black gunk away that was under the ring that the chemicals didn't get to. I won't even mention what it did around the base of the toilet, I'll just say one word WOW...and I thought my house was clean! It melted away the baked on grease in my oven and blasted away the tea stains in my kitchen sink. I can not say enough about this product. I have the Haan Floor Sanitizer and I love that too so didn't think I could go wrong buying another Haan product, and I didn't. I'm very satisified with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Review 4 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Good idea loses steam

10/31/2010
By ,
Portage, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Using steam to clean is a great idea. But the HAAN Steam Cleaner falls short of delivering the capabilities advertised. While it does produce steam fairly quickly and in a generous amount, the water tank runs out well before any job can be finished. And this is where the problem lies. The cap cannot be removed while the unit is hot, requiring a lengthy wait to refill the tank. So most of the "cleaning time" is spent waiting. On the positive, it does smell fresh during and after use, without the chemical or perfume odors or residues of typical household cleaners. Also wish the product packaged more than one cloth headcover as it is used for a majority of my cleaning projects. And a word to the wise, use it on the inside of your toilet with caution---when the steam blows from the tool, even when curved up at the top of the bowl, the spray and air force blows the toilet water all over the place. I will still use this product to sanitize counters and some bedding but it is not convenient for other things due to the short use time and the long cool down time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 5 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Smartheart

01/18/2012
By ,
Bellingham, Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this immediately after using for the first time. I followed all the instructions and was thrilled the first time I pulled the trigger and got a BIG STRONG blast of steam - so I set off to clean my kitchen sink first. However, what I soon learned was that the BIG STRONG blast of steam only lasted about 15 seconds before reducing so far on power it couldn't clean anything. After about 45 seconds the reheating light came on - so I had to put it down to build up steam. So I got a 15 second blast of steam, 30 more seconds of steam that wouldn't clean followed my minutes of waiting for it to heat up again! Not what I was expecting. Next, the water was empty so I had to allow 20 minutes for the unit to cool so I could add more water. 3 tanks of water, 2 hours of my time and the kitchen sink did not look much different from when I started - which is why I returned immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 6 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Best of the small steamers

01/24/2012
By ,
Rockford IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at many reviews before purchasing this steam cleaner. Most problems were with units failing after the warranty, so I purchased the extended warranty. This unit is heavier than most, but the steam is really hot, which was one of my priorities. The attachments are handy and come with a storage bag so I should be able to find them again. It was easy to use, warmed up fast, but had to "recharge" to keep the pressure up pretty often. I used it for about 3 hours doing all my vinyl flooring edges (never been done this way in 15 yrs) and cleaning bathrooms. Great to go with to the Eureka floor steamer I purchased to go with it. I cleaned my kitchen counters and stove with it too. My house looks and feels cleaner, so it did its job. Tried this unit at work to clean a machine and it really doesn't have enough power to compete with a job really meant for a pressure washer, but plenty good enough for household filth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Review 7 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Glad I Bought It

03/08/2010
By ,
Hershey, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a little more expensive than some others, but well worth it. I wish the tank held a little more water, because I didn't like stopping. I used it on appliances, backsplash, cupboard doors and furniture. Sputters a little while heating, but does not when in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 8 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

One of my worst purchases ever!!!

11/14/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read all the previous reviews & thought this would be a great product - wrong, so very wrong! I don't know why this product has a continuous spray button, cause you can't use it. Had to stop about every 10 seconds to let the steam build up again & the reservoir was so small. This didn't even take care of what I thought would be the easiest job after it didn't work on a tougher job - needless to say, I returned it & wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 9 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

A disappointment

03/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner after a lot of research. We tried it out as soon as it arrived and were pretty disappointed. It DOES have a lot of attachments and uses for these attachements, but none of them were useful to us. We tried it on everything, and found that the cleaning power was just so-so. For the time that it took to fill it up and wait for it to be ready to use, I could do a better job the old fashioned way (household cleaner and a rag/paper towel). We used the HAAN for the next couple of hours, trying it on everything we could think of and all of the results were the same--disappointing. It just seemed like a lot of waiting/steam/noise for nothing. I thought it would be great to use on toys, and yes, it would be...but for our family, that was the ONLY thing it could be used for. We could not justify keeping it for just that one purpose, so we returned it that day. Walmart was very helpful and allowed us to return it with no problems. We really wish it would have worked out for us. The idea of using steam instead of chemicals to clean is what we loved about it. I'm not saying this was a bad product, maybe it is and maybe it isn't, but for us, it just didn't get the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Review 10 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

GREAT ASSISTANT to DEEP CLEANING!!!!

08/15/2010
By ,
Norwood, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 40 but have Rheumatoid Arthirtis, Degenerative Disc Disease (with hardware in my lower back), & Fibromyalgia. This has helped me clean things I COULDN'T due to my health. I LOVE IT! It makes me feel like I am in control of my house again!! THANK YOU HAAN!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 11 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Works well, small water capacity

02/22/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after soliciting recommendations from friends. I am generally happy with my purchase, it is the first steam cleaner that I've owned, so I don't have any other comparison. It does have a 200 ml (1 cup) water capacity (measuring device included), which gives you 15-20 minutes of steaming. Some people have complained about this, but maybe those people are looking for a professional grade steam cleaner. For your average home this seems to be more than sufficient. I like that there are many attachments included.
It does take time to re-pressurize while in use (1-3 minutes maybe), so keep that in mind. I assume any steam cleaner works like that, so I don't know if that is a drawback. If you are looking for something that will give you 15 minutes straight of steam, you'd probably be better off with a much larger unit.
I've used it to clean my oven and oven racks, it was able to get off some burnt on grease that even oven cleaner couldn't touch. I look forward to using this on the shower door/track. It says it can be used to steam clothing as well, which makes this well worth the price in my opinion.
The instructions recommend using distilled water in the unit, which is a good idea if you have hard water. A build-up of mineral deposits would ruin the steamer, and a gallon of distilled water is $0.80.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+5points
Review 12 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

didn't work for me

12/15/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent more time filling it up and waiting for the reheat than I did using it. I was only able to use it for a minute or so, and then had to refill again (& again.) Returned the same day to purchase a larger one that would run longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 13 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Great for small to medium house-hold projects.

01/07/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Haan Hand-Held Steamer cleans as described in the product description. It is not an industrial device meaning for extended use, you have to wait for the pressure to build from time to time. The smaller the nozzle, the more pressure is delivered. Thick width dirty grout may take a while because the nozzle will deliver a thin line of steam. But that line of steam is effective. I was able to clean my bathroom from floor to ceiling, getting in between decorative molding details, behind the fixtures, and even under the faucet knobs to sanitize for flu season. I am a relatively clean person so I was surprised how my bathroom gleamed after I was finished. You do need to wipe down the condensation left from the steam. It's definitely an added layer of sanitization when it comes to household cleaning. I used it on the curtains as well. Some fabrics release wrinkles with steam better than others. Overall, I am happy with the Haan Hand-Held Steamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

good for the price

06/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it gets the job done. used it to steam my pillows and bedding. also removed grease from wall tiles near stove. one downfall is because of size, the steam runs out quick if you are doing big projects like beds and grease removal. I found I had to refill the thing 4 times or so for each project and since it gets so hot inside you must let it cool before putting more water because it spatters all over if you dont. I found it wasnt helpful in the bathroom at all. too tedious, rather pray scrub and go, cleaning hard water and soap scum with this thing would take at least an hour because it didnt remove it quickly or easily. like grease spots you had to spray the same spot and let it heat up to wipe away and the water runs out too quick so for the bathroom i wouldnt recommend this product. used it to steam rinkles out a dry clean only dress and it worked well spattered water a bit if i didnt hold it in the right position but it worked. for the most part this thing gets the job done, not easily, but most chores arent so... for the price its worth it for your first steamer until you really pinpoint your uses for a steamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 15 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Does NOT clean

12/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just got this product today, used once, and it is going back to the store. It does not even move the grime off the stove knobs! I let it heat for 4 minutes to boil the 7 oz of water before using but the cleaning results were very poor. I live alone so we are not talking heavy usage on my appliances. I am going to order something else to see if it does better. Only 1000 watts of power and I could hold my hand in front of nozzle without any burns. This is more like a hand held vaporizer for colds.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Review 16 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Very disappointed!

06/23/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a basic (yellow) Haan floor steamer and I absolutely love it, so when I went in search of a handheld steamer I was drawn to this brand. I researched the different handhelds on several sites and read hundreds of reviews. This gadget seemed to receive great reviews...I went back and forth about which one to buy but when I found the HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner at walmart.com for $20 less than the leading online retailer, I jumped on it.
It arrived quickly and I tore open the box, eager to start steaming. It feels sturdy and has plenty of attachments-- including a funnel to pour the water in. Easy peasy...I was ready to go. It didn't take very long to heat up and as soon as it was ready I started cleaning the bathroom. The amount of steam that pumped out seemed sufficient, but it didn't have the pressure that I was hoping for. The grout seemed to be coming clean, BUT!!!! Wait! Out of steam?!?! It only lasted for 5 minutes before needing a refill! FIVE MINUTES??? I don't know about you, but 5 minutes is not long enough to do much more than clean the toilet and sink. Unfortunately, I will be boxing this back up and returning it.
I still want a handheld steamer, predominantly for cleaning the bathrooms. With two teenagers and their friends coming in and out, there is a lot of cleaning necessary. Steaming a toilet beats scrubbing with a toothbrush for sure! So, I am going to buy the McCulloch MC-1275. It isn't exactly a handheld because it is attached to a canister-like unit, but it offers up to an hour of steam time and that is very appealing to me.
If you have a small bathroom or just want to use this to clean your stove or grill then it might work fine for you. If you plan on steaming for longer than 5 minutes, I definitely suggest that you keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Great on grout

01/17/2013
By ,
Mission Viejo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for work because we needed something to help clean and sterilize our small kitchenette area that has no water and other parts of our office. We have a microwave that gets pretty disgusting. I use the Shark hand held at home but ordered this for work because it's smaller and less expensive.
I tried it out at home before I brought it to the office and found that it cleans the (who knows how many years of gunks worth) grout in my ceramic tile flooring. I though the grout was black. Its NOT! Another think I like better about the HAAN compared to my Shark is the locking mechanism. I can just lock and point instead of having to hold the lever down to steam.
At work it helps clean out stains in carpet and office chairs, helps get rid of 20 years + worth of dust on top of file cabinets, and cleans the microwave effortlessly.
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I would have liked to use the steam to just sterilize areas like the refrigerator handle and conference room table and chairs but it spurts out too much water with the steam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

just what I needed

05/03/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little cleaner goes places that rags fear to go, won't clean the side of the house but cleans a bathroom spotless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 19 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

This is awesome!

04/14/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this steamer for about 3 weeks. I read all the reviews for this and similar products before buying. In my 3 weeks, I have cleaned (with this steamer) walls, ceilings, ceiling fan blades, kitchen counters, cupboards, bathrooms, floors, my grill, stove and oven, dining room chairs, mirror, windows and even my friend's pancake spattered textured ceiling. Is this the cure all for cleaning? Well, it isn't a maid in a machine but if you wanted chemical free cleaning this is the best. Love all the attachments and I have had no problems with this so far. Bonus: the instructions had me rolling on the floor from all the typos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for HAAN HS-20 Deluxe Hand Held Steam Cleaner

Would not recommend this product.

08/29/2011
By ,
Honolulu, HI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The steam runs for a very short time and you have to let it heat up again. It only holds 1 cup of water and runs out quickly. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next