Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Enjoy your favorite tracks like never before with the Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer. With a polypropylene construction, it provides a rigid capless cone for better response and power handling. The capless cone combined with the gold-plated 5-way binding posts avoids external noise interference to deliver exceptional audio clarity. This Sony car subwoofer can handle 350 watts of RMS power or 1200 watts of peak power. The 12-inch subwoofer comes in a compact size and occupies less space in your car.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%22 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Sony Xplod 12" Subwoofer

06/03/2010
By ,
California, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these speakers and put them in a ported box hooked up to a 800W Sony amp. I've had them installed for about two weeks now, and I haven't even maxed them out yet! It's insane. My total was only $127, and these are definitely well-made subs that will give me years of enjoyment! Thank you Sony!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Al some base

12/28/2010
By ,
sc summerrville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has killer base i got one of these in staled to Pioneer 760 Wat amp. Im going to get another one soon lol. My Kia Sportage will be slamming with base lol.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Well worth it.

11/16/2009
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a powerful sub that won't break the bank, this is it. The average 12-inch, 1200-watt sub costs over $100. This is probably the best one. I have two of these being powered by a Sony XM-ZR604 Xplod 4/3 Channel 600-watt amp and they sound awsome. I can't even see out of rear view mirror. Sony is very reliable and is know for their great customer service and long-lasting products. That should help you make your decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 4 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

bass

05/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got one 12 sony xplod in a ported box and hooked a 500 watt amp bridged over to 1000 watts in my pickup it hits hard i cant belive the bass it has i would recomend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Awesome!!!!
Posted 07/30/2011
This is a different model than what I have...It has superb sound...even with no amp they can here me down the road!!!! Requires a 1 sq ft sealed box for best sound....no ported box!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Sick Bass!!!

12/30/2009
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of the speakers n man do they perform my whole car rattles n can be heard from from blocks down... i have the 2 speakers connected to a 2400 watt amp... i am 18 and like my music LOUD and boy do i get it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 6 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

xplod

04/14/2010
By ,
enfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive got 4 of these all sealed and wired seperatly and do they THUMP!!! just wish sony made a 4000 watt amp...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Outstanding

03/20/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I questioned buying these speakers because people on the forums talk down about Xplod products. I still heard good reviews from here and figured I would try them since Walmart has an awesome return policy regardless. I must say, these subwoofers wired up to the Xplod 1000 watt amp i purchased sound incredible... you really get a bang for your buck. I have nothing negative to say about these subs. they hit extremely hard even when my bass is turned down low. I would definitely reccomend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Good Deal !!

08/11/2010
By ,
Conroe, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of the Sony Explode 12" subwoofers. I have had them for over 3 years now. I have them in a sealed box with a Boss 1200Watt, 2 channel amplifier. They hit pretty hard. I would recommend them to anyone. Great all around speaker for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Awesome

05/10/2010
By ,
Athens,Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All around good sub for a price that you cant beat,wish other subs was priced this low if they was Sony might have a little competition
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Great Subs!

04/01/2011
By ,
Bakersfield,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two hooked up to a Boss cx1100m amp. They sound great and hit hard. Break them in first. Don't push them too hard or you will blow out the voice coil. Other than that, they are great subs
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Great Sub

09/05/2010
By ,
Dahlonega, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these hooked up to my Xplode 600wat amp and it makes my dodge dakota shake. Windows rattle like crazy when i bump this sub. and great for the price to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Excellent subwoofer

07/24/2011
By ,
Junction City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have purchased these over the years for many different cars of mine and my friends. They sound great with the right amp. Either a higher watt Pioneer or maybe a Volfenhag one. Have tried both and they perform very well. I have always used these with the boxes sold at walmart and no problems. Are as good as more expensive ones sold at stereo shops. Don't waste lots of money there. Buy these, a good amp, and a good amp kit and you will be very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Awsome

07/29/2010
By ,
Tacoma, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these subs in a Qlogic 1.25 slot ported box. Running off of a Sony XM-2002GTW 1200watt amp thats bridged and set to the sub perfectly. I have it in a Ford Explorer and this thing hits hard. And every one I know thinks I have two 12's and and can't beleave it's only one. This is a AWSOME sub and can't be beat buy any other sub in the same price range.So buy this sub
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer
04/12/2011
By ,
s.c
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these speakers, and hooked them up to a 2 chanel 4000 watt amp. that's 2000 watts per speaker on 1200 watt speaker's. and it sounds crazy to have it hooked up like that. but the system sounds great. i get alot of compliments on the sound. i thank sony for making some good speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

POWER

07/21/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of these hooked up to the new sony xplod 1000w 1/3 amp.. They sound like thunder
nice smooth bass and and will also rattle your brand new car to junk yard pieces if you use it to much lol. This set up just plain out is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Amamzing!

07/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 12" sony xplods hooked up to a 1000 watt sony xplod amp and let me tell ya, I am very impressed! these subs shake my car sooo hard! amazing! recommend this for everyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

sony

11/29/2010
By ,
dearborn heights MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hi i have 2 12' sony subs and walmarts 1000 sony amp and they are great i love them 5 star
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

Great Subwoofer On A Budget

08/22/2011
By ,
Atlanta< GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this subwoofer for my 2001 Ford Focus ZX3 Hatchback. I matched this up with Polk Audio DXi570 speakers and a JVC Arsenal KD625 Head Unit, and now my car sounds great. I wasn't really looking for quality - I just needed a sub to get my car thumping for a low price. I was very impressed when I put this in with a Sony Xplod Amplifier. Great Subwoofer for an entry-level car audio system.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony 2/1-Channel Xplod XM-GTX1852 370-Watt Car Amplifier
4.2 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 19 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

great for the price

08/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just replaced a pair of kicker 12's with these and am impressed. They handle more power and sound better. I feel like a fool paying high dollar for the kickers - they used to be a really good company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-32points
Review 20 for Sony Xplod XS-GTX120LW 12" Car Subwoofer

not as good as the last ones

05/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have only had them for a year and they blew
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next