Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Farberware Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Farberware Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Always have essential cutting utensils on hand in one convenient countertop block with a Farberware Stainless-Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set. Included in this set are six steak knives that are splendid for cutting through thick cuts of meat. The paring knife is excellent for peeling, trimming, garnishing and creative decorative cuts. It also comes with a chef knife, slicing knife, serrated utility knife and a fine-edge utility knife that are all ideal for intricately slicing, dicing and chopping fruits, vegetables and bread. Also included are a pair of universal kitchen shears for easily cutting open packages. This Farberware cutlery set is constructed with high-carbon stainless-steel with precision. The knifes also feature taper blades that narrow to an extremely sharp fine edge for ultimate strength and durability. They each have solid weighted handles for balance and control with a stainless-steel satin finish. This stainless-steel cutlery set features a contoured, ergonomic design.
Average Customer Rating:
3.439 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation61%40 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Nice but didn't last

01/19/2011
By ,
Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had two sets of this in the last 3 years. I'm online now to buy a new set of something different. It's a great looking set and I love the scissors and sharpness of the knives, but the strip of plastic down the center of the handle breaks one by one until you can't use the set. I'm going to look for the same brand with a different handle style.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Super Disappointed!!

03/24/2011
By ,
Deerfield Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I fell in love with the way this set looked and I figured Farberware has never failed me before...well boy was I wrong this time! When I first opened the set and decided to wash them before first use. I placed them in the drainer to dry off and every single knife aquired rust! 3 of the knives have a loose handle and unless you had wash and dry each one they will rust everytime! Further, a few of the knives have gouges in the blade as if I smacked them against the counter or bone and believe me I have not mis-used these knives at all. They are of very poor quality and other than looking nice when they first came out of their box they have been a complete disappointment! I do NOT recommend this product to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Waste of $$

05/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT buy these knives...I bought these 2 weeks ago and the blades RUST....Would not buy OR recommend these to anyone....DON'T WASTE YOUR $$$
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Excellent product

04/01/2010
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had to write in because of the two 1-star reviews. Maybe it didn't work well for them, but they work well for me. These knives are beautiful, have a good heft to them, and are unbelievably cheap for the quality.
The thing that you need to know is how to care for stainless steel. These knives (if I remember correctly) come with instructions. If not, here's a bit of information to know: DO NOT soak them in water, DO NOT leave the knives with food residue on them, and DO NOT leave them to air dry. You MUST dry these knives immediately after washing and put them back in their appropriate place. Do not use harsh abrasives. I bought my knives approximately three months ago and they STILL look brand new and are as sharp as the day I purchased them with no sharpening done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

This knife set is not very good stainless steel

08/17/2014
By ,
Pahonix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They have begun to rust after the first use. Stainless steel does not readily rust. These must be a very low quality stainless steel. Not only that but the handles, being hollow, harbor water and leak down onto the blades causing further rust. They're going back tomorrow for a different set. Don't blame Walmart, either - after all, they didn't manufacture them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Pretty - At first

06/12/2010
By ,
Pecos, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this set as a wedding gift, we had chosen them for our registry. After about 8 months, we had problems. The knives looked nice, felt heavy, stayed sharp. We hand washed and dried them and took meticulous care of them. It started with one knife and now I have 3 that I cannot use. The handle of the knives have a strip of plastic down the middle of the handle that binds the handle and blade all together. The black plastic cracked and broke, loosening the blade and therefore making the knife unusable. I was very disappointed with this. After a year, I have 3 knives in the set that just take up space. Kinda makes me wish I had saved the stamps and gotten the promo knives from Albertson's when they were giving them away.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

helpful product

09/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helpful product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Good Looking BUT RUSTING!!!

09/07/2013
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received this knife set as a gift. Good looking and the block is a sleek black color. Very appealing. HOWEVER - after the first washing, the knives were laid out in the drainer to dry and rust streaks began where the blade meets the handle - on 6 of the knives. Also, the butcher knife developed rust spots along the blade. Poor quality for a stainless steel knife set! And the kicker - I had to run the knives over my el cheapo sharpener right out of the box because they were not very sharp. Game over.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Don't waste your money!

06/15/2014
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This knife set is horrible and should be discontinued! The blades dull easily and the worst part is that they rust. I am very disappointed in this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set
12/11/2009
By ,
Columbia, TN.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The appearance of this product is very nice. The knives feel heavy weight and solid & cut very nice. But i only have had them 1 month they are starting to rust at the base of the knife where the handle starts. I'm taking them back - very disappointed !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Spend a little more for something else

08/12/2012
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought these knives as our first knife set for our new apartment and were so excited about them, but I guess I should have looked at online reviews first. These knives began rusting after the first wash, and every single one we've used has rust spots now. The scissors were only used a few times to cut regular things, nothing thick or hard, and they literally fell apart the other day when I picked them up to use them. The plastic piece that holds the two scissor blades together just fell apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Disappointing

04/28/2010
By ,
Howell, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews on this product before I purchased it to ge others' opinions, and thought the rusting that was mentioned was possibly from them not being taken care of properly. Not True. I got spotty rust on the blades within the first couple months, and this is the first time a cutlery set has done anything so ridiculus to me. I'm sorry I didn't splurge and get a Chicago set or something similar. Farberware's good for certain kitchen items, just not this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Great for cutting, but NOT stainless steel

03/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stainless steel is NOT suppose to rust, well, these knives did. Three knives sat in my sink for no more than 3 hours and rusted very bad at the handle and some on the blades. Luckily, we were able to get it off. The knives cut great and stay sharp, that's the only thing I can say about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Great

10/30/2013
By ,
Fairview,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a knife set for a while, but anything that I thought was durable enough was more than I could afford. These knives look good, have a nice feel to them. I gave them as a gift and have gotten great feedback about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

They are dishwasher safe...but...

03/03/2014
By ,
Long Island
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As per the product specification, this stainless steel cutlery set is dish washer safe. However, rust stains appear whether they are hand washed and left to air dry or washed and dried in the dishwasher.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

perfect cultery set

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the color and size, and the knives cut very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Waste of Money!

11/15/2012
By ,
Scranton, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these knives and they looked nice at first. After about 3-4 months of use they started to rust. They didn't stay sharp either. Now they are all rusted at the handle and have rust spots on the knives themselves. They are so dull that I cant get threw anything easily. Don't buy these..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Wont cut a tomato

01/13/2013
By ,
Alpharetta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these knives for the look and the price. Once I got them home I realized they are not good quality. They are so dull I cant even cut a tomato. Do now buy this product!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Rust

02/25/2014
By ,
Tampa Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this set as a gift. I read the ratings and saw the rust comments. They were totally correct. After only 2 hand washing, the blades started to rust. Who can serve dinner with rusty knives? A total disappointment. I have no sales receipt so I'm stuck with these.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Long Island
Rust under 90 days old
Posted 03/03/2014
I thought I got a great deal on this sleek looking black block which is a great size for my counter top. However, my set is only under 90 days old and I noticed within the first 30 days that rust stains began appearing on most of the knives that were washed and left in the dish drain to dry. The larger knives that I put in the dishwasher because I cut raw chicken with them, had even more rust stains that those washed by hand.
Very disapointed with this product. I do have my receipt and do intend to contact Farberware and return this set. Too bad, I typically have never had any problems with Farberware products. Although it appears many customers seem to be having the same rust complaint so maybe "stainless steel" was not truly an accurate statement or material in these products.
Hopefully Farberware will stand behind their product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Farberware Stainless Steel 12-Piece Cutlery Set

Sleek look

04/09/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect with my marble countertop. Stainless steel and knives are sharp
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next