Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brahma Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Brahma Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Leather upper Safety steel toe meets ASTM F 2413-05 standards Goodyear welt provides stability and durable performance Oil-resistant soleplate Slip-resistant outsole
Average Customer Rating:
3.948 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation75%73 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Nice Boot

04/14/2012
By ,
Litchfield, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are nice boots for the money. Only complaint would be the Leather could be a little thicker. Also wish the came in D width and not just the wide. But the fit is still fine just more room for your toes.
Would buy another pair if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Terrible Boots

07/11/2011
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I work on gravel and after less than two months of walking over the stone I find the heel is hollow! And I now have stones lodged inside the heel. Not stuck in the grooves totally inside the heel. Checking out the stones I find both soles are split almost all the way across where the ball of you foot would be. So much for being waterproof. But now I can confirm the there is a steel shank in there cause I've touched it. I uploaded two photos. You can see the sole is barely worn but split and for the other I stuck a pencil about an inch into a hole in the hallow heel. Stay away from these boots if you are going to use them for real work. And I really liked to look and fit. Unfortunately the lowest rating is one star. They really deserve a zero.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MEADOWS OF DAN,VA
GREAT BOOTS
Posted 09/10/2014
THESE BOOTS ARE EXCELLENT QUALITY FOR THE MONEY,I LIKE THEM AND WILL BUY THEM AGAIN.
0points
Posted 08/06/2014
the photos are not of the brahma gus boot
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

The Best Steel Toe Work Boots Under $40.00

09/28/2013
By ,
Torrance, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found these shoes absolutely comfortable and well suited for people with wide feet. Sincerely appreciate these shoes. I picked them up at my local store very satisfied. Make sure you try them on they are a little bigger than I expected so I went down to a 14 even though normally I were a 15. Just watch out for that.
A lot of benefits with this product such as leather, a goodyear welt, oil resistant soleplate, slip resistance, and of course wide width. Again very happy this product exceeded my expectations.
Enjoy, and make sure to go to a local store and try them as the size might differ.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

hard to beat for the price

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
in the price range these fall into trying to find a better steel toe work boot is near impossible
i have abused them for close to a year and they are in rough shape, some of the yellow rubber on the bottom has separated, the leather has stretched, cracked, and is peeling in spots, the insole is destroyed, and there is one small spot where the outsole is starting to separate
unlike some herman survivors i recently bought and returned the toe cup is properly sized for a wide width foot
if you're looking for work boots and want to spend as little as possible these are the best bet
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

They work.

05/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been buying/wearing these for the last 21 years. You cannot beat the price. They have changed over the years -- the steel toe has become more streamlined and there are more leather panels, but they're still a good pair of safety shoes. I've used them for bartending, roughnecking, and cooking in a kitchen; and they have never let me down. For service jobs, they will keep a good shine and are more slip resistant than the new waffle-pattern boots that cost twice as much or more. For oil-rig work, they don't work as good as a $200 pair of Red Wings, but are a good pair of back up boots while you give your Red Wings a day to dry out. It's true that the leather starts to crack rather early nowadays, but the weather-resistance is still intact (until you're walking your dog in knee-deep mud). These boots work. And they still work.
In closing: these boots will work for you, no matter what work you do.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width
03/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these boots because i liked the style,and look.at 29.00 i felt if they lasted 6 months itd be worth it.I w ore them the first day ,and they felt huge(im a 12 these felt like a 13)also the leather(if leather at all)didnt hold any kind of shape of the foot.i tried adding an extra insole,and tightening but my foot kept moving around.My feet were sore after day 1,and the right toe of the boot had a curve inward that kept rubbing on my toe.Day 2 on dirt tat curve inward on the right toe kept rubbing even worse on uneven ground.Day 3 returned for a 11 ,and still my foot moved around.The leather was rinkling not holding any shape.My right toe developed a blister from that rubbing on the curve(very unnoticeable odd curve inward that made no sense...i noticed it because i was looking for the rubbing)had to wrap my toe in duck tape to finish working.Not to mention my ankles killed me.horrible affordable lack of quality boots.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Amazing for the price

02/03/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 years ago I went to Walmart to find that the only suitable boot they had for me were these. They were selling for $30 which really made me angry because the year before the brand of boots they had sold for only $20. Now I HAD to pay $30 because there were no cheaper boots that would work for me.
However, looking back I can say that Brahma boots are probably the best value for the money boots I have ever owned. The $20 boots I bought before lasted just over a year and then the soles started coming off. These boots lasted me over 3 years working 40 hours a week and I worked in a more intensive environment over those 3 years then when I had the previous brand of boots! I'm on my second pair of Brahma boots and will continue to buy only these. They are comfortable, durable and cheap. What more could you ask for?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width
12/15/2009
By ,
prattville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wears these and, he says they are better than some of the more expensive boots he has owned. I have noticed that, they have lasted a little longer also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

great boots

07/11/2010
By ,
CHICAGO IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i work in a warehouse with bottled water so your feet get wet alot but,, my feet are alot dryer with my new boots and the steel toes have saved my toes more than once,,, my 9 1/2 wide boots are woking out great ,,,, but for you ( big foots ) no they dont make sizes over 12
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

best boot

07/13/2010
By ,
Merlin, On
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had these boots for about 4 years now and they look good feel good and they put up with a lot of beating. i bought them in myrtle beach then moved back to Canada now im looking for a pair just like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

My husband LOVES these boots

01/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He has MD so he had lace braces. He goes through boots every 3 months. But these last about 6 months.
It is a shame they stopped carrying 14's though. Now I have to go to a miltary supply store to buy him boots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

GREAT WORK BOOT'S

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my son, the one's he was buying kept splitting on the side's at the ball of foot area because that's where the stitching was down to the sole, that's where his feet bend most all day at work! I purchased these because they're not made that way I also got the wide one's so his feet had more room in this area! These have never split, and their comfortable, now these are the only one's he'll wear HE LOVE'S THEM! THANKS FOR MAKING THESE GREAT BOOT'S!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Great Shoes for the price!

03/20/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These shoes are great for my work in the entertainment industry. I was looking for a durable shoe with a great steel toe. The leather is of a great quality especially considering the price of the shoes. It is of the same quality as some of the redwing shoes I have purchased in the past.
There are a few things you need to know when you buy these shoes.
1. The soles of the shoe are not made from non-marking rubber.
2. The shoe is designed as a wide shoe. If your foot is not a wide foot, I would recommend getting an insole to make it fit.
I am very satisfied with these shoes. I definitely would recommend them. They are not expensive, but are definitely of similar quality to more expensive work boot brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width
02/11/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad boot .But not a good one either.Have a heavy chemical smell at first.Better off with the Herman Survivor line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

They Get the Job Done

01/06/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been buying the same Mack Steel Toed shoes at Target for years now. When I went to buy a new pair I found out they no longer carry them anymore. I shopped around at many different stores from shoe stores to big box and these came closest. I walk for a living so I need comfortable durable shoes. I've had these for about three weeks now and I've broke them in. My only complaint is that the steel part doesn't come far enough back so sometimes it cuts into your foot causing a slight discomfort over a long day. I would recommend them for anyone looking for this type of shoe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width
12/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very strong and durable
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width
03/28/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This boot is the most uncomfortable thing I have ever put on my foot. the steel in the toe was cutting into my toe's.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Great Shoes but Smelly

01/30/2010
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are working our great for my husband but when he first started wearing them they had a very strong chemical smell on them. Maybe something they wear treated with or sprayed with to make them black we do not know. The smell does fade as the days go by and otherwise they are working out great. We ordered them on online so we had no idea they would smell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

True to size - Dec 5, 2014

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brahma shoe boots are the first pair of shoe boots I have ever purchased. Unable to find quality rubber boots of yesteryear that slip over my everyday shoes at a reasonable price, I figured I would try these. Most of the lower priced rubber boots made today are a cheap quality, don’t fit properly (some websites say to order a size or two larger), the fold over metal boot buckles break easily and the 17-inch high yellow rubber boots are difficult to slip on and off because they don’t have any flexibility in them.
Since I’m only going to use the shoe boots for snow throwing the driveway and not every day wear, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on them. The trouble with ordering footwear over the internet is that you have no idea on how they will fit so I went to three Wal-Mart’s in my area and found that the Williamsville, NY store not only had a large variety of shoe boots to choose from, but also a broad selection of sizes.
The Brahma M BR Gus shoe boots I purchased (item 2518929, size 10 wide) have steel toes, leather uppers, Goodyear Well for stability, are oil and slip resistant. They also have textile lining to absorb foot perspiration, resist foot odor and mildew. I wear a size 10 wide and they fit perfectly. Order your regular size and you shouldn’t have a problem. The shoe boots weigh 3 lbs. 10.5 ounces, are 12” long, 4.25” wide, 10.75” long inside, the heel height is 6 3/8” high, by the boot laces 7 7/8” high.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brahma - Men's Gus Steel-Toe Work Boots, Wide Width

Better than R*d Wings or W*lverine for the price

05/18/2012
By ,
OKC,Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for the Brahma "Gus" steel toe boot. On my 6th or 7th pair now - last about a year under heavy industrial use. Haven't had much luck with other Brahma models but these are the best by far. These boots withstand hydraulic oil, diesel, gasoline and any other fluid found at a heavy truck or equipment shop. Water resistance seems good. The sole and leather seem to last as long or more than R*d Wings or W*lverine. Anti-slip/oil resistant sole works great.
They have no painful break-in period and are easy on the feet - just add a pair of Dr. Scholls insoles for maximum comfort. I replace when the steel toe starts showing even though it could last longer. Only problem found are the shoe laces break. Add a pair of good shoe laces and insoles to these boots and you have a great work boot at less than half the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next