Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

GE GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

The GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer has a 3-liter capacity for fast and efficient cooking. The unique heating system in this deep fryer fries your food faster while minimizing the absorption of oil. So, you can enjoy fried foods with less guilt. Unlike most deep fryers, the GE Deep Fryer features a cool zone technology that prevents food and oil from getting burned. The electric deep fryer has a removable frying basket and an adjustable temperature control. The digital timer in the deep fryer notifies prevents overcooking. Cool-touch basket handles and the side lid are provided for easier handling. There is also a large viewing window allowing you to see clearly whats happening inside. The GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer can be safely washed in the dishwasher for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
3.213 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation55%67 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Pleasantly surprised

04/28/2010
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always fried in a Presto multi-cooker. It holds alot and has a basket, I've had 2 in 14 yrs, so I guess it was a good product. Finally, though, the magnetic plug stopped working, and I needed a fryer fast, we LOVE chicken wings!
So this was the only thing WalMart had, besides the tiny Fry-Daddy, which doesn't even come close to meeting my needs.
I brought it home, read the manual, prepared to wait half an hour for it to heat up, it heats up in less than 10 minutes. Also I prepared to cook my wings for 20-25 minutes, since that's what the manual says. It only took about 8 minutes.
This thing cranks out the food very quickly, and cleans up easily, just a wipe down on the outside with 4-09 and it's shiny again.
I don't know how long it will last, but I did save the receipt just in case. This is a really nice fryer for the price. It's easy to assemble, just slide the element onto the back of the fryer unit and go.
It says it heats up to 375, but my old one said 400 and cooked way slower. Maybe it was just worn out?
Nutshell-I like it, and I like the price. Will like it even more if it lasts me a few years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Fryer Up

01/10/2010
By ,
Clearwater, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this deep fryer a few days ago and I have to say that I mixed feelings about it. The cooking capacity if very nice and it does cook the food quickly and evenly. BUT, there are a few problems I noticed. First of all there is no place to rest the basket once you pull it up from the grease so you have to sit there and hold it over the oil for a few minutes for it to drain enough to move it over to a plate. And in the case of someone like me with bad carpal tunnel and bad shoulders it can be a challenge to do it when you have a large amount of food in the basket or a heavy piece of meat. Also the timer alarm is barely noticeable! It sounds like an old school Timex watch from the 70's and isn't very loud at all. I'm also concerned because when you are frying there is a lot of steem and condensation that come out from the lid, to the point where it turns to water and pools around the base of the fryer and even in the area where the power cord is. I think I'm going to take this one back and spend a few extra bucks on a fryer that more closely meets my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nashville, TN
I found your review helpful to me
Posted 07/12/2012
I found somewhere to rest the basket. When I lifted it up, it was able to rest on the ledge where the handle sits. you just pull it back just a tad once lifting out of the grease. It worked really good for me overall for the first time but I am unsure if I will keep it due to all of the reviews out it's lifespan. I just don't want to deal with those problems later on down the line months later so I may just return it for a different one.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Saves buying take out

09/28/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years I was making fries in a small steel pot & it took forever for them to cook,not to mention messy & having greasier food & we don't like baking them. I decided it was time to buy a deep fryer. I knew with the GE name I most likely would not be disappointed & I'm not. We use it almost daily.
I love this deep fryer! My 13 y/o daughter can even use it without any help. She is homeschooled,so I have to make lunch for her through the week. It has saved me alot of $$ not going to get take out because she wanted burgers & fries or just fries,not to mention the trouble of going out just to pick something up. Heats up fast & cooks quickly,the basket holds quite a bit without over filling it. The basket hold more than enough for 3-4 basket fulls of cooking fries & onion rings for 3 people. I plan on making homeade donuts in it soon:) I bought mine at our local Wal mart & have had it not quite a month,but it has already been well worth the money.Plus MUCH less greasy fries! Hope this review is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Wonderful fryer

12/14/2009
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this well over a year ago. I love it's sleek design and it also heats up quickly. For the money, this purchase was more than worth it. It's not too small, not too big. It's the perfect size and we are a family of 4.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
arizona
deep fryer
Posted 07/09/2011
had it for 6 months and it just stopped working no power nothing tried letting it sit for a week in case oil got somewhere and nothing. i recomend for the price buy a diffrent brand i have had multiple problems with it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

good

09/15/2009
By ,
Cardiff, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this item for two months now and used it three times. It meets my expectations and I would recommend it to anyone that does not cook that often. It meets my personal needs I cook for one. Just do not heat it to the recommended temperture try about 75 degrees lower or it will cook too quickly. Other than that it is fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

What a great little fryer

08/16/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this fryer, it cook great and cleans up easy. I see some people are complaing that it stops working. Mine did it when I left it on highest setting for heat. After it cooled down I pushed the reset button, which is in a little hole on the control part. Now I keep it set for 360 and have had no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
boise city oklahoma
not working
Posted 02/16/2012
got this deep fryer, hooked it up and it not working. the heating coil not heating up. going to send it back real shame was looking forward cooking in it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Great Product

06/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fryer is great. for a design research project, my team purchased two of these fryers to test oil that we were refining. We used them in a much more rustic environment than a kitchen and they held up great. Food cooks fast and tastes delicious. We used it for 5-6 hours straight each day. If you take care of the appliance, it lasts a while. Timer could be louder. Lots of steam (especially after putting fresh oil in), but you're frying food at 375F, so that is to be expected. Everything is dishwasher safe and there is a spot to hang the basket while the food drips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer
12/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this product for a year and all of a sudden it stopped working. I plugged it in and could not get it to power up. I got on here to read the reviews and noticed that there is alot of complaints about them doing this. So using my head (knowing appliances usually have a fuse) i noticed that where the power chord goes into the plastic on fryer it said "restart" right above a hole. So I put a screwdriver in it (with it unplugged). I then plugged it back in and low and behold it it works fine. I hope that all the people who tripped this built in breaker did not throw away their fryer. They just need to reset it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

BEST DEEP FRYER EVER!!!

09/26/2011
By ,
Leesburg, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this deep fryer after having my Fry Daddy confiscated by my husband to fry fish in..... i loved the way this one looked and seemed to have updated features such as the different temperatures, the preheat light, and the immersed heating unit.....
This only took 10 minutes to heat up to 375 degrees... then we fried a full basket of fries, chicken nuggets, and then sweet potato fries (all separately) in right about 10 minutes for all!!
Fries kept warm for quite some time and were not greasy as they had been coming out of the older Fry Daddy we were using.
I am definitely happy with this purchase and am thinking of buying another now just in case anything happens to this one.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Good for small foods

09/03/2009
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works wonderfully, heats up and cooks fast. long but narrow fits on my counter great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Good Product

02/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this product for two years, until this February, that it died. Don't know what happened it just stopped working. But overall it's good if you're planning on buying a better one in the future... Cooks foods very well... I was expecting it to last a little longer since I don't cook with it every day... I hope this will help you to make the decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Very Short Life Span!!

10/25/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really liked this little fryer. It fryed the food wonderfully. Then it just died on me after having it for only about five months!! I didn't have the receipt so that I could exchange it, so I was stuck with a dead fryer. I was not a happy camper. Hopefully the next model lasts a lot longer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Did you try the reset button?
Posted 11/04/2011
This item has a reset button to help prevent overheating - when it is triggered the unit will not power on at all - just look on the back near the magnetic plug and use a pen tip or straightened paper clip to pressed the recessed button - if that does not work, then the item may have stopped working. I realize that the OP probably no longer has the item or will even read this but maybe it will help someone else with a similiar problem
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Good Value

09/08/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After looking at many of the deep fryers, I decided to go cheap and ourchase this GE model. I have to say, it is a good value. Easy to assemble and disassemble, easy to clean. Plenty large and long enough for corn dogs and other kind of long foods. The only thing that was lower quality was the timer. Like it was taken off an 80's LED watch or something. Otherwise a great deal for the $39.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

GE 3-Liter Deep Fryer

10/12/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great have used it 6 or 7 times in 2 weeks and could not have found a better product for our needs. The basket fits on the top rack of dish washer and the oil pan was easy to hand clean. I'm going to get alot of bang for my bucks. Thanks Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Love this fryer

04/18/2011
By ,
Saint David, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this fryer for a little over a year now and we use it weekly. It's easy to use, heats up quickly and I love how easy it is to clean and change the oil. This is a great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Deep Fried Dreams!!

11/26/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome and I use it all the time. I deep fry everything. Hello cardiac arrest :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer
04/18/2010
By ,
Saratoga WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fryer is the second one I bought. I was equally impressed with the first one which is why I got the second one.... I will probably buy a third.
I really don't like the magnetic connection, however, I realize the value of the safety factor it provides and can live with it.
I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

worked well, for awhile...

01/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like others, we loved this product in the beginning and used it frequently.
But then, oil or moisture got inside the timer and that stopped working, the green "ready" light stopped working, and then the fryer itself started shutting off at random. Sometimes we could jiggle it around and get it to light up, but it got harder and harder to find just the right spot. I got up this morning and my son had tied it in place with a shoelace! It's sitting in the trash now. What a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer
07/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer is great! Having the temp control is nice. Being able to take the oil out and putting to save is nice. Like the lid with the steamer. Overall, it really is great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Great Fryer Think Warranty!

12/31/2011
By ,
Topeka, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this fryer, too bad it did not last, we used it a lot. I have had other skillet fryers before and timeline with using it consistently is normal to this fryer. Just want to remind everyone to keep a copy of their receipt. This fryer has a two year warranty. I had this fryer for a little over a year before it stopped working. This item is only sold by Walmart and they hold the warranty, not GE per the manual. Walmart replaced the fryer, no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next