Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

The South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed maximizes the available space in a child's bedroom or guest room. You can also use this bed as a permanent fixture in a playroom or den to accommodate unexpected overnight guests. The comfortable South Shore twin platform bed can be used with or without a box spring. The elegant yet simplistic design blends in with almost any decor. You can add your own special decorative touch to the white twin platform bed with your choice of bedding and linens. The bed looks great at any angle, because it's not limited by a headboard and footboard. With translucent rubber corners, this South Shore twin platform bed is very safe. The easy to assemble furniture item comes complete with a 5-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.708 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(414 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
114
3 stars
65
2 stars
41
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation75%309 out of 413reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
114
3 stars
65
2 stars
41
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Pretty Awesome

12/05/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought the 4 set and it looks pretty good although I still haven't received my desk yet and it's been about 3weeks+ everything else looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
10/26/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two beds for my grandsons in Knoxville, TN. Not what I expected. The photograph is a lot better than the actual item. The frame in the picture is nothing like the actual item. The bed we received is very low to the floor. Nothing like the item pictured. When I first received the picture, I thought it was the box that the bed arrived in. Very disappointing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Bed

07/04/2010
By ,
az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i read the reviews before i bought this bed so i knew what to expect. I really like the rating system on here, because you have people who own the product that can give you some real expectations on the value of what you are looking to buy. We were already prepared based on the reviews stating that the bed was very heavy when assembled so we put it together in my daughters room, and thank goodness we did because it is heavy. One thing that was strange was that you have to nail the top part where the mattress sits, on by your self . There are no holes or anything. You have to guess and use your own perception to make sure it is straight. It gives you a little wooden square block to measure right...weird. Another thing i was prepared for was that the wood would show under the mattress when it was on there....so we had to paint it...we had re painted my daughters room so we just used some paint we had left over...now it looks good. Im really not sure why they wouldnt paint this white...other than that it was what i had expected it to be. Not bad for $92. Over all when the bedding is on it, its a nice bed. Hope this helps someone looking to buy :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Mimmie did it Herself!!!

12/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two beds and was waiting for someone to come put them together...but I was to excited...so I did it myself... and had no trouble...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Sturdy and Pretty!

04/18/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of skeptical when I purchased this, just because the price was so amazing I figured it wouldn't be very good quality, but it is AMAZING! The reason i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars though is because when putting the actual frame/border of the bed together, the holes to put the screws in didn't go all the way through the wood, so I had to push it through myself which took quite a bit of effort. But besides that, I couldn't be happier with this bed! My twin mattress fits perfectly on it! And although it took a couple of hours to put together, I did it all by myself and I'm only 15! So overall, this bed is great and I would definately recommend you get it! Great price, great quality, and great look!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great for small children

11/26/2014
By ,
Clarendon, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bed as an early Christmas for my five year old. It's low to the ground and was easy to set up even though the box was somewhat heavy, but what would you expect with a wooden bed inside? Highly recommended for children transferring out of toddler beds.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

perfect for a little kids bed!

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It wasn't near as hard to put together as I thought! It turned out very cute. My only con: I bought it when it was 99 and not 95. ;)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT OPTION FOR YOUR $

01/17/2010
By ,
WASHINGTON STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED 2 OF THESE BEDS FOR MY TWO BOYS AGES 13 & 5, OURS DID NOT HAVE THE TOXIC SMELL OTHERS SPOKE OF, THEIR COMMENTS MADE ME A LITTLE HESITANT TO PURCHASE, BUT FOR THE PRICE I TOOK MY CHANCES. MY KIDS WERE THRILLED WITH THEIR NEW BEDS & SO AM I, THEY WERE ALSO EASY TO PUT TOGETHER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great bed for small price

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is sturdy, and is perfect for my 11, and 12 year old boys, very easy to put together, first one took about 30 min, second about 20, and no need for box springs, which is more savings☺️
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT Bed!!!!

03/10/2011
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old daughter. It was a great purchase. price was good, quality was good-- I would lay in bed with her to read :-)
I would recommend it to EVERYONE! I also did NOT have any chemical smell or difficulties upon receipt of the product.
I would recommend having a second set of hands to assemble-- my husband and I are not handy and we had no difficulties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Disappointing

12/12/2009
By ,
Meridian, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my toddler's room. I liked the moderrn platform look and the height off the floor. The price was attractive, especially for a toodler room. The box was pretty heavy so I figured that it must be pretty sturdy. Upon opening the box I noticed a heavy scent. It smelled sort of new/chemical like. I assumed that it would decrease once it aired out. The scent is still holding strong. Now I got to research it to see if it's hazardous or not. It would be so much trouble to try to take back to the store.... I thought it would be a cute addition to the bedroom but now it's turning out to be a headache. I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, FL
Smell
Posted 07/16/2013
Ours had the same smell.. assumed it was just the wood or the glue that they use for the particle board.. it goes away eventually.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
06/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no odor like other reviews said, they (I bought 2) were easy to put together and look great for a kids room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Great value. All you need is a mattress.

08/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived very quickly at my door with free shipping. I had to carry it upstairs in pieces because the box was quite heavy. The set up went well. As we were using it on a carpeted floor, we did not use the felt squares to protect the flooring. The only negative I have is that the flat part where the mattress goes is actually 3-4 inches wider than the mattress. This leaves a ledge on either side which is unfinished particle board and not white. This is unattractive and also a little dangerous to scrape your calf on when getting out of bed. If I had realized this prior to assembly, I would have left the middle piece out to make it narrower, but then some of the holes for the screws would not have matched up with the frame. Overall, my daughter loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

painful

09/02/2010
By ,
Burlington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bed for my teenage daughter. The bed was fairly easy to put together. There isn't anything to keep the mattress from sliding off the platform though. The edges have already gashed everyone's shins or knees. The 2 little rubber pads that they give to put at the corners came off the first time anyone brushed up against them. It is a cheap bed and from a distance, looks nice. I can't recommend it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

TOXIC GARBAGE DO NOT BUY IT

11/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once assembled it is VERY heavy to move around - also the wood composite sticks out around the perimeter of the mattress which looks terrible - also the wood composite SMELLS TOXIC - it is horrible - do not buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

good for little girls

10/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use it for my 18 yr old not quite the fit I expected
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

This bed is great for smaller spaces.

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed does not need a box spring. It keeps the bed closer to the floor. It was very simple to put together. With our 8" memory foam mattress, it is only 18" off the floor. It worked perfectly for our space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Disappointed.

12/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I picked this bed up today from the store. When we got back with it and put it together this did not look like the picture or a bed at all. It honestly looked like I went to Menards, bought some particle board, painted it white, and screwed it together. Which mind you if I had done that I would have spent about 70$ less and still got the same look. To me this did just not look like a bed at all. Needless to say tomorrow after work we are taking it apart and taking it back to the store and we have already picked out a new bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect for our Little Ones First Big Girl Bed

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from the FED EX man delivering this with one piece of particle board cracked. I was able to assemble and it seems as it will last far longer than we will need it to. Went together easily, I did it myself with out hubby's help. This is a perfect low first bed, we transitioned from crib to this and it seems little one is happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

love it!!

05/20/2011
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved everything about it!! great height for my growing 3 year old, very sturdy and completely easy to put together. I do recommend having another person there to help you built it and make sure to build it in the room you plan to have it in because it is pretty heavy. yes, the particle board does show, but a little paint won't hurt it. that's exactly what my husband and i did and it's wonderful!! great deal and find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 339 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next