Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Shipping Note: The Weider Home Gym is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the Weider Home Gym to its final location. Build and tone your entire body with the Weider Home Gym. With 6 muscle-sculpting workout stations including a high pulley, chest press, chest fly, leg developer, preacher curl and low pulley station you have everything you need to start your workout routine with this at home gym. The Weider Home Gym also includes an exercise chart so you can make the most of your workout time and effectively work out each muscle group. Other features include an ankle strap with handle sewn vinyl seats.
Average Customer Rating:
4.008 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation85%110 out of 129reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 124 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

home gym

12/23/2009
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very eazy to install if you own a couple of socket sets ( the instuctions say chanel locks i believe) it took my wife and I 3 1/2 hour to assemble, however I work in a factory where I am a machine tech. so im used to taking machines apart and puting things back to getter. The instuctions where very good and nuts and bolts where laid out on cardboard then heat shrik was laid over them with the numbers of the nuts and bolts. Then instructions and these cards went together very well. We have had the device for about three weeks now, Im 37 my wife 36 we have already started noticing the results and certainly fell beter all ready. I would recomend this product to any one wanting to loose a litte weight and tone up there body but not for those whom are looking for serious body building results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good 4 $$ Spent

06/19/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is very good. I like the colors, the whole structure is very reasonable. Not too heavy not too light either. Just be ready to spend a good 5 to 6 hours to assemble it if you are not a handyman person. The cables could be a little bit confusing. Just follow the diagram shown in the book and you will be safe. I think is a great product for the money spent. I wish It would have brought more weights. You have about 214 pounds on leg resistance force but for your arms and chest is just about 120 pounds. At least with this product I won't have to be paying monthly membership fees on a gym neither wasting gas on my trip to the gym. I recommend this product.
Leslie A-G
Tampa, FL
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Nice gym...Schedule a day to get it together

07/13/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This took a few hours to get together, but after that it is really great. Works well.
-Make time to get it together, it will take about 4-6 hours.
-Do not overtighten any parts with plastic, they will snap!
-Do not let your husband try to put it together without instructions, it won't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Great weight machine

11/27/2010
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Weider weight machine 15 years ago that I got rid of when I moved. When looking to replace it I naturally went with another Weider since I had such good luck with the last one. I'm not disappointed! This thing is solid and is exactly what I was looking for. Took a full day and a half to assemble by myself but the instructions were easy to follow and all the nuts and bolts were packaged and labeled correctly. Also, everything fit! I'm thrilled with this product. My only complaint is that the pin that you use to change the weights is difficult to get in and out because there's a ridge on it that seems unnecessary. I may try to buy a plain pin as a replacement.
Overall -- two thumbs up! I highly recommend this weight machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

CAREFUL

11/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was fine and it works great. The problem was with the handling of my item. The box had broken open and there was one part missing. It is expensive to order a replacement part but now that i have it its fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Maria, CA
Missing Part
Posted 03/08/2012
You say it is expensive to order a replacement part. Did YOU have to pay for it or did the shipping company pay for it, since they caused the damage that led to the missing part?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
09/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this home gym in December 2010 for $199.00 and put it together by myself with no problems. I am very mechanically inclined. I liked the equipment until things started to break and I had to get replacement parts. One plastic pulley is $60.00 which I have already replaced after 4 months and now I need to replace the cable and it is $102.00. These two replacement parts cost almost as much as what I paid for the entire gym set. I am well under weight for this equipment (female - 115 lbs). I am not replacing the cable. I can not recommend this equipment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Weider 2980 Home Gym

01/20/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product had several negative aspects.
1) The locking mechanism for the leg lift had holes that had to be re-drilled because they were too small for the locking bolt.
2) The exercise chart that came with the device was designed for another home gym and nearly half of the exercises described could not be performed on this machine.
3) The exercises that used the lower pulley when you are not on the bench can cause the entire device to tilt backwards and become unstable.
The pluses are that everything else works well and the assembly is not difficult. However, if you are spatially challenged and can't perceive things in three dimensions you may have some difficulty because some of the blow ups do not accurately describe the position of some of the pulleys.
The machine performs as advertised and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to add tone and definition but not to someone who wants to bulk up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

My excitement quickly turned to disappointment...

03/24/2012
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am actually the wife of "bigdaddybob". He bought this gym for me because I wanted to strengthen my arms and legs. After several unsuccessful attempts to actually find a home gym on display at a wal-mart store, we decided to take a chance and buy this one online and have it sent to our local store. It seemed to have the most (and best) reviews at a reasonable price, and it looked like a nice piece of equipment, based on the pictures.
Looks can be deceiving. When we got it home, it took my husband about 6 hours to assemble this. The items were not marked as to what part they were in relation to the assembly instructions. The hardest part was figuring out which cable was which, since they were unmarked.
We also noticed a crack in the "butterfly arm" (sorry, lack of better word), but it was covered by the foam pad, so we decided it was not a big deal because the crack did not seem to go all the way through. However, after only 3 days, another crack appeared on the same part, just in a different area, and we never used more than 40 pounds for any of the exercises.
The reason I quickly realized that this was not the right equipment for me is because the weights did not go up in intervals of 10. For certain exercises, the easiest weight would be 11 pounds, and the next step up would be 27 pounds! It was like going from too easy to too hard, with no in between. Keep in mind I am just a beginner, so this might be fine for someone with more strength. But, if you are just getting started, you may feel like me and wonder how you are supposed to go from easy to hard, with no middle ground.
In the pictures, the equipment looks very nice and sturdy, but the pulleys are PLASTIC and the cables reminded me of a thicker version of clothesline wire. It made a lot of noise when being used, and it was frustrating trying to switch from one exercise to another because there were pins that had to be pulled out, so I had to get up and do that (the pin was very hard to remove and insert through the weights, I might add. I had to keep a hammer closeby), and if you wanted to take the pull-down bar off, there was nowhere to store it. So I was always removing it and laying it on the floor. It attached with a chain and it hung down so low that you had to take it off before doing any other kind of exercise, otherwise it would be hitting you in the face. In short, you could not really have a smooth transition between doing the different exercises.
Not worth the hassle of assembling, only to be disappointed by realizing how cheap it actually is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Exercise equipment for regular people

04/27/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. It took him a couple of months to put it together, which took 4 or 5 hours and two days, he uses it everyday. Our 15 year old son uses it too. I copied the exercise sheets so we could tack the copies up on the wall on the patio, where the machine is, and not have to worry about having to get more copies.
It is good quality for the price and I would recommend it to both friends and family. I have uploaded the copies of the exercise pictures that came with the machine. I'll add 2 in this post and answer another post and put the other two pictures there.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Very Good Workout

04/16/2011
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this about a week, and am quite pleased.
It provides all the basic workouts I could want, and more than I will probably use. All I miss is a leg press. I'll note here what someone else did, the exercise chart that comes with it is very generic, and includes diagrams of routines for several different machines. The seat/back/pad are only stapled, not stitched, so longevity with those may be questionable, but I assume repairable. On another product, someone mentioned that the weight guides were in two pieces, and made a rough spot as the weights rode over it; this one, the guides are single piece, and smooth as silk. Only downside there is that that makes the box nearly as tall as the finished product!
Assembly was challenging, but not a disaster. I did most of it solo, and it does recommend it as a job for two. I needed a hand attaching the weight guides to the base, to make sure they didn't bend or anything, and so I could attach both at the same time, rather than lifting the whole thing up and down to do one at a time. Also where two of the pulleys sit side by side in the frame and the order of assembly is kinda critical with those and the cable.
I (we) did it in an unrushed afternoon/evening, about 5 or 6 hours. That time included a lot of of careful ID ing and sorting of parts, and making sure I knew exactly what needed to be done at each step. Included 2 packets of grease, something else missing and complained about of one of the other machines.
Only complaint here is that the parts could be identified a bit better. The nuts & bolts etc. were very nicely packed on cardboard blister sheets and clearly labelled, and included an Allen wrench. A few spares included too. No, really, not bits I forgot, a pack clearly marked "Spares." The bigger frame parts were pretty obvious. Some of the stuff in the middle took some time to sort out. Had to backtrack just once, when I discovered that there were 2 "narrow pulleys" and I had used one out-of-place so had to go back and swap it out. Also there are 3 cables not labelled; the shortest one is obvious, but with a difference of only a few inches between the other two, I had to run them out side-by-side to be certain.
Hmm..someone here complained about a tendency for this to tip doing the standing exercises, there *is* a foot plate you are supposed to stand on to help keep it steady; not sure if there are routines where you can't stand on it or not. Only other downside is that with this cabling system, you don't readily know how much weight you are moving (I guess you can figure it out).
Bottom line: great home gym, great value. I can't imagine another hundred bucks will buy anything materially better. Beyond this, you'll be wanting pro-quality equipment pushing four figures, or a serious gym membership.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

whoop whoop

04/11/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great home gym to workout with, it was easy to assemble, its easy to work,
when i recieved my box at the store to pick up it Was ripped at the end and some poles were sticking out and when we got home to check if all the screws and parts were there we found out the preacher curl and the backrest was ripped, but a simple online chat with the weider customer service fixed that problem they shipped me out brand new parts, I have been using this gym for about a 2 weeks now 2-3 times a day and its everything i thought and more! And also for ppl who may be thinking that 214 may not be enough weight.. trust me it is! thats exactly what i thought,
overall this a great home gym, i would deffintley reccomend this to anyone whos looking to get in shape
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Great Price

09/10/2011
By ,
va beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive had this machine since last Spring, havn't had any issues with it , have gained muscle weight now can bench 300 lbs because of the effectiveness.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

A well-made home gym for a beginner.

02/04/2012
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item arrived less than a week after ordering it. The box was beat up pretty bad and held together with a lot of clear packing tape, but everything was there and in perfect condition when opened and inspected. Take a few minutes to read the instructions once or twice and to identify each part before assembly. It took me about 6 hours over 2 days to assemble the gym by myself, and that was without rushing. Have someone help if you can, though. And don't skimp on the grease, there's plenty provided to grease all the areas that require it. Fit and finish is good, all parts went together well and the gym looks great when fully assembled.
I use this gym every other day and I really like it, right now it has enough weight for me to get the results I'm looking for. I use it for about an hour, along with some free weights I use while doing my routine. My wife and son also use the gym and they like it a lot, so it gets used every single day. You have to be careful and remember to place your foot on the front of the gym when doing some leg exercises otherwise the whole machine can tip over, and the cable seems a bit too hard to pull when doing curls on the preacher attachment, but these are minor quibbles. I use free weights when doing curls on the preacher attachment now, that works better for me. Otherwise you'll notice results very quickly when using this gym.
After 5 months it still works and looks great. This home gym is great for beginners or for people who are interested in getting into good shape without massively bulking up, there are a lot of exercises you can do to develop all the major muscle groups. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

shipping issue

02/05/2010
By ,
Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When picked up box was ripped open and then taped up. Naturally we had great concern that parts would be missing. This proven to be the case. One critical part was missing . We ordered from the manufactor and received in a few days. The set up took us almost 5 hours. The most confusing part was telling which cable was which. The directions said "identify arm cable". The three cables were all in a package together with no hints to tell which was which. It does matter since they are different lengths. The directions should give more information like length or color code the cables. The screws and bolts on the other hand were are labeled and shrink wrappped which was great. The unit in self works very well and meets expections. We would recommend it for an at home medium workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Good value for a home gym

01/31/2011
By ,
Athens Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gym, so the wife, who takes karate could tone and build power in her arms and legs. It took the two of us about 3 1/2 hours to put it together. I recomend you lay everything out, before you begin and read thru each step as you go. Its a lot easier with a helper, even is he or she just holds things as you tighten them. For us, we both put the items together and she tightend the bolts as I got the next piece ready. This seemed to work well for us and things went fast and smooth.
I had no problems understanding the directions and was able to get all the pulleys and cables in the right place the first time.
Its a good buy for the money, used properly, you can tone and build fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Nice!

01/29/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box was smaller than expected. All items came in one box. It takes a few hours to finish assembly. Follow instructions very carefully (don't try going just by the pictures, read the instructions - really!). Have the right tools, good tools will really help and accelerate screwing bolts and nuts.
The product itself works fine for now (had it for 1 week). Very smooth, nice colors. The only con I would say is that the seating heights are not adjustable. I use big pillows to adjust height (I'm 5 11)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

Quality piece of equipment at a wonderful price

01/16/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for the home gym I am setting up and after weeks of research I decided to take the plunge and purchase this weight set. I have to say so far I am very happy with it. We did site to store pickup to avoid having to pay shipping. The box fit in our mid-size Suv just fine it was rather large and heavy as to be expected so make sure to have someone with you to help. The box was in great shape everything was individually wrapped and I loved that all the little screws, bolts, etc were all packaged neatly and shrink wrapped together. All of the pieces were there and the assembly was pretty pain free. It took about 3 1/2 hrs to assemble with 2 people working on it. It is pretty clear on how to do it and for the cables it has the length listed so just use common sense on that one. I love the gym set so far and it seems really durable and sturdy. I like that there are so many muscles you can work on it, it works even more than I expected. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and for the price you just can't get any better than this. I normally don't write reviews but I am just so happy with this purchase. The only thing that I was kinda meh about was the fact that the chrome on the back two poles that the weights slide down onto were pretty scuffed up and some parts were flaking off probably from them rattling around in shipment. It's not to big of a deal because I imagine over time they will take some abuse with the weights moving up and down all the time. Just thought I should mention it in case someone is picky about that. It could have just been a one time thing. I look forward to saving a ton of money by not having to pay for a gym membership :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym
03/12/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall a nice bench. The weights aren't marked so you don't know how much each one is and the hand and leg pulley are much too hard to use. The butterfly and overhead work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

excelent

12/29/2010
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this home gym , and its all that you need for good shape
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weider 2980 214 lb Stack Home Gym

excellent machine

08/26/2010
By ,
psl.fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this home gym and i have gain lots muscle i believe if you use it and stick to it you will get great results its up to you.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next