Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

The Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer is a terrific rear-drive elliptical that features six built-in workouts designed by Certified Personal Trainers. Choose from aerobic, weight-loss or performance goals - and you'll be on your way to a slimmer, leaner you. Console controls help you conveniently adjust the resistance of your workout. And to round it all out, the Golds Gym Elliptical 380 is equipped with a large LCD, convenient transport wheels and a 14" stride length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.782 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(619 Reviews) 563
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
191
3 stars
72
2 stars
29
1 star
83
Customer Recommendation79%491 out of 619reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
139 Questions | 494 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
191
3 stars
72
2 stars
29
1 star
83
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great product! Easy setup

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy setup! I use this elliptical everyday!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

My private indoor exersize fun

01/07/2011
By ,
Farmington, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit intimidated when the box arrived with all the parts inside but my Son, the Mechanic got it together in no time. I helped by setting out all the parts ahead of time and handed him the right sized nuts, bolts, washers, and misc. parts as he called for them and it went together in about an hour and a half.
This machine is very well constructed of heavy duty metal and plastic, it's a solid looking machine and functions quietly when in use. I really love its quality and recommend it to anyone, I'm so glad that I purchased it, it's well worth the money. I am 5'6" and weigh about 175 and it holds me with ease. I plan to get healthy and lean and drop some weight in the process. I know I can reach my goal with this great machine at my own pace, and in the privacy of my own home.
I do suggest that you have 4 D sized batteries on hand to run the display panel before you start assembling the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Somewhat surprised

03/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now I'm no trek star mind you. I'm a fatty, 30 something male who sits in front of a desk. Or behind. But that's not important.
I have been working out at my local gym focusing on Cardio and the elliptical is a great low impact exercise that will burn a high amount of calories in a short period of time. Especially for fat guy like me. (soon to be skinny)
Here's the things I liked about this Goldgym 380:
-cheap (love cheap stuff)
-a lot of functions (for the cheap factor, you wouldn't expect much but this offers a lot)
-and seems durable (if it can withstand my fat body, chances are you'll be fine)
Things I didn't care much about:
-the LCD is not backlit. (that made me sad cause I do most of my workouts in the morning before the sun rises in the bedroom and now the wife hates me because I work out with the lights on while she sleeps)(that and I sing to the music while working out which makes it even worse)
-the stride distance is only 14" (which is plenty for my short stubby legs) but the other Goldgym ellipticals can adjust from 12" to 18"
-takes time to put the thing together right (making sure there's no extra parts left over)
Conclusion: For the cost, it's a great elliptical. It gives you a great work out. And if you're talented like me, you'll be able to put it together by yourself. You really don't need two people. However, you do need two people to bring it upstairs. That second person shouldn't be your wife. (sorry honey, I'm sure that leg will heal right up)
Don't expect a high end elliptical trainer straight from your $50 a month gym. But don't expect Chevett held together with duct tape either. It does the trick, gives you a good workout and the features are just as good as the gyms equipment. Now if only I can convince myself to use it more often.
toodles!
P.S. My elliptical survived "Ship to Store" service. The box looked like it was dragged through the grand canyon but other then that...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+304points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
your comment was helpful
Posted 05/27/2013
i just have a question. i know most of the elliptical the flywheel can go backwards but some don't, this elliptical can?
0points
Customer Avatar
Somewhat Surprised
Posted 06/17/2011
You are funny So I take it you where born in the 80's? watching alot of T.V. Play alot of video games? My husband and my daughter and I belong to a gym. My daughter cancelled her membership and bikes. We did buy a Boflex machine which is GREAT I work in an assistant living home. So I exercise to build upper body strength (3days)per week. Then go to the gym for cardio. So after reading your review I thought I would buy this elliptical. But first, I have (1) question? How tall is this machine?
0points
Customer Avatar
Ames, Iowa
Very funny, but helpful!!
Posted 06/16/2011
Thank you for your review of this. I'm not looking for gym quality without going to a gym. I just want something effective that doesn't wobble too much. (Which is what I've been reading about most ellipticals) I think that I'm sold! :) So thank you again...
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 44 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

WONDERFUL MACHINE

03/03/2010
By ,
Fairfax Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this machine back in December I workout on it almost everyday for 1 hour it's a killing workout. I burn up to 900 calories in just 1 hour and I am not in best shape after having my son....you can go at your own pace...no squeaking or wobbling...I am short 5'4 and it works great. I used to run for years prior to having my son and this is wonderful for the knees....I definitely would recommend it, my Fiancee put it together in no time while watching t.v. hope this helps your decision!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would it be better if I new it didn't bring the power adapter.After I receive it I had to order the power adapter and wait more day to be able to use the machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Disappointed!!

03/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is actually an addition to my original review. I bought this machine on 11-28-10 and for the 1st 80 days I owned it I loved it!! Worked great other than a few creaks and groans and having to re-grease some of the connections but at about day 80 the center axle holding the rear wheel broke clean in half!! For as clean of a break as it was, it had to be a material defect. Fortunately, I was within my 90 days from purchase and I was able to return it to my local Wal-Mart no questions asked for a full refund!! Thank goodness I saved the receipt!! I have to say I loved the machine while I had it but I will not buy another Golds as it seems that quality is a definite issue with this product...I will buy another brand of elliptical but not until next winter...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent Value!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is exactly what I was looking for. It's inexpensive, gives a great workout (I'm 100lbs and can't get passed level 1 resistance!), and takes up very little space. Other reviewers said it was wobbly but my husband who is 180 lbs doesn't think so. It does take a few hours to put together. Keep in mind that it isn't difficult to put together, it's just time consuming. The elliptical isn't completely silent as it makes a tiny noise when in use but I can barely hear it. You just have to make sure to put enough machine grease where it asks for it. Buy it...you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Very pleased!

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and amazed at how quiet it is while exercising. Great quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Burning

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my elliptical!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not too sturdy but does the job.

01/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sure if it will last or a long time, but we are using this 2-3 times a week, and hope the Elliptical lasts at least up to the warranty period.
As far as the product goes, generally good quality for the price. I ordered the Elliptical along with rubber mats for store pick up. Both items were offered as a bundle, but they shipped to the store at different times and arrived at different times and I had to pick them up on separate occasions because Walmart will hold them only for a week or less. Very inconvenient. Moreover, the store had these items in stock so I dont understand why walmart.com orders cant be satisfied immediately with store stock and then replenished but shipping the stuff to the store. So much delay, shipping takes forever, as in 10 days or more in some cases, and this is not during holiday season.
Overall, ok experience, will buy because of low prices, but will not hesitate to buy elsewhere if the price was a tad higher but shipping/store pick up was quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

almost perfect!!

06/04/2011
By ,
upland ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i just recieved my machine on 6/2/11 and it took my husband and i about 1 1/2 hours to assemble not to bad.. but you will need a "star" screw driver..i can say that i am not 100% satisfied only because the machine does wiggle and move alot side to side..dont expect a nice solid "non moving" machine. this one does move side to side wiether its on carpet or solid flooring =/ i have burned 1,000 cals in two days and i do feel great =) it does make you sweat..and i can feel the soarness in my thighs ,arms,back and sides of my torso..so something must be working lol.. if you can look past the wiggle wobble i would say this is a great machine for the price..i did almost return it the second day because of the movement but you know what,for 300 bucks what do ya expect it cant be perfect... i dont have the money to spend 1,500 on a good sturdy machine so this will have to do till i win the lottery lol.. all in all i say buy it.. look past the wiggling and just burn some calories =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great value!

12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run marathons, and needed something to crosstrain on that would be easy on my knees. Looked into gym memberships and was shocked at how expensive they are. This elliptical is definitely a better deal in the long-term. It's very basic, but definitely does the trick. It's practically silent with the exception of a click from time to time. Assembled it on my own and it took about two hours. Directions were very clear. All pieces were present, labeled well, and easy to put together. I'm petite, so the shorter stride is absolutely perfect for me. It's a great workout! Easy to roll around to put it away when you're done with your workout. It also has a relatively small footprint in case you plan to leave it out, but have limited space. Only criticisms are that the calorie meter is wildly inaccurate. It estimates that you're burning more than twice than reality. The distance measurement and heart rate monitor are also inaccurate. All in all, those three things don't matter as long as you're getting your heartrate up. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Key Weld Broke

07/07/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparks,NV
Gold's gym stridetrainer 380
Posted 12/04/2011
I thought that this was the perfect item also now it's just junk , it makes loud noises,it pops,creaks,stadlizer moves when you use the machine. just a waste of $277.00
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

A great deal for a great product!

08/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching elliptical machines for the last couple months because I knew that I wanted to purchase one, but wasn't quite sure which one I wanted and more importantly I wasn't really willing to spend a ridiculous amount or money on one. After searching through all of the big names, I finally decided to purchase this Gold's Gym elliptical from WalMart.com. First off, the overall review score seemed fairly promising, which is always important when making a large purchase. Second, I needed a machine that was small scale because of the space in which I am putting it. Finally, I was able to score a great deal, combined with .97 cent shipping! All in all, I've been very pleased so far! Assembly took about two hours, with 2 adults, and the machine seems to be very sturdy (I am 5'2" and 125 lbs.). It does squeak a bit when pedaling, but I will just adjust/oil the bolts and hopefully that will take care of the noise. Also, some have commented that the resistance seems a bit "tight" on this machine, even at low levels, and I would tend to agree (at least when compared to the elliptical machines I used at the gym), but I am sure that over time, it will become easier (as is true with any workout). Also, as many other reviewers have mentioned, this machine does operate on D cell batteries, out of the box. However, I purchased a power adapter online for about $14 and it works great! The model info for the adapter is the PowerLine 0900-74. Overall, this has proven to be a great item and I hope that it continues to provide a great workout :) I would absolutely recommend this machine to someone looking for a good workout, but on a small budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great little machine

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. Good, small, and sturdy piece of equipment. Wish I had a hard surface to place it on because the carpet does give a bit. Excellent workout even when using only manual mode. The pulse check is not very accurate, but I have one on my phone so it's okay for me. Overall, great buy for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Product didn't last

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent

10/06/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this elliptical machine. The easy of assembly was surprising. I did need help holding certain parts while I screwed in the bolts and screws but overall the assembly was easy. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish (I am a very handy female). The unit flows very smoothly and the different workouts that the machine provides are very good. The intensity scale could be a little harder but for the price this machine is good. I have rheumatoid arthritis and it is easy on my joints so that is a plus as compared to my old treadmill that was hard on my knees and joint on impact. I would definitely recommend the extended warranty. I had a small problem with the machine in the beginning but the manufacturer sent out a tech to repair it (this was under the 90 day warranty). I feel more comfortable having the extended warranty in case something goes wrong at a later time. My kids, 12-13 years old, can even use it with easy. Good for the whole family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great machine!

07/03/2013
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment so far. I've had it for about 3 weeks and it has been used daily by 3 people for half an hour each at different times of the day. So far we haven't had any problems, it gives you the calorie count, the mileage and the time you are on the machine. You sweat a lot and burn a lot more calories than on a treadmill. For people that are not in shape, you have to start slowly because it works your legs, you probably will do between 2 to 5 minutes at the beginning, but if you continue everyday, you can start adding minutes and you will get strength in your legs.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and for the value, it is a great machine. The same machine Amazon has if for $599 and I found it at Walmart for $277 plus I purchased for $28 a three year extended warranty which was recommended by many reviewers especially if the machine is being used a lot by more than one person. Overall, I am very happy with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer
01/30/2010
By ,
cheshire, ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice machine, but ac adapter doesn't come with it. needed to be purchased seperatly. not stated in add or details and walmart does not carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

very poor

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the main upright was welded on wrong it leaned to the right by about 4 inches i had to cut it off and reweld it. i had torn the box up so i couldnt return it. im sorry i bought it i wouldnt recommend it to anyone
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 564 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next