Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

The South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed maximizes the available space in a child's bedroom or guest room. You can also use this bed as a permanent fixture in a playroom or den to accommodate unexpected overnight guests. The comfortable South Shore twin platform bed can be used with or without a box spring. The elegant yet simplistic design blends in with almost any decor. You can add your own special decorative touch to the white twin platform bed with your choice of bedding and linens. The bed looks great at any angle, because it's not limited by a headboard and footboard. With translucent rubber corners, this South Shore twin platform bed is very safe. The easy to assemble furniture item comes complete with a 5-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.754 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(387 Reviews) 311
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
110
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation77%296 out of 386reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
110
3 stars
61
2 stars
38
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Pretty Awesome

12/05/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought the 4 set and it looks pretty good although I still haven't received my desk yet and it's been about 3weeks+ everything else looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
10/26/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two beds for my grandsons in Knoxville, TN. Not what I expected. The photograph is a lot better than the actual item. The frame in the picture is nothing like the actual item. The bed we received is very low to the floor. Nothing like the item pictured. When I first received the picture, I thought it was the box that the bed arrived in. Very disappointing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Bed

07/04/2010
By ,
az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i read the reviews before i bought this bed so i knew what to expect. I really like the rating system on here, because you have people who own the product that can give you some real expectations on the value of what you are looking to buy. We were already prepared based on the reviews stating that the bed was very heavy when assembled so we put it together in my daughters room, and thank goodness we did because it is heavy. One thing that was strange was that you have to nail the top part where the mattress sits, on by your self . There are no holes or anything. You have to guess and use your own perception to make sure it is straight. It gives you a little wooden square block to measure right...weird. Another thing i was prepared for was that the wood would show under the mattress when it was on there....so we had to paint it...we had re painted my daughters room so we just used some paint we had left over...now it looks good. Im really not sure why they wouldnt paint this white...other than that it was what i had expected it to be. Not bad for $92. Over all when the bedding is on it, its a nice bed. Hope this helps someone looking to buy :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect for our Little Ones First Big Girl Bed

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from the FED EX man delivering this with one piece of particle board cracked. I was able to assemble and it seems as it will last far longer than we will need it to. Went together easily, I did it myself with out hubby's help. This is a perfect low first bed, we transitioned from crib to this and it seems little one is happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Stay away

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed came in multiple pieces and would leave you wondering where to start.just when you though it could'nt get any worst it came without any screws. Had to return it to the store which cost more money to rent a cargo van.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Would not buy again

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed is made of super cheap particle board. One corner arrived damaged. The bed comes apart. Exposed parts show the particle board and not white.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

This bed is great for smaller spaces.

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed does not need a box spring. It keeps the bed closer to the floor. It was very simple to put together. With our 8" memory foam mattress, it is only 18" off the floor. It worked perfectly for our space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Sturdy and Pretty!

04/18/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of skeptical when I purchased this, just because the price was so amazing I figured it wouldn't be very good quality, but it is AMAZING! The reason i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars though is because when putting the actual frame/border of the bed together, the holes to put the screws in didn't go all the way through the wood, so I had to push it through myself which took quite a bit of effort. But besides that, I couldn't be happier with this bed! My twin mattress fits perfectly on it! And although it took a couple of hours to put together, I did it all by myself and I'm only 15! So overall, this bed is great and I would definately recommend you get it! Great price, great quality, and great look!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Nice, basic, no frills platform

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were very easy to assemble but are definitely a two person job. The boxes are long and too heavy for one (average) person. Its a shame that Walmart and Fedx botched this order. I will never order online from Walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

looks better in the picture

07/08/2014
By ,
boston
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's ok if you plan on getting something better eventually, but for temporary use its fine
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT OPTION FOR YOUR $

01/17/2010
By ,
WASHINGTON STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED 2 OF THESE BEDS FOR MY TWO BOYS AGES 13 & 5, OURS DID NOT HAVE THE TOXIC SMELL OTHERS SPOKE OF, THEIR COMMENTS MADE ME A LITTLE HESITANT TO PURCHASE, BUT FOR THE PRICE I TOOK MY CHANCES. MY KIDS WERE THRILLED WITH THEIR NEW BEDS & SO AM I, THEY WERE ALSO EASY TO PUT TOGETHER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Just not that good

05/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bed works and functions fine, but it just isn't all that great. It is just a square frame with plywood nailed on top to form a platform for the bed. I did have low expectations with the price, but it still was a little bit disappointing. The boards weren't cut straight so the bed is a little off too. It took a while to assemble. All in all, it works to just have something to sleep on, but I would save a little more money to get something else that looks better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT Bed!!!!

03/10/2011
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old daughter. It was a great purchase. price was good, quality was good-- I would lay in bed with her to read :-)
I would recommend it to EVERYONE! I also did NOT have any chemical smell or difficulties upon receipt of the product.
I would recommend having a second set of hands to assemble-- my husband and I are not handy and we had no difficulties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Disappointing

12/12/2009
By ,
Meridian, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my toddler's room. I liked the moderrn platform look and the height off the floor. The price was attractive, especially for a toodler room. The box was pretty heavy so I figured that it must be pretty sturdy. Upon opening the box I noticed a heavy scent. It smelled sort of new/chemical like. I assumed that it would decrease once it aired out. The scent is still holding strong. Now I got to research it to see if it's hazardous or not. It would be so much trouble to try to take back to the store.... I thought it would be a cute addition to the bedroom but now it's turning out to be a headache. I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, FL
Smell
Posted 07/16/2013
Ours had the same smell.. assumed it was just the wood or the glue that they use for the particle board.. it goes away eventually.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
06/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no odor like other reviews said, they (I bought 2) were easy to put together and look great for a kids room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great affordable platform bed

03/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews before buying this bed and most people are very happy. I can agree with the other happy reviewers. Bed went together easily, doesn't sit too high off of the floor so my 4 year old daughter can climb into bed no problems. The only downside is the boards that the mattress sits on are not painted, so the brown shows through just a little bit. That was a super easy fix with a coat of paint. Other than that, no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect set up for my 4 year old daughter

11/16/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bed for not a lot spent, very sturdy, and not to hard to put together, is easiest with 2.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

painful

09/02/2010
By ,
Burlington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bed for my teenage daughter. The bed was fairly easy to put together. There isn't anything to keep the mattress from sliding off the platform though. The edges have already gashed everyone's shins or knees. The 2 little rubber pads that they give to put at the corners came off the first time anyone brushed up against them. It is a cheap bed and from a distance, looks nice. I can't recommend it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

TOXIC GARBAGE DO NOT BUY IT

11/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once assembled it is VERY heavy to move around - also the wood composite sticks out around the perimeter of the mattress which looks terrible - also the wood composite SMELLS TOXIC - it is horrible - do not buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect for my little girl

03/06/2014
By ,
Richmond. VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes the corners are sharp..use the corner peices included in package. Wonderful sturdy bed. Pretty heavy. I put together myself in 35 minutes.My 3 yr. old loves it. Plus its only 8 inches tall so not to far of a drop if you were to roll off :-) I am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 312 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next