Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

The Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer is a terrific rear-drive elliptical that features six built-in workouts designed by Certified Personal Trainers. Choose from aerobic, weight-loss or performance goals - and you'll be on your way to a slimmer, leaner you. Console controls help you conveniently adjust the resistance of your workout. And to round it all out, the Golds Gym Elliptical 380 is equipped with a large LCD, convenient transport wheels and a 14" stride length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.805 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(599 Reviews) 543
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
185
3 stars
71
2 stars
27
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation80%480 out of 599reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
138 Questions | 493 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
185
3 stars
71
2 stars
27
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

EXCELLENT ELLIPTICAL!

10/24/2010
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WENT TO PURCHASE THE GOLDS SPIN BIKE 210 AND WAS DISAPPOINTED BECAUSE MY KNEES KEPT HITTING THE BARS. WAS EYEBALLING THIS AND DECIDED TO PURCHASE IT. WALMART ASSEMBLED IT FOR FREE (BETCHA DIDNT KNOW THAT). I PAID FOR IT AND PICKED IT UP BY 3PM. THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE, GREAT PRICE, AND A GREAT WORKOUT. IM 5'9 AND THE STRIDE IS GOOD. I'LL KEEP YOU POSTED AS I WORK OUT, BUT SO FAR IM VERY SATISFIED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

You get what you pay for...

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This treadmill takes a while to put together. Directions were pretty easy to follow though. Problem is once it's together it squeaks like crazy and all pieces were tightened and greased where they were supposed to be. The good news is there was no problem returning it to the store. Save your money and buy a quality elliptical at sears. I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

My private indoor exersize fun

01/07/2011
By ,
Farmington, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit intimidated when the box arrived with all the parts inside but my Son, the Mechanic got it together in no time. I helped by setting out all the parts ahead of time and handed him the right sized nuts, bolts, washers, and misc. parts as he called for them and it went together in about an hour and a half.
This machine is very well constructed of heavy duty metal and plastic, it's a solid looking machine and functions quietly when in use. I really love its quality and recommend it to anyone, I'm so glad that I purchased it, it's well worth the money. I am 5'6" and weigh about 175 and it holds me with ease. I plan to get healthy and lean and drop some weight in the process. I know I can reach my goal with this great machine at my own pace, and in the privacy of my own home.
I do suggest that you have 4 D sized batteries on hand to run the display panel before you start assembling the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Exceeds Expectations

02/19/2014
By ,
Eastern Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly: easy and fairly quick- took almost 2 hours and only had trouble with the console screws. Just make sure to go slow and double check every step to make sure you have the right pieces if your not familiar with putting things like this together.
Use: Use it twice daily with no issues. No squeaking or clicking to be had as mentioned in some reviews so be sure to grease all interior moving parts; even those not mentioned in the manual. Some mentioned a wobbling when in use and I had that as well until I adjusted the foot things in the rear of the machine to level it to my floor as suggested in manual.
Durability: So far it has been handling twice daily uses with no problems.
Overall: I think it is a great machine for the price and am glad I bought it, lost 10 pounds in 2 weeks without any of the pain my old workouts caused me after my surgery. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a way to exercise at home without all the pressure of a gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Unhappy client

08/04/2014
By ,
Norristown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this elliptical for my wife almost 3 weeks ago. The elliptical came with missing parts, the customer service is absolutely terrible, the directions are awful and I am still waiting for the parts to come in since they were backordered. I will never buy another product from this company. I am so frustrated and unhappy, and all I want is this elliptical to be finished being put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Disappointed!!

03/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is actually an addition to my original review. I bought this machine on 11-28-10 and for the 1st 80 days I owned it I loved it!! Worked great other than a few creaks and groans and having to re-grease some of the connections but at about day 80 the center axle holding the rear wheel broke clean in half!! For as clean of a break as it was, it had to be a material defect. Fortunately, I was within my 90 days from purchase and I was able to return it to my local Wal-Mart no questions asked for a full refund!! Thank goodness I saved the receipt!! I have to say I loved the machine while I had it but I will not buy another Golds as it seems that quality is a definite issue with this product...I will buy another brand of elliptical but not until next winter...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not too sturdy but does the job.

01/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sure if it will last or a long time, but we are using this 2-3 times a week, and hope the Elliptical lasts at least up to the warranty period.
As far as the product goes, generally good quality for the price. I ordered the Elliptical along with rubber mats for store pick up. Both items were offered as a bundle, but they shipped to the store at different times and arrived at different times and I had to pick them up on separate occasions because Walmart will hold them only for a week or less. Very inconvenient. Moreover, the store had these items in stock so I dont understand why walmart.com orders cant be satisfied immediately with store stock and then replenished but shipping the stuff to the store. So much delay, shipping takes forever, as in 10 days or more in some cases, and this is not during holiday season.
Overall, ok experience, will buy because of low prices, but will not hesitate to buy elsewhere if the price was a tad higher but shipping/store pick up was quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

almost perfect!!

06/04/2011
By ,
upland ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i just recieved my machine on 6/2/11 and it took my husband and i about 1 1/2 hours to assemble not to bad.. but you will need a "star" screw driver..i can say that i am not 100% satisfied only because the machine does wiggle and move alot side to side..dont expect a nice solid "non moving" machine. this one does move side to side wiether its on carpet or solid flooring =/ i have burned 1,000 cals in two days and i do feel great =) it does make you sweat..and i can feel the soarness in my thighs ,arms,back and sides of my torso..so something must be working lol.. if you can look past the wiggle wobble i would say this is a great machine for the price..i did almost return it the second day because of the movement but you know what,for 300 bucks what do ya expect it cant be perfect... i dont have the money to spend 1,500 on a good sturdy machine so this will have to do till i win the lottery lol.. all in all i say buy it.. look past the wiggling and just burn some calories =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great value!

12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run marathons, and needed something to crosstrain on that would be easy on my knees. Looked into gym memberships and was shocked at how expensive they are. This elliptical is definitely a better deal in the long-term. It's very basic, but definitely does the trick. It's practically silent with the exception of a click from time to time. Assembled it on my own and it took about two hours. Directions were very clear. All pieces were present, labeled well, and easy to put together. I'm petite, so the shorter stride is absolutely perfect for me. It's a great workout! Easy to roll around to put it away when you're done with your workout. It also has a relatively small footprint in case you plan to leave it out, but have limited space. Only criticisms are that the calorie meter is wildly inaccurate. It estimates that you're burning more than twice than reality. The distance measurement and heart rate monitor are also inaccurate. All in all, those three things don't matter as long as you're getting your heartrate up. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent Value!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is exactly what I was looking for. It's inexpensive, gives a great workout (I'm 100lbs and can't get passed level 1 resistance!), and takes up very little space. Other reviewers said it was wobbly but my husband who is 180 lbs doesn't think so. It does take a few hours to put together. Keep in mind that it isn't difficult to put together, it's just time consuming. The elliptical isn't completely silent as it makes a tiny noise when in use but I can barely hear it. You just have to make sure to put enough machine grease where it asks for it. Buy it...you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

A great deal for a great product!

08/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching elliptical machines for the last couple months because I knew that I wanted to purchase one, but wasn't quite sure which one I wanted and more importantly I wasn't really willing to spend a ridiculous amount or money on one. After searching through all of the big names, I finally decided to purchase this Gold's Gym elliptical from WalMart.com. First off, the overall review score seemed fairly promising, which is always important when making a large purchase. Second, I needed a machine that was small scale because of the space in which I am putting it. Finally, I was able to score a great deal, combined with .97 cent shipping! All in all, I've been very pleased so far! Assembly took about two hours, with 2 adults, and the machine seems to be very sturdy (I am 5'2" and 125 lbs.). It does squeak a bit when pedaling, but I will just adjust/oil the bolts and hopefully that will take care of the noise. Also, some have commented that the resistance seems a bit "tight" on this machine, even at low levels, and I would tend to agree (at least when compared to the elliptical machines I used at the gym), but I am sure that over time, it will become easier (as is true with any workout). Also, as many other reviewers have mentioned, this machine does operate on D cell batteries, out of the box. However, I purchased a power adapter online for about $14 and it works great! The model info for the adapter is the PowerLine 0900-74. Overall, this has proven to be a great item and I hope that it continues to provide a great workout :) I would absolutely recommend this machine to someone looking for a good workout, but on a small budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Nosiy

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely nosiy. Have tighend up every bolt and as tight as possible and can't hear anyting thing but a rubbing noise. Wiggles back and forth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Key Weld Broke

07/07/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparks,NV
Gold's gym stridetrainer 380
Posted 12/04/2011
I thought that this was the perfect item also now it's just junk , it makes loud noises,it pops,creaks,stadlizer moves when you use the machine. just a waste of $277.00
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Missing AC/DC Power Adapter

07/07/2014
By ,
phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to assemble it within 3 hours by myself, this unit is very quiet and works as expected without any issue. The only thing I was very disappointed is it does not have the D-cells batteries included. OK may be I don't care about that but I do care that it should have the Power Adapter with it. Without that I can't really verify whether the control panel and programs are working and without the D-cells batteries handy, I am out of luck.
I just don't get it, GG sells the whole unit for hundreds of dollars but could not affort to include a $15 Power Supply Adapter for it. This is the only reason I gave it 3 stars for Meets Expectation, others are 5 stars. Hope this help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great machine!

07/03/2013
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment so far. I've had it for about 3 weeks and it has been used daily by 3 people for half an hour each at different times of the day. So far we haven't had any problems, it gives you the calorie count, the mileage and the time you are on the machine. You sweat a lot and burn a lot more calories than on a treadmill. For people that are not in shape, you have to start slowly because it works your legs, you probably will do between 2 to 5 minutes at the beginning, but if you continue everyday, you can start adding minutes and you will get strength in your legs.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and for the value, it is a great machine. The same machine Amazon has if for $599 and I found it at Walmart for $277 plus I purchased for $28 a three year extended warranty which was recommended by many reviewers especially if the machine is being used a lot by more than one person. Overall, I am very happy with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

decent piece of equipment, not gym quality though.

07/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Took less than two hours to assemble, and I have had this elliptical less than three weeks and already it creaks and makes terrible noise. I am also very close to weight limit, so that could explain it. Overall, not a bad machine, but it is on the cheap side. I still rate this fairly high, though it's noisy, it still does the job of getting me off my butt. I would recommend to others, but feel you'd need full disclosure, if you want a machine that is the same as gym quality, this machine isn't it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Product didn't last

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent

10/06/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this elliptical machine. The easy of assembly was surprising. I did need help holding certain parts while I screwed in the bolts and screws but overall the assembly was easy. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish (I am a very handy female). The unit flows very smoothly and the different workouts that the machine provides are very good. The intensity scale could be a little harder but for the price this machine is good. I have rheumatoid arthritis and it is easy on my joints so that is a plus as compared to my old treadmill that was hard on my knees and joint on impact. I would definitely recommend the extended warranty. I had a small problem with the machine in the beginning but the manufacturer sent out a tech to repair it (this was under the 90 day warranty). I feel more comfortable having the extended warranty in case something goes wrong at a later time. My kids, 12-13 years old, can even use it with easy. Good for the whole family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Goldstride

07/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't buy i had ordered one it was not what I thought it popped the whole time I was working out very cheap made and I know it was not my weight I only weigh 180lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer
01/30/2010
By ,
cheshire, ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice machine, but ac adapter doesn't come with it. needed to be purchased seperatly. not stated in add or details and walmart does not carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 544 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next