Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Tiller/Cultivator makes creating the garden of your dreams one step easier. At only 17 pounds and ergonomically designed, this electric garden tiller cultivator provides maximum comfort during extended use. Durable steel blade tines and a 6.5-amp motor make this Sun Joe electric tiller ideal for tough jobs around the yard. Dig in and get going on your dream floral or vegetable plot with this essential electric garden tiller cultivator.
Average Customer Rating:
4.408 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
50
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation90%215 out of 238reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
50
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Control handle cracked the first time I used it

06/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator from Walmart.com and it was delivered on 5/15/14. After about an hour of using it the plastic hand grip on the control handle split up the side. I was able to duct tape it and finish tilling my garden but I expected it to last longer than an hour.. The tiller does work good, but the plastic parts are cheap and don't hold up. I am a 62 year old woman, so it's definitely not that I was over using it or handling it roughly. I have contacted Sun Joe about it and if they will not replace the handle I will return the tiller to Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Worked great

04/03/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it once but it was easy to use and did a really good job on the garden soil. I did change the name and picture on the box to "Tiller Tom" to impress my friends and tell them I invented the machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Very poor e-mail response

05/13/2013
By ,
Ellsworth Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tried to tell them (4times) with pictures that they had labeled the crossbar piece wrong.
It is very light weight, very powerful, easy to use. The only drawback I can see, the way
you have to turn on the unit. very hard if you have arthritis, the safety button has to be pushed in first.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

mean little bugger

04/06/2011
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did substantial research before I bought this and was still skeptical about its abilities. Have to say after numerous uses in bullet proof clay, it works great. It is NOT a heavy duty tiller. What it is is a great light weight, powerful machine that is very convenient to use. I tilled two 5x10 gardens and numerous other locations in my yard for new spring plantings. Have even been using it to double dig before planting. Basically till approx 6-10 inches down, shovel out, till another 6-10, amend soil, till everything together and plant. Instant on, instant off. Used a friends Mantis(twice the cost) which ended up dying on me and didn't do a single thing different except be much louder, gas fumes and very hard to get started. Had my doubts but they've gone away. Great little birthday present for myself and would buy again without hesitation. Again, if you want a big heavy duty monster, this isn't your tool. If you want something that you can whip out, use and hang on a hook when you're done, buy it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Rototiller A pleasant Surprize

05/19/2010
By ,
Syracuse, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the tiller for 6 hours in previously un-gardened soil filled with small rocks (up to 5 inches). Obviously any tiller is challenged to operate under tough circumstances. The Sun Joe Electric garden tiller is working like a champ!
I help remove rocks which the tiller is telling me it is scraping over. Once extracted, the tiller works the soil into loose particles, easily mixes with grass clippings and compost, and digs down 8 inches just as anticipated. IT is a tough little machine and sells for an excellent price.
The fact that it is electric is a positive factor for me. First, it does the job! Second, electric drives are lest expensive than gasoline. Third, electricity (energy) is lots cheaper than petroleum gasoline fuel and it is always available without a special trip with a gas container to the station.
I recommend this tiller to anyone home user with a small garden (small in my opinion is less than 500-700 square feet of garden)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Good Product

02/20/2014
By ,
Middleton, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tiller. It was quick and easy to do our 25' x 10' garden spot. Compared to our old gas tiller I really liked the ease of starting it. However, be aware that you must maintain a firm grip on the right handle to keep it from shutting off - it is very sensitive. That was a little difficult for me and may be for others as well. The wide spread of the handles helps with better control. The digging width is nice which allowed for more space to be covered in a shorter time. I noticed that the cleanup was pretty simple too. The directions say not to get any water in the motor so you have to be careful, but there were no weeds bound up in the tines as there would have been in our little gas tiller tines. I also noticed that the tiller did not jump around like our old tiller. NICE!
I would recommend this tiller!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Good Tiller for Light Soil

07/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Failed after about 1/2 hour of use. After taking it apart I found one of the motor brushes was hanging up. After removing and cleaning the brush it worked fine. (Less time and trouble to repair then to exchange, and it won't end up in a landfill.) I would not recommend this product for an older frail person for use in heavy soil.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Does a Great Job For the Price

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a big time gardener. Most of my Veggies are in raised beds or containers. My wife, however, is trying to conquer some never used backyard space for a tropical annual/perennial garden and she was struggling with roots and rocks. This tiller did the trick - saved hours of hard digging. Probably not what you want for clearing an acre or more, but it's great for the small stuff (and it's not a toy).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great idea, poor execution

06/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one I bought ran for 30 minutes before shutting down. After it sat for awhile it ran for about 10 minutes before shutting down again. Each time I started it up it ran for a shorter period before stopping. Took it back, ordered a replacement. It ran for only about 10 minutes when I started it up, After sitting to cool off it ran only about 5 minutes before stopping. It went back also. No third time is a charm for me.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

great

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great very east to use and does a great job
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Electric Tiller

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I had my 5 HP gas tiller for almost 20 years and used it every year on a garden that was about 75 ft long and 40 ft wide. It worked great and I could even stand on it to give it more weight to dig deeper in compacted soil.
Now my garden is only 24 ft long and two 3 ft wide sections. This Sun Joe Tiller works really good and really tears up the old garden soil. There might be a little better control if there were a couple of wheels on the back but I'm not complaining because it doesn't take long to do my smaller garden. I would not use this one if I still had my 3,000 square foot garden. But for this smaller garden it works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe tiller

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, really pulverizes the dirt, works better pulling it backwards,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Excellent tiller

02/16/2010
By ,
Schertz, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a wonderful little tiller! I have to admit that I was sceptical at first because of the price (very cheap for a tiller) but I was shocked by how powerful the motor is! It even has the capability of tilling through areas of my yard that are slightly rocky. It is small enough that I can till in small spaces, and I have had no problem tilling through areas which have some weeds growing. I like the fact that there is a two year warranty, which gives me peace of mind. I would recommend this tiller to everyone and my only regret is that I didn't buy it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minster,Ohio
Nice tiller
Posted 06/02/2011
It has a strong motor, it went through very hard dirt. The only thing I would like to see on it is a latch to hold the switch on. I know it is a safety thing, but I have small hands and was hard to hold it down and keep control when I hit a hard spot in the soil. I like the tiller very much and would buy another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Not for clay type soil

06/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in North Carolina where the soil is clay type and hard, this is light weight for this type of soil and kept bouncing off the ground . This may be a good device where soil is soft
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great Lightweight Tiller

01/21/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful little tiller to use in areas without rocks or roots. I've owned several other brands of small tillers costing twice as much that only last 2 - 4 yrs before they had starting problems. This electric tiller has the power needed to till and is much easier to handle. I love the folding handle feature in order to hang tiller out of the way when not in use. I highly recomend this tiller especially for older folks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

Great little hard working tiller

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It cultivated my 10 ft by 25 ft garden exactly as I expected. Tough clay/loamy soil.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

very satisfiedwith use in flower beds

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works well weeding in established beds, haven't tried to work new grou
nd
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

I'M IN LOVE!

02/25/2010
By ,
Duncan, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little monster and so will you. This thing was bought to loosen up some flower beds that had been tilled and that was all but I just couldn't stop "testing" to see if it could do more. It broke new dirt, grass areas and even a very stoney area (not great idea but it did it). All that and no "jerking" to start, just push the button. I expect a lot when I pay for something and this was worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HERKIMER NY
PROBLEM AFTER 3RD. USE
Posted 08/15/2011
IT STOPPED WORKING TODAY . AFTER THE 3RD USE OF PROBABLY A TOTAL OF 1 HOUR OF TOTAL USAGE 3 TIMES. IT HAS A YEAR WARRANTY SO ILL SEE WHAT I CAN DO. OTHER WISE ITS OK IF IT LASTS. . LATER..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

It is a good choice for the average homeowner

04/11/2014
By ,
Goleta Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this littlr guy for about two months now and it does the job -- I recently gave up my old 8 horse gas job with big power and weight - I am very well experienced in rototilling - For a small light weight unit that gets into small places and can be manuevered -I say this is the real deal--The right hand handle with the switch on it cracked where it grips the round strut so I fixed this with good old Gorilla tape - The designers could take a hint and beef this up a bit - I also strapped on ten pounds of weight to keep it down and from bouncing a little in harder soil - I'm sure I'm pushing the limits of it a little but it is tough and does the job well beyond what you will see in the video-- Give this one a go I dont think you can lose ----
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe 6.5-Amp Electric Garden Tiller/Cultivator

worked great! it did the job and I was impressed.

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this tiller only if you don't mind the electric cord. Strong tiller and it has good power.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next