Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Farberware Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Farberware Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

This Farberware 12-Piece Stainless Steel Cutlery Set is perfect for your everyday slicing and dicing needs. It features superior, high carbon stainless steel blades. The satin finish on the stainless steel handles offers an elegant look. This 12-piece set includes: eight-inch chef, eight-inch slicer, five-inch serrated utility, 4-1/2 inch fine edge utility, 3-1/2 inch parer, shears, sharpening steel plus two 4-1/2 inch steak knives, one santoku knife and one pair of mini shears. All kept neat and organized in the included block. Hand-wash with warm water and a mild detergent; rinse and dry immediately.
Average Customer Rating:
3.539 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation64%50 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Nice but didn't last

01/19/2011
By ,
Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had two sets of this in the last 3 years. I'm online now to buy a new set of something different. It's a great looking set and I love the scissors and sharpness of the knives, but the strip of plastic down the center of the handle breaks one by one until you can't use the set. I'm going to look for the same brand with a different handle style.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Super Disappointed!!

03/24/2011
By ,
Deerfield Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I fell in love with the way this set looked and I figured Farberware has never failed me before...well boy was I wrong this time! When I first opened the set and decided to wash them before first use. I placed them in the drainer to dry off and every single knife aquired rust! 3 of the knives have a loose handle and unless you had wash and dry each one they will rust everytime! Further, a few of the knives have gouges in the blade as if I smacked them against the counter or bone and believe me I have not mis-used these knives at all. They are of very poor quality and other than looking nice when they first came out of their box they have been a complete disappointment! I do NOT recommend this product to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Excellent product

04/01/2010
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had to write in because of the two 1-star reviews. Maybe it didn't work well for them, but they work well for me. These knives are beautiful, have a good heft to them, and are unbelievably cheap for the quality.
The thing that you need to know is how to care for stainless steel. These knives (if I remember correctly) come with instructions. If not, here's a bit of information to know: DO NOT soak them in water, DO NOT leave the knives with food residue on them, and DO NOT leave them to air dry. You MUST dry these knives immediately after washing and put them back in their appropriate place. Do not use harsh abrasives. I bought my knives approximately three months ago and they STILL look brand new and are as sharp as the day I purchased them with no sharpening done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

So far so good ...

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got these last week and so far they are working out well for me. I use and clean them immediately after use. I do however keep them separate from the other dishes because I feel you don't want to allow these to lay flat in a sink of water. The handles will fill with water making it hard to dry and put away, as the handle water will need to drain. So, I hold them downward as I clean and rinse them. (Just trying to avoid any rust issues I saw other reviewers mention). But, overall I like them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Waste of $$

05/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT buy these knives...I bought these 2 weeks ago and the blades RUST....Would not buy OR recommend these to anyone....DON'T WASTE YOUR $$$
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Pretty - At first

06/12/2010
By ,
Pecos, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this set as a wedding gift, we had chosen them for our registry. After about 8 months, we had problems. The knives looked nice, felt heavy, stayed sharp. We hand washed and dried them and took meticulous care of them. It started with one knife and now I have 3 that I cannot use. The handle of the knives have a strip of plastic down the middle of the handle that binds the handle and blade all together. The black plastic cracked and broke, loosening the blade and therefore making the knife unusable. I was very disappointed with this. After a year, I have 3 knives in the set that just take up space. Kinda makes me wish I had saved the stamps and gotten the promo knives from Albertson's when they were giving them away.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Love them!

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look very nice and sleek, block is convenient and the knives sit perfectly in your hand when cutting. Nice straight slices or diced every time. Don't like how some knives go into the block sideways but definitely not a deal breaker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Awesome!

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Farberware Stainless Steel Cutlery Set

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, The knives are nice and sharp. It goes nices with my stainless steel kitchen.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Gift for Mom

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these knives!! They are sharp and there is even a ridged one to cut course fruits, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Good Looking BUT RUSTING!!!

09/07/2013
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received this knife set as a gift. Good looking and the block is a sleek black color. Very appealing. HOWEVER - after the first washing, the knives were laid out in the drainer to dry and rust streaks began where the blade meets the handle - on 6 of the knives. Also, the butcher knife developed rust spots along the blade. Poor quality for a stainless steel knife set! And the kicker - I had to run the knives over my el cheapo sharpener right out of the box because they were not very sharp. Game over.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Great knives

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these knives as a housewarming gift for my niece and she said they are great! She love them !!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

knife set

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice stainless knife set
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

great set, low price

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth cutting knives, very stylish, low price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set
12/11/2009
By ,
Columbia, TN.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The appearance of this product is very nice. The knives feel heavy weight and solid & cut very nice. But i only have had them 1 month they are starting to rust at the base of the knife where the handle starts. I'm taking them back - very disappointed !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

This knife set is not very good stainless steel

08/17/2014
By ,
Pahonix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They have begun to rust after the first use. Stainless steel does not readily rust. These must be a very low quality stainless steel. Not only that but the handles, being hollow, harbor water and leak down onto the blades causing further rust. They're going back tomorrow for a different set. Don't blame Walmart, either - after all, they didn't manufacture them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Spend a little more for something else

08/12/2012
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought these knives as our first knife set for our new apartment and were so excited about them, but I guess I should have looked at online reviews first. These knives began rusting after the first wash, and every single one we've used has rust spots now. The scissors were only used a few times to cut regular things, nothing thick or hard, and they literally fell apart the other day when I picked them up to use them. The plastic piece that holds the two scissor blades together just fell apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

great product!!

11/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
need to sharpen the knives a little more but the produt is great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

We love this knife set!!!!

02/01/2012
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this knife set over 1 1/2 years ago. They are still in perfect condition! We always hand wash them to preserve them so they do not rust, but honestly you could probably put them in the dishwasher as well. They are super sturdy and durable. We use the sharpening stick anytime we think they are slightly dull and it makes them perfect again. I would highly recommend these knives to anyone and am actually buying a set for my father's birthday today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Disappointing

04/28/2010
By ,
Howell, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product before I purchased it to ge others' opinions, and thought the rusting that was mentioned was possibly from them not being taken care of properly. Not True. I got spotty rust on the blades within the first couple months, and this is the first time a cutlery set has done anything so ridiculus to me. I'm sorry I didn't splurge and get a Chicago set or something similar. Farberware's good for certain kitchen items, just not this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next