Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Whether using it as a sofa or a bed, this futon will bring contemporary styling and functionality to any room in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.124 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(290 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
69
3 stars
29
2 stars
31
1 star
81
Customer Recommendation58%167 out of 289reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
69
3 stars
29
2 stars
31
1 star
81
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Not bad for the price, but needs power tools!

02/01/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife wanted something to sit on in MY office, and some place for people to sleep if they stay over.
The box it comes in is very small and was able to get both the mattress and frame in the back seat of my Dodge Status. Wasn't too complicated to put together, and it doesn't require two people to do it either. But it does require a drill and a drill bit! Oh and a phillips screw driver. A huge over sight for those that purchase this and think they wont need any other tools. The worst being the drill. Since I wasn't expecting to fix some of their drill holes. Some of the holes don't match up or match up perfectly and you will have to fix this huge oversight. So if you buy this futon, make sure you have a drill and a drill bit that can drill into metal. You have been warned!
Otherwise it's a great buy for LITE use. I wouldn't recommend getting if you want a bed or bed replacement.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Review 2 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Not Very Stable

02/20/2011
By ,
Iowa Falls, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This futon is not made for people who weigh more than 150 lbs. The thin bars that you sit on and lean on are too thin and snap easily. It is not like someone was bouncing on it or jumping around, they just snapped as I sat down. I would never suggest buying this product! Also I have only had this futon for 4 weeks. Not long enough for it to be considered old.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Review 3 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Multipurpose

11/15/2009
By ,
West Warwick, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching for a dog bed for my Great Dane (Bruno). The cost was to expensive and the size was not big enough. Bruno loves to sit with me on my leather couch. I then decieded to by him his own futon. In the long run it would be easier to replace the futon mattress instead of buying another couch.
He loves his new futon. He spreads out and almost takes the entire length of it and I like that he is not on the floor or laying on my good couch. It was easy to put together and a great buy for the price $119.00 (in the store). It's sturdy and I like the fact that it has an all metal frame. There are no wooden supports, its all metal. It has a weight limit of 600 lbs. Which is great since my dog weighs 190 lbs. A giant dog bed would not be big enough and would have cost me over $200.00. We love our futon.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

NOT FOR EVERYDAY SLEEPING

07/26/2010
By ,
Mt. Wolf, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I HAVE HAD THIS FUTON FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND IT'S CONDITIONS IS STILL LIKE NEW. THIS FUTON IS NOT MENT FOR EVERYDAY SLEEPING. I ADMIT THAT THE METAL PEACES THAT HOLDS THE MATTRESS FALLS OFF BUT OTHER THAN THAT NO COMPLAINTS, MY TEEN LOVES IT SHE HAS IT AS A LOUNGE AREA IN HER ROOM.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

It's hanging in there

06/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this futon almost 2 years ago. We bought it to be a bed for myself and my boyfriend at a friends house when we worked in her city. On and off we've slept on it for about 12 months (we are both well over 150lbs BTW). Other than getting rather squeaky, it's held up really well. We put it into the couch position every morning and back into the bed at night. It is a bit uncomfortable if you sleep in the middle. We bought a foam mattress at the same time, so the rest of the futon is pretty comfy. I can't comment on assembly because we are both really experienced in furniture assemble so we had it together in a flash. None of our bars have broken. What I like most about this futon is the fact that instead of having 3-4 larger mattress supports, like other futons have, it has a whole lot of small supports. You don't feel the supports at all. We are thinking about getting a small apt so we can leave our friend in peace, and we are totally getting another one to serve as a couch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+30points
Review 6 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

GREAT!...at first

10/09/2010
By ,
DALLAS, TEXAS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After losing all of my old furniture do to a split in a relationship...I didn't have the funds to purchase a couch/bed for my new apt. So, i went into walmart and spotted this for only 89.00! Set up was confusing, came with all necessary tools though (mini sized). Once put together, i was satisfied. (pic below, excuse the blankets...I took the pic for a family member after waking up lol) Although, after about a 2-3 weeks, the mattress went flat...the rails could be felt through the mattress while laying in bed mode. It looks ok as a couch...but, as a bed...I'm not so pleased...I purchased a queen sized air mattress for $40....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Not as expected

12/26/2009
By ,
Aiken, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this futon because it was on sale at my local Walmart. Putting it together was a hassle and the directions were vague.
It was a nice futon for the first week, after that the mattress thinned and you can feel the metal underneath while sitting or laying down.
Very uncomfortable. After a month the metal holding up the back started to bend so the back wouldn't stay up. I propped it on the wall and it dug indentations into the wall.
Getting on and off of the futon while it's laying down, it tips and is unstable.
The little metal pieces that are supposed to keep the mattress from slipping down also bent and I'm unable to put them back on straight so when sitting the mattress slowly slides down and you have to readjust it often (it's heavy).
Now after 4 months of having it, I've realized the metal in the seating area has bent down where people have sat so those will break soon and I'll have to get a whole new sofa. I will not buy this brand again or any metal framed futon for that matter.
Do not buy this, it's not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+270points
Review 8 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

DO NOT BUY THIS FUTON.

02/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I was initially shopping around to find some cheap-but-good furniture for my bare, broke recent-grad apartment, I thought I would give this a try because it had a decent number of high reviews, and it only cost $90 (plus another $25 for shipping. I got it when it was on sale). Heck, I thought, why not give it a try?
Bad idea. It wasn't that hard to put together, but dang is this thing uncomfortable! I'm not an abnormally heavy person (125, give or take depending on the season!), but within 2-3 weeks, the mattress had squished down to the point where I could sort of feel the frame through the bedding.
Five months in, and it's a disaster. You can literally feel every little bar and slat in the frame, poking through the mattress onto your back, your hips, everything... Truly uncomfortable.
If you need a couch that you maybe sit on for one afternoon every couple of months, you could probably get a decent life out of it.
Otherwise STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT AS YOU CAN!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Excellent futon

10/12/2009
By ,
San Jose, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this futon from my local store for $119. Easy setup and comfortable for the most part for guest use. Comes with all the necessary harware and tools. However, you'll need your own screw driver. No big deal though. Nice addition to my spare bedroom which I use for my gaming. Although, I would not recommend having kids jump on this thing as it's not sturdy enough to withstand that abuse. But this product is diffently a winner in my book for price and function. Hint for those who will buy this at the local store. Packaging for the futon is pretty big so if you have a subcompact car like I do it probably won't fit in the trunk. But, if you open the box up you'll find that the futon and the hardware are all packaged compactly. Everything was able to fit into my car after that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Manchester, NH
futon
Posted 08/22/2011
i just ordered it online but think after tracking it with the weight i just got the mattress cause the whole thing with mattress should have been 46 pounds. I'm sure to be really mad at this if it's not the complete set
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Not Bad

03/19/2011
By ,
Port Richey, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My boyfriend and I have been sharing this futon for about a week now. He weighs 220 pounds and I weigh 115. We don't use it as a couch, but we use it as a bed daily, and we haven't had any problems with it so far. It took about an hour and a half to put together, but it was fairly easy. I'd recommend this product, definitely. It really depends on how you like your bed, but for the most part I find it to be pretty comfortable. I really like it because it doesn't look tacky or awkward once you fold it into a couch. OH, and it definitely is sold in stores, but it was about the same price as it is online, just a few cents more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 11 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Uncomfortable after 2 weeks use

11/05/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this at our local walmart for $119. The mattress is barely 3-4 inches (not 6 inches as advertised). After about 2 weeks of use the mattress thinned out and we could feel the metal underneath making it very uncomfortable to sit or sleep. Returned it after another week. Maybe if this came with a proper foam mattress of 6 inches (instead of the soft composite material it was stuffed with) , it would have been a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+412points
Review 12 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

HORRIBLE BUY!

02/07/2010
By ,
east peoria, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my boyfriend bought this when he moved into his first apartment, its extremely uncomfortable as a couch and a bed. the matress thing falls off the frame all the time and the things at the edge to hold it on the frame fall off alot too. its extremely uncomfortable and hard to clean. i wouldnt recommend this to ANYONE. definately not worth the money. if i could i would give it no stars at all. the matress is very thin (not as thick as the description lets on).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+158points
Review 13 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Buyer beware

12/06/2009
By ,
Woodward, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son who is 11. Seemed good at first but the little handles to keep the mattress from slipping off dont stay on. So the mattress is on the floor
whether it is laying flat or in the sitting position the mattress slides off. Mattress is not 6 inches thick. maybe 3 or 4 for the first few weeks. This might be a great decoration piece if your not really going to use it. Not comfortable at all not even to sit on it. I bought mine from the Wal=Mart store, I wish I had checked on line first. collects all hair and dust too. waste of money...nightmare.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 14 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Don't listen to other reviews!!!

04/24/2012
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing this product after I read the reviews, but I purchased anyway and am glad that I did. Assembly is very easy, I did it by myself in about an hour or so. The instructions are not hard to understand if you have a little common sense. I read some reviews about people saying how hard assembly was and I now scratch my head wondering how that could have been. All pieces are marked clearly and the instructions are very detailed to aid in assembly. The bed holds up great structurally (I weigh 180 pounds, my girlfriend weighs 120) The ONLY problem I have is the cheap pad. But hey, for 120 bucks, its what you paid for. People, dont expect the most comfortable mattress pad for a futon when your paying 120 dollars. My solution to the pad flattening out was going back to WalMart, and buying a couple pillows to line underneath the pad. Problem solved! It feels awesome now. So, basically for spending 120 dollars and the only problem being an easy to fix cheap pad, I give this product 4 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

May the Buyer Beware

12/07/2012
By ,
Smyrna, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While I admit that my expectations may have been a little high with a $120 dollar futon, the overall lack of quality with this futon dips below the standards of the most rigid pessimist. No more than one month after purchasing this product, the seat began to cave in, forming a "V" shape toward the floor. The back of the futon, along with the two support beams on either side of the seat soon followed suit, and this would be a good time to mention that my boyfriend and i are not even remotely obese- we are both in shape, and our dog is only 25 pounds, so it was poor quality that did all of this, but I digress. Now, six months later, this Frankenstein's monster of furniture is currently being held up with: duct tape on all support beams; cable ties to reinforce the inner frame; a two by four to reinforce the back frame; and a stack of binders under the whole thing to keep the seat from collapsing. I am out to purchase a new futon today from a different store, but felt it to be my civic duty to warn any potential buyers against purchasing this atrocity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Good value

08/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While it's not perfect for sleeping every night (has a dip in the middle when it's folded out), it is comfortable enough and an excellent value for $89. It is perfect for a visiting guest if you are limited for space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+48points
Review 17 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Extremely uncomfortable, in the garbage!

07/02/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for our living room since we were shopping for some new furniture and figured when we were done using it we would put it in the game room for the kids. Boy was I ever wrong. This product is not worth the money. I should of scrapped it but I threw it to the curb after about 4-5 weeks. The directions where not very good to start. The mattress pad is not comfy. It looks nice and plush but its deceiving! As soon as you sit on it you can feel the metal underneath. In 4 weeks time the mattress was so thinned out. Also the metal hook things in front to hold the mattress in place hurt your legs when you sit so you have to make sure your legs don't go on that part. What made me finally throw it out besides all the stuff I already listed was the fact that it was bent right in the middle. It had warped in such a short time. Even if it wouldn't of bent all up I would not have made my kids sit on it in the game room. Kind of glad I got it... it made me buy a new living room suit that I love!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

DO NOT BUY THIS

11/27/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money. I didnt have much money but needed a couch, so I bought it when it went on sale in the store. It creeks, and squeeks. When I sit on it i can feel the bars. The cushion is sooo thin. ITS JUST OVERALL VERY uncomfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 19 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress

Larger than expected

11/27/2010
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This futon was larger than expected, which is great! Took a long time to assemble (not easy). Requires two people at the least to help assemble it (lots of parts/pieces) and it is heavy. The cost to ship to home is about $60. It comes mattress first (FedEx), quickly. The frame comes later (CEVA), takes a longer time. It's worth it when you feel how heavy it is. Overall, once set up the futon is great and comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+67points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WORST FUTON!
Posted 04/13/2012
Me and my fiance bought this after our previous futon wore out and it is horrible! When we got it and started putting it together the screws didnt fit in their appropriate slots and nothing lined up very well.
When you sit on it for too long is makes your back and butt hurt. After about a week the metal frame started falling apart. The cushion part keeps sliding off of it.
When my friend slept on it she said it was so uncomfortable she actually got up and slept on the floor for the rest of the night. I have never sat on a couch as uncomfortable as this one.
Over all if I could it would get a Negative 6 stars! And im not being dramatic!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mainstays Silver Metal Arm Futon, Black Mattress
05/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Your futon went to heck after only 3 months of use, the whole back side bent back with only a max of two people on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next