Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Celestron Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Celestron Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

The Celestron 21024 Telescope has been named an official product of the International Year of Astronomy 2009. Being portable and lightweight, this Dobsonian style tabletop telescope is great for anyone who is interested in understanding the universe around us. This portable telescope features a 76mm reflector optical tube that makes it ideal for beginner astronomers. The names of the scientists and astronomers who have involved in the great invention of the Celestron telescope has been marked on all sides and corners of the device, as a token of appreciation and salute to them. This lightweight telescope, weighing just 69oz is easy to transport and store.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation84%26 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Would not recommend

01/14/2010
By ,
Fort Madison
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our 8 year old. This product is not what they say it is. IT'S JUNK. You can't see out of it. Trying to look through the lens isn't any different with the cap on. We can't even see across the street with this telescope. You just aren't able to see anything out of this. I would not recommend this telescope. You will be very disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Aptly-named, great first scope

01/06/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6-year-old daughter just got this for Christmas, and despite the mostly cloudy sky, we took it out in the cold and looked up at the half moon. We were impressed at our ability to see the craters and other features. Out of curiosity, I aimed my cell phone camera into the eyepiece and got a few shots. I've also since learned about taking a webcam, removing its lens, and attaching it to a 35mm film canister to create a digital eyepiece with USB interface! Haven't tried it yet, but certainly plan to.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Great Value!

01/07/2010
By ,
Kingston, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was purchased as Christmas gift for my 8 year old son. My husband seems more impressed than my son, but both are enjoying it. We've seen creators on the moon and lots of stars. I think we've managed to locate a nebula, but it just looks like a glowing mass at this point. We bought this telescope after reading a very helpful review on Amazon.com from someone who knows more about telescopes than I. He recommends buying a Barlow and better eye pieces - "celestron plossl: the 15mm first, then try something in the 4, 6 or 9mm range." We have not done this, but when it gets warmer, we certainly will. He also did not recommend the accessory kit, but we have found that it is very hard to locate specific items in the sky and I think the spotting scope from the accessory kit would help with this; we are also going to try that in warmer weather. Overall, we are pleased with the purchase and for the price, you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Very Nice for the Money

12/01/2009
By ,
Bedford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that this telescope is an excellent value for the money. We purchased it for our 5 year old, and we chose this one for several reasons - I was concerned with other telescopes that they could be easily bumped and moved from what was being looked at, but this telescope "locks in" with the turn of a knob. It is fairly light (I would trust my 5 year old to carry it), and it is easy to focus. Other telescopes in this price range were all on tall easels, and were junky - all made of plastic and wobbly. This telescope gave us the portability and ease of use for a child, and great value for the money that we were looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Amazing Starter Scope!

01/09/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The market has needed something like this for a long time. It's an amazing value for the price! I got it for my five year old aspiring astronomer daughter, and within six or seven minutes on our first viewing session, we experienced the moon in magnificent detail with both lenses, and saw Jupiter with five of it's moons! Amazing clarity for a 76mm scope. Crystal clear optics! Easy, well made controls and mount, and for less than $50! I've been into astronomy for about twenty years, and have never had an experience like this with a small scope for four times the price, and Celestron is a trusted, respected name in optics. It was the perfect scope for my daughter's first, with no fear of insufficient size, poor-quality optics, or difficulty of use discouraging even a five year old from a lifelong journey through the universe! It also has room for expansion with optional filters and lenses, as it uses the standard 1.25" size. A+++!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Great telescop

12/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson as a beginner telescope. I have two telescopes that I used and decided to try this one out before I sent it to my grandson. I love it, it's portable, I can take it with me when I go somewhere and I'm getting one for myself. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Stargazing

01/08/2010
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Site to Store for my husband for Christmas. The delivery was speedy and is an exceptionally easy way to receive merchandise. My husband and I enjoy stargazing so I ordered this telescope for him. He loves it! It was a bit confusing because the insert sheet shows a CD and tote which we thought were part of the package, so we returned the first one and ordered another one. I had to contact the manufacturer directly to find out that is part of an accessory kit that's sold separately. It was disappointing not to have more info on the best use of the telescope in locating planets & star systems, but overall I'd highly recommend it for the amateur star gazer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

great gift

10/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is 8. This is the best way to start out for her age, for any age really. The price cant be beat for the quality of the product. I was impressed with how well you can see moon craters and stars for the cost of this and size. Awesome starter
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Pretty nice beginner scope

09/19/2010
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My child and I enjoy looking at the moon and it is really clear. Not the greatest but for the price pretty easy to use and fun.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

grandson loved this

05/07/2010
By ,
quinlan, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this telescope for my 7 year old grandson. It was a great buy and my grandson loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope
01/11/2010
By ,
Salisbury, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this as a present for my 13 year old daughter. She loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Easy to use

01/04/2010
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my nephew and he is really enjoying it. This was the best value for the money for someone just starting out. We told him we would make additions to the telescope once he got comfortable with using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Good for kids

01/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great product for my daughter, she is 7 years old. We can see the moon and some of the starts with a lot of clarity.
I guess this is a good product if you are new to watching the sky.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Great Starter Telescope

10/14/2010
By ,
Whitehall Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my grandson who is 5 years old.
He must use it with his father because of age but he enjoys looking and finding stars..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Better than expected

01/10/2010
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves this little telescope. It is very easy to set up and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Very Impressive

12/23/2009
By ,
Monticello, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of all the telescopes, this has got to be the greatest deal available on earth. The price is great and the quality is world class. I would recommend this product to anyone who enjoys astronomy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope
05/18/2010
By ,
Greenville SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband and grandkids really enjoy star gazing, good value for just starting out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

Great Telescope

12/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this telescope. It's easy for the whole family to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

My greatgrandchildren love it!

02/15/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My great-grand children look thru it almost
every evening, they love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope

AWESOME!!

01/01/2010
By ,
corpus christi, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this product for my kids. I found myself enjoying it more then them. it is small and portable and provides great viewing of any celestial objects you like. the product can be upgrade with new eye pieces and other stuff from the manufacture website. i would recommend this to a novice star viewer like myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next