Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Standard Bench

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Highly customizable and effective, the Gold's Gym XR 7.9 Standard Bench is a must in every gym. A range of versatile workouts can be devised using the adjustable weight crutches. The multi-position Gold's Gym weight bench conveniently adjusts to multiple angles ranging from incline to decline. You can build or strengthen specific muscle groups using this adjustable bench press. This Gold's Gym bench also features a 4-roll leg developer to help build your quads, hamstrings, glutes and hip-flexors. In addition to imparting a sleek look, the sewn vinyl seats provide excellent comfort during your workouts. This Gold's Gym weight bench also comes with an exercise chart that helps you focus on the muscle groups you want to tone and shows you how to perform each exercise correctly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.662 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation74%55 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Good value, not heavy duty

06/07/2010
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I don't think you'll do better. That being said, the bench is not that big. I'm 5'8" 155 lbs. If you are more than 5'10" maybe I'm guessing this bench will be too small for you. Also if you lift a lot of weight, this bench is not super heavy duty. For instance the pins that hold the bar above your head as your lying down just aren't that sturdy by design. I wouldn't put more that 100lbs. on there. It might hold it, I'm just saying now that I own it I wouldn't do it for safety sake.
So if you're a big guy who lifts a lot of weight, this may not be the best bench for you.
Also some other reviewer said you needed a 6' bar to work with this bench. I bought the 6' based on that review and it WAY overhangs either side. I think a 5' bar would be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

No Complaints

05/29/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bench for the price. It's very well made and finished nicely. The assembly instructions and even the way all the nuts and bolts are labeled, make it very easy to assemble. This is an entry level $77 bench. I'm 5'10", 180lbs and although I "wish" it were a few inches longer and wider, it's perfectly usable for someone my size. If you're a larger guy or you're planning on pumping a lot of weight, spend the extra bucks and buy a bigger bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

it's ok

04/07/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm 6'4" so it's way to small but if you're under 5'10" it might be ok for you. They should really put what size person it's for so you don't buy some thing you can't use. Other than the size issue it's a nice bench, but I will have to find and buy a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Not good for chest workouts

01/24/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bench is decent ONLY for people with narrow shoulders. With the distance between two ends being narrow, it does not accommodate for a good and normal bench press.
Also, the Incline, Flat, and Decline feature is overstated. The height variation from decline to flat bench press in this product is only 4 inches. Similarly, the height variation from flat to incline is about 5 inches.
I would NOT recommend this to anyone hoping to make this an all around (decline, flat, and incline) work bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/02/2011
Narrow shoulders?? Your hands go on the outside of the uprights for doing bench presses. You must have tried a 5' bar, you need a 6' bar minimum.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Just what I needed

12/04/2009
By ,
Gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product -- just what I needed for a basic weight-lifting program.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

nice bench

01/28/2010
By ,
Winslow, Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We shopped all over the internet, spent a whole day in sporting stores. My husband and i decided to look in walmart.com. This was the weight bench we were looking for. When it arrived, putting it together was pretty easy, but most of all its exactly what we wanted. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Basically a Youth Bench

03/01/2011
By ,
Nashville
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gold's Gym doesn't call it a youth bench, but that's basically what it is. I'm a 5'10 / 160 male and this bench was too small. When lying down flat to bench press, my butt was hanging off the edge of the bench. The vertical bars (with the pegs for the bar-bell) were too short. If I were to have the bench on incline, I would have to squeeze in-between the bar and the bench. And on top of that, the difference between incline, flat and decline wasn't enough to truly hit the different parts of the pectoral muscle. The bench was too narrow and only covered half my thighs, so using the leg extension would have been uncomfortable. The leg extension only holds 50lbs, and the barbell pegs only support 110lbs. If you are an intermediate to advanced weight-lifter, serious about weight lifting... DO NOT BUY THIS BENCH. I returned it and will be purchasing an Olympic style bench, much closer to what you would find in a gym. On a side note. The Vinyl Gold's Gym weights are garbage. I guess you truly do get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench
04/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those thinking of buying this bench know that you will need a 6 foot bar or 7 foot bar to use this. The little 5 foot ones are too small for the uprights. I have a 6 foot bar and this bench works great! I got it for $77 and it's a good solid bench. I use 200+ lbs on it for workouts and have no complaints. Awesome for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

good for you, not for me

10/18/2009
By ,
Stockton CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just returned this item this morning. I am 5' and 140, but the seat was a little small for me. The leg part was a little crooked and 1 nut was missing. It was also just a little too compact. Overall, it looked really nice, but just changed my mind. Glad to have my extra space back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

It's okay

10/23/2009
By ,
La Vergne, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not a bad piece of equipment. One of the plastic pieces that cover the end of the foam pads broke when I put the unit together. It's a little on the cheap side regarding quaility but will work for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Great Product

11/27/2009
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value, Easy assembly. I used store to store shipping and actully paid less using the internet than buying it at the store. Shipped quicker than expected. For the money this is a great work out bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Its ok but

01/19/2010
By ,
Riverside, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a bit small in length, where you lay down could use another 6-12 inches.
And the bench says max weight 100. i have not tried to put more on yet. but thats a very small amount. the leg thing is pointless, and the preacher bad isnt inclined enough for my liking.
but if your a very young teen or a beginner or a woman. its a bench for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench
05/17/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
first of all. the height, length and width they have in the description is wrong. second. it can only hold up to 110 pounds on the crutches for bench press. and 50 pounds on the leg developer
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 09/15/2011
This bench can hold way more than the safety warning. I use well over 200lbs every week on it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Good for beginers

02/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife purchased this for me, was excited to receive it. This thing is for Shorter people, I am 5'10" and to lay on it and do dumbell presses my bottom has to be almost on the leg attachment mount, if not the dumbells will hit the barbell supports.
Also imagine this fact, nowhere in any description of product is there any info on max. weight restrictions. Barbell 100#, leg attachment 50#, when using dumbells 30#. This is a joke!
I own a few different Golds Gym equipment peices, don't waste your money on this equipment, it is cheap. I believe it is a name, not associated with quality! I believe I will be returning this, dont think I will even disassemble it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Not useful at all

06/16/2010
By ,
St. Louis MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had read all the reviews before I purchased this. I missed the one stating weight limit.
As stated by another user, no where in the specs or description is there info on max. weight restrictions. Bench Press is 110 lbs. If you're a grown up just starting to lift weights and plan to workout regularly, you'll surpass 110 lbs. and need another bench.
If you're bench pressing less than 110 lbs, I suggest saving your money and doing push ups till you can afford a better unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/02/2011
This bench can hold way, way more than 110lbs. Had mine for well over a year and use over 200lbs on it every week.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Poor bench press width and design

06/20/2011
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After having used this bench for over 3 months, I have the following feedback. Lets start with the good:
Good:
- Aesthetically pleasing to look at
- Good construction quality for the price
- Good directions for assembly
Bad:
- The width of the poles for holding the bar is seriously inadequate. You can't put more than a total of 50 lbs on the bar and be able to put it on the holding stands without the fear of pinching your hands
- The width needs to be at least 6 inches more on both sides
Conclusion:
It can't do the main job its supposed to do i.e. help in doing proper bench press without the fear of getting hurt. Do spend a little more and get a regular sized bench press ensuring that the distance between the poles is standard and to your liking. I didn't see it assembled before buying. I simply relied on the Gold's Gym name, big mistake.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/02/2011
You do know that your hands go on the outside of the uprights don't you?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Awful

10/16/2010
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of exercise equipment I've ever bought and the price is way too high for what you get. The machine is made for someone that is as skinny as an elementary age child and the height of one also. I am 5'10" and cannot fit on the thing. My son is 131 lbs and can barely fit on the thing. It holds little weight, waddles back and forth when you move on it. Very uncomfortable. I will never buy a gold's gym product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

A waste of money:(

01/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When i got the bench, assembly was extremely hard. Then when i got it togather, after only a week, it was really wobbly. And right after i noticed that it had bent. The bench bent! Worse product ever really, and i thought id be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

Great standard bench.

07/17/2011
By ,
Tyrone, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a solidly built peice of equipment. It is perfect for what I need it for. Perfect for toning and building muscle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Standard Bench

works for me

05/02/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to do some light lifting after cardio. It works fine for this. I don't need to bulk up, so I'm doing light weight & lots of reps, which is fine with the weight limit of the bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next