Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Uniden Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Uniden Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

This Uniden HandHeld Marine Radio features dual, triple and quad watch plus selectable 1-watt/2.5/5 transmit power and NOAA weather channel with weather alert. Plus, this compact Uniden Submersible Radio has a clip-on DC charger, memory channel scan, and large, easy-to-read LCD screen. Tune into all U.S./international and Canadian marine channels with this Uniden Radio. Get up to 12 hours of battery life using your compact Uniden Submersible Radio. This Uniden HandHeld Marine Radio comes with an SMA flexible rubber antenna, belt clip and lanyard and includes a 3-year water-proof protection warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Great Little radio

12/08/2009
By ,
Cocoa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This radio is great for wearing on your belt or vest. I was worried it would be heavy but its really light and compact compared to my sister's full sized Uniden. There are a lot more options with this radio then the older models.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Poor reception

09/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hand held radio will only reach other radios of this type within only a 1000 feet. Will return for credit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Great value for the money

08/16/2010
By ,
Pasadena, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio. Would recommend buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Excellent

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

This is a Uniden MHS75 the JIS8 is wrong

07/09/2014
By ,
Caseville Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Marine Radio is good however Walmart lists it as a JIS8 which is not the model number it is a MHS75 Uniden the JIS8 is the water resistance rating of this unit. It only comes with a DC charger with a cigarette lighter plug no AC adapter or charging cradle at all. You have to buy a AC charging adapter that costs $27 from Uniden with shipping and it is not a cradle just a adapter you plug the included DC charger in. If I had to do it over I would buy another brand like Standard Horizion that comes with a AC charging cradle. Fir this reason I do not recommend this unit. Who wants to take the radio to your car to charge it when you use it ?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Good value

08/02/2014
By ,
Long Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this radio for kayaking since I have no telephone signal in the bay. Easy to use and compact. Can scan weather alerts and 16/9 and other channels. Has three power settings. Unit is submersible, didn't test that feature, I still bought a waterproof case that allows me to use it without taking it out of case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Great Product in a Compact Size

08/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great product, nice size!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Works great

07/27/2014
By ,
North Kingstown, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speaker is loud & clear.
I have talked to Newport harbor from Wickford harbor using low power (1W).
Small & lightweight, I keep it clipped to my life vest and don't even feel it.
If I ever fall overboard it's a great comfort to know the waterproof radio will be there on my life vest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8

12/01/2010
By ,
Lakeville, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Great Marine Radio

09/04/2013
By ,
London Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radio works great. Excellent radio for your money. Would recommend to any boater
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio

Just great!

04/08/2014
By ,
SW Gulf Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried everything but getting it wet. That willl happen in time I am sure and will just *assume* that it will continue to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Uniden Compact Hand-Held JIS8 Submersible Marine Radio
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5