Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Elgin Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Elgin Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

The Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set offers simplicity and an easy to read display. The Elgin alarm clock sets time automatically with the time zone you select. This auto-set alarm clock also gives you the option of a “Loud” alarm setting and allows you to control the dimmer options. The two-inch blue and red LED display on this auto-set alarm clock makes the time easily visible at night and during the day. With its large snooze bar on the top and buttons on the side to set the alarm, time zone, hour and minute, the Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock offers ease of use and a simple but stylish look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.011 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation78%73 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 74 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Good clock

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for an alarm clock, this is a good value. Nice larg numbers and bright enough to be able to see in the dark. I cannot really review the sound quality, as I think that if more for a radio and as far as battery life is concerned, it's new, I just got it! I don't know what the battery life is like. But I like my clock!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Not Bad, Not Great

08/17/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This alarm clock works as advertised. The electricity goes out fairly often where I live so the automatic time setting is important to me. I was highly impressed to see how quickly the clock reset itself after a power glitch. My only grumbles relate to the brightness of the display. There is a switch to control the brightness. When set to dim, the display is almost invisible during the day but is almost too bright at night. When set to bright the display is visible during the day and is way too bright at night. I could switch it back and forth each morning and evening but the thing should have an automatic brightness control like most other LED alarm clocks. Also, I would prefer the display be all one color. The two blue dots in the middle of the red display seem out of place to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Not extra loud; alarm shuts off after 1-minute

08/14/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this because it had a loud/soft alarm switch; I was looking for an extra loud alarm for my 14 yr old son. The alarm set to loud is really just at normal volume. And it stops alarming after 1-minute! Kids sleep through 1 minute of anything. Also, the "automatic" part of it setting the time is just that it has a small battery backup (and the correct time was set at the factory). On the good side, it does have large, clear digits, and 2-alarm settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Not as described

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clock is advertised "Time sets automatically..." It doesn't. It adjusts to daylight savings time automatically. The time had to be set manually. I returned mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

GREAT CLOCK

08/29/2011
By ,
FORTLAUDERDALE, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS CLOCK. IT WAS A GREAT VALUE. HAS GREAT FEATURES. HAD A COMPLIMENT ON IT A FEW DAYS AFTER I PUT I BY MY TV. IT IS TROUBLE FREE. SETS ITSELF WHEN THE POWER GOES OFF. AND A LOT MORE GOOD FEATURES. AND VERY GOOD LOOKING. LOOKS GREAT IN MY LIVING ROOM. ALSO WOULD BE GREAT IN THE BEDROOM, OR ANY ROOM IN THE HOUSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Excellent Value!

02/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been dreading buying a new alarm clock because I just couldn't find one I thought was worth the money. This is perfect...perfect price, perfect display and I was very pleased that it was so easy to use (even though it does do most of the work for you).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Decent Product for the money

12/26/2009
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money. Large letters with two brightness settings. The automatic time set is convenient. My only concern is with the switches for setting the alarms and the time. They do not have a solid feel and are difficult to determine what position the switch is at.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

fantastic product

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great features, great value and very large numbers and bright too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Time off by seven minutes!

05/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This clock was supposed to be automatic! As in atomic or radio controlled time synced . When I plugged it in it was supposed to present the right time auomatically! It was off by seven minutes! Useless!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Huge display

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this. Easy to set too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

A good value

12/10/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fine product for the money. Easy to see but a tad bright, even on low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Doesn't "Auto Set"

04/03/2014
By ,
Apple Valley
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this clock specifically because I *thought* it was a radio controlled "atomic clock". It isn't. The "auto-set" claim is really a deceptive way to say "battery backup". I should have read the reviews more carefully.
If you want a nice big alarm clock that you can see without your glasses, this is the clock for you. If you want a clock with real auto-set, keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

New alarm clock

10/29/2010
By ,
Lincoln NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hello.
I have shopped online with Walmart many times and have always been happy with my products but this alarm clock looked great and priced great but has one important feature failing, the alarm could not be heard unless you put the clock up to your ear.
I really liked this clock , sure wish it had worked.
I took it to my local Walmart and they refunded my money with no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Good as long as you have electricity.

03/27/2014
By ,
Preston, Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wan't a portable clock that was battery operated that I could take to work (I am a caregiver and work 4 days a week in patients home). I have received both clocks and I like them fine, but am afraid to order them online because I can't find what I want. Not enough information is given on size. So will go to a store here and get what I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Alarm Clock

04/02/2010
By ,
North Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm retired and bought the clock mainly for the easy to read large numbers.The clock is perfect in that way.
The controls to set the alarm are on the back and I find them confusing,I guess with practice you can get by with them.
My previous clock was much wider and stood more solidly on the top of the bedroom TV,plus the controls were on the front.Bottom line for this price
it's a good buy and serves my main purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Good Workmanship

07/22/2010
By ,
Tampa, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Workmanship. Wish thoughtfullness would have place on and off switch at easily reachable position since 2 inch display designed for myopic eyes. Fit and finish good. Convinience of Coin Battery compared to pld 9 volt and different time zones, very thoughfull. Not impressed with sound of the alarm, loud or low.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Looks like it was stuck in the 70's

03/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The online photos do not show all angles. This is big and awkward looking. It never came out of the packaging. Went right back unopened.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

One hour light failed to work.

10/26/2013
By ,
pittsburgh PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to send the clock back. UPS shipping cost me $12.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

DOESN'T KEEP CORRECT TIME

08/24/2010
By ,
USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THIS IS AN AUTOMATIC CLOCK THAT'S SUPPOSE TO KEEP THE CORRECT TIME FOR ANY SELECTED TIME ZONE IN THE USA...PROBLEM IS IT'S ALWAYS TWO MINUTES AHEAD OF THE LOCAL TIME...DOESN'T SYNC WITH TV, RADIO, ETC!!
I PURCHASED TWO OF THESE, AND BOTH OF THEM HAVE THE SAME FLAW!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto-Set

Elgin Bedside Alarm Clock with Auto Set

03/06/2014
By ,
Stevens Point, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy it, excellent alarm clock!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next