Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Tiller/Cultivator makes creating the garden of your dreams one step easier. At only 17 pounds and ergonomically designed, this electric garden tiller cultivator provides maximum comfort during extended use. Durable steel blade tines and a 6.5-amp motor make this Sun Joe electric tiller ideal for tough jobs around the yard. Dig in and get going on your dream floral or vegetable plot with this essential electric garden tiller cultivator.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%161 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
40
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great tool for small garden jobs

09/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We wanted to remove a long stretch(50x2) of existing lawn and turn it into a space suitable to plant edgers and other flowering plants. The Sun Joe tiller did a great job digging and tilling out the grass patch. We were done with tilling in about 1 hr. A second or third round of tilling made it more easier and deeper. It is very light, so you have to hold it tight and keep it down for it to really dig into hard soil. It is quite powerful for small and regular garden jobs. Overall its a great tool for its money. It is easy to carry and store.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Worked great

04/03/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it once but it was easy to use and did a really good job on the garden soil. I did change the name and picture on the box to "Tiller Tom" to impress my friends and tell them I invented the machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Very poor e-mail response

05/13/2013
By ,
Ellsworth Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tried to tell them (4times) with pictures that they had labeled the crossbar piece wrong.
It is very light weight, very powerful, easy to use. The only drawback I can see, the way
you have to turn on the unit. very hard if you have arthritis, the safety button has to be pushed in first.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Good Product

02/20/2014
By ,
Middleton, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tiller. It was quick and easy to do our 25' x 10' garden spot. Compared to our old gas tiller I really liked the ease of starting it. However, be aware that you must maintain a firm grip on the right handle to keep it from shutting off - it is very sensitive. That was a little difficult for me and may be for others as well. The wide spread of the handles helps with better control. The digging width is nice which allowed for more space to be covered in a shorter time. I noticed that the cleanup was pretty simple too. The directions say not to get any water in the motor so you have to be careful, but there were no weeds bound up in the tines as there would have been in our little gas tiller tines. I also noticed that the tiller did not jump around like our old tiller. NICE!
I would recommend this tiller!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe electric Tiller a breeze to use

03/04/2014
By ,
Vian, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the Sun Joe easy to assemble. I was delighted with the job it did on my garden and how easy it was on my back to operate. My wife took her turn and whissed around the garden with no problem. I'm looking forward to this garden chore instead of dreading using my heavy gas model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Rototiller A pleasant Surprize

05/19/2010
By ,
Syracuse, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the tiller for 6 hours in previously un-gardened soil filled with small rocks (up to 5 inches). Obviously any tiller is challenged to operate under tough circumstances. The Sun Joe Electric garden tiller is working like a champ!
I help remove rocks which the tiller is telling me it is scraping over. Once extracted, the tiller works the soil into loose particles, easily mixes with grass clippings and compost, and digs down 8 inches just as anticipated. IT is a tough little machine and sells for an excellent price.
The fact that it is electric is a positive factor for me. First, it does the job! Second, electric drives are lest expensive than gasoline. Third, electricity (energy) is lots cheaper than petroleum gasoline fuel and it is always available without a special trip with a gas container to the station.
I recommend this tiller to anyone home user with a small garden (small in my opinion is less than 500-700 square feet of garden)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

It is a good choice for the average homeowner

04/11/2014
By ,
Goleta Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this littlr guy for about two months now and it does the job -- I recently gave up my old 8 horse gas job with big power and weight - I am very well experienced in rototilling - For a small light weight unit that gets into small places and can be manuevered -I say this is the real deal--The right hand handle with the switch on it cracked where it grips the round strut so I fixed this with good old Gorilla tape - The designers could take a hint and beef this up a bit - I also strapped on ten pounds of weight to keep it down and from bouncing a little in harder soil - I'm sure I'm pushing the limits of it a little but it is tough and does the job well beyond what you will see in the video-- Give this one a go I dont think you can lose ----
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Loved it!

03/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little tiller surprised me. It nearly took off with out me, lol. More powerful then I would have given it credit. It sure has helped me turn over the compacted dirt and even cut through some roots, not the really big ones, but did cut up the smaller and med. ones. Over all, this tiller gets a thumbs up from me. Going to have a great garden this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great little tiller

03/27/2014
By ,
Louisville,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller has worked great for me so far. It breaks up the soil very fine making it easy to work with. You must have patience though it works slower than the large tine tillers with gas engines. Overall I love this tiller it may not be as quick as tillers that I have used in the past however I like the fact that I get a much finer soil and easier to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

My new best friend for spring!

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this for me as it is light weight and no pull cord, I thought it might be wimpy but it is a little workhorse, it bounces off large rocks and roots rather than hang up and it just tears through the dirt, to go deeper I just pull back on it. As a 57 year old woman with a 1000 square foot garden and shoulder and hip issues this little gem is my new best friend for the spring, garden prep took me a week of weeding and hoeing last year, this year my little friend got it done in two hours. I am a happy camper! This is not a heavy duty machine, but it is perfect for what I wanted and yes it does dig up grass that is well established.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

What a great tool

03/23/2014
By ,
Elizabethtown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From time of order it arrived in three days. Assembly was easy and operation was also easy. The only downside is that the belt clip did not hold the 14 gage cord very well...it needs a wider opening. I did my 12 x 14 foot plot in under an hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great tiller for established garden spots

03/19/2014
By ,
Athens, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great tiller for garden spots already established. Having a hard time tilling ground that hasn't already been turned over, but the tiller is great and more powerful than I expected. Takes some getting used to, as I haven't used a tiller in years, and it's hard on the body the first time, but not anymore. Love that it's not gas powered, but yet, as powerful as one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

a good little tiller

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is just what I wanted and seams to do the work in a neat simple way. The only part I have a problem with is the elec. switch location. it is hard to keep in the on position.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

more power then I thought

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this to till up an overgrown garden. Worked great! . . HAD MORE POWER THEN I THOUGHT IT WOULD! . . . tilled up great! Tore up the thick thatch and grasses and my predominantly clay soil. Would definitely recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

mean little bugger

04/06/2011
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did substantial research before I bought this and was still skeptical about its abilities. Have to say after numerous uses in bullet proof clay, it works great. It is NOT a heavy duty tiller. What it is is a great light weight, powerful machine that is very convenient to use. I tilled two 5x10 gardens and numerous other locations in my yard for new spring plantings. Have even been using it to double dig before planting. Basically till approx 6-10 inches down, shovel out, till another 6-10, amend soil, till everything together and plant. Instant on, instant off. Used a friends Mantis(twice the cost) which ended up dying on me and didn't do a single thing different except be much louder, gas fumes and very hard to get started. Had my doubts but they've gone away. Great little birthday present for myself and would buy again without hesitation. Again, if you want a big heavy duty monster, this isn't your tool. If you want something that you can whip out, use and hang on a hook when you're done, buy it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Better than expected

04/07/2014
By ,
colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to handle and does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Excellent tiller

02/16/2010
By ,
Schertz, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a wonderful little tiller! I have to admit that I was sceptical at first because of the price (very cheap for a tiller) but I was shocked by how powerful the motor is! It even has the capability of tilling through areas of my yard that are slightly rocky. It is small enough that I can till in small spaces, and I have had no problem tilling through areas which have some weeds growing. I like the fact that there is a two year warranty, which gives me peace of mind. I would recommend this tiller to everyone and my only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minster,Ohio
Nice tiller
Posted 06/02/2011
It has a strong motor, it went through very hard dirt. The only thing I would like to see on it is a latch to hold the switch on. I know it is a safety thing, but I have small hands and was hard to hold it down and keep control when I hit a hard spot in the soil. I like the tiller very much and would buy another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

I'M IN LOVE!

02/25/2010
By ,
Duncan, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little monster and so will you. This thing was bought to loosen up some flower beds that had been tilled and that was all but I just couldn't stop "testing" to see if it could do more. It broke new dirt, grass areas and even a very stoney area (not great idea but it did it). All that and no "jerking" to start, just push the button. I expect a lot when I pay for something and this was worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HERKIMER NY
PROBLEM AFTER 3RD. USE
Posted 08/15/2011
IT STOPPED WORKING TODAY . AFTER THE 3RD USE OF PROBABLY A TOTAL OF 1 HOUR OF TOTAL USAGE 3 TIMES. IT HAS A YEAR WARRANTY SO ILL SEE WHAT I CAN DO. OTHER WISE ITS OK IF IT LASTS. . LATER..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great Lightweight Tiller

01/21/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful little tiller to use in areas without rocks or roots. I've owned several other brands of small tillers costing twice as much that only last 2 - 4 yrs before they had starting problems. This electric tiller has the power needed to till and is much easier to handle. I love the folding handle feature in order to hang tiller out of the way when not in use. I highly recomend this tiller especially for older folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great Product!

03/09/2010
By ,
Pass Christian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minimal assembly required, very easy to do. Good performance, a great value and does exactly what it says it will do!!! Very easy to operate, I have used it three times since I got it and makes my spring planting a breeze! Handles are ergonomically design (no blistered hands). I highly recommend this product for everyone, specially us ladies :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next