Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Nintendo Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

For the first time in the history of The Legend of Zelda series, Princess Zelda is leaving the villainous clutches of the underworld behind and joining the adventure with Link. In The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks, the spirit of Zelda accompanies Link on his quest to save Hyrule. Directly impacting game play like never before, Zelda's spirit can take control of hulking suits of armor known as Phantoms, allowing the player to direct both Link and these new allies as they battle enemies, solve puzzles and uncover secrets. Zelda also rides alongside Link on his customizable train, offering wisdom that will help players find new areas, storylines and items. The team of Link and Zelda presents countless new storyline details for fans to enjoy, including a closer look at Princess Zelda herself, one of the most iconic video game characters of all-time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%96 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Good, but there are better Zelda games

01/03/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this game, but as far as the Zelda franchise goes, there are better entries.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

A woderful new addition to the Zelda franchise!

12/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great game that continues the Zelda tradition, Zelda Spirit Tracks is a worthy contender for best DS game of the year. From exploring dungeons with unique new enemies and items, to going across the land and transporting villagers and goods, Spirit Tracks delivers a fun new quest that is sure to please children and adults alike.
On a negative note, the challenge level is very low, and some "hard core" Zelda fans may finish the game with little difficulty. The length of the game was on the shorter side, I finished the game in just 20 hours.
In conclusion, if you ever wondered what Zelda games are like, but don't want to be overwhelmed or dedicate a lot of time; or you just want to play a great DS game, Zelda Spirit Tracks is the game for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Bursting With Goodness

05/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredibly entertaining, fun to play through over and over. It posed quite a challenge for me in some places, and that's saying something, since I'm a well seasoned gamer. Amazing graphics and plot (although trains in medieval times probably stumps some people, oddly), with a return with Zelda (since she never really appeared in Phantom Hourglass), and awesome control of a Phantom, it's a great game to play. The best part? Being able to talk to Phantoms using Zelda. You might eventually learn to sympathize with them and their "jobs".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Love this game!

12/27/2009
By ,
Attleboro, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game came out on my birthday and I was surprised with it by my father. I have to admit I was a little skeptical about this, since I do own the Phantom Hourglass game, and while it was all right for me it wasn't anything I loved. I'm not really a fan of the more cartoon-y "Link". Plus, I had problems doing simple tasks, like rolling in the Phantom Planet. But, Spirit Track I love. They simplified some things in the game, such as rolling, but they didn't "dumb down" the game. There seems to be more puzzles and more strategy to this game, but nothing I'm complaining about. The characters are entertaining, like the Bunny guy [who's name I can't remember]. And, a plus, you don't have the annoying fairy telling you to do what you were already trying to do. You do have an annoying princess doing that, but she's not as bad, and I'll admit the Phantoms standing with their hands folded like the princess made me laugh. Over all I'd give this game a 10 out of 10. Mind you, I am only on the third castle at this point, but still I love it.
You should be warned though, they almost assume you've played the first game, but it's not an inconvenience at all. Like when you're training with your sword they tell you to do a certain move and they say to ask if you need to know how to do the move. There's also people from the Phantom Hourglass throughout the game (although older or children / grandchildren of the original character). Still, it's well worth the money.
Oh! And Walmart had this game the cheapest. My sister bought this for my nephew for Christmas as well and she paid almost $40 at another well known store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Spirit Tracks is a smooth ride

12/30/2009
By ,
Danville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confession time. I am a little bit new to the Zelda games. I have started the other games in the series. I also pick things up REALLY quickly. I have to say, pretty much all Zelda games are great. Each game basically has the same layout: A compelling story with tasks ranging from simple to, at times, strategically challenging.
When I played Phantom Hourglass, I immediately fell in love with the fact that the game doesn't keep you from taking your time. You can, say: find the Spirits of Wisdom and Power. Then, you can go ahead and do a side quest or some treasure hunting. Or even go back to another place to visit an old friend. The game doesn't force you to move forward if you don't want to at the time. It gave both hardcore and casual gamers a great experience. But back to Spirit Tracks.
When you begin the game, Link (well, it's Link, but they call him by your name) is graduating as a train engineer. When he gets to Hyrule Castle, Princess Zelda asks Link to go with her to the Tower of Spirits, a large tower that connects the railroads in the land. But when they get there, darkness takes hold of the tower, seperating the floors and making the Spirit Tracks disappear. The game's antagonist, Chancellor Cole, appears and separates Zelda from her body (or, in a way, he "kills" her). Link then sees Zelda's spirit and she decides to go with Link on a journey to restore the tracks and stop Cole.
The game uses a unique story and completely lets every aspect flow through with no plot holes. The game not only lets you control Link, but also Zelda. Or, at least when she is a Phantom. The Phantoms are the guardians of the Tower of Spirits whom Link can attack and let Zelda take control of them. In this form, she is invincible, so she can be the front linesman against some pretty sick enemies.
The game lets you control a train, letting you map out your own course for the journey. Not only that, but you can change tracks, spped, and even control a cannon that keeps ememies at bay. But the most fun part of the whole thing, as silly as it sounds, is the whistle. Even hardcore gamers will have to fight the temptations to blow the whistle, as it kind of makes the kid inside even more excited about controlling the train. If any other publisher even tried to use a train like this, it would simply turn into a gimmick, so Nintendo did a great job of designing the gameplay.
As you progress throughout the game, you have the chance to carry passengers and freight. This is a neat concept since it is not only rewarding, but it can actually make work look pretty darn fun.
You use Link's famous sword and sheild (well, as long as a Like Like doesn't eat your wooden shield). The game also gives you a chance to use other equipment as well: The Whirlwind is a little pinwheel that Link uses to make cyclones that are used for various purposes. The boomerang is the best weapon, though. It gives you the ability to draw out its path and hit things out of reach. The whip is mostly for swinging across gaps. The Bows in the game are also long range, and highly effective.
The Spirit Flute is an instrument that you use to play the different songs that aid you as you go along. When you meet a Lokomo, who are the guardians of the Tracks, you must play a song with them to restore some of the railroad. It is an interesting concept since it give impressive control and sometimes challenging songs to play that require you to skip to different parts of the flute very quickly.
The multiplayer goes like this: Up to four Links (yes, the famous red, blue, and purple too) compete to collect Force Gems in rooms guarded by Phantoms. Players attempt to sabotage the others so they can grab the loot and run. Although I haven't really gotten to play it, I have heard good word of it. And going back to Hyrule to keep collecting treasures to trade in for rupees and more train cars opens up for a tremendous amount of replayability.
While hardcore and veteran Zelda players might have a little to no trouble with the difficulty, it gives a welcoming to newcomers like myself, paving Link and Zelda's path to new generations to come.
Controls: 9.5
Story: 10
Graphics: 9.6
Value: 9.9
Replayability: 10
Hypothesis score: 9.8
Final score: 10
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

amazing

11/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If this game is like the last (thinking,working and getting there) it would have to be on those shevles for years to come.
It would have storyline,adventure and amazing details lots and lots of details its going to be a HIT!!!.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

a great zelda game at bargain price

01/02/2012
By ,
somewhere, out there
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this game was one of my best videogame purchases last year. i have been wanting this game for a long time and finally decided that it was time to get one. i first went to gamestop because i knew i might get a good price for it being used. i went there they had none in stock(it cost $25 used). someone then gave me a gift card to walmart and i went online to redeem it. i searched up zelda and was able to find this game at a great price, less than $20. i was expecting $35. when i saw $17, i bought it immediately, and was shocked to see that a brand new zelda game cost $17 when a used one at gamestop cost $25. this game is an awsome. its a definate must buy for some one who owns a DS. (unless you dont like zelda games or RPGs).
heres some things pros/cons i was able to think of for this game
Pros: price, gameplay, good graphics for a DS, easy fighting style, easy to pick up and play
Cons: once its beaten its over, doesnt look good playing it on 3DS, always using the stylus, blowing into the mic to play the flute
Overall: this is a great game to get and in my opinion, a must have for DS owners
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Nintendo DS Lite Holiday Bundle, Gold Zelda
4.8 out of 5(142)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Prepurchase review

11/07/2009
By ,
Shelter Island NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice to see a follow up on the Wind Waker and Hourglass art and gameplay. I'm in the midst of a replay of Phantom Hourglass.
Hourglass is even more enjoyable now; it was just complex enough (and at 68 I'm just forgetful enough) that it is every bit as entertaining as it was the first time through.
Now I'm going to have to hustle to finish Hourglass before December 7, because I will certainly dive right in to the new game.
One disappointment, and it's with the platform. As my wife and I age, the size of the DS screen (even the bigger one) is a disadvantage. We have Wii, and would welcome having the DS games ported to the Wii store where we would buy them in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

All aboard for fun and excitement

12/20/2009
By ,
Enfield, Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the second direct sequel to "The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker" (Nintendo Gamecube) and "The Legend of Zelda Phantom Hourglass". Set a century after the events of PH the citizens of the Great Sea have settled on a new land, named Hyrule after the land lost below the waves long ago. In Aboda village a young man named Link is about to graduate and take his place as an engineer. Link travels to Hyrule Castle to recieve his certificate from the Princess Zelda, but they are attacked by Chancellor Cole who is in fact a demon in service to Maladus the demon king, sealed long ago beneath the land chained by what became the train tracks that sprawl across the land.
Using his magic, Cole strips Zelda's spirit from her body to use as a vessel for Maladus. With the aid of Zelda, Link must travel the land and restore the tracks and the Tower of Spirits to reach Zelda's body and stop the Demons from taking over.
Like Phantom Hourglass before it, Link must travel the land then return to a central point to ultimatly win his quest.
The inclusion of Spirit Zelda, who inhabits an armored Phantom to help Link is a welcome change to the series.
All in all Zelda: Spirit Tracks is a fun game for fans of all ages.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)
01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my nephew and he absolutely loved it. He actually disappeared and we didnt hear from him again until dinner time, so by my calculations that must mean he liked it. :) It also helped that he had been playing the new Zelda: Skyward Sword game on the wii a few days before he received this and having never played Zelda before he was stoked to get a game he liked. The shipping was faster than expected which is always a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

My twelve year old daughters says excellent!

01/05/2012
By ,
St. Croix, Virgin Islands
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All my daughters say this is a really good game but the twelve year old says it is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Spirit Tracks

02/22/2011
By ,
Mount Pleasant, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game was fun, and featured things that have never been featured in any Zelda game so far. Examples: The ability to take notes, or draw out courses for your partner in the game. You can blow into the DS microphone to create a whirl wind or play your spirit flute when you get those items. Drive a train and control which way it goes or doesn't go. (The train has a whistle too.) It also has some familiar features that Zelda players will like. 4 temples and temple bosses for each temple. Some of the bosses are huge! Then some of your favorite weapons makes a come back like your boomerang, bombs, and a new weapon the whip. (The whip will remind you of the grappling hook from the windwaker game in the series.) It is a fun game that never has a boring moment!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Great Game but maybe not for the Youngest players

12/28/2009
By ,
st pauls, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hey, I got the game, and the graphics are just awesome. My son really loved it. But at a certain point, the girl turned into a spirit girl my son got a little bewildered. At certain points this game is awesome, but at other points the scenario is a little confusing. You dont have a cute pirate link, you have a link with a girl pocessing bodies, and controlling them along with fighting off demon gods, and running away from ghosts in dungeons. This sort of scared my son off from the game. I wish that it didnt have all of this, and a easier story, but people who are nonreligious and 14+ up will love this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)
08/08/2010
By ,
Oak Creek, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this game free with the purchase of the new DSi XL. With the awesome price it's a great value.
The first time I played this newest game from the makers of Zelda I became accustomed to the way to use the tools and key pad with ease. With the first game I was struggling to learn all the movements available. Spirit Tracks was easier to use if you played the original games, however it is more difficult sooner and I found myself getting frustrated. It's a game you can't put down though and I really enjoy the travel via train. That's a cool touch. I would recommend this game for anyone esp if you enjoy trains!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

A great game

01/12/2010
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 year old son loves this game and his 6 year old brother is looking forward to playing it when his brother beats it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

A very good product.

07/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The game was amazing I couldn't stop playing it. The price was amazing and I Love Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)
09/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old enjoyed playing this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Amazing game!

12/19/2009
By ,
Coamo, PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok this is by far THE best Zelda game for ds, other than Phantom Hourglass. Everything of this game is perfect, the graphics, the game play, the puzzles and the music... which was so catchy to me that I had to download some of the songs to my Ipod just to listen to them all the time. The relationship of Link and Zelda was absolutetly adorable, and it made me ( zelinker) very happy!! For me this is the perfect ds game for any Legend of Zelda fan, or for a person that just wants a great ds game. Well this is that kind of game!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Very Good Game!

01/03/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game reminds me alot of Wind Waker (Graphics) It seems different to me then phantom of the hourglass..I can't peg what it is to make it feel more like wind waker did :( so far good game,just got the the tower of spirits and Zelds was scared to go with me haha!! I like having Zelda with me! i'm sick of saving her! lol between her and Peach.....Let's just say they are known to be the damsels in destress........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks (DS)

Very fun game!

02/12/2010
By ,
Dublin, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished the game today, and I lovedd it! I played zelda phantom hourglass b4 this, and I thought that was very fun, but spirit tracks was even better. This game had many extra fun things to do which I loved, along with the story line, so you don't have to worry about finishing it in 1 day. There's nice challenging things to do also. I absolutely loved this game. You won't regret buying this. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next