Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Equate Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%48 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Best Minoxidil on the Market!

11/07/2011
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok first I want to say that seeing my hair line recede in my twenties is no fun, but I refuse to just watch it continue. Now I have tried many products with mediocre results, but this stuff really works. I am not trying to give anyone false hope, but out of all of the products I have tried this one gave me the best results. I can honestly say that for it works better than the brand name stuff that’s name begins with an R. This is truly a special product, because I have tried other generic minoxidils’ and they can’t compare to this. One thing that I have noticed is that those other brands are primarily made in Canada, but this one is made in Israel. I think that this may have a lot to do with its effectiveness, so Wal-Mart please don’t change distributors, formulas, or anything about this product. If you need a product like this please look past the brand name stuff and give it a try, you’ll be surprised at how well it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Working for me

05/12/2011
By ,
Niagara Falls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's see... I had a pretty full head of hair in my late 30's but I started to notice a general thinning of my hair at the vertex/crown and at the front in my early 40's. In November 2010, I started using Equate Extra Strength as well as washing my hair twice weekly with Nizoral Shampoo.
When I first started using Equate, I experienced "shedding", which is a normal reaction where you notice an increase in hair falling out (nothing too drastic, mind you, but a few more strands than usual were left in my hands after lathering). After a few weeks, the shedding stopped and by 2 months I noticed new hair growing in the thinning areas. The new hair was finer, which again is a normal experience for most folks that experience hair regrowth.
It's now been 6 months since I started and I just bought 2 more 3-month supplies. The new hair is thicker now and my hair is quite a bit fuller than it was. I am very pleased with the results.
For those that are thinking of trying this product, do not expect instant results (in fact, prepare for that first inevitable shed). Applied regularly and properly over the course of 4 to 6 months you should start to see noticeable results.
Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Niagara Falls
Some pictures
Posted 12/01/2011
Not sure if Walmart allows linking to offsite images or not, but here are a couple of pictures from Dec. 1, 2011, after using the product for just over a year. Normally, I style my hair with gel, but I took these pictures just after showering and blow drying to provide a more realistic idea. The lighting is a bit on the brighter side and tends to allow light to reach the scalp in the thinning areas, but overall you can see that the coverage is quite good.
Crown/Vertex:
http://shup.com/shup!/538810/2011-12-01-1.jpg
Front/Temples:
http://shup.com/shup!/538811/11111111020-mail-2592%D71944-Google-Chrome.jpg
0points
Customer Avatar
Niagara Falls
One year later
Posted 12/01/2011
Well, it's been one year using this product regularly and I can definitely say that I have experienced hair regrowth. Prior to using the product, I noticed that the strands of my hair at the front were quite thin and fine compared to other areas where I wasn't experiencing hair loss. My hair is definitely thicker and fuller than one year ago and my crown and frontal areas do have new growth. It's not like it was 10 years ago, but noticeably better than 1 year ago. If I had to guess, the coverage in the thinning areas has gone from about 60-70% coverage to 85-90% coverage, but with slightly thicker strands.
As it stands, this product has stopped my hair loss and provided some regrowth as well as thicker strands of hair and I will continue to use and recommend it.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Outstanding Product!

08/09/2010
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered Equate, I had doubts that it would work to re-pave the open expanse at the top of my head. Boy! Was I wrong! I have been using it twice a day per instructions for just about a month. For several days now, I have been taking time to say Good Morning to the multitude of little silver hairs that cover my once bald pate like newly-sprouting grass on a lawn. Not only is this stuff effective, but it also is inexpensive - especially when compared to the cost of using Rog****. If your skin is bursting through the thinning hair at the top of your head, this is the product to try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

I like better than Name brand Rogaine

06/17/2010
By ,
Lompoc, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually like this, Equate, better than the name brand Rogaine. It seems to work better, keeping hair roots healthy, and better value as well. And the foam products just make a mess, for no reason, getting more on the hair than the scalp. This product works the best, and the dropper puts the product right to the scalp where it's needed. Only slight drawback is hair can tend to dry out, but some other hair products could help with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

It does indeed work

05/26/2012
By ,
Boulder City, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using this some 15 years ago because I was seeing more and more hair in the shower drain. I still had a pretty good head of hair but I read that you get the best results if you start using it before you lose too much. It actually improved the look and feel of my hair over time. Over the years my hair stayed full while all my friends were growing bald spots on top.
My barber was the one who first told me about Equate so it's the only version of minoxidil I've ever used. It saved my hair plus a whole lot of money over the years by not going with Rogaine. I'm 61 now, my hair has turned from brown to almost white, which I think looks better. I apply it only only once a day at bedtime instead of twice like they recommend and that seems to work well for me. Of course, your results may vary.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Do not doubt this product.

02/14/2012
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first purchased a one month supply of the more expensive brand of Minoxidil on another website. I liked it but did not want to pay double to what the Equate brand is selling at. I have finished my first 3 months with this product and am so pleased, my hair is thicker i have sprouts coming up everywhere on my crown! and let me tell you, this also worked for me at my hair line.. This stuff is fantasitic! Believe me because I was sooo skeptial! If u want hair back...get out your cheap wallet and spend $20 on this product. U have very little to lose and so much to gain! :D
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

better than other generics

06/30/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
been using for years, switched to costco brand and saw hairloss. switched back immediately. good value and works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

GOOD VALUE

08/12/2011
By ,
LONG ISLAND NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I TRIED ROGAINE BUT SAW NO DIFFERENCE AT ALL. TRIED USING EQUATE AND IT SEEMS TO WORK. THE PRICE IS ALSO ABOUT 70% LOWER FOR EQUATE. I TEND TO USE IT ONCE A DAY IN AM BUT I USE A LIBERAL AMOUNT BECAUSE IT IS LESS EXPENSIVE THAN ROGAINE. IT LASTS 3 TO 4 MONTHS. DECENT PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct
05/10/2011
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for a great price. Was cheaper than purchasing in store.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

It works!

07/22/2011
By ,
Manhattan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my doubts but his stuff really works. I noticed a difference in about 2 weeks. My hair is thicker now and less is falling out. I also see a difference in the front of my hair line which it says does not work in that area but I have seen a difference in the overall appearance of my hair. Great product and much better priced than the name brand R****ne.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct
04/02/2012
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 67 years old. Every time I brushed my hair it was coming out in the hair brush... I started using this Equate and after only a few weeks I could see new hair growing in at my temples and little by little the hair stopped falling out. It has the same ingredients as Rogaine and its about a fourth of the price. I did not like the foam because I have long hair and it was harder to get on my scalp... but I am a female and use the product for men... this stuff works and very well. I bought some for my husband who has some hair loss and he can't believe how great it works and also for my son who has the bald spot in back and receeding hairline... It really is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Can't Go Wrong

01/20/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it can't be beat. I've been using it semi-regularly for a couple of weeks now and noticed a substantial decrease in the rate my hair was falling out, but if you stop, it'll start falling out just as fast if not faster. That's not a knock against this, thats true even of the name brand, but for the price, i can afford to stay on it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Seemed to work instantly

07/23/2012
By ,
Manchester PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my husband (age 26) who has a family history of hair loss, and is in remission from non-Hodgkin lymphoma. As does mostly everyone who deals with chemotherapy, he lost almost all of the hair on his body- especially his head, and when it did grow back, his hereditary baldness was much worse.
After him feeling so self conscious about his hair loss, I decided to try to do something about it. His bald spots are on the back of his head as well as the top. When We received to box in the mail it said it would most-likely work only on the back of the head. To our surprise though, it seems to be growing back in all areas of his head- and not believing him when he told me he thought his hair was growing back the very next week, I just had to see for myself. The box said that it could even take up to the four month mark to really notice a change in the hair so I couldn't believe that there really was light peach-fuzz type hair already growing back onto his scalp.
Even though this product is not a long lasting solution for hair loss and I'm sure the results will very with this product and will depend on the person, I'd say to just give it a try. It is MUCH less expensive than the Rogaine brand and my husband and I really like this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Great for the Price

10/06/2011
By ,
NY Metro
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find that this does help with the hair loss I have in little patches. It makes my hair dryer than the Walgreens generic and my hair sheds in small amounts with this brand. I am giving it a chance because it is a great price point and I can see new growth and my little warn away patch is all filled in. Walmart is the lowest price point for this product possible and that is why I will give it a six month trial to see if this is my new replacement.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

It works !

08/02/2012
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first took some pictures before I started using this product. Three (3) months into using it, it looked like it was working but it was kind of hard to see, took more pictures. Six (6) months of use and you can tell a big difference, took more pictures. I compaired all the pictures and you can clearly see a big difference, this stuff works. Compaired in price to others that claim to do the same, this product is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct
05/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish is was foam like Rogaine, but it works just as well and is half the price
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct
01/11/2013
By ,
Princeton nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As effective, or better, than any others i've tried and can't come near the value in pricing.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

Lost much of remaining hair

06/05/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you're over 50 with slow growing hair you may want to pass on this. The initial shedding started after a few weeks but I gave up on it because my hair is thinning just about everywhere. I'm not going to continue to use it hoping it will magically start growing hair when even hair in the back is thinning.
After reading some forums I realized that even if hair grows back it will continue to cycle from growth to shedding. As someone said this stuff should not be FDA approved.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct
06/08/2013
By ,
stafford,va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
used for past 9 months and it works. some shedding at first continued to use and had significant improvement in hair regrowth in last 4 months. make sure scalp is dry for application, use twice a day as instructed. I applied 5mg dose to crown and top of scalp . crown has noticeable regrowth and top of scalp to hairline has full regrowth. not recommended for top of scalp but it worked. does leave oily residue on hair but the key here is "on hair".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Extra Strength For Men Hair Regrowth Treatment,1 ct

It takes time but it works

06/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought did not think it was going work, use the product with discipline and if it really works my hair grew back where I had begun to lose, it's not magic but work must be patient and disciplined to use it, is a bit dropper uncomfortable, I would have preferred a spray, but the best way to use the exact dosage is a dropper, I recommended it and buy it for my father in law and started using it I hope you have the same results as me, and will know the results when I have to do the review
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next