Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

The First Years The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

The First Years - Ultra Folding Booster will deliver many miles of happy driving and one of the most comfortable rides ever! This booster was been awarded the highest ease of use rating (five stars), from the National Highway Transportation Administration. The booster has a comfortable seat that will keep your little one happy whether you are taking a quick trip to the store or driving across the country.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%35 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Love the features!

05/13/2010
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have ever written a product review. I thought I would for this seat because I really do like it. I bought this seat for my son 2 yrs ago. He loves it. It has grown with him and he seems to be very comfortable in it. We've taken many long road trips (DC to Disney) and he has no problem sitting in it, or sleeping in it. It is now time to buy a new seat for my daughter. She has had hand me down seats from her brother so I wanted a new "girly" seat for her. I purchased a highback Graco Turbo Booster from Babies R Us for her. She was thrilled to have a new big girl seat. After the 1st day, I decided to take it back and get her the Compass. I didn't realize how much I like a few of the features the Compass seat has. First, on the Turbo Booster, the armrests don't fold up...trying to clip or unclip the seatbelt is a royal pain when I was so used to flipping the arm rests up. Also, the cup holders, my daughter can not open them on her own...they are too tight and far forward for her to reach. Driving down the road, I can't help her open the cup holder to put her juice or small toy in the holder. I also did not like the fact that the back could come off the Turbo...when you pick it up, the back will fall back. I just didn't like that when transporting from one car to another. I also like the idea of folding...the seat is easily packed for travel. We've packed my sons seat numerous times when we have flown home to visit family.
Again, I really do like the Compass Seat, I realized just how much I like the features after only one day with the Graco seat. I just ordered my daughter this seat with express shipping...I will be returning the Graco ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Own the Camo Version for Son, Daughter Needs One

01/10/2011
By ,
Minneapolis / St. Paul
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very, very, very picky about the car seats I put my kids in. I researched through the NHTSA, IIHS and many other safety oriented web sites, forums, asked friends who are doctors and paramedics what child seats they use before I ever bought infant carriers, front / rear convertible car seats and booster seats. I purchased the Graco Snug Ride system for an infant carrier for when they were under 6 months old. I purchased the Britax Marathon (can support up to 65 lb. child) for when they could be rear facing, then switched them forward facing at a year (my kids are tall and above average for height and weight). And finally, I purchased The First Years Compass B540 Camo for my son when it was time for him to move to a booster. This chair gets 5 stars from the NHTSA. It's super simple to fold and open this lightweight booster, it has a sliding one piece back that is super easy to adjust with one hand, and the EPS foam side wings protect his neck from injury in any potential T-bone car accidents. He loves the camo. I know my daughter will love the pink butterflies. I love the safety and ease of use features. And you can't go wrong with Walmart's price of $70. This style of chair easily sells for $89 everywhere else (check Target, check thelearningcurve.com). I just bought 4, one for my vehicle, one for my husband's vehicle, and one for each grandparent's vehicle. $280 is about $40 more than what I paid for 1 Britax Marathon. Best price I could find for a great booster. Did I mention I'm also a penny pincher? I always find coupons for money off and free shipping before buying (all the prior car seats were shipped and purchased from the 'net). These are shipped Site-to-Store and I saved $20. Feel confident that you're getting a great deal and a solid and safe booster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Thee Booster your child deserves

09/24/2010
By ,
Lakeview, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are dozens of more affordably priced seats out there this one is of the highest quality available. As a parent I worry most about safety, then comfort for those long trips. I'm very confident in the craftsmanship and materials that this seat is made of. When you put this in your car you'll know what a durable piece of equipment this is. As far as comfort goes, my daughter loves it! She falls to sleep and her head stay's up, unlike others I've tried that make her head flop over, no more stiff necks. Spare no expense, ante up and get the best for your child. Built to last, safe, comfortable, and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Little Princess Dream Throne!

03/17/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was actually shocked how much my 5-yr-old daughter LOVES this booster seat! She actually named hers "Pinky" & gets excited when we go anywhere because she gets to sit in it!
This was more expensive than the regular Compass I got for my son (also from walmart.com), but when you see them side by side, you see why. This deluxe version has better head protection. Other than that, I didn't notice any other differences. The features & ease of use are second to none! I would definitely purchase this again and recommend to a friend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Great For Head Support

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a backless booster seat for my 4-year-old. I needed to get something with more support due to a throat surgery she had planned. I bought this product after reading several of the positive reviews. My daughter loved the pattern and that it was in her favorite color, pink. The head rest is adjustable which is what I was looking for. The side of the head rest was great for her when she slept. Kids at times slump over when they fall asleep in the car and I was afraid my daughter would hurt her neck. With this product, she fell asleep comfortably and provided me less stress while driving. It was ready to go right out of the box and easy to set up in the car. The arms are adjustable which makes getting in and out of the seat more comfortable for her. The cup holders are small in diameter. Most of the cups or products she uses cannot fit in the cup holder but that's okay because I hardly allow her to drink beverages in the car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

great seat

03/06/2010
By ,
npr flordia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So My daughter is 3 1/2 and 35 pounds. She was in a 5 point harness but my husband and i discussed it we decided that yes a 5 point harness will be the safest but if this seat was not safe they would not put it on the market with saying a 3 year old or 30 pound child can be put in it. So I did tons of research for the safest highest rating booster seat and I found this seat. My daughter loves her new seat she sits perfect in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Butterfly Booster

08/23/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this seat. My 4 yo was very excited to get a booster, but I wanted a 5 pt harness. After she finally grew a few inches, I caved an bought her the "girl" version as my son has this one as well. For the price, you can't beat the durability, convenience and ease of this product. I am a bit od a fanatic about assuring the belt is tight, but she feels grown up and I feel safe. She loves the cup holders too. Make sure you read the instructions for the safest installation and guidance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Great booster seat!

04/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this booster seat. I love that it is so girly. There are cup holders on both sides that can go in and out. So if you aren't using them you can push them in out of the way. The arm rests go up and down so it is easier for my daughter to get in and out and to buckle herself. I love the head support. Her head doesn't fall forward when she falls asleep! Love that! My daughter is almost 4, she is tall and chunky for her age. I have 2 nieces that are 5 and she is as tall as both of them. And she fits great in this seat plenty of room for her. The only thing is I wish it had the tether strap in the back. Although I haven't noticed it leaning, I would still like it to have one. But other than that it's great and my daughter loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

best booster seat i found and great price

07/07/2012
By ,
wareham,ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i did lots of research before finally deciding on this one for my daughter who is 6 1/2. she has just out grew the nautilus in height for the harness. i wanted to get her the b570 with the latch but it did not come in this pattern. my in laws have the b505 in true blue and this one is such an improvement from it. i wish it wiped clean like the other but i wouldn't trade it for anything. it is much better made than any of the cheap boosters. the padding is great and my daughter says its so comfy. she has no trouble buckling in herself and is made easy with the fold up arms . also folds for travel which is great for when visiting my in laws. ill definitely be buying another when my son hits this stage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Love Love Love it!

09/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this seat last month, and I am in love. It took me over a year to decide on the best booster seat for my 5 year old. Comfort and safety were extremely important to me. I loved her Britax marathon but she was mature and ready for a big girl seat. Tried a few out including Graco Turbobooster, evenflo, monterey... and none compare to this seat. Great headrest, easy to use, sturdy, safe, beautiful design, ...the picture does not to it justice. It is light, and the folding option makes it easy for travel use. My daughter loves it and finds it very comfortable. I never write reviews, but since it took me so long to find a car seat i felt i should write a review on this amazing booster seat.
Pros: Durable, Clear Instruction, Easy to Clean, Supportive Padding, Base feels secure, Comfortable padding, Easy to install in Car
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Good, but needs more

04/03/2010
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good booster seat if you want something light weight, easy to move and comfortable for your child. My daughter picked out the butterfly pattern and she really loved this booster seat. The arm rest were very comfortable and because they move up and down made it easy for her to get in and out. I had some concerns about the seat which made me return it. One was i didn't like the way the lap portion of the seat belt fit across my child. It was a little higher than I felt it should be. It fit more near her lower belly than on her hips. I have a 97 Ford Taurus so it may fit differently in another car. Also it is light so when my daughter got in the seat it would tip a little, I wanted something that was more weighted and felt like a 5 point harness car seat in a booster. I needed more torso protection and this seat does not provide this. My daughters body except for her head was exposed and since this was her first booster seat i wanted something with more side impact protection for her torso. My daughter is almost 7 and is 48 inches and 60lbs. The seat area has good room for her hips, but her torso and shoulders were almost past the sides wings which look bigger on-line. So in the end I purchased a Sunshine Kids Monterey booster seat and am more comfortable with the extra protection that seat gives.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Great booster seat

05/20/2010
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted my daughter to be in a booster seat with a back, and I'm glad we were able to agree on this seat (she loves its). It's very comfortable for her, the movable armrests are great, it's easy to set up and move car-to-car, the seat is very wide (without taking lots of room in the car), and the head rest is also roomy. She's not a big girl, but it really adds to her comfort! I would definitely recommend this seat. I only gave 4 stars to value and durability b/c the seat is more expensive than others (but does offer lots of extras), and we've had the seat less than one month so I don't know how durable it will be. No issues so far though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Best Booster Seat EVER!

02/27/2011
By ,
Southwest Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This booster seat is for my granddaughter, who will be 4 years old in March 2011. I bought two of them. There is no set up at all, which is great. I love how the arm rests can go up so it makes it easier to get in and out of. We haven't used the cup holders for a drink, but we did use it for popcorn and it worked good. This car sear stays in place when empty too. I love the ease of adjusting the seat back/head rest up and down. The only problem is that my car is small and the booster seat is a little wide, which makes it a little hard to find the seat belt clicker. But, I would highly recommend this booster seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

great booster seat

05/24/2010
By ,
Tok, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat for my almost 4 year old daughter at almost 45 lbs.. she loves the color and the design on it, the cup holders and movable arm rest make it easy for her to get out on her own without help.. I love the way the seat can fold up and stay together when transporting and the booster sits great in the truck when she is awake.. but when she is asleep her head will fall forward and she is a tall child but just not tall enough because the belt will sit at her neck, unless she sits up straight it won't bother her.. but overall this is a great seat..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Wonderful booster seat

06/19/2011
By ,
Danville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5yr old daughter used this seat on our 2 day car trip to Texas. She loves it. The seat is very comfortable since she didn't complain about it once (and she would have). I am very pleased with the durability and ease of use of this seat. I reviewed many seats before purchasing and am I happy that I chose this one. It's much more pleasant car rides now that she has the flexibility of her new booster seat. I highly recommend this booster seat to anyone who needs a comfortable safe seat for their child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Gotta have

11/27/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this same seat for my son a few years ago, but in green camoflage. We love it. My husband bought a cheaper one for his truck and it is such a pain. With the compass brand everything on it is very sturdy and NOT cheap and flimsy like the others. This pink one for my daughter has more padding than my son's from a couple years ago. Also when moving from cars, the back does NOT fall apart from the seat! Also cup holders are built in, so they don't get lost! Also arm rest flip up on both sides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

Fantastic....

04/01/2010
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this booster seat after viewing the the online viedo. It was great. The booster has a nice width to it, the cup holders are located in such a way that my 3 yr. old can manuver herself and the armrest are moveable for easy access. The print pattern is beautiful especially since my daughter wanted somthing with butterflies. The cushion has a nice padding which was a concern to me since I do lots of traveling. My daughter loves it and is always happy to ride in it which makes me happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

LOVE THIS BOOSTER

02/20/2010
By ,
southern PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a booster with a high back this is the one to get. Love the ease of how the kids can get in and out of them with the arm rests lift up and out of the way. The seat belt sits properly on the booster and it sits nice and flat on the seat of my car.
One downfall which isn't really a bad one is that when it's folded its easy to do but to reopen it you have to pull really hard to get it to open.
Don't believe a third car seat would fit in the car between them though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly

LOVE IT

01/03/2011
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this booster for my oldest daughter. She loved that it's pink! I love that it is height adjustable, (Very easy to do) the head rests are awesome for naps, washable, lightweight and folds in half. I bought the bag that goes with it too. We travel with out kids and was so easy to bring along! I've told all my friends about this booster seat and they love it too. I just bought another for my second child!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for The First Years - Compass Ultra Folding Adjustable Booster, Butterfly
05/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! My daughter loves it she was so excited to upgrade to a booster, she's 3&1/2 and a perfect size for it and loves that it has cup holders! I feel like she's safe in it, it sits good and has good head support and i love the colors, it's light weight and easy to clean and adjust also for a pretty good price. I would definatley recommend this carseat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next