Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

The Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer is a terrific rear-drive elliptical that features six built-in workouts designed by Certified Personal Trainers. Choose from aerobic, weight-loss or performance goals - and you'll be on your way to a slimmer, leaner you. Console controls help you conveniently adjust the resistance of your workout. And to round it all out, the Golds Gym Elliptical 380 is equipped with a large LCD, convenient transport wheels and a 14" stride length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(600 Reviews) 544
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
185
3 stars
71
2 stars
27
1 star
78
Customer Recommendation80%480 out of 600reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
138 Questions | 493 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
239
4 stars
185
3 stars
71
2 stars
27
1 star
78
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

almost perfect!!

06/04/2011
By ,
upland ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i just recieved my machine on 6/2/11 and it took my husband and i about 1 1/2 hours to assemble not to bad.. but you will need a "star" screw driver..i can say that i am not 100% satisfied only because the machine does wiggle and move alot side to side..dont expect a nice solid "non moving" machine. this one does move side to side wiether its on carpet or solid flooring =/ i have burned 1,000 cals in two days and i do feel great =) it does make you sweat..and i can feel the soarness in my thighs ,arms,back and sides of my torso..so something must be working lol.. if you can look past the wiggle wobble i would say this is a great machine for the price..i did almost return it the second day because of the movement but you know what,for 300 bucks what do ya expect it cant be perfect... i dont have the money to spend 1,500 on a good sturdy machine so this will have to do till i win the lottery lol.. all in all i say buy it.. look past the wiggling and just burn some calories =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great value!

12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run marathons, and needed something to crosstrain on that would be easy on my knees. Looked into gym memberships and was shocked at how expensive they are. This elliptical is definitely a better deal in the long-term. It's very basic, but definitely does the trick. It's practically silent with the exception of a click from time to time. Assembled it on my own and it took about two hours. Directions were very clear. All pieces were present, labeled well, and easy to put together. I'm petite, so the shorter stride is absolutely perfect for me. It's a great workout! Easy to roll around to put it away when you're done with your workout. It also has a relatively small footprint in case you plan to leave it out, but have limited space. Only criticisms are that the calorie meter is wildly inaccurate. It estimates that you're burning more than twice than reality. The distance measurement and heart rate monitor are also inaccurate. All in all, those three things don't matter as long as you're getting your heartrate up. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Exceeds Expectations

02/19/2014
By ,
Eastern Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly: easy and fairly quick- took almost 2 hours and only had trouble with the console screws. Just make sure to go slow and double check every step to make sure you have the right pieces if your not familiar with putting things like this together.
Use: Use it twice daily with no issues. No squeaking or clicking to be had as mentioned in some reviews so be sure to grease all interior moving parts; even those not mentioned in the manual. Some mentioned a wobbling when in use and I had that as well until I adjusted the foot things in the rear of the machine to level it to my floor as suggested in manual.
Durability: So far it has been handling twice daily uses with no problems.
Overall: I think it is a great machine for the price and am glad I bought it, lost 10 pounds in 2 weeks without any of the pain my old workouts caused me after my surgery. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a way to exercise at home without all the pressure of a gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Favorite one so far

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd elliptical trainer over the last 15 years and my favorite so far. It takes up much less space than my last one but still has the right stride length (I'm nearly 6 feet tall). It went together easily, we took our time and went one step at a time. I like how all the nuts and bolts are on a bubble card and labeled. The places where it's welded seem well-done (a problem on my first one, different brand). The overall construction seems very sturdy; I was impressed with it as we were putting it together. The monitor/display is standard and simple. One thing on the monitor that I've never seen before, and really like, is in manual mode you get to see your progress around a 1/4 mile track based on the number of steps/revolutions you've done. It takes a little longer and is harder work than walking an actual flat track though, since you're dealing with resistance settings. I didn't think the heart monitor was accurate until a read the instruction manual and it said not to grip them very hard and to be still; when I followed those instructions, the heart rate monitor did it's job well. Overall, I am very happy with the quality, the features, and the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent Value!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is exactly what I was looking for. It's inexpensive, gives a great workout (I'm 100lbs and can't get passed level 1 resistance!), and takes up very little space. Other reviewers said it was wobbly but my husband who is 180 lbs doesn't think so. It does take a few hours to put together. Keep in mind that it isn't difficult to put together, it's just time consuming. The elliptical isn't completely silent as it makes a tiny noise when in use but I can barely hear it. You just have to make sure to put enough machine grease where it asks for it. Buy it...you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

A great deal for a great product!

08/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching elliptical machines for the last couple months because I knew that I wanted to purchase one, but wasn't quite sure which one I wanted and more importantly I wasn't really willing to spend a ridiculous amount or money on one. After searching through all of the big names, I finally decided to purchase this Gold's Gym elliptical from WalMart.com. First off, the overall review score seemed fairly promising, which is always important when making a large purchase. Second, I needed a machine that was small scale because of the space in which I am putting it. Finally, I was able to score a great deal, combined with .97 cent shipping! All in all, I've been very pleased so far! Assembly took about two hours, with 2 adults, and the machine seems to be very sturdy (I am 5'2" and 125 lbs.). It does squeak a bit when pedaling, but I will just adjust/oil the bolts and hopefully that will take care of the noise. Also, some have commented that the resistance seems a bit "tight" on this machine, even at low levels, and I would tend to agree (at least when compared to the elliptical machines I used at the gym), but I am sure that over time, it will become easier (as is true with any workout). Also, as many other reviewers have mentioned, this machine does operate on D cell batteries, out of the box. However, I purchased a power adapter online for about $14 and it works great! The model info for the adapter is the PowerLine 0900-74. Overall, this has proven to be a great item and I hope that it continues to provide a great workout :) I would absolutely recommend this machine to someone looking for a good workout, but on a small budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

5stars

06/10/2014
By ,
Washington, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great for me (5'2", 130 lbs, need to reach my goal of 120)! My husband was able to assemble the elliptical in about 2 & 1/2 HRS. I was able to help him as well. Easy instructions to follow :) I recommend this product to anyone who is looking for an elliptical to workout at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great price for a fairly good elliptical

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only complaint is that it squeaks when I use it. My husband has yet to look back at it to fix it, so that may not be an issue once he does. Otherwise, it does the job and I have a love/hate relationship with it! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Key Weld Broke

07/07/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparks,NV
Gold's gym stridetrainer 380
Posted 12/04/2011
I thought that this was the perfect item also now it's just junk , it makes loud noises,it pops,creaks,stadlizer moves when you use the machine. just a waste of $277.00
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great Investment

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy that I ordered the elliptical trainer. I absolutely love it. Very sturdy and well built. Gives me an excellent workout. I am in my 60's, female, and I assembled it all by myself. It took me about 3 1/2 hrs. I just took my time and it went together exactly as the directions said. For the price of this, you can't go wrong. It is so worth the money. I was shocked how quickly I received it. I highly recommend this elliptical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Product didn't last

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent

10/06/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this elliptical machine. The easy of assembly was surprising. I did need help holding certain parts while I screwed in the bolts and screws but overall the assembly was easy. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish (I am a very handy female). The unit flows very smoothly and the different workouts that the machine provides are very good. The intensity scale could be a little harder but for the price this machine is good. I have rheumatoid arthritis and it is easy on my joints so that is a plus as compared to my old treadmill that was hard on my knees and joint on impact. I would definitely recommend the extended warranty. I had a small problem with the machine in the beginning but the manufacturer sent out a tech to repair it (this was under the 90 day warranty). I feel more comfortable having the extended warranty in case something goes wrong at a later time. My kids, 12-13 years old, can even use it with easy. Good for the whole family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great machine!

07/03/2013
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment so far. I've had it for about 3 weeks and it has been used daily by 3 people for half an hour each at different times of the day. So far we haven't had any problems, it gives you the calorie count, the mileage and the time you are on the machine. You sweat a lot and burn a lot more calories than on a treadmill. For people that are not in shape, you have to start slowly because it works your legs, you probably will do between 2 to 5 minutes at the beginning, but if you continue everyday, you can start adding minutes and you will get strength in your legs.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and for the value, it is a great machine. The same machine Amazon has if for $599 and I found it at Walmart for $277 plus I purchased for $28 a three year extended warranty which was recommended by many reviewers especially if the machine is being used a lot by more than one person. Overall, I am very happy with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer
01/30/2010
By ,
cheshire, ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice machine, but ac adapter doesn't come with it. needed to be purchased seperatly. not stated in add or details and walmart does not carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Very low quality product

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made from very low quality parts, cheap plastic that breaks very easily. Makes a very loud sound from many areas even when well lubed. Do not buy this eliptical, you have been warned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Good product, fast delivery

10/22/2011
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the stridetrainer a few weeks back. The delivery was fast, and Fedex delivered within 4 days of ordering. I read reviews with some people mentioning there equipment was loud, but mine seemed ok, except a clicking noise from the flywheel which is low in terms of volume, and happens infrequently.
A WORD OF CAUTION though - if you are not in the best of shapes (like me) and are starting regular excercise, be careful buying this product....the reason being i find the pedals/stride a little too steep. So while i am working out, my feet keep moving/slipping towards the front of the pedal and there is a decent amount of stress on the knees. Other than that, no complaints.
Oh, & while you're assembling it, make sure you read the instructions once before starting. there is a point when it asks you to grease one part, but then there are more parts to be greased a couple steps later. So you might want to do that task in one go, or keep cleaning your hands again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not so good

02/23/2010
By ,
Grand Rapids, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were very excited about this product when we read the reviews online, but unfortuantly it wasn't as good as people said it would be. The 14 inch stride is very small for me (im 5'5'') and very very small for my husband whos 6 feet. We were looking for something that was a good deal, but you really do get what you pay for. I we had it for 1 week and I used it about 5 times, every time I got back on my knees would hurt really bad from the small strides, they also hurt after my workout and were cracking all day long. It almost felt as though you were on a stair stepper, rather than an elliptical. My husband was the same way which wasnt good since he recently has had knee surgery and the reason for buying this was to strengthen his knee again. After working out on it, I did feel like it was a good workout, just VERY tough on your knees and I think over time it would do some damage. We brought this product back not even a week later and bought a more expensive treadmill=)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

You get what you pay for...

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This treadmill takes a while to put together. Directions were pretty easy to follow though. Problem is once it's together it squeaks like crazy and all pieces were tightened and greased where they were supposed to be. The good news is there was no problem returning it to the store. Save your money and buy a quality elliptical at sears. I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great Elliptical for the money

08/11/2011
By ,
East Moline, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical about a month ago and am very well pleased with it. My husband had no trouble putting it together and did so by himself( instructions suggest 2 people ) ; I did help help hold the display panel system for about 2 minutes while he attached it. The machine has both manual and preset programs, which is nice for beginners like me. The first week I used the manal settings for resistance but by the second week found I was able to complete some of the preset workouts, as well. The machine changes resistance levels during preset workouts automatically and the transition from one resisitance level to the next is very smooth... without any jerky movements which I understand can happen with lesser expensive machines. The control panel also has a display to show distance, time, heart rate and what resistance level you are working on. There are special sensors on the stationary handles to which if you hold them for a few seconds, will record/display your pulse rate. The added cup/bottle holder is nice, as well. For the money, I highly recommend this machine. I've used it daily for the past month and i love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Unhappy client

08/04/2014
By ,
Norristown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this elliptical for my wife almost 3 weeks ago. The elliptical came with missing parts, the customer service is absolutely terrible, the directions are awful and I am still waiting for the parts to come in since they were backordered. I will never buy another product from this company. I am so frustrated and unhappy, and all I want is this elliptical to be finished being put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 545 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next