Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

The Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer is a terrific rear-drive elliptical that features six built-in workouts designed by Certified Personal Trainers. Choose from aerobic, weight-loss or performance goals - and you'll be on your way to a slimmer, leaner you. Console controls help you conveniently adjust the resistance of your workout. And to round it all out, the Golds Gym Elliptical 380 is equipped with a large LCD, convenient transport wheels and a 14" stride length.
Average Customer Rating:
3.787 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(610 Reviews) 554
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
187
3 stars
71
2 stars
29
1 star
81
Customer Recommendation80%485 out of 610reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
139 Questions | 494 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
187
3 stars
71
2 stars
29
1 star
81
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

NA

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice machine--convenient size
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great for the home

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for almost a year. The only noise you hear is the computer turning on and off. I wish the batteries were easier to get in the computer but over all this thing has been a workhorse. I use it 4-5 times a week, it has different settings for the workout you get. It is really easy to move around the house. I do not know how it would handle on carpet because I have wood and tile floors. The best thing about this machine is it is like the elliptical I use at the gym. It is very SMOOTH operation, it feels like a very expensive piece of equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

My private indoor exersize fun

01/07/2011
By ,
Farmington, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit intimidated when the box arrived with all the parts inside but my Son, the Mechanic got it together in no time. I helped by setting out all the parts ahead of time and handed him the right sized nuts, bolts, washers, and misc. parts as he called for them and it went together in about an hour and a half.
This machine is very well constructed of heavy duty metal and plastic, it's a solid looking machine and functions quietly when in use. I really love its quality and recommend it to anyone, I'm so glad that I purchased it, it's well worth the money. I am 5'6" and weigh about 175 and it holds me with ease. I plan to get healthy and lean and drop some weight in the process. I know I can reach my goal with this great machine at my own pace, and in the privacy of my own home.
I do suggest that you have 4 D sized batteries on hand to run the display panel before you start assembling the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Disappointed!!

03/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is actually an addition to my original review. I bought this machine on 11-28-10 and for the 1st 80 days I owned it I loved it!! Worked great other than a few creaks and groans and having to re-grease some of the connections but at about day 80 the center axle holding the rear wheel broke clean in half!! For as clean of a break as it was, it had to be a material defect. Fortunately, I was within my 90 days from purchase and I was able to return it to my local Wal-Mart no questions asked for a full refund!! Thank goodness I saved the receipt!! I have to say I loved the machine while I had it but I will not buy another Golds as it seems that quality is a definite issue with this product...I will buy another brand of elliptical but not until next winter...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent Value!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This elliptical is exactly what I was looking for. It's inexpensive, gives a great workout (I'm 100lbs and can't get passed level 1 resistance!), and takes up very little space. Other reviewers said it was wobbly but my husband who is 180 lbs doesn't think so. It does take a few hours to put together. Keep in mind that it isn't difficult to put together, it's just time consuming. The elliptical isn't completely silent as it makes a tiny noise when in use but I can barely hear it. You just have to make sure to put enough machine grease where it asks for it. Buy it...you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not too sturdy but does the job.

01/04/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sure if it will last or a long time, but we are using this 2-3 times a week, and hope the Elliptical lasts at least up to the warranty period.
As far as the product goes, generally good quality for the price. I ordered the Elliptical along with rubber mats for store pick up. Both items were offered as a bundle, but they shipped to the store at different times and arrived at different times and I had to pick them up on separate occasions because Walmart will hold them only for a week or less. Very inconvenient. Moreover, the store had these items in stock so I dont understand why walmart.com orders cant be satisfied immediately with store stock and then replenished but shipping the stuff to the store. So much delay, shipping takes forever, as in 10 days or more in some cases, and this is not during holiday season.
Overall, ok experience, will buy because of low prices, but will not hesitate to buy elsewhere if the price was a tad higher but shipping/store pick up was quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

almost perfect!!

06/04/2011
By ,
upland ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well i just recieved my machine on 6/2/11 and it took my husband and i about 1 1/2 hours to assemble not to bad.. but you will need a "star" screw driver..i can say that i am not 100% satisfied only because the machine does wiggle and move alot side to side..dont expect a nice solid "non moving" machine. this one does move side to side wiether its on carpet or solid flooring =/ i have burned 1,000 cals in two days and i do feel great =) it does make you sweat..and i can feel the soarness in my thighs ,arms,back and sides of my torso..so something must be working lol.. if you can look past the wiggle wobble i would say this is a great machine for the price..i did almost return it the second day because of the movement but you know what,for 300 bucks what do ya expect it cant be perfect... i dont have the money to spend 1,500 on a good sturdy machine so this will have to do till i win the lottery lol.. all in all i say buy it.. look past the wiggling and just burn some calories =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great value!

12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run marathons, and needed something to crosstrain on that would be easy on my knees. Looked into gym memberships and was shocked at how expensive they are. This elliptical is definitely a better deal in the long-term. It's very basic, but definitely does the trick. It's practically silent with the exception of a click from time to time. Assembled it on my own and it took about two hours. Directions were very clear. All pieces were present, labeled well, and easy to put together. I'm petite, so the shorter stride is absolutely perfect for me. It's a great workout! Easy to roll around to put it away when you're done with your workout. It also has a relatively small footprint in case you plan to leave it out, but have limited space. Only criticisms are that the calorie meter is wildly inaccurate. It estimates that you're burning more than twice than reality. The distance measurement and heart rate monitor are also inaccurate. All in all, those three things don't matter as long as you're getting your heartrate up. Great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

A great deal for a great product!

08/06/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching elliptical machines for the last couple months because I knew that I wanted to purchase one, but wasn't quite sure which one I wanted and more importantly I wasn't really willing to spend a ridiculous amount or money on one. After searching through all of the big names, I finally decided to purchase this Gold's Gym elliptical from WalMart.com. First off, the overall review score seemed fairly promising, which is always important when making a large purchase. Second, I needed a machine that was small scale because of the space in which I am putting it. Finally, I was able to score a great deal, combined with .97 cent shipping! All in all, I've been very pleased so far! Assembly took about two hours, with 2 adults, and the machine seems to be very sturdy (I am 5'2" and 125 lbs.). It does squeak a bit when pedaling, but I will just adjust/oil the bolts and hopefully that will take care of the noise. Also, some have commented that the resistance seems a bit "tight" on this machine, even at low levels, and I would tend to agree (at least when compared to the elliptical machines I used at the gym), but I am sure that over time, it will become easier (as is true with any workout). Also, as many other reviewers have mentioned, this machine does operate on D cell batteries, out of the box. However, I purchased a power adapter online for about $14 and it works great! The model info for the adapter is the PowerLine 0900-74. Overall, this has proven to be a great item and I hope that it continues to provide a great workout :) I would absolutely recommend this machine to someone looking for a good workout, but on a small budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Key Weld Broke

07/07/2010
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This WAS a perfect product, until it broke! It ran smoothly and very quietly, and I was very pleased. Then, two weeks past the 90 day warranty, the weld that secures the front stabilizer bar (the front "feet") to the frame snapped. I am 225 lbs - below the 250 maximum-and used the machine 3 times per week. A call to manufacturer customer service was disappointing, though not surprising, as the item was no longer covered by warranty. I'll now have to get a friend to weld the thing or I'll have to fashion brackets. Until then, it's useless. $277 for three months' use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparks,NV
Gold's gym stridetrainer 380
Posted 12/04/2011
I thought that this was the perfect item also now it's just junk , it makes loud noises,it pops,creaks,stadlizer moves when you use the machine. just a waste of $277.00
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Product didn't last

03/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was really happy with this product. It was getting an hour of use per day, between my wife and I. In 3 months, the welds at the front of the machine came loose, and the frame actually cracked (and yes, we are both within the weight limits of the machine). With the crack in the frame, it now makes a loud grinding noise, which the TV cannot drown out. I think this machine is not very well balanced, it shimmies right and left as you use it, and this causes the frame to wear down quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

very unhappy

10/21/2014
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After using it for two weeks it makes so much noise its crazy. I can't use it in the morning while the kids are sleeping cause of it squeeking so bad. Wish I saved my money and bought a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Disappointed

10/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have Gold's Gym products all over my home. Treadmill, free weights, etc. I'm normally very fond of Gold's but not so much with this item. I'm only 5'8 so I didn't worry much about stride but this is awful. I used it on levels 8 through 10 for 20 mins the first day. I barely broke much of a sweat. I felt more of a workout going up my steps once. If it didn't take me just over 2 hours to put together and weighed so much I'd return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Excellent

10/06/2011
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this elliptical machine. The easy of assembly was surprising. I did need help holding certain parts while I screwed in the bolts and screws but overall the assembly was easy. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish (I am a very handy female). The unit flows very smoothly and the different workouts that the machine provides are very good. The intensity scale could be a little harder but for the price this machine is good. I have rheumatoid arthritis and it is easy on my joints so that is a plus as compared to my old treadmill that was hard on my knees and joint on impact. I would definitely recommend the extended warranty. I had a small problem with the machine in the beginning but the manufacturer sent out a tech to repair it (this was under the 90 day warranty). I feel more comfortable having the extended warranty in case something goes wrong at a later time. My kids, 12-13 years old, can even use it with easy. Good for the whole family
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great machine!

07/03/2013
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment so far. I've had it for about 3 weeks and it has been used daily by 3 people for half an hour each at different times of the day. So far we haven't had any problems, it gives you the calorie count, the mileage and the time you are on the machine. You sweat a lot and burn a lot more calories than on a treadmill. For people that are not in shape, you have to start slowly because it works your legs, you probably will do between 2 to 5 minutes at the beginning, but if you continue everyday, you can start adding minutes and you will get strength in your legs.
I did a lot of research before purchasing this machine and for the value, it is a great machine. The same machine Amazon has if for $599 and I found it at Walmart for $277 plus I purchased for $28 a three year extended warranty which was recommended by many reviewers especially if the machine is being used a lot by more than one person. Overall, I am very happy with this machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer
01/30/2010
By ,
cheshire, ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice machine, but ac adapter doesn't come with it. needed to be purchased seperatly. not stated in add or details and walmart does not carry it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Good product, fast delivery

10/22/2011
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the stridetrainer a few weeks back. The delivery was fast, and Fedex delivered within 4 days of ordering. I read reviews with some people mentioning there equipment was loud, but mine seemed ok, except a clicking noise from the flywheel which is low in terms of volume, and happens infrequently.
A WORD OF CAUTION though - if you are not in the best of shapes (like me) and are starting regular excercise, be careful buying this product....the reason being i find the pedals/stride a little too steep. So while i am working out, my feet keep moving/slipping towards the front of the pedal and there is a decent amount of stress on the knees. Other than that, no complaints.
Oh, & while you're assembling it, make sure you read the instructions once before starting. there is a point when it asks you to grease one part, but then there are more parts to be greased a couple steps later. So you might want to do that task in one go, or keep cleaning your hands again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Not so good

02/23/2010
By ,
Grand Rapids, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were very excited about this product when we read the reviews online, but unfortuantly it wasn't as good as people said it would be. The 14 inch stride is very small for me (im 5'5'') and very very small for my husband whos 6 feet. We were looking for something that was a good deal, but you really do get what you pay for. I we had it for 1 week and I used it about 5 times, every time I got back on my knees would hurt really bad from the small strides, they also hurt after my workout and were cracking all day long. It almost felt as though you were on a stair stepper, rather than an elliptical. My husband was the same way which wasnt good since he recently has had knee surgery and the reason for buying this was to strengthen his knee again. After working out on it, I did feel like it was a good workout, just VERY tough on your knees and I think over time it would do some damage. We brought this product back not even a week later and bought a more expensive treadmill=)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Exceeds Expectations

02/19/2014
By ,
Eastern Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly: easy and fairly quick- took almost 2 hours and only had trouble with the console screws. Just make sure to go slow and double check every step to make sure you have the right pieces if your not familiar with putting things like this together.
Use: Use it twice daily with no issues. No squeaking or clicking to be had as mentioned in some reviews so be sure to grease all interior moving parts; even those not mentioned in the manual. Some mentioned a wobbling when in use and I had that as well until I adjusted the foot things in the rear of the machine to level it to my floor as suggested in manual.
Durability: So far it has been handling twice daily uses with no problems.
Overall: I think it is a great machine for the price and am glad I bought it, lost 10 pounds in 2 weeks without any of the pain my old workouts caused me after my surgery. Would recommend it for anyone who wants a way to exercise at home without all the pressure of a gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Gold's Gym Stridetrainer 380 Elliptical Trainer

Great Elliptical for the money

08/11/2011
By ,
East Moline, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical about a month ago and am very well pleased with it. My husband had no trouble putting it together and did so by himself( instructions suggest 2 people ) ; I did help help hold the display panel system for about 2 minutes while he attached it. The machine has both manual and preset programs, which is nice for beginners like me. The first week I used the manal settings for resistance but by the second week found I was able to complete some of the preset workouts, as well. The machine changes resistance levels during preset workouts automatically and the transition from one resisitance level to the next is very smooth... without any jerky movements which I understand can happen with lesser expensive machines. The control panel also has a display to show distance, time, heart rate and what resistance level you are working on. There are special sensors on the stationary handles to which if you hold them for a few seconds, will record/display your pulse rate. The added cup/bottle holder is nice, as well. For the money, I highly recommend this machine. I've used it daily for the past month and i love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 555 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next