Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Tiller/Cultivator makes creating the garden of your dreams one step easier. At only 17 pounds and ergonomically designed, this electric garden tiller cultivator provides maximum comfort during extended use. Durable steel blade tines and a 6.5-amp motor make this Sun Joe electric tiller ideal for tough jobs around the yard. Dig in and get going on your dream floral or vegetable plot with this essential electric garden tiller cultivator.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%186 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
139
4 stars
45
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great tool for small garden jobs

09/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We wanted to remove a long stretch(50x2) of existing lawn and turn it into a space suitable to plant edgers and other flowering plants. The Sun Joe tiller did a great job digging and tilling out the grass patch. We were done with tilling in about 1 hr. A second or third round of tilling made it more easier and deeper. It is very light, so you have to hold it tight and keep it down for it to really dig into hard soil. It is quite powerful for small and regular garden jobs. Overall its a great tool for its money. It is easy to carry and store.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Control handle cracked the first time I used it

06/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator from Walmart.com and it was delivered on 5/15/14. After about an hour of using it the plastic hand grip on the control handle split up the side. I was able to duct tape it and finish tilling my garden but I expected it to last longer than an hour.. The tiller does work good, but the plastic parts are cheap and don't hold up. I am a 62 year old woman, so it's definitely not that I was over using it or handling it roughly. I have contacted Sun Joe about it and if they will not replace the handle I will return the tiller to Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Very poor e-mail response

05/13/2013
By ,
Ellsworth Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tried to tell them (4times) with pictures that they had labeled the crossbar piece wrong.
It is very light weight, very powerful, easy to use. The only drawback I can see, the way
you have to turn on the unit. very hard if you have arthritis, the safety button has to be pushed in first.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Worked great

04/03/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it once but it was easy to use and did a really good job on the garden soil. I did change the name and picture on the box to "Tiller Tom" to impress my friends and tell them I invented the machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

mean little bugger

04/06/2011
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did substantial research before I bought this and was still skeptical about its abilities. Have to say after numerous uses in bullet proof clay, it works great. It is NOT a heavy duty tiller. What it is is a great light weight, powerful machine that is very convenient to use. I tilled two 5x10 gardens and numerous other locations in my yard for new spring plantings. Have even been using it to double dig before planting. Basically till approx 6-10 inches down, shovel out, till another 6-10, amend soil, till everything together and plant. Instant on, instant off. Used a friends Mantis(twice the cost) which ended up dying on me and didn't do a single thing different except be much louder, gas fumes and very hard to get started. Had my doubts but they've gone away. Great little birthday present for myself and would buy again without hesitation. Again, if you want a big heavy duty monster, this isn't your tool. If you want something that you can whip out, use and hang on a hook when you're done, buy it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Rototiller A pleasant Surprize

05/19/2010
By ,
Syracuse, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the tiller for 6 hours in previously un-gardened soil filled with small rocks (up to 5 inches). Obviously any tiller is challenged to operate under tough circumstances. The Sun Joe Electric garden tiller is working like a champ!
I help remove rocks which the tiller is telling me it is scraping over. Once extracted, the tiller works the soil into loose particles, easily mixes with grass clippings and compost, and digs down 8 inches just as anticipated. IT is a tough little machine and sells for an excellent price.
The fact that it is electric is a positive factor for me. First, it does the job! Second, electric drives are lest expensive than gasoline. Third, electricity (energy) is lots cheaper than petroleum gasoline fuel and it is always available without a special trip with a gas container to the station.
I recommend this tiller to anyone home user with a small garden (small in my opinion is less than 500-700 square feet of garden)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Good Product

02/20/2014
By ,
Middleton, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tiller. It was quick and easy to do our 25' x 10' garden spot. Compared to our old gas tiller I really liked the ease of starting it. However, be aware that you must maintain a firm grip on the right handle to keep it from shutting off - it is very sensitive. That was a little difficult for me and may be for others as well. The wide spread of the handles helps with better control. The digging width is nice which allowed for more space to be covered in a shorter time. I noticed that the cleanup was pretty simple too. The directions say not to get any water in the motor so you have to be careful, but there were no weeds bound up in the tines as there would have been in our little gas tiller tines. I also noticed that the tiller did not jump around like our old tiller. NICE!
I would recommend this tiller!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

It is a good choice for the average homeowner

04/11/2014
By ,
Goleta Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this littlr guy for about two months now and it does the job -- I recently gave up my old 8 horse gas job with big power and weight - I am very well experienced in rototilling - For a small light weight unit that gets into small places and can be manuevered -I say this is the real deal--The right hand handle with the switch on it cracked where it grips the round strut so I fixed this with good old Gorilla tape - The designers could take a hint and beef this up a bit - I also strapped on ten pounds of weight to keep it down and from bouncing a little in harder soil - I'm sure I'm pushing the limits of it a little but it is tough and does the job well beyond what you will see in the video-- Give this one a go I dont think you can lose ----
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Worked nice

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller worked very nice. It cut the grass off the top and then tilled the soil. It had enough power to do the job. It worked hard for over an hour and did not over heat. We are very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

10 Minute Quitter

12/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tiller thinking the majority of the reviews were so highly in favor of this tiller. It worked wonderfully for approximately 10 minutes and then died. Never to start back up again. Extremely disappointing. I will try my luck with another manufacturer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Excellent tiller

02/16/2010
By ,
Schertz, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a wonderful little tiller! I have to admit that I was sceptical at first because of the price (very cheap for a tiller) but I was shocked by how powerful the motor is! It even has the capability of tilling through areas of my yard that are slightly rocky. It is small enough that I can till in small spaces, and I have had no problem tilling through areas which have some weeds growing. I like the fact that there is a two year warranty, which gives me peace of mind. I would recommend this tiller to everyone and my only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minster,Ohio
Nice tiller
Posted 06/02/2011
It has a strong motor, it went through very hard dirt. The only thing I would like to see on it is a latch to hold the switch on. I know it is a safety thing, but I have small hands and was hard to hold it down and keep control when I hit a hard spot in the soil. I like the tiller very much and would buy another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

I'M IN LOVE!

02/25/2010
By ,
Duncan, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little monster and so will you. This thing was bought to loosen up some flower beds that had been tilled and that was all but I just couldn't stop "testing" to see if it could do more. It broke new dirt, grass areas and even a very stoney area (not great idea but it did it). All that and no "jerking" to start, just push the button. I expect a lot when I pay for something and this was worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HERKIMER NY
PROBLEM AFTER 3RD. USE
Posted 08/15/2011
IT STOPPED WORKING TODAY . AFTER THE 3RD USE OF PROBABLY A TOTAL OF 1 HOUR OF TOTAL USAGE 3 TIMES. IT HAS A YEAR WARRANTY SO ILL SEE WHAT I CAN DO. OTHER WISE ITS OK IF IT LASTS. . LATER..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Lightweight and powerful

05/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 66 year old woman and have been gardening for 46 years. I've had many tillers, but this is my first electric one. It is surprisingly powerful for a 6.5. I really had to hang on. It did get bogged down with some roots, but after clearing them out of the tines (unplug first!), it started right in again. I'm almost sorry my garden isn't bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great Lightweight Tiller

01/21/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful little tiller to use in areas without rocks or roots. I've owned several other brands of small tillers costing twice as much that only last 2 - 4 yrs before they had starting problems. This electric tiller has the power needed to till and is much easier to handle. I love the folding handle feature in order to hang tiller out of the way when not in use. I highly recomend this tiller especially for older folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great Product!

03/09/2010
By ,
Pass Christian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minimal assembly required, very easy to do. Good performance, a great value and does exactly what it says it will do!!! Very easy to operate, I have used it three times since I got it and makes my spring planting a breeze! Handles are ergonomically design (no blistered hands). I highly recommend this product for everyone, specially us ladies :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Awesome

04/12/2011
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a new gardener with a huge first garden. I've had my eyes on this tiller for a while. I finally found it at Walmart for the lowest price (they were out of stock for a while). This tiller is a beast! It has so much power. My boyfriend used it as well to till up some grassed area and it went through like it were butter. All you need for it is a long cord. They even give you clips that keep the cord out of your way as you till.
It only weighs 17 lbs so it is easy to lift. I have a raised bed garden and I had no issues whatsoever. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe electric Tiller a breeze to use

03/04/2014
By ,
Vian, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the Sun Joe easy to assemble. I was delighted with the job it did on my garden and how easy it was on my back to operate. My wife took her turn and whissed around the garden with no problem. I'm looking forward to this garden chore instead of dreading using my heavy gas model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Outstanding and Powerful!

03/20/2012
By ,
Roswell, New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the Sun Joe tiller after deciding to plant a rather large home garden, around 600 square feet. The soil here is clay and when dry, is very hard, so I was a bit skeptical about such an inexpensive tiller, especially an electric model, being able to handle the job. I had never used a tiller, so also had no idea how to handle it, but am very happy to report that with a little practice, it was easy to control, works great and is very powerful! Once I got the hang of how to make the most progress with the least work, it just ate right through the ground and got the job done. Smaller rocks, tree roots and the hard soil did not even phase this little work horse. Something that might be helpful, especially for those who do not do physical labor on a regular basis, is a back belt for support. Your lower back will get quite a workout!
Overall, I would highly recommend this tiller for anyone who needs one for small to medium jobs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Excellent Product!

04/24/2014
By ,
Floresville, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a tiller that is lightweight and yet does the job, this is the tiller for you. I highly recommend this tiller! This tiller turned the ground for my garden, was easy to use and was easy on the purse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Tough and rugged without hesitation.

08/06/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not at all disappointed with my decision to purchase this product from Walmart after looking at tillers elswhere that cost three times what this one cost. The Sun Joe Tiller is electric but performs as a powerful gas driven cultivator operating easily because of its lighter weight and durable construction. For the smaller to medium project. Buy one. You won't be disappointed.
I have used it a number of times with hard and packed dirt here in Georgia. No problem. I wasn't sure about the design without wheels but once again, it didn't "walk away" from me like another type of tiller might.
Good, no, great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next