Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Exercise your options with this slim and stylish player. Featuring built-in stereo speakers, you can unplug your headphones and listen to your music out loud. In addition to superior sound quality, this NWZ-S545 lets you enjoy to up to 42 hours of music playback or up to 6.5 hours of video playback before needing to recharge. Plus, you can even record lectures, meetings and radio broadcasts via the voice and FM recording function. Headphones, mini USB cable and hands-free, flip-out stand included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(316 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
226
4 stars
74
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation97%305 out of 316reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
226
4 stars
74
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Great MP3 Player

09/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was browsing at Walmart.com like I do now and then seeing if I can catch a good buy. Then tuck it away for a gift. The price on this was unbelievable so I picked it up knowing I could eventually give a great gift at a great price. Less than a week later my niece had her Ipod 8GB nano break. I told her I had one of these. She wasn't sure she wanted it as it wasn't an Ipod(hey she's 15) I told her to look at it and take it or leave. Oh she took it.
She loves it much more than her Ipod. It is a great looking device. Drag and drop. Great features. She absolutely LOVES it. 16GB is not enough for me but the minute Sony made a bigger model I would switch in a heart beat. Heck I loved this machine. Thinking of picking up a couple more and putting them away for future gifts. You really can't beat this price and people will think you spent a fortune. This would get six stars if I could.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 22 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

It's So Amazing

02/20/2010
By ,
Anaheim, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an older version of the Sony Walkman. But then it got stolen. So I immediately checked for another Walkman brand and liked it.
You must use Media Player to sync videos (I think you can do the same with any Walkman products) and the speakers are great :)
The only bad part is the screen is easy to scratch but you can add a cell phone charm on it :) I just realized that yesterday.
But mine had a weird problem and wouldn't show the year any songs were from. It said, "Unknown Year"...
It also has a built in alarm which i thought was a good thing because I can leave it on speaker when I sleep to listen to music. But the alarm can only work if you turn your player off. So, that's another thing..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 23 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Good player

08/22/2010
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a new MP3 due to losing my last one. Went to my local Walmart to do some window shopping. Noticed this S545 unit and liked it. went home and decided to look at theWalmart web site. The web site had a special purchase on these and they were about 45 dollars cheaper than the store. Ordered one and when i received it, I knew I had not made a mistake. This unit will hold a ton of songs and has excellent sound coming from the headphones(bought them ertra). The ones that come with unit sound good but I do not lke ear buds. The external speakers are not much but I did not buy this unit for that. I have used this unit now for about two months and it has been flawless. Easy to load songs and the drag and drop feature makes loading simple.Why pay 100 dollars more for a Ipod. This unit has a lot of features and the FM radio is great also. Very happy with this Walkman so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Move over IPOD!

08/04/2010
By ,
Philadelphia Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my forth and very best mp3 player. Plenty of storage capacity, (16gb) excellent sound, large screen, long lasting battery, very easy to set up and navigate, clear controls, nice weight, fantastic radio, clear and natural microphone and radio recordings; just an all around great little player. Speakers are an extra feature; earphones are good, but not equal to the player. Sony has an excellent set of earphones (Sony Studio MDRV150; available at Walmart online; free shipping!) that will enhance the great sound of this little player. My unit cost 79.00 plus tax; no shipping charge, but fast shipping nonetheless. Move over IPOD. You ain't got nuthin' on this Sony Walkman.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Buyer Beware

09/04/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased about 7 months ago and perhaps I should've returned it to Walmart instead of dealing with Sony (too late to return it to either place)
I purchased this device specifically for the purpose of being able to download all of my music from my Napster account as the last product that I had (also a Sony and I liked it) didn't have enough gigs for the amount of music I want to transfer. Well I charged it up and was all ready to transfer the music to the device when the message "Your walkman needs to be reformatted because your digital rights management software has been corrupted." appears on the screen. After contacting both Napster and Sony, the problem wasn't resolved. I am able to download songs from songs that I ripped from my cds. I already have to pay a monthly fee for a Napster-to-go account which is economically feasible for me so it doesn't make sense to purchase the MP3s.
I am thnking about purchasing another one as I may have just received a defect, but this time if it doesn't work, I will contact Wal-mart and return it immediately and I know that Walmart is very good with their return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 26 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

rocks

09/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product.. I use it while riding my motorcycle.. it's been wet many times, and it holds up great. The headphones are great quality, and the player itself is very easy to use. The battery lasts a long time without recharging, and when you do have to recharge it, it only takes a little over an hour. I have owned this product for over a year, and I have had zero complaints. Unfortunately it fell out of my pocket while riding and wasn't able to withstand being run over by a pick up truck doing 50 mph :) But I am definitely going to get a new one today.. I would recommend the walkman to any one who enjoys great sound in a lightweight mp3 player..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 27 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Sony Walkman Surprise

09/28/2010
By ,
South coastal Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Walkman-type product other than portable CD players, so I am a novice with this technology. After installing Sony's proprietary software onto two computers I could not get it to work as intended using the instructions with regard to importing music onto the player via Windows 7. The problem may be due to the player instructions and format being intended for Windows XP, or to my lack of expertise. The actual manual is well-written and extensive but is not included with the Walkman - must be downloaded. I was about ready to return the player for a refund, but after much experimentation I managed to import music onto the player using Windows Media Player and a workaround file system. Although I do have a computer which runs XP I have not tried to use it in connection with the Walkman. The included ear buds are useless for me - they keep falling out of my ears. Now the Walkman works just fine, using different headphones. I am amazed that it holds a virtual ton of music which I have transferred at the highest quality setting. The Walmart special sale price could not be beaten and they shipped quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

A bit more than I expected

10/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's really neat, and once I figure out how to use the additional features, it will be REALLY NEAT. I like that I could use Windows Explorer to manage my file transfers. I found the hardest part was just getting started, but I'm not a "techie" so I just waded through it. The speakers are a bit "tinny", but I don't expect to need them very much as I prefer the little earbuds which works just great. The menue is real easy to follow, and the screen is just big enough to work with without having to squint to see what's going on there. I've not figured out how to use some of the other features other than photos and music and FM radio yet, and I'm sure I will figure the rest out as I need it. I really like the fact that I can download the Users Guide to my computer for quick reference any time I need it. It is very comprehensive and easy to follow. Good Job Sony!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

An awesome mp3 player!

12/11/2009
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sony NWZ-S545 mp3 player has excellent sound quality. The external speakers is a nice added touch but don't expect hifi sound from these. Although the external speakers sound pretty good for what they are, they do not have dynamic range and quickly get lost in larger open areas. The sound quality of this mp3 player is excellent, and you can customize the equalizer settings to a degree. Video plays nice and smooth on this player, with the 2.4" display nice and bright. This is a great value for the money, and is definitely worth your consideration. Sony is quality and it shows in this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 30 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red
03/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this mp3 player, however; you cannot turn the sound up very loud. Also, I ordered it online as it was $10 cheaper than in the store. I guess to save money they sent it to me by dogsled as it took a very long time to get here.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 31 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Don't buy if you have an Apple computer

09/24/2010
By ,
green bay,wi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited to be getting this mp3 player but the excitement soon turned to utter disappointment as soon as I opened box. First of all, not a single radio station comes in at all. Only 1 or 2 come in but with lots and lots of static-station barely audible. Secondly, it's not compatible with my apple laptop so I can't use it at all with my computer, period. That's a huge disappointment because it was perfect for my needs size wise, ect. The screen is a very sharp clear picture, and it seems to have a nice feel and menu set up. I'm very upset that it won't work for me. utter disappointment. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Best Deal Ever!

08/30/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around and due to wonderful reviews, bought this walkman. I couldn't believe the great price offered by Walmart. The 16 GB cost $120 and the 8 GB cost $99 at Best Buy! I am so happy with this product. I love the built in speakers. Plus there is sooo much memory I don't have to worry about filling it. When I synced with my computer, I accidentally loaded tons of pictures and videos. They look awesome. I plan to add some audio books when travelling. There is no reason to spend the extra money on an over-priced Apple product. Buy this walkman, you will love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 33 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Great player for the price..

04/11/2010
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying several cheap junky MP3 players, I decided to spend a little more money and buy a name brand. This was definitely a great purchase. I is very easy for me to load songs and movies onto and very easy for my wife to use. It has more features and options that I'll ever use.
It has a transfer program that will convert and transfer any file to fit its format. This feature comes in great for converting movie files to watch on the player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 34 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Completely Met Expectations

08/14/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do love My Sony Walkmans. This is my third. My last was an NWZ series that was a 4GB. The only reason I got a new one was because I needed more space - and boy did I find it here. I put all the music I own on it and still have 7GB left.
I had some reservations prior to purchasing. Some had complained about the headphone jack being at the bottom of the unit. I think that this feature is shear brilliance. The plug faces me and I can read the screen - with the old design if the plug was facing me, the screen was upside down.
With 16GB I have all my music in playlists and can shuffle within the playlist if I choose to.
I do think it might be a bit more fragile than my NWZ, which I beat up mercilessly while doing yard work (and it is still just fine), so I did get the protector for it. I also like that it has the "hole" so that you can attach a lanyard (one of the ones designed for electronics - like cameras).
I have no need to compare this to an Ipod - enough people have done that and I agree with them all.
You really can't beat this player - especially for this price. The red color is not a really true red. The color that shows up in the picture is accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Love it!

09/12/2010
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be happier with this MP3 player! After reading the reviews - the vast majority being possitive - I purchased this player. So far it has exceeded my expectations. True, the earphones are less than desirable and the external speaker volume is really low, but, I did not buy the player with the intention of using either. To me, setting up ANY electronic device could go either way. But this Sony was so easy. It took me a minute to figure out that it's easier using my Windows Media Player to load and sync, but the drag and drop method is sooooooo easy as well. I love having the playlist feature! Another thing that may not mean anything to anyone but me: it feels great in your hand - not flimsy, it feels like quality. Overall, I would recomend this player to anyone looking for a great, quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

The best

06/12/2010
By ,
concord, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My IPOD was on the fritz, plus I hate Apple customer service. I decided to purchase this product. It is so nice. You get alot more for your money plus it is easy to use. I also bought the car transmitter. That works great but it does not charge the unit while in use. I will never buy another Apple product again. They can keep their overpriced merchandise. Sony is my #1
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Great product!

04/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first purchase of a Sony Walkman.
It's 16g and what a beauty. the sound quality is great. The red color is a nice color. The software for the player comes loaded in the player, instead of including a cd in the box. The battery life is quite decent and the software is extremely easy to install. It works really great and it is simple to operate and easy to use. I use it pimarily during my workouts at the gym. Batteries are easily recharged via a USB connection on my computer. However, I purchased a Sony ACU501AD USB Charging Adaptor to better facilitate charging the the battery. Using my adapter, I don't have to turn on my computer to recharge the battery. Also, the adapter is great for recharging the battery when I travel.
This is a great product and I would recommend it to a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

GREAT

07/05/2010
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always used Sony mp3 players and loved them but so far this one is my fav and it has a great battery life and a nice screen to watch videos on as-well....the speaker function is actaully louder than i thought it would be its a nice touch but not really why i bout it but i have to say this is a good mp3 player for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

worth it

08/18/2010
By ,
winchester, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this Sony mp3 player for about 3 weeks now and I am happy that I purchased it. It is packed with features that make it a very good value. The only issue I have is that the batteries are not lasting as they should after 9 or 10 hours of listening I'm into the last quarter of battery life. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 40 for Sony Walkman 16GB MP3 Video Player w/ Speakers, NWZ-S545 Red

Very helpful and handy!

09/30/2010
By ,
Deployed, Aghanistan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered an MP3 player so I could take music off of friends and co workiers without having to 'sync' the item. this has come in very handy and I am able to have large variety of music to listen to when I do not want to listen to waht is on my Ipod. And the picstures/vids are a plus. Motication when workin gout:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
21-40 of 270 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next