Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Garmin Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Reach your destination faster with the Garmin nvi 1490T 5 In Ultra-Thin GPS. It features a large five-inch screen plus an ultra-thin design for easy navigation. The GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic provides lane assist with junction view and lets you make hands free calls, It comes with enhanced user interface, ecoRoute that suggests fuel-efficient routes, and an improved pedestrian mode for better navigation on bus, metro and suburban rail systems. The GPS features enhanced pedestrian navigation which helps you navigate using buses, metro and suburban rail systems with optional cityXplorer content. The built in travel kit of this Garmin automotive GPS includes features such as picture viewer, world clock, currency and measurement converters and calculator. The touch screen GPS navigator has a simplified connectivity that uses USB connection for data transfer to and from your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Very Expensive but well worth the investment.

12/31/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My third Garmin. Street pilot, Nuvi 200w and now this 1490t Nuvi. I have a route of 30 stops daily which takes me to all parts of the city. With the Nuvi I just download the 30 addresses and it figures out where I need to go the fastest way possible. Also lets me know in real time when there is a traffic jam or accident then automatically reroutes me. Big screen makes it easy for me to see where I'm going and the lane indicator gives me a heads up as to where I should be when getting off the freeway.
Good solid sound allows me to keep my eyes on the road without looking at the 5 inch screen. This unit can store 300 locations and reroute you to any of them with a few simple quick touch screen strokes. User friendly the screen works effortlessly. A good buy if you depend on a gps for a living. Has lifetime (free) traffic which pays for itself in gas savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
10/02/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is tow truck driver, so he drives all over the state. I was looking for something under $200 that would do the job. The size of the navigation was also a deciding factor. I needed something small enough that would not obstruct his view but large enough that he could still see the screen. This unit is perfect! It's slim and sleek and very easy to use. The blue tooth feature is fantastic. My husband can take calls when he's at a load/drop and be totally "hands free" as he writes down or programs his next pick up! The voice activation mode is extremely helpful especially at night and in rural areas! I would recommend this unit to anyone who travels in or out of state!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
07/11/2011
By ,
baltimore, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great and works wonderfully. I used to go to PA and it worked very well. Great price as well. I checked everywhere and it was overly priced. I love the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

GARMIN GPS

01/03/2010
By ,
Tampa, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This i s a great GPS. I love the large screen and you cannot go wrong with Garmin. This is my third Garmin and have nothing but good to say about them. It is a little costly but since my vision is getting worse, to me it was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Great Buy

10/21/2011
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 1st GPS and I must say it has made my travels really easy & enjoyable. For an individual with the worst sense of direction, I am driving around like a pro! The screen is large which makes for better view of instructions plus the turn by turn voice prompt is an excellent helper, oh and did I forget that it is super cute! I have recommended this to all of my friends. It is well worth the money & then some!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
10/21/2011
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, accurate, better than the old TomTom I had
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
01/31/2012
By ,
Elizabeth City NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I travel many miles daily, and make and receive dozens of calls daily. I have used this product enough to feel comfortable in making this review.
Product as a gps is quality. Well made and pleasing to the eye. Functions well as gps. Comes with free map and software update, so plan on hooking to a computer first thing to obtain better voice and function. Very easy to see and read display so for us older buyers its easy to read without glasses. Now as hands free Bluetooth device, it has connection issues when entering vehicle does not always re-connect and at times will not connect to contacts list (Stored phone numbers) even if phone connects. Turning the speaker volume up results in distorted sound kinda like turning your raido up to loud and all you hear is not perceivable. And I dont mean at volume levels that a reasonable person would not beleive to be normal listening levels. As for the person on the other end. I had someone call me on a landline phone so I could hear what it sounded like, it was if the person talking on the Bluetooth had the phone at arms legnth facing away from their mouth and talking at normal sound levels for normal phone conversations. I could hardly hear them and had to strain my ear to do that. Any outside noise drowns it out so you can not hear what they are saying. Overall I am very pleased with the Garmin Nuvi as a GPS. But would not reccomend it as a hands free Bluetooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Would not power up out of the box.

10/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a pilot and have always used Gamin GPS devices any still will. However, I gave this to my wife as a birthday gift and it would not power on, even after charging for 24 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Very good Buy

02/07/2012
By ,
Hammond, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work as a currier and travel over 2 hundred miles a day Expressway, St. and county Rds. Some city driving. For me the traffic is a must to know what delays might be ahead as I Am on a tight schedule everyday. My only regret is I didn't get the LMT model. Would save buying a whole new unit later. I am a first time buyer and didn't know the difference. The unit is extemely easy to set up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
02/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Is My First GPS. Does Exacty What I wanted. Started using it right out of the box in walmat parking lot. Ive had no problems. Iam very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic

Easy to use and setup

12/12/2011
By ,
Ripon, Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Garmin is easy to use and gives you the right information while traveling. Map was current. If the GPS had backup camera capabilities it would be the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
11/19/2011
By ,
Naperville,il.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the big screen of the 1490t but my old 320 was a little less complicated to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
01/11/2012
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product. Very much what we needed. The touch screen is wonderful.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
11/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product...fast free shipment with pickup at local store
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 1490T 5" Ultra-Thin GPS with Bluetooth and Traffic
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5