Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry

Create a warm, restful environment with the Mainstays - Twin-Over-Twin Wood Bunk Bed that's a practical, space-saving solution for siblings and friends. The bed frame comes with a pleasing cherry finish that makes it ideal for just about any dcor. This wood slat bed frame is made out of solid wood with 7 slats on each level that not only ensures durability, but also offers good mattress support. The built-in ladder with 4 steps and guard rails that come with an opening not only provides easy access to the bunk on the top but also makes it safe for children. You can also convert it into two twin beds for more sleeping space. It is capable of accommodating twin sized coil spring mattresses (standard) which you can get separately. This wood slat bed frame needs to be assembled, but can be done easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(2559 Reviews) 2318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,671
4 stars
684
3 stars
118
2 stars
30
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation96%2,447 out of 2,558reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,671
4 stars
684
3 stars
118
2 stars
30
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

No more extra slats

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read in many reviews that if you called and asked, you could get free slats shipped to you. This was appealing to me, because you need to have thin mattresses with this set and I wanted a bit more support under my kids. When I called today (5-1-15) I was told they wouldn't send more slats unless they were broken, and they required a picture for proof. They claimed more slats would compromise the structural integrity. I certainly hope not...my kids certainly weigh much more than those lightweight slats. So we'll be taking a trip to Home Depot to pick up some cheap wood we can cut to size. Pre-drilled ones would have been preferred though.
For the price this is a 5 star set. My girls are 3 and 5 and it's perfect for them. The white looks great with the bright bedding sets we got them. It's nice to know when they outgrow the bunk beds we can separate them into two twin beds. Much cheaper than buying them separately!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

So easy Grandmom put it together

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put it together all by myself . it was easy. My grandkids could not wait to come over for a visit. All they talk about was who was going to sleep on the top bunk.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Great bunk beds for the price!

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched and searched for affordable bunk beds that wouldn't fall apart quickly and could withstand being slept in and played on by 2 very rambunctious little boys. I finally found these and my husband and I couldn't be more pleased. Plus, they came WITH mattresses, good quality mattresses at that. If you're looking for affordable bunk beds that will hold up for a while and that come apart when boys are tired of the bunk beds, look no further.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Chunks falling off

04/30/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the bunk bed/mattress combo, the bunk bed itself is beautiful and the mattresses are decent. It did take longer to put together than the directions said it would, took about 3 hours. The only issues I have w the bed are 1. It's a little shaky. My daughter is 50lbs and the bed wobbles a smidge while she's getting into bed on the top bunk. It's not so bad that it's unsafe, it's just not as sturdy as I thought it would be. 2. Chunks of the bed keep chipping off in spots and the bed frame is starting to look old (just purchased mid February 2015) The chipping started a few days after we put it together and has slowly continued. It's in spots the kids can't reach so I'm sure it's not them trying to chisel themselves a new frame. Overall it's a decent bed for the price and I would probably buy it again. I just wish it didn't chip so easily, then again I may have received a bad frame. Walmart.com did offer to replace the pieces that were chipping but there was no way I wanted to take that beast apart and put it back together again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

spacesaver

04/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These beds are soacesavers, easy to assemble and I have received them fairly quickly right into my home.. The beds are sturdy and my kids are enjoying them (17-8 years)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

shocked!!!

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these beds for my 8 and 10 year old daughters. I had looked at these the year before when we bought our first home and I was ordering them beds for their new room. Their room is small and they originally had a queen bed to share that would have taken up their whole room. So when I was looking online I landed on this particular set of bunk beds several times before I settled on what I thought at the time as a good deal and purchased the wrought iron twin beds with mattresses included bundle. Well I wish I would have chose differently. The beds fell apart in under 5 months and jb weld wouldn't hold. So my poor girls ended up with mattresses on the floor. I ordered the bunk beds as part of a bday present for both since they are both April babies. The shipping was super quick. Tracking was very useful. But it comes in one giant long box that will require 2 people or more to haul in. I put the beds together by myself and it did take longer than I thought. Mostly because I lacked some of the tools that would've cut alot of time out of that. I have 2 drills. But fyi it does strip the bolts. So I ended up using the L shaped tool instead. I was a little irritated that they do not give extras on those. And also the wood dowels that connect some of the pieces. My dog got a hold of a couple and before I realized. So some of those are missing. All in all when I got it all put together I was very pleased. I did have to put plywood on top of the slats for added support. They mattresses my girl's have is not a spring mattress but it works out great. But I did call the manufacturer and they are sending me more slats for free upon request. It is very solid. Smells great too. Like a wood furniture store:). And my girl's love them!! So happy with my purchase. The price paid is well below what I got in sturdiness and quality. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Exactly what I wanted

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed was exactly what we wanted for our boys - low cost and high quality bed that can get them through the next few years until they will do a better job of taking care of their furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

bunkbeds

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this in white for my 8yr old daughter's bedroom and we both love it very much. The price was good and it was really easy to put together.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

I great deal

04/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was really impressed with the bundle price I paid for both the mattresses and the bunk bed. I purchased the white one and the only thing I don't like is it seems a bit wobbly and with the white one I can see cracks that have started to appear. My 4 year old sleeps on the top and 2 year old on the bottom so they are well below the weight. I rate this a three because it is average. You get what you pay for and I don't know how long it will last. Hopefully long enough for me to put both twin beds down.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Shocked how great of a deal this is

04/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying a bunk bed this cheap I was very skeptic to say the least but I am ridiculously impressed. It looks great and is very sturdy. What impressed me the most is I am 35 years old so I have put together plenty of things in my lifetime but nothing as well done as this. Nothing was already put together so it is a lot of pieces and i thought I was in for a challenge but I was wrong. All the pieces are marked with a sticker and as were screws and bolts were as well. Every direction was detailed as much as it had to be but you didn't really have to read anything but just look at the pictures and follow along. I did this bed by myself in about 2 hours and then my wife helped me place the bunk up top which was the only help I needed. No drills either...just a screwdriver and the tool they provided. Can't be the price and the installation was a breeze
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Looks good but quality isn't the best!

04/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hi. We were a bit skeptical about buying this bunk bed with Walmart and through online without ever seeing it in person. We really purchased the bunk bed for price, color, and high reviews. We hoped that if there was something wrong that Customer Service would help and based off the reviews that Customer Service was very helpful.
Honestly, Customer Service has NOT been helpful. We called to see if we can get replacement slats for the bed and they said they cannot send us any extra slats. Nevertheless, when we purchased this bunk bed I would have loved to know that you CANNOT USE FOAM MATTRESS. You can ONLY use SPRING MATTRESS. So for those of you who have a foam mattress please note that you cannot use it on this bunk bed. The assembly of the bunk bed was about 2 hours the instructions are VERY Poor!!! We read a helpful hint about the ladder placement, before installing the ladder make sure it goes exactly where it has to be because you will end up uninstalling half of the bunk bed. We bought a gray color and the color is wonderful. I love that but it came with a few dings and dents, and small chips of wood that were painted on top of the bunk bed and if you remove it you will have a white mark under the extra chip of wood. The bunk bed also is not that stable. It does wiggles a bit as it constantly hits the wall. The bottom bunk is not as tall as regular bunk beds. I am 5 feet tall and my head sits literally on top of the bottom of the top bunk. Honestly, with price being low I still would not purchase again if I had the opportunity to do so because the added cost. We have to purchase extra wood slats for our foam mattress and attach the bunk bed to the wall for safety. Not worth it. I would rather spend a bit more and have a bunk bed that is reliable, secure and safe. I wouldn't recommend this bunk bed.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Horrible

04/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I guess I didn't have the good luck some of you others did. This is the worst purchase I have ever made. The 'wood' split in over half of the places that we put screws in. The ladder is no longer even attached to the bed because the screws attaching it actually pulled all the way through the wood. Now the rail on the top, yeah the one meant to keep your child from falling off of the top bunk, is hanging because only 2 screws are left intact in it. I have never in my life been so disappointed in a purchase. I didn't expect perfection, seeing as how it came from Wal-Mart, but this is just beyond ridiculous. Oh and I've had it less than 2 months. Good job Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Good, but could be more sturdy

03/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this bunk bed set for about a year now. I have a 7 year old daughter who sleeps on the top, and a 4 year old son who sleeps on the bottom. It seems fairly sturdy for awhile, but then within the last three or four months, slowly we've been finding random screws on the ground. Then it's a bit difficult to figure out where said screw came from. At this point we've had a total of about four or five screws randomly come out and land on the floor. I can safely say that at this point it appears the support bar on the top portion of the bunk on both sides is where said screws came from. Both bars are off the bed at this point, and I'm not 100% if they served a purpose (yet) or if they were more for looks. We are moving in about two months, so we will be breaking it down and keeping them as two separate beds once we are in our new home. At that point I don't think we will have much of an issue with screws appearing, and sturdiness ( I hope). All in all, it's pretty good for the price that you pay. It's more of a transition bed until we get nicer sturdier furniture when they get a bit older and can handle having nicer things.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Great buy!

03/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time researching beds, their reviews, blah blah and so on. I decided to give this bed a try, grey for my little girls. We heard the door bell ring and a young delivery man had the box up on his shoulders with ease. I thought "Oh, this will be easy as pie to get through the house to the girls room"... WRONG! The hardest part of the entire assembly process was getting the box through the house. Very heavy for a little woman like me! Had to take the pieces out a few at a time and transport them this way. Directions were great and thorough, all of the holes, parts, and hardware were there. The painted wood had no nicks and looked incredible. Something I did differently: rather than assembling the two beds separately and then later stacking them, I assembled the first bed, added the connector dowels, and then proceeded to build the second bed on top of the first. I did not have anyone to help me lift the second bed.. and my girls were so excited to have it that they just couldn't wait! Great product! Very sturdy and reliable :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

You get what you pay for.

03/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this 2 years ago. My 6& 7 years old girls love them. The bunk beds were easy to put together. My 2 complaints are.
#1. When I climb the ladder to change the sheets it tips over a bit ( I am 5'9" 150lbs) I believe the maximum weight limit was 160/170lbs.
#2 we often find splinters from The wood slats that hold the top bunks mattress on the lower bed. But we will soon be lowering the top bunk and won't have either problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

nice bed

03/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the look of this bed. We got it in white. It looks clean and new and my girls really like it. It was a bit tricky to put together but we got it. I'd recommend it to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Good sturdy bed for my grandchildren.

03/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed was delivered very quickly. The directions were complete and the bed is strong & will last. Now I need mattresses.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Great little bunk

03/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried about purchasing such an inexpensive bunk bed for my girls, but am really pleased with this purchase! It is completely sturdy as a bunk, and I like that I can separate into two individual beds if I want.
As far as assembly goes, the instructions are super simple to follow and took me about 3 hours to assemble alone. One of the dowel holes wasn't quite deep enough, so I had to pull out the drill bits and fix it, but that was the only hiccup I experienced. The pieces are all labeled clearly in the box. I would recommend saving all the slats for last (the instructions tell you to do the bottom bed slats somewhere in the middle of the process), but then you have to take a couple out again later.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

awhsome, my kids love it.

03/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked and looked even on craigs list and could not find anything with in my price range. so I went on line to Walmart.com and found the perfect bunk bed for my two children, and with a reasonable price. thank you Walmart. it was easy and cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays - Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Cherry
This review is fromMainstays Twin over Twin Wood Bunk Bed, Multiple Finishes.

Easy to put together!

03/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our bunk beds arrived well before the expected delivery date, which was very nice! They were easy to put together and for the most part can be done by one person with the exception of stacking the bunks. All total it took about 2.5 hours to put together. Our kids have not yet slept on them but they appear to be VERY sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 2,319 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  116 Next