Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Marcy Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Marcy Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Average Customer Rating:
4.243 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(637 Reviews) 576
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
342
4 stars
200
3 stars
40
2 stars
18
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation90%571 out of 635reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
72 Questions | 536 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
342
4 stars
200
3 stars
40
2 stars
18
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Much More Than I Thought!!!!

11/08/2009
By ,
Detroit, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read several reviews on several websites about this product. When I received it, I was quite pleased with it, It took my husband barely 30 minutes to put it together. It looks good and the resistance levels are so easy to manage on the bike. This was a lot more than I expected for the small price that it was. If I had any drawbacks about it, I would say to invest in a seat cushion, because if you are riding the bike for more than 20 to 30 minutes like I do @ 2 times a day, you will have a sore rear end...lol Also, I have the bike on the hardwood floor, which makes it very unsteady when riding. I will be purchasing a floor mat to put underneath, but if your bike will be on a carpet area, then it will be fine. Good Luck with yours...I will be enjoying the workout on mine!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708
01/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this product online, and shipped it to the store. Just got it home and pulled it out of the box and the whole backside of the base is busted up. Not just a crack but pieces are broken off and several cracks are all over the backside. Someone had to have dropped the thing before it even went into the box, and shipped it anyways. Now I have to return it to the store, get my money back and reorder it online again. Not sure that I want to do this. Just to wait another week to get it and that one might be busted too. Very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Great Bike!

03/16/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this exercise bike even more than I thought I would. It's compact, easy to move and QUIET! It doesn't make any noise at all! I'm short, only 5', so I was afraid I wouldn't be able to get the seat low enough for me, but it's not a problem at all. I even raised it a notch or two from the lowest, and it's REALLY EASY/FAST to change the seat height! I highly recommend this bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

terrible clicking

03/30/2010
By ,
Fort Collins
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product worked perfect for two months and then one day while using it, a horrible thump/click started. after checking on the inside, saw that the belt tracks over and rubs against a piece of metal and causes the noise. after a while, the metal will eventually wear into the belt and destroy it anyway. managed to fix it but the problem reoccurred after a couple of days.
bummed, seemed like a great value and product. not sure if i should give it another go or try another product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Very Pleased

02/15/2011
By ,
Beach Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my purchase. Every day I have been working out on this exercise bike, and I feel so energetic. Assembly took two people to put together, but after all, its well worth the price. Will be purchasing a treadmill very soon.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Great Price Great Workout!

03/22/2011
By ,
Memphis TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't exercised very much before today, but I seem to have a lot of energy, I just put this bike together about an hour and a half ago, easy assembly took about 30 minutes, and I have done 4 miles already. I will complete one more mile before the night is over. Who knows maybe more. I am on a serious mission to drop about 30 to 40 pounds and I am so happy with my purchase. The machine is very compact and takes up little space. The seat can get a tad bit uncomfortable, but I just re-adjust and keep going or take a quick break from the bike while continuing to exercise. So far so good, I hope it continues to work well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Excellent product

10/20/2009
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I *highly recommend* this product. It's easy to put together (even for a single gal), VERY quiet, and a GREAT price, especially with the super cheap shipping options. Considering how much exercise equipment usually costs, the value of this bike is unbeatable. I've had it for a few months, and it gives me a nice low-impact workout on days I can't get outside. It's compact, and at only 5', it fits my small frame perfectly. I do recommend tightening all the hardware once a week. The computer is also very basic (I wish the screen lit up), but that's what I expect for the price. I also have a sneaking suspicion that the calorie counter is wrong (burning 600+ calories in an hour?!), but even if it's wrong by 50%, it's still a pretty good workout. If you're hesitating because my review is only the third, this product must have been listed before, because when I bought it a few months ago it had hundreds of reviews, and the average rating was four and a half stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Sturdy & stable, easy to assemble and move!

12/31/2013
By ,
Western Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this bike for two weeks after assembling it myself in a couple of hours. I put most of it together on a raised sofa so was able to attach the tension cord wires by putting the top tube on my shoulder when I needed two hands. I am 60 something, short, heavy & 9 months into recovery from bilateral knee replacement. I get on & off using a step stool, seated sideways on the ample seat & pivoting for the ride or dismount, using a nearby table for balance. The bike remains stable during all of this movement. The tension control works like it should - I noticed the first difference at setting 3. The electronic gauge works like it should also. The handle bars allow for riding either bent forward or upright & I can also ride upright without holding them with the bike remaining stable for any of these. The bike takes up very little space & is really easy to move by tipping it forward on the front wheels. It MORE than meets my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Just what I wanted and expected

09/04/2013
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had it a couple days, but here's the early review:
Came packaged well with no extra or missing parts. Pretty easy to put together alone though the directions recommend having someone help put the handle bar tower together because of the cable connection. All tools needed came with it. I was worried about fit as I'm a big guy (6-2, 275lbs) but I actually had to lower the seat from full extension (where I normally have to set things). Pretty sturdy as long as you tighten all the fittings correctly and I'm not getting any wobble while riding. The magnetic resistance is probably not resistant enough for hard core excercisers, but fine for most others. The only flaw is slightly inconsistent resistance while pedaling. Mine is very very quiet. Has a small footprint so it fits a lot of places. The seat is more comfortable than seats I've had on bicycles in the past but you can't expect your sofa cushion on an exercise cycle. I've only had it and used it for a few days so I can't speak to it's life yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Good for price and a beginner

12/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike for rehab of a bad knee. The reviews said it was quiet...and it is..very quiet!! It was fairly easy to put together, I did it alone in about 45 minutes. It's not heavy and can be moved easily to any room. The seat is uncomfortable, it feels hard, if you plan on spending any time on the bike. I suggest buying a padded cover with it. I changed the handle bars around so it suits me better, and that seems to work fine. I only gave it 4 stars because this bike is for people who are out of shape. It's hard for me to even work up a sweat at the hardest level. I'm a 53 year old bus driver who sits all day behind the wheel and I find this bike too easy right at the git go, but it should at least help mobility in my knee. If you are somewhat fit and looking for a bike for calorie burn, this is not that bike. Also it took forever to arrive. I used site to store, and it wasn't shipped until the date I was given for "delivery by", then it was another week before I could pick it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Great for the Price

02/09/2011
By ,
Summerville,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exercise bike gets the job done. When you buy cheap, you don't know what to expect sometimes. I'm a believer in "You get what you pay for!". This time I was wrong. This was my first time purchasing exercise equipment, so I am not an expert, but I can tell when something works. I don't think it was a waste of my money, unlike this Blu-Ray player I purchased a while ago from an unnamed company. (Replaced it with a Sony) Anyways, back to the review. I think the bike runs great. It has an 8 level tension control, but I don't go past 2 because that works well enough. The only problem I have with it is the orange and grey body is not hard. I stepped on it after I put it together and dented it on the first day. Also during installation there is a wire (not the display wires) that you have to connect to secure the handle bar frame. I had to unloosen a nut on it to make it long enough to connect to the top part. I had read that in another review. That was the only pain. It really works your legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Fantastic Bike=Worth Every Penny

02/09/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy this bike after some of the reviews, but I'm really glad I did.
PROS:
Easy to assemble
Great workout for your legs & butt - upright bike targets these areas, that's why the handles are made so you lean over. (Plus you can keep your arms bent or do push-ups when you slow cycle to give your legs a break & it works out your arms!) & regular old cardio
Completely Quiet
Great tension adjuster
Small size is perfect for my tiny apt. & I can watch tv & be done working out before I know it.
I don't have to put together a cute gym outfit, drive off in my car & sweat in make-up in front of strangers who are quietly judging me or waiting for me to finish.
$$$-Great Deal
CONS:
The seat is really HARD. I remedied this by wrapping a throw pillow in a sweater & putting that on the seat.
I'm pretty sure the calorie counter is being generous. Most research says you burn about 1/3-1/2 of what it says.
OVERALL REVIEW: I LOVE this bike & get a really great workout. I've been using it 40min/day for over a month & my body has firmed up noticeably. I could not be happier with this purchase & I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+192points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Good

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy enough to assemble (did it all by myself!), light weight and moves around easily, fits in a very small space for use in a crowded area (needed that!), very quiet. Everything works great. I would recommend this equipment to people who just want to sit quietly and have a mild workout. I would NOT recommend this equipment to anyone who is looking at building muscle or stamina - it isn't built for that purpose! I just needed something that would allow me to keep my legs moving while watching TV or talking on the phone. This is just right for a nice, light workout. And the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

small and lightweight

05/21/2013
By ,
Northern Okla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my third staionary bike and by far the smallest and lightest. I bought my first from Walmart 4 years ago and it lasted 2 years before breaking down to the point it wasn't practical to fix. I'd paid $150 for it so I felt like I had gotten my money out of it. Thinking that a more expensive bike would last longer, I bought one from Amazon for almost $400. It turned out to be a piece of poor engineering. Almost immediately I was having to weld on parts that broke and replace stripped bolts. When the crank broke in half last month I gave up and threw it in the trash. This time I decided to spend the minimum amount and just plan on only getting 2 years life out of one. This Marcy would probably be perfect for someone under 5'9" and under 175 lbs. It is actually very well made and well engineered. It's a snap to assemble. If you are smaller and don't want a strenuous workout, I highly recommend this stationary bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Marcy 708 exercise bike

12/02/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product that works perfectly. Light weight is a big plus for moving between places. The seat was somewhat wider than an ordinary bike seat. I find it fine despite what other reviews have said. Maybe Marcy updated it? Free home shipping was really fast. Assembly was a breeze -- and the tools are supplied, but does require two persons when assembling the cable. A trick they don't tell you in the instructions is that there is a small nut you have to adjust on the cable connection to allow enough play to connect the two sections together. Until you figure that out -- it's impossible! Other than trying to figure that - the rest took about 15 minutes to assemble. Sockets will really speed up the assembly process. The display unit is one of the best I've come across on a "basic" exercise machine. Overall -- an amazing deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Big value for a small fee

08/29/2010
By ,
Milwaukee,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did alot of looking and comparison shopping while looking for an exercise cycle, and getting the Marcy ME-708 was the way to go. First time using Walmart's "site to store" service and it couldn't have been easier. The box that the cycle came in was easy to load and would fit just fine in the backseat or trunk of an average compact car. Putting the cycle together was not a problem. Everything needed for assembly is included. If your able to read English, its not a problem. Assembly took me about 45 minutes, but, I was watching television at the same time. And speaking of watching television, I can use the cycle while watching t.v., break a sweat, and wear myself out without having to turn up the volume. The ME-708 is amazingly quiet. And the on board computer is very helpful in tracking calories burned, speed, distance, timer, etc. This cycle has alot of extras you'd expect from a higher priced unit. Padded handle bars positioned for upper body support to fullfill a good cardio workout and a not too uncomfortable padded seat.( its an excersise cycle, not an overstuffed sofa ) It's a good product for the money, and very user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

Great for the money

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great beginner's exercise bike. It's easy to assemble (assembly is nowhere near as complicated as the instructions make it look), and the bike is easy to use. Overall, it is great, especially for the price. It's small, so it doesn't take up a lot of room. I read a review before buying that mentioned something about a clicking sound developing after using for some time, and I think mine may be starting to do that, but it isn't a problem unless you're the kind of person who gets unstrung about those sorts of things. My only gripe is the seat - it's not particularly uncomfortable, but it is VERY hard. After a 30 minutes, twelve-mile pedal, my butt is the sorest part of my body. I suppose this could be remedied with a cushioned seat cover. I would caution users to pay attention to your balance as you ride. The bike is light - only about 40 pounds - so if you accidentally lean too hard in one direction, you run the risk of tipping over. But overall, great value for the money and a great way to "test the waters" to see if an exercise bike is the right tool for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

So far, so good!

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had an exercise bike...so Idk if I can be of much help, but here goes.
I put the bike together fairly easily and I've been doing 10 miles a day on it, but I've had it barely a week. It is very quiet and moves easily. I really hope it keeps doing this well. I really love it(so far). My fingers are crossed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

great bike

09/23/2012
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at many excercise bikes at Sears, Sports Authority, Big 5 and Walmart. I read all the reviews and really spent a good deal of time thinking about what I wanted and needed and how much I wanted to spend. I live in an apartment so I didn't want anything that would make noise for my neighbors to complain about. I didn't want anything big to take up space. I didn't need a fancy computer. I wanted something light I could move myself. Well this is it. I have had this excercise bike for a few weeks. I put it together myself in about a 1/2 hour. I ride while I watch TV for about 15-20 minutes. I hope to ride it longer but I'm out of shape! The seat is wide and fairly comfortable, I found some of the skinny seats really uncomfortable, but this one is good. You cannot ride it barefoot, I tried and my feet really hurt the next day.
Basically if you want an affordable lightweight excercise bike this is it. I bought mine for $99 free shipping to store and it's the best 100 bucks I've spent all summer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Marcy Upright Exercise Bike: ME-708

A Decent Stationary Bike

06/25/2013
By ,
North Adams, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bike a great deal. It's easy to assemble, but the features that mean the most to me are its ease of use and that it holds the user in a natural position. My previous stationary bike held me in an unnatural position, setting my feet out in front of me. Riding this bike is much like riding an actual bicycle, which makes it easier to handle a workout of any useful length. I have arthritic knees, so I appreciate how little I have raise my foot to get myself into position to get on the seat and get to work.
What I don't like is that the handle bars are not like those on a real bicycle; rather they are vertical and high. Also the computer has "easy, one button control." What's easy about that? I don't care about calories used, elapsed time or the other things this computer rotates through. What I want it to show me is how far I've gone, period. It seems to me that "easy control" would be exactly that.
That being said, on the whole, I'd recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a good, basic stationary bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 577 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next