Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

People who go out regularly on camping trips or other forms of adventure, would surely know the importance of keeping stuff cold, especially beverages and more importantly water. There is nothing like a cold beverage or some cool water to revive you from a hot and tiresome day. The Rubbermaid 50 quart wheeled cooler is a great way to keep stuff cold on extended trips and camping. This camping cooler keeps contents cold for up to five days at 90F and hence it is also known as the Rubbermaid 5 day cooler. It has the capacity to hold fifty-seven 12-ounce cans with 20 pounds of ice. The wheeled cooler comes with dual-material wheels and a retractable luggage-style handle which make it easy to move across a variety of surfaces. The Rubbermaid 5 day cooler is stain and odor resistant making it easier to clean and maintain. These promising features make this camping cooler the perfect companion for camping trips and other outdoor activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%63 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

This is my favorite cooler!

12/10/2012
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled cooler. I had my old one for years and my husband backed over it so I have been on the hunt for a new one and was excited to find this one at Wal-Mart.com. I like this one even better that my old one, it holds more and is a little bit taller but still fits into the trunk of my Honda Accord!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
04/12/2010
By ,
Fort Worth TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased a cooler in the spring of 2006 in anticipation of a family trip from texas to florida. We got ours at Sam's for $25. This has been the BEST cooloer ever. its slim enough to fit between the two captains chairs in the middle row of our van. (its snug, but it does fit). the cup holders on top are perfect reach for our two kids (this van only has two cupholders in the back row and two up front). it has kept stuff FROZEN for more than 24 hours. we drive and stay overnight on our way there and back and we toss 2-3 frozen two liters of water in there and they stay frozen until the next night. makes it much easier not using bags of ice. it has ample room for drinks for a family of 6 at least in addition to all the other stuff we put in there. at minimum it will hold a case of water and a couple of 12 packs of soda. with room to spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Not a good cooler for camping!!!

07/13/2010
By ,
New England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this cooler for two years now and I hate it. We just returned from a 3 day camping trip and I put a 10lb bag of ice in this cooler with cold drink in it. The next day we had semi-cold water and everyday we had to replace the ice or we had warm drinks. Yes I only use this cooler for drinks not food. I have a coleman xtreme 5day cooler for food and I also put a 10lb bag of ice in that cooler at the same time as the rubbermaid. There was no water in the coleman cooler we still had solid cubes of ice after 3 days in the hot sun. So I finally replaced this cooler with another coleman one. Warm beer is nasty. Also if something sticks up just a little bit the lid pops off and it pops off so easily and there is no seal when you close it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Correct Value

04/17/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to other units of this type, this is the best value if you do not need to have a massive amount of size capacity. Igloo makes a comparable cooler that is slightly larger but the carrying handles for the Igloo do not fold and my wife found the Igloo to be less comfortable on her hands. Igloo wheels are broader and may be better suited for pulling over softer surfaces like sand. Rubbermaid is slightly taller and thinner than I prefer, but it has not tipped yet. Big plus is the usual Rubbermaid quality build and the ability to get parts from Rubbermaid is excellent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

A very versatile cooler.

11/07/2009
By ,
N. Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fish often, and this cooler is very handy-with the dolly like handle and the wheels and the double doors on the top. I carry ice and bait on my boat or when I fish on a pier. This cooler was purchased as a replacement for another like it. I had it for several years. The old one only cost 23 dollars and this one cost 40 dollars. (That is my only complaint) I lost one of the lids while carrying the cooler on my boat. It evidently popped open and blew off while I was trailering the boat home. I contacted Rubbermaid to see if I could purchase another lid. They said no.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

good for the price

03/21/2011
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this cooler for 2 years and use it constantly during my summer camping trips. I camp 10 to 15 weekends per year and have really abused this cooler. OK, so it doesnt keep ice for 5 days but if kept in the shade it will keep ice for 3 and thats really all I needed. My only complaint is that after the first year or so it started to leak from the drain hole. Just a little. So I just always put one of my tarps under it in the car. It really is worth the money. Im getting another one this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Broken both times

01/13/2014
By ,
Milford, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this cooler for my son-in-law for Christmas and when he opened it the handle was broken. Took it back to Walmart. I had to reorder it and the second one had a broken handle too. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Outstanding!

05/26/2011
By ,
Citra, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to keep our produce fresh at the local farmer's market. We've had an early heat spell here in Central FL & the 2 times we've been at the market it was in the upper 90's. Kept everything fresh & cold almost like right out of the fridge.
As for the quality, my husband had put 40 lbs. of ice in it & loaded it into the back of our pick-up, but somehow it fell out on the road & got bumped by a car (fortunately nothing worse for the car & cooler!) When he went back to get it, it was still locked & full of ice. Needless to say, we're impressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Great Cooler

12/06/2013
By ,
32440
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just the ticket for my camping trip! Long hold time and split lids, wheels and a sturdy handle make this a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good for the price

11/22/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The angle of the cooler's wheels and handle make it helpful to double as a makeshift dolly. Don't expect it to carry significant weight or make long distances if camping, but for the price, it's handy. Somehow we managed to drop it upside down and snap the hinges on the first one, but Walmart readily exchanged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good Cooler

09/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well the wheels didn't fall off like the 62 qt. Coleman I purchased. Took that cooler back to Walmart since Coleman support is worthless. This cooler is the perfect size for putting in the trunk and heading to the beach.
Pros:
Wheels work and they stay on the cooler
Cup holders are great
So is the duel flap doors
The wheels don't take up inside cooler space like other brands (Coleman!)
Drain is perfectly centered
Con:
The wheels are placed long ways so if you pull the cooler it ends up hitting my heals repeatedly. It actually made me drop the handle and cooler fell over spilling it's contents.
Overall it's a good cooler but not perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

good cooler for fishing

10/31/2013
By ,
Anniston Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this cooler because of the split lid. We do a lot of fishing on the gulf coast. This cooler fits our needs well, can open up one side to put most of the fish we catch keeping loss of cold to a minimum. For larger fish we can open both sides for more access.
For our needs for fishing, this works quite well.
This is the second one we have owned the first lasted for 7 years of rugged use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

handle broke on first use.

11/16/2013
By ,
Parker, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
handle broke on first use. All ice was melted within 3 days. The 5-day claim must be 5 days of not opening the cooler. What good is that?
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
03/31/2013
By ,
Ferndale mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great use it every weekend for baseball games with my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Nice but it's a 2 day cooler, 3 @most

01/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On a 90 degree weekend the ice had to be refreshed on day 2 ... no way this would make 5 days.
BUT ... love how it's built; handles, rollers, split top w/drink holders & drain. Really a very nice cooler but only for 2 days @most 3. It's very sturdy & we gave it a good workout, every week through OCT. Still looks new & we bought it in JUL, it will last a long time : ) overall happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Just a great cooler.

09/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great cooler Like that it is Blus so I can differentiate between ours and the parents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Good value

05/21/2011
By ,
Houston area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third cooler. I literally used the first one to death. The second one was used for a couple of years with good service until I made a river stereo out of it. It had worked so well that I bought another to replace it. It's reasonably lightweight and once iced down keeps food and drink cold for sevaral days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
10/09/2013
By ,
Madisonville, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our School District purchased 2 of the 50 qt coolers with the wheels to deliver drinks and meals to an off site facility. They are the perfect size and work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Not 5 days

04/11/2011
By ,
Walls, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went camping with 3 teenagers. We used 3 bags of ice and it kept everything cold for 3 days. It may work for 5 days if you don't have kids opening it up every couple of hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
09/28/2013
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great looking cooler. Cool split lid. The only thing I would change is I wish it had a divider in the middle under the split lid. That way when you open only one side, you would only expose that half. Otherwise, Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next