Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whalen Furniture Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Whalen Furniture Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Elegant and modern, this Mainstays 5-Piece Dining Set is the perfect dining solution for apartments and smaller homes. Cherry finish delivers rich tones and makes this 5-Piece Dining Set a welcome complement to almost any decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%255 out of 259reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
55
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Beautiful Set...Missing Parts

11/25/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have rated this product 5 stars, but when I got the set home and began to put it together I had received 8 left leg chair assemblies instead of 4 lefts and 4 rights. I called the product part hotline and explained that they failed to put the correct parts in my package. They told me that it would be 7-10 business days before I would receive the correct leg assemblies. The next day I emailed the parts department and asked if they could expedite my order since it was their error. They emailed me back and said I would have the parts sent in 2 business days. I received the parts yesterday and we finished putting the set together. It was very easy to put together and it is very sturdy. Overall, I really like it and think the price was a good value. Hopefully, if anyone else orders this product, they will have all the correct parts.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Review 2 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Perfect for the Money!

02/25/2010
By ,
Uniontown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table and chairs exceeded my expectations! I was worried about spending only $200 on a dinette set but when I unpackaged the box and saw the quality of the wood I was amazed and very relieved. I also want to mention how the hardware was packaged...everything was laid out very clearly and the fasteners are of quality as well. I had to have my husband, who is a master carpenter, put it together however. There was no way that I could figure it out. The furniture is very sturdy and seems like it's going to last for years to come. The color is dark but not too dark to where you can't see the grain of the wood. In this set you can see how the stain grabbed the grain of the wood which is beautiful...at least I like it. I am not disappointed with this purchase at all and I think you will like it too. What else can I say other than "Wow"!! I have included 2 pictures: 1 of the overall outcome and the other of the grain
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Love it!!

05/01/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe this set was only $199!! I've seen sets similar for double the price, and some aren't as nice. Very sturdy and well made. Although the color is a little darker then shown, it's beautiful. Very rich and clean looking. Perfect for my kitchen nook! I put this set together by myself in a little over an hour. So worth the 97 cent shipping to your door, as the box is very heavy because of the sturdy quality and excellent packing. I can't find one scratch, nick, or any defect...and every single part (plus some extra) were all there. Well worth the purchase!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Love it!

05/14/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's better then I thought it would be. I love it!
It's worth buying.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Great kitchen set for the price

02/13/2011
By ,
rockland county ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really happy with this set. The delivery took a bit longer than expected. I had to call the shipping company, as they did not have my paperwork in there system. The set is very sturdy and the color is just as pictured ( see my attached photos)The table was a breeze to put together. My husband did the chairs in about 1 1/2 hrs. (he is a perfectionist) I cannot get over the price of under $300 with shipping. I love the counter height table and it is much nicer in person. Very satisfied customer.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Amazing piece of furniture for the Price

07/12/2011
By ,
williamstown
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three letter word WOW ,amazing. This 5 piece furniture is unbelievable. Great workmanship.beautiful color, a real nice piece. Thank you so much!!!! Im proud and happy to have purchased this set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish
05/06/2010
By ,
Paola, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking, very sturdy and fairly easy to assemble. The set was packaged very good, no damage to any of the chairs or table. This is worth more than the current price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Quality dining set for an excellent price.

10/25/2010
By ,
Barrington, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent 3 days searching every furniture website looking for a counter height table for our kitchen. I just couldn't pay $500 for a set that my kids could possibly damage. I finally decided on this set.
We have a newer house with one a smaller size eat in kitchen area in front of the patio doors. We have three kids and they are constantly running in and out to the patio so we needed something that would fit this are well and not be in the way. I was going back and forth with getting something 36" or 54". I am glad I picked the 36". It fits perfectly! It looks great in the space and my kids love to sit at the table. I will probably get a square rug for under the table at some point in the future.
We picked it up at the local Walmart and my husband put it together while watching the Bears game. I am extremely pleased!! The table and chairs are solid. Putting the chairs together was definitely time consuming. We didn't have any problems putting it together. All the pieces were there and no scratches or dents. I was going back and forth with the walnut set or this cherry set. I couldn't see what the top looked like so hopefully my pictures will help someone else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

LOVE THIS TABLE!

05/27/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this table 3 weeks ago and received it within 6 days. I can't believe this table was only $199 and .97 shipping- what a great deal! It is SOLID wood- not filler/rubber wood like a lot of other tables. The table and chairs are very sturdy. I was pleasantly suprised to see the table is taller and bigger than I expected. I put it together by myself in under 2 hours- very simple. I just love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Sturdy and beautiful

08/20/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits perfectly into my space, looks wonderful, is sturdy, and was easy to put together despite the seat pieces not being flush.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish
02/03/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We're pleased with our purchase and enjoying the dining set. Everything arrived in good condition and my husband had no trouble assembling while I assisted... it was kinda fun actually! Before purchaisng I went to at least 3 furniture stores and checked out many dining sets online. I was more than a little hesitant to order without actually seeing the set, but the good reviews and photo's posted made the difference for us!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Beautiful!!!!

02/25/2011
By ,
Brattleboro, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table is beautiful, sturdy and so easy to assemble. I had asked a friend to help me with the assembly and when he couldn't make it over I decided to attempt it myself. It took me an hour and a half by myself with no problems. I highly recommend this table. You have to see it in person to truly understand how nice this table is. For the price you simply can't go wrong!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Perfect for small spaces

09/04/2010
By ,
Shirley, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an excellent buy.
It went together easily and fits perfectly in my small kitchen/living room combo.
I would recommend it for anyone looking for a classy dining set.
One note, if you don't have much strength in your hands it might be easier to put together with a small electric screwdriver.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

5 stars

08/21/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table is great. Very sturdy and beautiful. Great price. I would definatly recommend buying it! One of the chair backs had a chip in it, so I need to try to get a new one sent to me...I have yet to see how that goes. Otherwise, A+++
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish
07/16/2011
By ,
Grants, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new table & chairs! It was delivered very quickly to our local Walmart. When I got it home, I took out all parts, and followed the directions. It was easy to put together and looks great in my house.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

perfect for my apartment

08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not be more pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Fantastic Counter Height Table Set

12/07/2009
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a pub like table set for our dining area. I looked at this set and the other 5 pc set walmart has for $269 with a ton of positive reviews. This mainstays set was new so no one reviewed it yet but the dimensions were the same as the other table and I wasn't particular on the color so I took the plung and went with this one. Boy did I make the RIGHT CHOICE. It was sooo easy to put together (I did it by myself while my hubby was upstairs on the computer) and the color is perfect (not to light or dark). It is real wood so it's nice and sturdy and looks way more expensive that $200 bucks. Since it's just the two of us in our townhome. we have 2 chairs at the table and the other two at the bar (and since it's counter height, they fit perfectly at the bar so we save on bar stools).
Walmart shipped this out to us extremely fast, especially in the midst of the thanksgiving shopping frenzy. Great job! I am so in love with this purchase that I am searching the website for a coffee table to match!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Awesome value!

11/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table and chair set looks perfect in our apartment! We needed something small, but liked the idea of a counter-height table. The wood finish is very nice but is a little darker than what it looks like in the pictures. It took my boyfriend about an hour to assemble the set. It seems all the pieces were manufactured very well and it is very sturdy and doesn't wobble at all. This is a great value for just $199 and I would strongly recommend this set to anyone considering purchasing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 19 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish
12/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinning Set is easy to put together, Very sturdy, Very nice clean look, The only thing I don't like is the corners of under the table are open and the screws are exposed to veiw. It would not be noticeable on a lower table but with this table being counter height you can see them. I will make corner covers for them so they will not be exposed. Over all a great table for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 20 for Mainstays 5 Piece Counter Height Dining Set, Warm Cherry Finish

Great Value

06/30/2010
By ,
Mount Larel NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prior to ordering the table and chairs we had been shopping in furniture stores for a pub table with no success. We saw the table on Wal-Marts website while looking for another product. Our immediate thought was how could a table at this cost be any good. After reading the reviews we took a chance and ordered the table and chairs. When we recieved the table we could not believe the quality of the set. This is a no-brainer for anyone looking for a good quality kitchen set at an exceptional price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
1-20 of 238 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next