Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

The Black & Decker 18 volt Cordless String Trimmer NST2018 is an efficient grass trimming machine that combines two tools and lets you add finishing touches to your lawn or garden. This electric grass trimmer is easy to use as it has a lightweight design and does not require any extension cords or gas for maintenance. You can use the edger function to create borders to your pathways and flowerbeds. The trimmer function in this electric grass trimmer can be used to clip grasses around plants and in tight corners. The auxiliary handle is adjustable and makes it convenient to use the machine. It is an energy efficient cordless string trimmer and is Energy Star Certified as well. It works on 2 18 volt NiCad battery packs, which provides with an extra run-time for better trimming.
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation74%35 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Love this thing

09/16/2010
By ,
Stuart, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just what the doctor ordered. It won't cut down trees :-) , but it is perfect for what I need. No more more mixing the gas mess, choking the engine, and pulling my brains out to get the gas weed eater started and keep it running. This eater cuts down fairly tall grass and weeds. It is easy to KEEP the lawn trimmed because it is grab and go. Obviously it won't do what a gas eater will do, but it surpassed my expectations. I haven't used the edger yet, and probably won't. It might be a little under-powered for that. Also, I have the Black & Decker BDFC240 9.6V - 24V Multi Battery Charger. It is a valuable addition for faster charges. Especially since I also have a B&D 18v blower and a 12v B&D nailer. VERY PLEASED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 22 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

THE BEST TRIMMER I HAVE EVER OWNED

09/13/2010
By ,
MAINE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this trimmer weekly and love it. I have always owned gas trimmers but this battery operated one is by far my #1 pick! Love it because it is so light weight. No yanking on a cord or primeing to get it to start. Does not make the annoying, blaring noise a gas one does and it has not fallen apart like the WEED EATER gas trimmer I bought last year and only used a few times!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Review 23 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Dosen't cut your weeds but cuts into free time.

08/19/2010
By ,
Marion
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you have nothing better to do than sit at home and drink iced tea and watch your battery charge, then this is the product for you. Or maybe you are the type of person who only likes to work in time slots of forty five minutes or less then this product is for you because the battery life becomes drained quickly. And that is not even best part ladies and gentlemen The best part is that you need eight eight hours to fully charge your battery once it becomes drained. So if you plan on using a weed eater all day please stick to your carbon imprinting gas burning weed eater because this battery operated equipment is going to let you down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Love this product!

07/28/2010
By ,
Cadillac, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a lightweight trimmer without a motor. This one delivered beyond my expectations. Make sure you have your second battery charged at all times and you won't have any problems. One charge lasted me about 1/2 acre. LOVE THIS TRIMMER!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 25 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

This Thing Stinks

07/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this, got it home, and took the time to take turns charging up both the batteries all week before I used it. When the time came to actually put it into action, the thing wouldn't even make it around my front yard without the battery running out. I then changed the dead battery for the "Good" battery and it ran out in half the amount of time the first one took! I then put the first battery back on after pulling it off the charger again and it barely ran at all. This trimmer does not hold a charge AT ALL. I can't believe they sell pieces of junk like this. I will never buy another B&D product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 26 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Bottom line: Useful!

07/10/2010
By ,
Buena Vista, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A vest-pocket description of the B&D Grass Hog: a $20 tool with $80 worth of batteries. But it's the batteries that make it valuable! These 18V wonders are works of genius. They are FULLY interchangeable with every other 18V B&D tool. I recently bought their battery drill, and those two batteries work just as well in the Grass Hog. This means I have FOUR batteries that I can use in either of these tools. Delightful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

soesnt last

07/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought this yesterday and would not reccomend it to anyone the batteries dont last no mor than 15 min. at a time. On the positive side it is lightweight and easy to handle but would not buy again. taking it back to get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 28 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

So dissapointing.....

06/21/2010
By ,
Sealy, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was all excited when I saw a CORDLESS weed eater!!
AND I soooo wanted this 18V to work! I wasn't too concerned about the batteries lasting 'cause I had 2 other B & D 18V's, besides the 2 that come with it. WOW- WHAT a disappointment!! I fully charged both batteries-just as instructed. This unit must use a LOT of juice! -none of then lasted longer than 20 minutes!! at the most- Then they were useless. even with 4 batteries, it got to be too much of a hassle. You just get started then have to change batteries AGAIN! Gave up, returned it & bought a $65- gas one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 29 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

JUNK!

06/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This trimmer is a total piece of junk! The batteries are it's weak point. You get 2 batteries and a charger that will charge one battery at a time and takes 8 hours to do so. Run time on a fully charged battery is about 10 to 15 minutes when used on very light weeds (nothing with a fiberous stalk).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 30 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Good cut . . . Terrible Batteries

06/16/2010
By ,
Connecticut
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've owned this product for one year. I use it on approx 4/10ths of an acre with a medium amount of trimming needed. I use it every other week. At first I made it through with having to change to the second battery just as I was finishing up. By the tenth use, I was using both batteries; and now, in my second year with less than 20 uses, I have to recharge the first battery after it runs out in order to finish after the second runs out. I've tried running them all the way down in order to get a full charge with only limited extra power. Be advised that this trimmer cuts quite well on full power and that longer lasting batteries are available at upwards of $70 a piece. This not just a B'n'D problem. I have purchased other 18 volt tools with similar results.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Review 31 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Pleasant surprize!

06/13/2010
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a bit worried about this purchase but bought it anyway on a hunch. I'm glad I did. It works really well for my small front and back yard edging. For my needs the less-overpowering cutting works fine. One battery lasts for an entire cut now that my lawns are "trained" for this trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 32 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

my favorite weeder

06/12/2010
By ,
EXMORE,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVING USED MANY WEED EATERS OVER MANY YEARS THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT. I NO LONGER WANT TO USE THE HEAVY GAS PRODUCT AND DID RESEARCH THIS FOR 2 MONTHS BEFORE BUYING.IT IS A GREAT PRODUCT & IF YOU USE IT ACCORDING TO DIRECTIONS YOU WILL LOVE IT. WE HAVE A LARGE PROPERTY AND I DO THE SMALLER JOBS SINCE MY DAUGHTER USES THE MOWER FOR THE BIG STUFF. TODAY I DID THE FULL FRONT AND A LOT OF THE BACK PIECE WHERE THE VEGGIE GARDENS ARE--LI LOVE IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Awesome Weed Eater

06/08/2010
By ,
Harvest, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is so awesome! Finally, after months of searching for the right product, Black & Decker has made my day. I am completely satisfied with this weed eater and will cherish every moment with it. Thanks Black & Decker/Walmart...I am a happy customer! CH
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 34 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

works great

06/06/2010
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good product. 1 acre property with lots of trees and a pond. (lots of trimming) i can do all the trimming with one battery. it is very lite. power is great cuts threw 3/4 inch stock weeds around the pond. you will be very happy with this product. also for those that say the battery don't last long you should read the instructions and full charge the battery before first use if you don't do that it damages the battery. i have many black & decker products and the battery's are all interchangeable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 35 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

great product

05/31/2010
By ,
naugatuck, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got it for my husband and he loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 36 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

OK for small yard

05/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this trimmer 2 years ago. Thought it would be a nice change from a gas trimmer. It has worked ok but has no where near the power of a gas trimmer. And the batteries don't hold up very long in mine. I will say the line feed has worked flawlessly, unlike some others I have had.
If you have a really small yard, this trimmer is for you. But if you plan on trimming a yard with lots of landscaping, get a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 37 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

worth every penny

05/21/2010
By ,
lyons ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this trimmer after fighting with my 1 year old gas trimmer that wont start. i am very happy with it very quiet, not to heavy, got about 1/2hr out of the battery and if you own any black and Decker 18v tools the battery is the same so now i have 4 batteries for all my tools because this comes with 2!! only complaint i have is the trimmer doesn’t have the power to get thru the big weeds but its great for those spots you just cant get with the mower.
i do recommend getting a duel or 3 port charger from black and Decker it can be a pain if you run out of battery . you can get them on Amazon
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 38 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Light Weight Weedeater

05/04/2010
By ,
Independence, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Black and Decker 18V battery operated Grosshog Trimmer & Edger is light weight and easy to handle. It has a protector cover that I really like. I have always been to scared to do the weedeating for fear of the weedeater-string hitting my legs. Glad I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 39 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

Great Trimmer--Until Handle Snaps Off

04/19/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is an excellent and fairly lightweight rechargeable trimmer/edger, as far as capability goes. But if you have a lot of sidewalk areas to edge, you will run out of power before you finish.
I have bought two of these Grass Hog trimmers but will not be buying a third. The adjustable handle on the top side of the unit, where most people hold the trimmer with their left hand, is made of plastic. It is attached to the main trimmer shaft with a plastic sleeve, and can be adjusted/tightened with a plastic bolt. After using the trimmer for about one year, the plastic handle snapped off in my left hand on both trimmers, rendering it all but useless. The warranty already expired, so no recourse for me. Two hundred bucks down the drain in two years.
Surely B&D has rec'd complaints about this design flaw. This handle, sleeve and bolt should be made from aluminum, not hard hollow plastic! So, I'm off to Wal-Mart for the third staraight summer to buy a trimmer. This time I'm going with a gas Poulon that has a sturdy aluminum/metal handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 40 for Black & Decker 18-Volt Cordless Grasshog Trimmer/Edger

works like a charm

04/16/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything it was advertised to do. Lightweight and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
21-40 of 42 total reviews