Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Coleman Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

The Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler is built to keep ice frozen for up to five days, even in 90 degree Fahrenheit weather, with eco-friendly thermozone insulation. This red Coleman Cooler will be a handy addition to your next picnic or camping trip. The Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler features a rustproof, leak-resistant channel drain for no-tilt easy draining. Other great attributes of the Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler include the capacity for 84 cans, a hinged lid with drink holders and large, durable wheels for easy transport. This outdoor ice cooler has a retractable handle that not only helps you to carry it, but also holds stacked coolers in place. This red Coleman Cooler also has an interlocking base and lid, allowing you to easily put it together when you are not using it. Featuring four cup holders in the lid, this outdoor ice cooler can be used for many purposes. This cooler can also easily be stored when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation87%46 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

You get what you pay for

07/19/2013
By ,
Lynnwood, wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cooler is definitely not the same cooler that you find in sporting good stores or home improvement stores even though they share the same name. I picked up the cooler at walmart using the ship to store service and had the box opened to inspect it. After going over the cooler, I found quite a few defects or maybe it is a lack of manufacturing quality. The plastic was thin in some areas and not uniform. Flexes very easily in some areas. Telescoping handle had no button lock but a friction type lock which means will fail after so many cycles. Wheels were thin plastic which did not give much confidence that it would support the weight fully loaded. Since this cooler was value priced, I could probably have lived with it if the lid would shut tight. That's right. In addition to the lid not being insulated, this lid fitted poorly on the cooler which resulted in a poor seal and would not keep things cold for long. Needless to say, I returned it because a cooler with a lid that does not seal tight is useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Coleman Xtreme Cooler

02/14/2013
By ,
Sahuarita, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Xtreme cooler. Here in southern Arizona where our summer tempetures soar, it just does the best job of keeping things cold and ice last longer than any cooler we've own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Great Ice Chest keeps items cold for days.

02/26/2013
By ,
Stockton, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this 2/14/2013 to use for my son's track events keeps everything cold and I still have some drinks and ice in the cooler. I can't wait to see how well it does when the weather gets really hot. Oh and by the way I find that it is very roomy it held 48 water bottles on the day I used it. I would definetly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Great all around cooler

01/17/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler in blue last year and found it to be a great all around cooler. So wanting one more cooler for just drinks we bought this one in red. I have yet to find any cooler that really holds ice and stays cold for 5 days at 90 degrees. Not with openning and closing it through the day. But this cooler does keep our ice and stuff cold for a couple of days if we leave the melted ice water in it with the ice. The wheels and handle work like a charm and have yet to fail us. The way the handle and wheels are set in the cooler is perfect for storage and use for our needs. I really don't think anyone buying this cooler at this price will regret it. I sure know that we haven't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red
01/01/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 50-qt cooler has a larger capacity and sturdy wheels. With the convenient collapsible handle in the center , rather than on the end, it makes it much easier to use and wheel around. Great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

More Bang for the "Buck"!

02/10/2013
By ,
Martinsburg WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for taking aboard fishing boats & hauling the catch home. It is well built. I was willing to pay more for a cooler but read an independent research lab's review on an 8 day Ice management test between 4 different coolers at much higher price points. Since I do not plan to stand & pole on it nor filet bait on the lid is was most functional for the price point. It rolls & is light weight. I bought this brand 10 years ago and that cooler is still working & looking fine. It was just too small & had to be carried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kane,Pa
What a piece of junk
Posted 06/05/2013
I Just spent the last weekend in Va., and this thing could not keep the Ice for 8 hours , let a lone 5 days. I am taking mine back to the store and it is that last coleman anything I will ever buy.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Great Ice Chest

04/03/2013
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was not happy with this particular cooler due to the lid not fitting tightly. It was site-to-stored which I believe was the cause. Something heavy was probably placed atop of it during the shipping. I exchanged it for the blue one at the actual store and the lid was super snug. This ice chest held ice for 4 days at the Chisos Basin (Big Bend National Park) with temp high of about 85 degrees. The food we didn't eat went right back into the fridge when we got home and was perfectly fine. Can't beat the price on this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Poor Design of Handles and Drain

04/12/2013
By ,
DaddyMommaandNono
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This cooler is kind of small due to the inside area being taken up at the bottom from the wheel assembly. You loose a lot of room. The drain is in a bad spot, can be pulled open on uneven ground, sand in your cooler--no way. The handles are terrible! It isn't really even a handle. This design makes it hard for two people to carry it. The handles are small as well. Good price and a great cooler if the handles and drain are not a concern for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Awesome! Keeps drinks ice cold for days!

07/22/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont really know what to say besides Awesome! What a great deal. This cooler is awesome and everyone i was with this weekend said "thats a great cooler!" I packed about 12 bottles of frozen ice waters, (the small 16.9 oz bottles) and about 6 not cold bottles of starbucks frapacinos, and 6-10 cans of cold coca-cola cans. I packed these all in the cooler without additional ice at noon on friday. When i got home sunday night at 10 pm, the 3 bottles of water that were left all had some ice in them still. this thing really does a great job of keepin the cool in and the hot out. We left the cooler in the back of the car all weekend, in the sun, and overnight while we camped in the cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red
06/04/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product - rolls very easy and you can stack another cooler on top which is fantastic. True about the reviews not keeping ice frozen for 5 days but in Arizona at 105 degrees nothing will stay frozen for 5 days. This cooler does the job it is designed to do - keep things cold on hot days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Bad Batch

05/28/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had some issues with the RED Coleman cooler. One side of the handle would stick more than the other so it did not extend easily as it should have. The lid did not shut tightly. It might have only been the one I received because some of the blue coolers on the shelves were good and some were not. The cooler is a good size and a good price, but I doubt the cooler would have lasted 5 whole days in 80+ degree temps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red
06/09/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as durable as I thought it would be. Handle component is not really stable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Ice only lasts 1day. :(

06/18/2013
By ,
Phoenix, az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They say 5 day cooler? Not a chance. Put in ice that turned completely to water in 8 hours. If I hadn't of gotten it free with BBQ I would return it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Good quality for the price

08/14/2013
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bang for the buck.
Though the cooler states "5-day extreme cooler", after a 3-day weekend, 20lbs of ice had melted down to nothing by about the 36 hour mark. That being said, the weather hit highs of 80 degrees, and the cooler was exposed to sunlight during the day. In addition, some campers with more expensive coolers were making ice runs after the 16 hour mark, whereas this cooler had maintained a good amount of ice. Quality of construction feels good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Sturdy, high quality

03/27/2013
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased as a gift, this cooler should last through many football seasons and tail gating parties.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Does not hold things cold for one day let alone 5

07/28/2013
By ,
LI, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Purchased this cooler as a replacement for my smaller 5 day cooler to take camping. The evening before leaving I put two big bags of ice in it. The cooler was in my air conditioned house. When I went to put my groceries in the cooler at 4am the next day to leave over half the ice was melted. During my week trip I had to keep putting ice in the cooler daily to keep things cold. I will be contacting Coleman asking to return this cooler and for a full refund. I do not recommend this cooler to anyone!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Great cooler for a good price!

08/09/2013
By ,
Scott Township, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted an extended use cooler to take on camping trips and this one really caught my eye. The design and dimensions are perfect for my use. I have a Chevy Cruze and it fits perfectly in the trunk. I took it on a 3 day camping trip...day temps in lower 80's, night temps high 50's. I put 3 bags of ice in it along with drinks and food. Everything stayed ice cold the entire time. After the 3 days when I took out what was left and drained the water I had about the equivalent of 1 bag of ice left. The lid seems to fit well, stays shut...the handle pulls up easily and works great, the wheels seem sturdy and roll well. I'm very pleased and expect to get a lot of use out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Good cooler overall, but has some short comings.

07/20/2013
By ,
Novi, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler itself is not too bad. Here are some of the things I did not like about it:
1.) The handle is a bit on the short side for people who are 6 foot tall. When I pull it from behind, I have to walk slightly hunched over or it will keep hitting my heels as I walk.
2.) The top is really poorly designed. It is really flimsy and does not seal very tightly. I doubt ice could last more than a day or two in it, much less the claimed 5 days.
Overall, I got it at a cheap price, so it's value is there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

more than expected

08/11/2013
By ,
Lake Stevens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for this particular cooler and others had it listed for more than twice of what Walmart had it for. In addition, coolers at local retailers in the same price range were not even half the size and quality of this one. Walmart knows value and service, thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Xtreme 50-Quart Wheeled Cooler, Red

Not a great cooler

07/17/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This cooler is a great size and shape to fit in my vehicle and is easy to pull with the telescoping handle. Love the drink holders moulded into the cover. However, it just does not keep anything cold. I expected more from this brand, and am disappointed. I should have known the price was too good to be true.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next