Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Train and strengthen your entire body using this Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill. Includes four weight-loss workouts, designed to help you burn maximum calories so you can reach your weight-loss goals fast. The indicator light on the GG480 exercise treadmill console prompts you to use the hand weights so you can maximize your time. The 1-pound hand weights add definition to your arms, shoulders and back. This Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill features AirStride Plus™ Cushioning, a uniquely shaped deck isolator. AirStride Plus™ keeps the deck firm, while reducing joint impact, helping you to feel better and work out longer on this exercise equipment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(813 Reviews) 741
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
236
3 stars
46
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation87%710 out of 813reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
230 Questions | 695 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
236
3 stars
46
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great Value

01/26/2011
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. The delivery was on time and only $0.01. Although it says it requires two people for assembly, I was able to do it myself in about 3 hours. The unit is compact. It does not take up a lot of space, and it folds up when not in use. The automatic incline feature was the selling point for me. The incline feature on any treadmill is so important. Anyone who has been on a professional treadmill in a gym knows what I mean. Other models in this price range have a manual incline...you have to get off the treadmill and adjust the legs on the end of the machine!! This model has the electric incline. The heart rate feature is also really neat. You just grab hold of the hand rail, and the unit measures your pulse in your hands and displays your heart rate. The belt moves freely and the cushion support is great even when running. This machine may not have as many preprogrammed exercise routines as a professional unit, but for $400 including tax and delivery this is an amazing deal. The only complaint that I have (and it is really no big deal unless you are using the unit in the dark) is that he display is not back lit. In other words the display is digital, but not bright. I can't imagine that it would cost the manufacturer more than a couple of dollars to include a back lit display. Overall, I am very impressed with this machine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Not Bad for the price

06/15/2011
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in early January 11'. I use it 3-5 times a week, sometimes every day. I'm 5'11" 225lbs and it has held up nicely. Putting it together was a breeze (I'm a male who IS mechanically inclined). I honestly stopped using the directions after I figured out what everything was. It took me about an hour and a half to assemble. I think anyone could put this together within a couple hours regardless of skill level or experience. VERY BASIC and simple to follow.
The trial run was a bit sketchy as I thought I was going to break it. It seems to cushion your run, sway a bit as holds up to everything you give it. The 8 different workouts are great! I use one of three every time I run, my wife uses two different and my sister uses another two. It really seems to work for everyone and it has become a part of the family (as corny as it sounds).
I paid the listed $377 plus I bought the extended warranty. I would recommend this to a friend as I did A LOT of research before buying. It seems to be the best in it's class considering anything better will run you close to double if not triple what this unit costs. I hope this helps you on your treadmill future, I know I research EVERYTHING and read many reviews before purchasing!!! I give it a 4 of 5. Good running people....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

I'm pleased; fits my needs

02/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an affordable treadmill to use on a near daily basis; focusing on consistent walking to help me lose weight. I won't be using it to run on. And price was a big factor for me.
My husband assembled it with no problems and my minimal help. He's handy though. It is heavy with lots of pieces, I would have been intimidated by the instructions if it were just me.
I've owned a more expensive treadmill in the past. I think this one is fairly comparable. The display console is plasticy, but easy to use. It feels sturdy, stable and doesn't rumble and shake while in use. I can watch TV without the volume sky high.
As mentioned, there's no display light. I clipped on a $2.00 book light and it made a big difference! I took a picture in a near dark room to show the improvement.
I would recommend this treadmill to those on a budget who are looking to improve their health.
I'm down three pounds this first week!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill
03/27/2012
By ,
columbia sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't listen to the reviews.... Good machine for the price. Gets the job done. Easy to assemble if u can read. Only downfall is theres no back light ... But who cares just run.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill
01/03/2011
By ,
Athens, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product. This treadmill was ordered as a special Christmas present for someone special. I was embrassed when I found out that four of the screws were the wrong size and livid when I saw the pic of the belt, it had dirt on it, it actually looked used. First thing tomorrow morning, someone will be talking to me about what happened. There could possibly be other things we will find wrong as we proceed with the assembly of this treadmill.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great workout

05/21/2010
By ,
Central Coast, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill had detailed directions for putting it together.
And the workouts it provide are GREAT! Love the automatic change in incline and speed. Because it varies every minute - you don't get bored - and at the end of 30 minutes we are sweating our brains out!
Even our dog loves to get in his exercise with it! Since he's a hyper border collie, it provides extra exercise for him so he doesn't wear us out!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Just what I wanted

04/01/2011
By ,
Freeport, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been trying to decide on a treadmill for quite ahwile. We did not want to spend a lot of money but wanted something decent. In reading the reviews, the product seemed good but the only downfall was how long it took to put it together. We found that all to be true!
However....my friend just got an eliptical at the same time and it took them longer to put together than what it took us for our treadmill. It took us just under three hours to put together and it was just my husband and I. (And I'm not much help but giving him the right screws and bolts lol). So the time thing did not bother us.
The only downfall we have found is that it is not super loud but it is louder than we expected. We have it in the basement so it doesn't hinder us in anyway. All in all, it is exactly what we needed and I am a large girl myself and feel fine on this equipment. A lot of time it is hard being larger and finding something that can handle you. This is it for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

1st time treadmill purchaser

09/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never purchased anything like this on-line before, so wasn't sure what to expect. The process at the store (pick-up) could have gone more smoothly. The product itself came in a huge bulky/heavy box, so it was good I had an SUV. I had to get help to unload it and get it into my house, but once I got it inside, I was able to put it together "mostly" by myself. I had to have my daughter help me twice, due to needing extra hands/strength, but other than that, the directions were pretty clear and all the parts were there. As long as you know you really have to "assemble" it, and have a little help, you can get 'er done. Now that it's up and working, it runs well, and is relatively easy to use. There are a couple functions that are not self-evident (even with previous gym treadmill use) just by looking at the controls, but when you refer to the instruction manual, you can figure them out. This product definitely meets my needs and I would recommend others buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Better than expected

01/17/2011
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this treadmill 5 days ago.
It took about 4 hours to put it together, mind you, I did it alone and I had my 18 months baby stealing screws and tools the whole time. It is definitely a two men or women job.
I'm 5'8" and 250 pounds, this treadmill is definitely sturdy. pretty good craftsmanship, although the display is NOT lighted but it is visible. I have done 2 of the lose weight workout and I like them.
We are all using this treadmill, including my 8 year old son so I think this has been a great investment. By the time it takes me to get to the gym, I'm already taking a shower after my workout.
Can this treadmill be improved? Sure, but for $377 you wont get anything better than this.
If you are just trying to lose some weight, or you are just a beginner this is the treadmill for you
I love the fact that I don't have to worry about picking out workout clothes to go to the gym, I just put on some shorts and a tshirt, running shoes,,,and lets go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great treadmill for someone looking to lose weight

01/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading many reviews and researching many different types of treadmills I decided on this one, it came with the puzzle mat and looked like it would fit my needs. First, in it's box it is HEAVY! I had my friend put it together for me, with some assitance from me, definetly a two person job, we had the whole thing ready for use and positioned where I wanted it in 3 hours. Some reviews said the display was very dim, and that is true...but for those of us not wanting to see how long we've been working out (what do you mean it's only been 5 minutes!!) it's not such a bad thing.
The belt has required adjusting after each time I've used it, I think I'm still trying to find the sweet spot. It is good for jogging on, I'm not quite up for running, but I've done walk/jog/walk/jog workouts on it and it is holding up great...it's not shakey at all and suprisingly quiet. Last thing, once the treadmill is all put together, it's VERY easy to move around, folds up nicely and I have no issues moving it by myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

what a waste of time and money

10/21/2010
By ,
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read most of the reviews on this treadmill before I decided to buy it. Being the fact that most reviews were good I went ahead and purchased it through walmart.com. My husband put it together easily in about an hour or so. I used it immediately and it worked perfect. The very next time I used it, the speed started to increase and decrease on its own. Then I tried to use the incline and it wouldnt even go up! I called the company who said they would send out a tech to fix it. If its only the second time I'm using it and its already having problems I dont think I even want to keep it. My husband took the whole thing apart and put it back together just to make sure it wasnt an error on his part. And of course, it still did the same thing. If I set the speed to 3.0, it jumps up to 6.0 then back down to 1.0 and so on. What a joke. Don't waste your money. Now I have to return it and be out the 20 something bucks for shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Love my treadmill

08/30/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a little over 2 1/2 hours to put together and it appeared that some of the holes did not match up well, atleast on one side. With a little forced effort, we finally got the bolts inside the holes. Everything else went smoothly. You will definitely need two people to put this together. Otherwise, I have tried several of the weight loss preset workouts and loved them. They really make you sweat. I don't think it is as noisy as any other treadmills I have tried except when the incline moves up and down but I would think that is quite normal. My father has a treadmill twice as much as this one and it still makes a noise when going up and down. I think this is an excellent treadmill if you are looking for a low price and great value. I was going to purchase the treamill that was $100 cheaper, but I am glad I didn't because I love how the incline moves up and down at a touch of a button. Definitely worth splurging on. The other other one is manual. Overall, I am very happy with my treamill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Best Treadmill Investment by far!

10/22/2009
By ,
East Coast, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have bought used treadmills in the past because of the price but I have always kept an eye on new ones (just in case). When I saw this treadmill it had everything I was looking for and at an affordable price.
My husband is 250 lbs and the weight capacity is 300 lbs for this treadmill. He uses it with no problem at all. I like it because of the programs and it's completely user-friendly.
Setting it up took less than an hour, and we had no problems with the instructions or fitting all the pieces together. One previous reviewer said one of the screws didn't fit but we never had that problem.
It's completely worth it for you to buy if you want a great performance treadmill (10 mph, 10% incline etc) for less than $400. Plus we used site to store and picked it up in our large SUV so there were no shipping charges. Be sure of the measurements when picking it up, it's a very large box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Excellent Product for the $$$

04/03/2011
By ,
Hillsboro, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have owned this treadmill for about 9 months, and it has met and exceeded our expectations. I was pushing the weight limit (300 lbs) of this treadmill when we bought it, but it has shown no ill effects from the beating i have put it through. Now, at 220 lbs., it is great for running. The pre-programmed routines are very good also. They will put you through an excellent cardio workout. Would definitely buy again, or recommend to anyone looking for a treadmill, and not wanting to spend a boat-load of cash.
The only place this thing could use some improvement is in the hand rails. (They are just a bit short.) However, after gaining some treadmill balance, we do not hold on anyways, so it is really a non-issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Excellent treadmill for this price range

08/14/2010
By ,
Thibodaux,La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill has exceeded all of my expectations.I have owned it for only a couple of weeks and it has worked very well for my daily workouts. I'm 64 years old and only use it for walking. I was exceptionally pleased with the site-to-home delivery on this item. It arrived without any blemishes or tears on the box and the delivery person was very pleasant to deal with.The assembly was quite easy and the directions were straight forward and easy to understand. It is very quite and has no vibration during operation. It is no doubt,a very well engineered piece of equipment. The display is not back-lit, but is very easily seen. Very nice display arrangement.Very useful.The belt platform is quite comfortable to walk on and is easy on the legs and joints.I would positively recommend this product,especially to those that love to walk for exercising.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great Purchase!!!!

12/28/2009
By ,
Indiana, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a treadmill to help me get back in shape so I read all the reviews for the Weslo Cadence G4o that Walmart offers for 287.00 My husband and I headed to our Walmart to pick it up and when we got there we noticed this treadmill and he said that I would be crazy not to just get this one. I told him that I didn't read the reviews on this one but he said that the belt was wider, that the incline was automatic and that I should just try it. I am so glad that I did this treadmill is absolutely great. The programmed workouts are very nice although it will be awhile of training before I can do all of them. The incline is very smooth and the treadmill itself is fairly quiet. We have decided that it is quiet enough to keep in the living room instead of putting upstairs in the extra bedroom. As far as assembly goes it took my husband exactly 2 hours but if he would have followed the directions to the T he wouldn't have had to tear it back apart. CAUTION do not use the biggest bolts in the bottom frame as they are needed to brace the belt casing to each side of the frame. That was the mistake he made and regreted. I would definetely recommend this product to anyone that is looking for an affordable but yet quality treadmill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great!

02/15/2010
By ,
san diego, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't write reviews unless I find an item worthy of recommendation. If you have the money go ahead and buy a 2000 dll one, but if you have to save like me... honestly for the money and quality buy this one, i tried others from the same brand but a little more expensive, they're the same except may have more gadgets which we really can survive without. I recommend going to local fitness stores where you can try different treadmills and you'll know what I mean. We had the treadmill for 6 months already, it's used 4-5 times a day and it has not broke or had any problems. I lost 20 lbs in the first 3 months doing only the programmed workouts, no diet, except my last meal is at 7pm. Good luck and hope it helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great treadmill at an awesome price!

12/26/2010
By ,
Roy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always research my large purchases very carefully. When I was in the market for a treadmill, I went all over to sporting good stores and what I discovered was that the more expensive models just had more "bells and whistles." Like an Ipod dock, who the heck needs that?! This treadmill has everything you really need; more than adequate speed and incline settings, the actual tread is cushioned and easy on the joints, and an LCD display to tell you how long you've worked and how many calories burned. Only two negatives: it does require two people to put it together (husband and I had it done in about 30 minutes) and the heart moniter does not work all that great, but frankly, who cares? Husband and I are both very happy with this treadmill (he uses it, too), and I ended up paying a lot less for a decent one that I had anticipated (always a plus).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Great treadmill for price

12/09/2009
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great treadmill for the price. It arrived at the store sooner than it was supposed to and I was able to put it together in a little over two hours with minimal help from my husband. All the parts were there and the instructions were easy. I set it up plugged it in and everything has worked great. The incline is pretty impressive for a treadmill with this price tag and it is pretty sturdy. The latch that holds the base up when it is folded is not the sturdiest and you should be careful when moving it. The rollers work great as well as the programs. Very basic console and pretty easy to figure out. Has a safety key that is great so my toddler can't accidently turn it on. Overall I would recommend this to anyone I use it everyday for an hour and have had no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym GG480 Treadmill

Excellent Product!!

03/15/2010
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started not to buy this treadmill only because of the disappointing comments. That and I couldn't find it online or in the stores nearby. The comments about missing parts and such really disturbed messages. I don't know who couldn't put this thing together without help but I just had a quad-bypass and it only took me about 4 hours to put this thing together ALONE! It worked perfectly out of the box and it is very sturdy for me and my wife. Got this for walking so it is perfect for the price and we love it. We had everything in the box that was supposed to come with the treadmill....no pieces missing and it started up right away. Recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 742 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next