Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Simplicity Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

Simplicity Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

The Simplicity Hi-Fi 270 is part of family of mini OTE or over-the-ear hearing aids offered by Walmart. Simplicity OTE devices are available in three different models: Smart Touch (preprogrammed digital), Hi-Fi (high fidelity) and Hi-Fi EP (high fidelity with extended battery life). Each device is built with top quality components and to the same standards of excellence as those sold by hearing professionals. Perfect for mild to moderate, high frequency hearing loss. Complete product description found below the medical waiver.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation78%7 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

A very practical solution

05/03/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a professional musician, I have been exposed to louder than average sound levels for 45 years. As a result I have recently been diagnosed with noise induced hearing loss. After several professional consultations and extensive testing, I was advised to invest $4000.+ in hearing aids to embellish the frequencies that have diminished over the years. After hours of online surfing I discovered General Hearing Instruments(GHI) has designed a system that seemed tailor made for my situation. I took the gamble(less than $1000.) and I am absolutely thrilled with the instant improvement in my ability to hear everyday sounds and music as I did years ago. Thank you GHI and Walmart for making these available at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

Really great, BUT...

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These replaced a different brand that was bigger and therefore less comfortable. The sound quality is very good, but the right ear worked fine and the left ear quickly broke, nothing but static. I'm awaiting a replacement from the manufacturer.
Shoppers should be aware that these have only a volume control, no frequency adjustments. Also no on/off switch. I open the battery compartment at night when I take them off in order to extend battery life. I've had the one ear for a couple of weeks and the battery is holding up okay.
Also, while there is some feedback, it is much much softer than what I experienced with my previous pair (the different brand ones). Assuming I get good replacement service, I would recommend these for moderate, high frequency hearing loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

Everyman's hifi

04/11/2010
By ,
Toronto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These hearing aids add uncolored top end without artifacts making them ideal for musicians with mild to moderate hearing loss. They are also able to withstand high SPL levels (105db) so you can actually use them on gigs without distortion, unlike the other 2 major brands that I tried before finding these. Feature wise they only have one preset curve and a volume control so they are limited in that respect. I returned mine and got the "Simplicity" model because they work better for my hearing loss where speech is concerned but I'm so happy with the Simplicity model that I'm considering reordering the Hi Fi's. See my review for the Simplicity model.
By the way, buy one for each ear. It makes the listening experience much better than having just the one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

Hear be good

12/14/2009
By ,
Granbury, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These hearing aids are very comfortable. My hearing is excelent with them in place. My friend paid $6000 for her's. I think this is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

So far, so good. Best yet actually!

10/24/2013
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I have tried out almost all of the online purchase, preset hearing devices on the market at this stage of the game, and these Simplicity Hi Fi 270 are the best that I have come across so far. For my ears anyway!
I started out 2 years ago with the $600 a pair, MD hearing aids, and then returned them before the end of their 45 day trial period, as I found the Able Planet company, in ear hearing aids, (shipped to my door for $954) to be better. Even better than the Walmart Simplicity Smart Touch hearing aids, which I also tried and returned to my local Walmart store, for my refund.
I also tried the Wamart in ear ones, Terrible! Don't even bother with those.
I was trucking along with the afore mentioned Able Planet hearing aids for 8 months and impressed with the sound quality. They work by tapping your ears twice to change the settings from 1 thru 4. The problem with this, I found was that when closing my car door from inside the car, or driving with the window open, they would change settings by themselves. Also when in a loud music enviornment like a bar, the base or drums would also change the settings on them.
I got these Hi Fi 270's shipped out to me just 2 weeks ago, and I've been wearing them ever since in place of the Able Planet ones, which now sit in a drawer at home as spares, as it is now too late to get a refund for them.
Just before I ordered these Hi Fi 270's, I went to Costco's and did a free in store trial of their, much more expensive stuff (over $2000 a pair), which they program for you in the store, but found them not even as good as the Able Planet ones which I was then using.
To conclude my review, and I hope it is not getting too confusing, I feel that these Hi Fi 270's for $954, are as good as it's going to get for me, even if I were to go out there and give $6000 or more to an audioligist.
I like the volume controls turning knobs, which allow me to adjust the volumes independantly, and they can be turned up louder than any of my previous sets. The origional size 10 batteries are still going strong, even after 2 weeks!! which makes me feel that I was correct in not going for the bulkyier looking 270 EP's with the bigger size 13 batteries.
As well as appreciating music again with these units, I can still hear people speaking more clearly, than with all the others I have used.
Thank you GHI (General Hearing Instruments) and Walmart respectively, for the best product and a great service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

A superb hearing aid, at the right price!

02/11/2014
By ,
Wickenburg, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I procrastinated for years on buying hearing aids due to high prices, and the thought of visiting an ear doctor several times to get them to work correctly. What a thrill it has been to find the Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aids. The price was reasonable and they worked perfectly right out of the box. It took me about one minute to put on both the Left and Right, and another minute to adjust the volume level to provide significant amplification without whistling. I immediately heard sounds that I had been missing for years. They greatly improve my high frequency hearing for both music enjoyment and speech recognition. At the same time, they don't over-amplify loud sounds or lower frequencies. I routinely work with a variety of loud power tools and their sounds don't cause any problem with these hearing aids. Batteries last me about 2 weeks, based on wearing them 7 days a week, for 16-18 hours per day.
The only annoyance I found is when I wear my cowboy hat, the brim causes some feedback (whistling sound) due to the Hi Fi device located behind and near the top of my ear. It’s a fairly minor issue that forces me to turn down the hearing aid volume a bit to stop the whistling. Interestingly, the lower volume doesn't really reduce my hearing because the hat brim directs sounds down toward my ears anyway.
Simply put, the Hi Fi 270's enable me to hear musical highs, people who speak very softly, and my TV turned down a couple of notches from where it used to be. They accomplish all this without overpowering the sounds that I can already hear well. I commend Walmart for offering these devices at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair
03/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this item. I bought them and they whistle too much, you will not like it. This product is worth $200
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mandeville, LA
Call Customer Service
Posted 04/17/2014
I had the same problem and I call the customer service department and I got a longer tube and a closed dome from them for free. It works perfect now, no feedback. Their customer service was super easy to work with.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair

Poly tube to short.

12/13/2013
By ,
Boston, ma.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The poly tube is to short and keeps jumping out of the ear canal. I have to keep inserting it to get any use of the hearing device.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mandeville, LA
Longer tube
Posted 04/17/2014
If you call their customer support department they will send you a longer tube for free. I had the same problem, called the company, got a longer tube, and presto it works perfect.
Give them a call!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Simplicity Hi Fi 270 Hearing Aid Pair
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5