Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

People who go out regularly on camping trips or other forms of adventure, would surely know the importance of keeping stuff cold, especially beverages and more importantly water. There is nothing like a cold beverage or some cool water to revive you from a hot and tiresome day. The Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler is a wonderful way to keep stuff cold on extended trips and camping. This cooler keeps contents cold for up to five days at 90 degrees Fahrenheit and hence it is also known as the Rubbermaid 5-day cooler. It has the capacity to hold fifty-seven 12-ounce cans with 20 pounds of ice. This camping cooler comes with dual-material wheels and a retractable luggage-style handle which makes it easy to move across a variety of surfaces. The Rubbermaid 5 day cooler is stain and odor resistant making it easier to clean and maintain. These promising features make this camping cooler the perfect companion for camping trips and other outdoor activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation81%79 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

This is my favorite cooler!

12/10/2012
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled cooler. I had my old one for years and my husband backed over it so I have been on the hunt for a new one and was excited to find this one at Wal-Mart.com. I like this one even better that my old one, it holds more and is a little bit taller but still fits into the trunk of my Honda Accord!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Great Cooler

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cooler for my husband's birthday. Cooler holds ice well but we haven't tested the 5 day mark yet. We really like that the cooler has an indention where the drain plug is because it really helps drain the cooler instead of having to always tip out the rest. The cooler is light weight and easy to carry. The grips are comfortable and are not pinching your fingers and hands when moving it. This is our first split lid cooler and to be honest, Im not sure if that feature is my favorite which that is strictly personal and nothing to do with the product. Also when the cooler is used a seat, it's very comfortable and sturdy, it does not give at all. The wheels are definitely a seller on this cooler. Also, the retractable handle works great. Our handles always end up getting stuck so hopefully this one will work for its lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler
04/12/2010
By ,
Fort Worth TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased a cooler in the spring of 2006 in anticipation of a family trip from texas to florida. We got ours at Sam's for $25. This has been the BEST cooloer ever. its slim enough to fit between the two captains chairs in the middle row of our van. (its snug, but it does fit). the cup holders on top are perfect reach for our two kids (this van only has two cupholders in the back row and two up front). it has kept stuff FROZEN for more than 24 hours. we drive and stay overnight on our way there and back and we toss 2-3 frozen two liters of water in there and they stay frozen until the next night. makes it much easier not using bags of ice. it has ample room for drinks for a family of 6 at least in addition to all the other stuff we put in there. at minimum it will hold a case of water and a couple of 12 packs of soda. with room to spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Useful versatility!

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the split top, handle, wheels, and size. This cooler will serve us well for a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

stand by for power lost

09/27/2014
By ,
Waynesboro
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maybe this year we won't have another 9 days of no electricity due to ice storm but if we do hopefully with the 5 day cooler I won't lose everything in the freezer.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

OWNED THIS COOLER 15 YEARS, HANDLE STOPPED WORKING

10/22/2014
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing some research I found no reason to replace my 15 year old Rubbermaid with anything else but another Rubbermaid. Do yourself a favor and take a small ruler or tape measure with you to comparison shop the big three cooler brands. The thickness of the insulation tells the story if you want to keep ice for more than an afternoon. Now Rubbermaid makes some coolers with less insulation as well, for example the 60 qt. wheeled cooler that looks identical to this cooler on the outside has less insulation. If you only want to keep ice for a day or two and want the additional capacity then that is your cooler; they are comparably priced.
Some people have mentioned the split lid being a poor design which would allow more ambient temperature air in and speed up the ice melting. That has not been my experience. Every year we attend a gathering on Saturday in mid July which is basically a large picnic attended by 100 or so people at a campground. We arrive around 10 AM and usually leave around 11 PM. I buy 36 soft drinks and 12 beers at the grocery store and put 20 lbs. of ice on top of it. After the two hour drive everything is ice sold. When we get back home I put the cooler on our back porch so the kids can have ice cold drinks until the ice is gone. With temperatures here in Alabama into the mid 90s during the day we are still enjoying ice cold beverages through Wednesday evening. I was delighted to find out they still make this cooler. The other benefit is being able to roll this thing up steps, a big plus for me. The only downside is getting through a narrow doorway, in which case you may have to pick it up. But the handles are very solid and easy to use.
In doing my research I contacted Igloo, Coleman and Rubbermaid customer service. Rubbermaid customer service wins by a mile in terms of giving accurate information promptly. I also feel certain that if I ever have a warranty issue the Rubbermaid people will step up to take care of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Correct Value

04/17/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to other units of this type, this is the best value if you do not need to have a massive amount of size capacity. Igloo makes a comparable cooler that is slightly larger but the carrying handles for the Igloo do not fold and my wife found the Igloo to be less comfortable on her hands. Igloo wheels are broader and may be better suited for pulling over softer surfaces like sand. Rubbermaid is slightly taller and thinner than I prefer, but it has not tipped yet. Big plus is the usual Rubbermaid quality build and the ability to get parts from Rubbermaid is excellent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Nice cooler

09/19/2014
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only brought this home, haven't used it yet but it sure seems to be a nice cooler. The handle extends, wheels seem sturdy, nice handles on each side and a drain plug. I think this will work just fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Not a good cooler for camping!!!

07/13/2010
By ,
New England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this cooler for two years now and I hate it. We just returned from a 3 day camping trip and I put a 10lb bag of ice in this cooler with cold drink in it. The next day we had semi-cold water and everyday we had to replace the ice or we had warm drinks. Yes I only use this cooler for drinks not food. I have a coleman xtreme 5day cooler for food and I also put a 10lb bag of ice in that cooler at the same time as the rubbermaid. There was no water in the coleman cooler we still had solid cubes of ice after 3 days in the hot sun. So I finally replaced this cooler with another coleman one. Warm beer is nasty. Also if something sticks up just a little bit the lid pops off and it pops off so easily and there is no seal when you close it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

GREAT BUY

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT BUY FOR THE PRICE-VERY DURABLE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

A very versatile cooler.

11/07/2009
By ,
N. Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fish often, and this cooler is very handy-with the dolly like handle and the wheels and the double doors on the top. I carry ice and bait on my boat or when I fish on a pier. This cooler was purchased as a replacement for another like it. I had it for several years. The old one only cost 23 dollars and this one cost 40 dollars. (That is my only complaint) I lost one of the lids while carrying the cooler on my boat. It evidently popped open and blew off while I was trailering the boat home. I contacted Rubbermaid to see if I could purchase another lid. They said no.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

handle broken

09/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unfortunately, the handle was broken so cooler was returned at the store. Never I got to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

It's a cooler.

08/31/2014
By ,
Kennesaw, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a large cooler. It's a large cooler. Works as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Lids don't seal

08/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put ice in the cooler and it lasted around an hour. This is suppose to be a 5 day cooler. The handle should be on the narrow side so you can walk through doorways. Actually I'm on my way now to return this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

awesome

08/09/2014
By ,
N. Pekin IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used it a couple of times and love it!!! may not keep ice for up to 5 days but does a excellent job. keeps everything really cold
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

seasonal product

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used once...no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

good for the price

03/21/2011
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this cooler for 2 years and use it constantly during my summer camping trips. I camp 10 to 15 weekends per year and have really abused this cooler. OK, so it doesnt keep ice for 5 days but if kept in the shade it will keep ice for 3 and thats really all I needed. My only complaint is that after the first year or so it started to leak from the drain hole. Just a little. So I just always put one of my tarps under it in the car. It really is worth the money. Im getting another one this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Rubbermaid 5-Day-50 Quart Wheeled Cooler

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, easy to move about. Wheels are always welcome with me. Lots of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Not as expected from a brand like Rubbermaid

07/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sturdy , not secure fit, Cheap plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid 5-Day 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler

Exception !!

07/04/2014
By ,
Rolla, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The correct size is NOT identified. See reviews or Rubbermaid web site. I purchased Rubbermaid 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler based on the size I knew it to be. Very Happy with product. Tks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next