Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

The Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer is a terrific rear-drive elliptical that features six built-in workouts designed by Certified Personal Trainers. Choose from aerobic, weight-loss or performance goals - and you'll be on your way to a slimmer, leaner you. Console controls help you conveniently adjust the resistance of your workout. And to round it all out, the Golds Gym Elliptical 380 is equipped with a large LCD, convenient transport wheels and a 14" stride length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.824 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(592 Reviews) 536
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
238
4 stars
184
3 stars
71
2 stars
26
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation81%478 out of 592reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
138 Questions | 493 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
238
4 stars
184
3 stars
71
2 stars
26
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

EXCELLENT ELLIPTICAL!

10/24/2010
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WENT TO PURCHASE THE GOLDS SPIN BIKE 210 AND WAS DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE MY KNEES KEPT HITTING THE BARS. WAS EYEBALLING THIS AND DECIDED TO PURCHASE IT. WALMART ASSEMBLED IT FOR FREE (BETCHA DIDNT KNOW THAT). I PAID FOR IT AND PICKED IT UP BY 3PM. THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE, GREAT PRICE, AND A GREAT WORKOUT. IM 5'9 AND THE STRIDE IS GOOD. I'LL KEEP YOU POSTED AS I WORK OUT, BUT SO FAR IM VERY SATISFIED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

perfect for the price and simple needs!

08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well it comes in one heck of a heavy box, which i could barely lift, get in my van or my house. That was a workout in itself. It took me 3 hours to put it together, be careful, some of the parts look the same on the diagram and the directions arnt the most clear. but i figured it out. The end result is awesome. it works perfectly for what i need it for. It makes some little noises but nothing that gets on my nerves. I use it every day for an hour. I'm female, 5ft 6in and wieghed 175 pounds. so for me it is perfect and I would recomend it for anyone. Im getting great results and totally satisfied. I was nervous about buying one on the cheaper end but couldn't afford a top of the line one. I was not disappointed! I researched many models in this price range for quit a while and so glad I decided on this one!! Hope this helps!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Disappointed!!

03/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is actually an addition to my original review. I bought this machine on 11-28-10 and for the 1st 80 days I owned it I loved it!! Worked great other than a few creaks and groans and having to re-grease some of the connections but at about day 80 the center axle holding the rear wheel broke clean in half!! For as clean of a break as it was, it had to be a material defect. Fortunately, I was within my 90 days from purchase and I was able to return it to my local Wal-Mart no questions asked for a full refund!! Thank goodness I saved the receipt!! I have to say I loved the machine while I had it but I will not buy another Golds as it seems that quality is a definite issue with this product...I will buy another brand of elliptical but not until next winter...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not too sturdy but does the job.

01/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sure if it will last or a long time, but we are using this 2-3 times a week, and hope the Elliptical lasts at least up to the warranty period.
As far as the product goes, generally good quality for the price. I ordered the Elliptical along with rubber mats for store pick up. Both items were offered as a bundle, but they shipped to the store at different times and arrived at different times and I had to pick them up on separate occasions because Walmart will hold them only for a week or less. Very inconvenient. Moreover, the store had these items in stock so I dont understand why walmart.com orders cant be satisfied immediately with store stock and then replenished but shipping the stuff to the store. So much delay, shipping takes forever, as in 10 days or more in some cases, and this is not during holiday season.
Overall, ok experience, will buy because of low prices, but will not hesitate to buy elsewhere if the price was a tad higher but shipping/store pick up was quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

almost perfect!!

06/04/2011
By ,
upland ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i just recieved my machine on 6/2/11 and it took my husband and i about 1 1/2 hours to assemble not to bad.. but you will need a "star" screw driver..i can say that i am not 100% satisfied only because the machine does wiggle and move alot side to side..dont expect a nice solid "non moving" machine. this one does move side to side wiether its on carpet or solid flooring =/ i have burned 1,000 cals in two days and i do feel great =) it does make you sweat..and i can feel the soarness in my thighs ,arms,back and sides of my torso..so something must be working lol.. if you can look past the wiggle wobble i would say this is a great machine for the price..i did almost return it the second day because of the movement but you know what,for 300 bucks what do ya expect it cant be perfect... i dont have the money to spend 1,500 on a good sturdy machine so this will have to do till i win the lottery lol.. all in all i say buy it.. look past the wiggling and just burn some calories =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Fantastic product!

02/17/2010
By ,
IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I both have back problems, and were having problems using our treadmill. We did a lot of research on these Elliptical Trainers and liked what we read. We decided to go with this one rather than the less expensive one after reading the reviews and we're so glad we did. It was a little hard to put together, but part of that was because two pages were stuck together, and we had to take part of it apart and redo when we realized that. I agree they should have the cord with it, but we've had ours for a couple of weeks and our batteries are still working. The first time I used it I could only do about five minutes, but did over a half hour this morning. Great workout and very quiet! Our treadmill is very noisy, so we appreciate how quiet this is, and it's so much easier on the back and knees! We would both recommend this product. If you put it together right it's very sturdy. Haven't had any problems so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great value!

12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run marathons, and needed something to crosstrain on that would be easy on my knees. Looked into gym memberships and was shocked at how expensive they are. This elliptical is definitely a better deal in the long-term. It's very basic, but definitely does the trick. It's practically silent with the exception of a click from time to time. Assembled it on my own and it took about two hours. Directions were very clear. All pieces were present, labeled well, and easy to put together. I'm petite, so the shorter stride is absolutely perfect for me. It's a great workout! Easy to roll around to put it away when you're done with your workout. It also has a relatively small footprint in case you plan to leave it out, but have limited space. Only criticisms are that the calorie meter is wildly inaccurate. It estimates that you're burning more than twice than reality. The distance measurement and heart rate monitor are also inaccurate. All in all, those three things don't matter as long as you're getting your heartrate up. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent Value!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is exactly what I was looking for. It's inexpensive, gives a great workout (I'm 100lbs and can't get passed level 1 resistance!), and takes up very little space. Other reviewers said it was wobbly but my husband who is 180 lbs doesn't think so. It does take a few hours to put together. Keep in mind that it isn't difficult to put together, it's just time consuming. The elliptical isn't completely silent as it makes a tiny noise when in use but I can barely hear it. You just have to make sure to put enough machine grease where it asks for it. Buy it...you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

A great deal for a great product!

08/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching elliptical machines for the last couple months because I knew that I wanted to purchase one, but wasn't quite sure which one I wanted and more importantly I wasn't really willing to spend a ridiculous amount or money on one. After searching through all of the big names, I finally decided to purchase this Gold's Gym elliptical from WalMart.com. First off, the overall review score seemed fairly promising, which is always important when making a large purchase. Second, I needed a machine that was small scale because of the space in which I am putting it. Finally, I was able to score a great deal, combined with .97 cent shipping! All in all, I've been very pleased so far! Assembly took about two hours, with 2 adults, and the machine seems to be very sturdy (I am 5'2" and 125 lbs.). It does squeak a bit when pedaling, but I will just adjust/oil the bolts and hopefully that will take care of the noise. Also, some have commented that the resistance seems a bit "tight" on this machine, even at low levels, and I would tend to agree (at least when compared to the elliptical machines I used at the gym), but I am sure that over time, it will become easier (as is true with any workout). Also, as many other reviewers have mentioned, this machine does operate on D cell batteries, out of the box. However, I purchased a power adapter online for about $14 and it works great! The model info for the adapter is the PowerLine 0900-74. Overall, this has proven to be a great item and I hope that it continues to provide a great workout :) I would absolutely recommend this machine to someone looking for a good workout, but on a small budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great machine!

07/03/2013
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment so far. I've had it for about 3 weeks and it has been used daily by 3 people for half an hour each at different times of the day. So far we haven't had any problems, it gives you the calorie count, the mileage and the time you are on the machine. You sweat a lot and burn a lot more calories than on a treadmill. For people that are not in shape, you have to start slowly because it works your legs, you probably will do between 2 to 5 minutes at the beginning, but if you continue everyday, you can start adding minutes and you will get strength in your legs.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and for the value, it is a great machine. The same machine Amazon has if for $599 and I found it at Walmart for $277 plus I purchased for $28 a three year extended warranty which was recommended by many reviewers especially if the machine is being used a lot by more than one person. Overall, I am very happy with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Key Weld Broke

07/07/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparks,NV
Gold's gym stridetrainer 380
Posted 12/04/2011
I thought that this was the perfect item also now it's just junk , it makes loud noises,it pops,creaks,stadlizer moves when you use the machine. just a waste of $277.00
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Worth the money

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This elliptical is working great for me! The only thing is it squeaks a little but I do feel it is worth it's money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great product for the price

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this trainer. It works good ..it does have a few squeaks but nothing that is irritating. The most negative comment I have ..is that it took me at least 3 hours to put together. It would have been less if I had another person. Otherwise I am satisfied so far. I really like the heart monitor feature which I have never had on previous trainers. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Product didn't last

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent

10/06/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this elliptical machine. The easy of assembly was surprising. I did need help holding certain parts while I screwed in the bolts and screws but overall the assembly was easy. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish (I am a very handy female). The unit flows very smoothly and the different workouts that the machine provides are very good. The intensity scale could be a little harder but for the price this machine is good. I have rheumatoid arthritis and it is easy on my joints so that is a plus as compared to my old treadmill that was hard on my knees and joint on impact. I would definitely recommend the extended warranty. I had a small problem with the machine in the beginning but the manufacturer sent out a tech to repair it (this was under the 90 day warranty). I feel more comfortable having the extended warranty in case something goes wrong at a later time. My kids, 12-13 years old, can even use it with easy. Good for the whole family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

My private indoor exersize fun

01/07/2011
By ,
Farmington, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit intimidated when the box arrived with all the parts inside but my Son, the Mechanic got it together in no time. I helped by setting out all the parts ahead of time and handed him the right sized nuts, bolts, washers, and misc. parts as he called for them and it went together in about an hour and a half.
This machine is very well constructed of heavy duty metal and plastic, it's a solid looking machine and functions quietly when in use. I really love its quality and recommend it to anyone, I'm so glad that I purchased it, it's well worth the money. I am 5'6" and weigh about 175 and it holds me with ease. I plan to get healthy and lean and drop some weight in the process. I know I can reach my goal with this great machine at my own pace, and in the privacy of my own home.
I do suggest that you have 4 D sized batteries on hand to run the display panel before you start assembling the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer
01/30/2010
By ,
cheshire, ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice machine, but ac adapter doesn't come with it. needed to be purchased seperatly. not stated in add or details and walmart does not carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Good product, fast delivery

10/22/2011
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the stridetrainer a few weeks back. The delivery was fast, and Fedex delivered within 4 days of ordering. I read reviews with some people mentioning there equipment was loud, but mine seemed ok, except a clicking noise from the flywheel which is low in terms of volume, and happens infrequently.
A WORD OF CAUTION though - if you are not in the best of shapes (like me) and are starting regular excercise, be careful buying this product....the reason being i find the pedals/stride a little too steep. So while i am working out, my feet keep moving/slipping towards the front of the pedal and there is a decent amount of stress on the knees. Other than that, no complaints.
Oh, & while you're assembling it, make sure you read the instructions once before starting. there is a point when it asks you to grease one part, but then there are more parts to be greased a couple steps later. So you might want to do that task in one go, or keep cleaning your hands again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not so good

02/23/2010
By ,
Grand Rapids, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were very excited about this product when we read the reviews online, but unfortuantly it wasn't as good as people said it would be. The 14 inch stride is very small for me (im 5'5'') and very very small for my husband whos 6 feet. We were looking for something that was a good deal, but you really do get what you pay for. I we had it for 1 week and I used it about 5 times, every time I got back on my knees would hurt really bad from the small strides, they also hurt after my workout and were cracking all day long. It almost felt as though you were on a stair stepper, rather than an elliptical. My husband was the same way which wasnt good since he recently has had knee surgery and the reason for buying this was to strengthen his knee again. After working out on it, I did feel like it was a good workout, just VERY tough on your knees and I think over time it would do some damage. We brought this product back not even a week later and bought a more expensive treadmill=)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gives a great workout and is quiet

06/08/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your serious about getting fit then you won't mind the few hours it takes to take everything out of the box, seperated and accounted for, and assembled. I really love my elliptical. It's very quiet. I like very much that it has resistance controls on it so you bump it up as you go. The digitals are very easy to understand. My only complaint is that where the arm of the bars are connected to the main pole, the covers don't fit exactly right and the joint which is greased well shows a little. Tightening doesn't do any good. It does not effect the machine though so far. I would recommend tightening all screws and all after a few weeks to avoid any future noises and to keep it top shape. I get on my elliptical about 30 mins a day about 5 times a week and I've had it for 2 weeks and lost an inch at least off my waist and my legs look smaller. I'm not sure how much weight has been lost b/c I don't have a scale here at home. I love that it keeps count of the calories you burn. It's sort of like a motivation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 537 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next