Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

The South Shore Smart Basics Platform Bed is ideal for a kids' or guest's bedroom with limited space. This twin platform bed is 39" and has a flat panel surface to eliminate the need for a box spring. This south shore platform bed is made from laminated engineered wood and this bed goes well with any dcor with its elegant design. For a more coordinated look, team it up with the Logik and Crystal collections' headboards. Besides just looks and durability, this bed offers safety owing to its translucent rubber corners. The bed can be assembled easily, and this is one of the key factors you should look for.
Average Customer Rating:
3.784 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(348 Reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
99
3 stars
57
2 stars
34
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation78%270 out of 347reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
99
3 stars
57
2 stars
34
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Pretty Awesome

12/05/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought the 4 set and it looks pretty good although I still haven't received my desk yet and it's been about 3weeks+ everything else looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
10/26/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two beds for my grandsons in Knoxville, TN. Not what I expected. The photograph is a lot better than the actual item. The frame in the picture is nothing like the actual item. The bed we received is very low to the floor. Nothing like the item pictured. When I first received the picture, I thought it was the box that the bed arrived in. Very disappointing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Bed

07/04/2010
By ,
az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i read the reviews before i bought this bed so i knew what to expect. I really like the rating system on here, because you have people who own the product that can give you some real expectations on the value of what you are looking to buy. We were already prepared based on the reviews stating that the bed was very heavy when assembled so we put it together in my daughters room, and thank goodness we did because it is heavy. One thing that was strange was that you have to nail the top part where the mattress sits, on by your self . There are no holes or anything. You have to guess and use your own perception to make sure it is straight. It gives you a little wooden square block to measure right...weird. Another thing i was prepared for was that the wood would show under the mattress when it was on there....so we had to paint it...we had re painted my daughters room so we just used some paint we had left over...now it looks good. Im really not sure why they wouldnt paint this white...other than that it was what i had expected it to be. Not bad for $92. Over all when the bedding is on it, its a nice bed. Hope this helps someone looking to buy :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great affordable platform bed

03/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews before buying this bed and most people are very happy. I can agree with the other happy reviewers. Bed went together easily, doesn't sit too high off of the floor so my 4 year old daughter can climb into bed no problems. The only downside is the boards that the mattress sits on are not painted, so the brown shows through just a little bit. That was a super easy fix with a coat of paint. Other than that, no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect for my little girl

03/06/2014
By ,
Richmond. VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes the corners are sharp..use the corner peices included in package. Wonderful sturdy bed. Pretty heavy. I put together myself in 35 minutes.My 3 yr. old loves it. Plus its only 8 inches tall so not to far of a drop if you were to roll off :-) I am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Sturdy and Pretty!

04/18/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of skeptical when I purchased this, just because the price was so amazing I figured it wouldn't be very good quality, but it is AMAZING! The reason i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars though is because when putting the actual frame/border of the bed together, the holes to put the screws in didn't go all the way through the wood, so I had to push it through myself which took quite a bit of effort. But besides that, I couldn't be happier with this bed! My twin mattress fits perfectly on it! And although it took a couple of hours to put together, I did it all by myself and I'm only 15! So overall, this bed is great and I would definately recommend you get it! Great price, great quality, and great look!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Serves it's purpose

02/21/2014
By ,
Killeen, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to put together, sturdy..overall good value. It does, however, sit very low to the ground.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT OPTION FOR YOUR $

01/17/2010
By ,
WASHINGTON STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED 2 OF THESE BEDS FOR MY TWO BOYS AGES 13 & 5, OURS DID NOT HAVE THE TOXIC SMELL OTHERS SPOKE OF, THEIR COMMENTS MADE ME A LITTLE HESITANT TO PURCHASE, BUT FOR THE PRICE I TOOK MY CHANCES. MY KIDS WERE THRILLED WITH THEIR NEW BEDS & SO AM I, THEY WERE ALSO EASY TO PUT TOGETHER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT Bed!!!!

03/10/2011
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old daughter. It was a great purchase. price was good, quality was good-- I would lay in bed with her to read :-)
I would recommend it to EVERYONE! I also did NOT have any chemical smell or difficulties upon receipt of the product.
I would recommend having a second set of hands to assemble-- my husband and I are not handy and we had no difficulties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect set up for my 4 year old daughter

11/16/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bed for not a lot spent, very sturdy, and not to hard to put together, is easiest with 2.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Disappointing

12/12/2009
By ,
Meridian, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my toddler's room. I liked the moderrn platform look and the height off the floor. The price was attractive, especially for a toodler room. The box was pretty heavy so I figured that it must be pretty sturdy. Upon opening the box I noticed a heavy scent. It smelled sort of new/chemical like. I assumed that it would decrease once it aired out. The scent is still holding strong. Now I got to research it to see if it's hazardous or not. It would be so much trouble to try to take back to the store.... I thought it would be a cute addition to the bedroom but now it's turning out to be a headache. I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, FL
Smell
Posted 07/16/2013
Ours had the same smell.. assumed it was just the wood or the glue that they use for the particle board.. it goes away eventually.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Nice

03/04/2014
By ,
Buffalo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
06/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no odor like other reviews said, they (I bought 2) were easy to put together and look great for a kids room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

O.k

02/26/2014
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not come out how I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great value

02/24/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Don't buy for a little one

02/17/2014
By ,
Manteno, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 year old. I used the measurements from the website to determine how the mattress would lay on top of the platform - even though a standard twin and this share the same length, beware the corners on the end stick really far out. Not good for a little kid!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

painful

09/02/2010
By ,
Burlington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bed for my teenage daughter. The bed was fairly easy to put together. There isn't anything to keep the mattress from sliding off the platform though. The edges have already gashed everyone's shins or knees. The 2 little rubber pads that they give to put at the corners came off the first time anyone brushed up against them. It is a cheap bed and from a distance, looks nice. I can't recommend it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Solid value furniture

01/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This piece has a weird look to it and unles you cover the entire mattress with your comforter, you will see visible particle board. It sits very low to the ground so be sure and look at the measurements before you buy it. Also, one of the long board frames was broken and we had to wait over a week for the replacement board. Overall, the price was fine for the quality fo the furniture. It is solid and a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

TOXIC GARBAGE DO NOT BUY IT

11/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once assembled it is VERY heavy to move around - also the wood composite sticks out around the perimeter of the mattress which looks terrible - also the wood composite SMELLS TOXIC - it is horrible - do not buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great bed

02/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bed for price. My daughter loves it. Wish the platform was white but other than that excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 273 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next