Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marcy Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Marcy Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

The compact yet sturdy Apex Power Tower will be a great addition to any home gym. It has both pull-up and dip stations. The pull-up bar contains multiple hand position grips for varying degrees of upper-body exercise. This vertical knee raise machine comes with a strong tubular steel frame construction and features a durable powder-coated finish. The Apex Power Tower comes in an angled frame design that keeps the body secure against the back pad and eliminates body sway while knee raises are performed. The ergonomically angled VKR pads of the pull up bar tower reduce the stress to the shoulder rotator cuffs and also keep the forearms from slipping off the pads.
Average Customer Rating:
3.893 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation79%22 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Good for the price

03/27/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a pain to put together and the base is not level. The holes were not drilled even so it took 2 people to force it together. You need to use it on carpet or it will wobble a lot.
Keep it on a good thick carpet and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Bought a year ago, works great, lots of exercises.

10/12/2014
By ,
Eugene,OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product use it weekly, simple to put together. Has many uses, love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Good price, item had defect

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the base pieces was machined incorrectly and it did not fit together. I called the customer service depart for Apex and they were very helpful. They sent me out a new base piece via UPS within a week and I was able to get it assembled within about 45 minutes. Other than that, it is a good piece of equipment for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Great quality at an affordable price

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No concerns with Walmart, but would like to let the manufacturer know that there was a critical bolt missing and the assembly instructions could use some serious review. The item itself is awesome and it was available on the date promised
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Very pleased!

06/10/2014
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I was astounded to receive an intact box and freeze-dried screws all neatly wrapped inside - a testament to how bad reviews can eventually get the manufacturer's attention. Thanks, because my equipment was received in perfect condition.
Lest I got to excited, though, from the appearance of the box and interior, some of the screws were mislabeled, and assembly therefore turned out to be rather confusing. It took me a lot longer than one hour to assemble, as I was trying to figure out and work around the mislabeling.
The equipment is very sturdy and does exactly what I needed it to do at the best price online. Ship time was also very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Good value but needs experienced assembler

08/04/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value, but the assembly instructions were predictably bad. Only an experienced assembler could follow them and in two instances, they were downright wrong. Also, the diagrams need to be on the same sheet as the instructions, so you don't have to turn the page to see the instruction reference for each step.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Spent less--got less

08/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought going cheaper would be OK-- I now think it was a mistake.
As many others have mentioned in their review, there aren't enough screws to complete assembly. The screw/nut packaging lists the number of pieces that are needed before the shrink-wrap is applied and I imagine the person who fills this portion of the process simply adds the number that is printed on the packaging--the problem is the packaging number for part #25 is wrong as you will soon find out when you go to assemble. There may be other parts missing--I stopped assembly at that point and am deciding on what to do with a device I find lacking.
I also think it's misleading to say that there are 'multiple hand positions' for the pullup portion of this device. Moving your hands on the fixed handles either in or out shouldn't be considered 'multi-position.' You might get the idea as I did from the photos, where the pullup handles meet the larger, support arms, that the handles might pivot in and out--they do not. They should!--it would have been a really nice feature and would sell a lot more product.
In putting together this device, I find that the dip-bars are too far apart--for me @ 6'2".--and in my opinion, will put unnecessary strain on the outside of the arms.
I've owned a dip station before--sold when moved. The main thing that sold me on this one was the folding up of the dip arms. I would look for this feature on other models.
Another 'annoyance' is that the instruction(s) are one one page while the corresponding illustration is on the next page (on which lists the next steps to be followed.) Put them on the same page!
If I still had all the packaging, I might have considered returning. I will make it work though I wish I had bought something else.
As an added bonus the FedEx driver shoved this very heavy box off their truck and left it at the end of our sidewalk, next to the driveway. So thanks for that FedEx.
--
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Missing Parts and Damaged Product

03/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After receiving the Apex Power Tower with the box horribly damaged I opened it and there were parts missing so I was unable to use the product. Assembly seemed easy enough and the product itself looked like it would have worked. Site to Store shipping should be your only option
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

More than Expected!

04/10/2014
By ,
Los Angels Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice compact design, Strong and durable. Dip Bars fold up for room saving!
A minor draw back is that it didn't come with padded grips. However, if you have gloves, no biggie!
Other that! Dream come true! I gets my work-out-on with that one! Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Very good product

09/08/2014
By ,
Iowa park texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It work very well I've been using about 1week my abbs are showing better
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Great workout equipment

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched online and Walmart had this at the lowest price. It shipped quickly and was easy to assemble. It's good quality and is durable. The assembly instructions were easy to follow. The equipment is higher than I expected. I would recommend this if you want a good workout in the comfort of your own home. It's a perfect addition to my workout with weights. My only criticism is that the tricep handles can't be adjusted and are a bit far apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Best Value

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is so easy to assemble. Also very durable and strong. Only problem was that the contents were scattered and not in order. Looks like someone went thru it and left it like that. The nuts and bolts were also out of their box and scattered thru out the box. Everything was there though. Took only 25 minutes to assemble while drinking beer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

just what I needed

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect - easy setup; no muss, no fuss!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

awesome

08/23/2014
By ,
greeley colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always wanted one and I love this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Great Product for all ages.

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is sturdy enough to support more than 200 pounds. Better than lifting weights without hurting your back. I definitely would recommend this product to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

mostly a good product

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like others, I had bolts falling out of the package when it arrived but they were all accounted for. Instructions had one section that misidentified the 2 bolts that attached the lower support part to the upper but once assembled all the parts were in fact in the container. Very sturdy construction and a great value for a pull up/dip/abs station. would buy again and recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Incomplete Review

02/24/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My Power Tower arrived with a number of the bolts, washers, and nuts missing and I was unable to complete the Power Tower.
What I can say is that it seems to be fairly solid and that the assembled height is around 6'8", so don't get this if you have a low ceiling in your basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Price is very good

07/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very hard to assemble. Double-bar for push up is really too wide.
The price is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Worst company to buy from

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shipped me equipment that had wrong Manual and incorrect bolts. Waited over a week to get correct bolts and the Company gave me zero compensation. Also, within one week of minimal use, bolts are loose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Apex Power Tower: TC-1800

Apex Power Tower

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is great but hurts your hands for a week after you put the thing together. The problem I had was with the delivery service I got. The box was in very bad shape and with rips in it. The worst was that the nuts and washers got loose in the box and because the box was ripped some of the washers were lost. The product still went together great and works fine without the washers but still. I was disappointed in the delivery of my product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next