Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

South Shore South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

The South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed maximizes the available space in a child's bedroom or guest room. You can also use this bed as a permanent fixture in a playroom or den to accommodate unexpected overnight guests. The comfortable South Shore twin platform bed can be used with or without a box spring. The elegant yet simplistic design blends in with almost any decor. You can add your own special decorative touch to the white twin platform bed with your choice of bedding and linens. The bed looks great at any angle, because it's not limited by a headboard and footboard. With translucent rubber corners, this South Shore twin platform bed is very safe. The easy to assemble furniture item comes complete with a 5-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(446 Reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
122
3 stars
70
2 stars
41
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation74%330 out of 445reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
122
3 stars
70
2 stars
41
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Pretty Awesome

12/05/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought the 4 set and it looks pretty good although I still haven't received my desk yet and it's been about 3weeks+ everything else looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Review 2 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
10/26/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two beds for my grandsons in Knoxville, TN. Not what I expected. The photograph is a lot better than the actual item. The frame in the picture is nothing like the actual item. The bed we received is very low to the floor. Nothing like the item pictured. When I first received the picture, I thought it was the box that the bed arrived in. Very disappointing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 3 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Bed

07/04/2010
By ,
az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i read the reviews before i bought this bed so i knew what to expect. I really like the rating system on here, because you have people who own the product that can give you some real expectations on the value of what you are looking to buy. We were already prepared based on the reviews stating that the bed was very heavy when assembled so we put it together in my daughters room, and thank goodness we did because it is heavy. One thing that was strange was that you have to nail the top part where the mattress sits, on by your self . There are no holes or anything. You have to guess and use your own perception to make sure it is straight. It gives you a little wooden square block to measure right...weird. Another thing i was prepared for was that the wood would show under the mattress when it was on there....so we had to paint it...we had re painted my daughters room so we just used some paint we had left over...now it looks good. Im really not sure why they wouldnt paint this white...other than that it was what i had expected it to be. Not bad for $92. Over all when the bedding is on it, its a nice bed. Hope this helps someone looking to buy :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+103points
Review 4 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Sturdy and Pretty!

04/18/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was kind of skeptical when I purchased this, just because the price was so amazing I figured it wouldn't be very good quality, but it is AMAZING! The reason i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars though is because when putting the actual frame/border of the bed together, the holes to put the screws in didn't go all the way through the wood, so I had to push it through myself which took quite a bit of effort. But besides that, I couldn't be happier with this bed! My twin mattress fits perfectly on it! And although it took a couple of hours to put together, I did it all by myself and I'm only 15! So overall, this bed is great and I would definately recommend you get it! Great price, great quality, and great look!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 5 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Disappointing

12/12/2009
By ,
Meridian, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my toddler's room. I liked the moderrn platform look and the height off the floor. The price was attractive, especially for a toodler room. The box was pretty heavy so I figured that it must be pretty sturdy. Upon opening the box I noticed a heavy scent. It smelled sort of new/chemical like. I assumed that it would decrease once it aired out. The scent is still holding strong. Now I got to research it to see if it's hazardous or not. It would be so much trouble to try to take back to the store.... I thought it would be a cute addition to the bedroom but now it's turning out to be a headache. I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, FL
Smell
Posted 07/16/2013
Ours had the same smell.. assumed it was just the wood or the glue that they use for the particle board.. it goes away eventually.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT Bed!!!!

03/10/2011
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bed for my 7 year old daughter. It was a great purchase. price was good, quality was good-- I would lay in bed with her to read :-)
I would recommend it to EVERYONE! I also did NOT have any chemical smell or difficulties upon receipt of the product.
I would recommend having a second set of hands to assemble-- my husband and I are not handy and we had no difficulties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

GREAT OPTION FOR YOUR $

01/17/2010
By ,
WASHINGTON STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED 2 OF THESE BEDS FOR MY TWO BOYS AGES 13 & 5, OURS DID NOT HAVE THE TOXIC SMELL OTHERS SPOKE OF, THEIR COMMENTS MADE ME A LITTLE HESITANT TO PURCHASE, BUT FOR THE PRICE I TOOK MY CHANCES. MY KIDS WERE THRILLED WITH THEIR NEW BEDS & SO AM I, THEY WERE ALSO EASY TO PUT TOGETHER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 8 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White
06/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no odor like other reviews said, they (I bought 2) were easy to put together and look great for a kids room
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 9 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Good for the price

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the Price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect Platform

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brought this platform for my daughter and she loves it. The Japanese style platform she was dying for perfect product for a teen
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Very Disappointed.

12/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I picked this bed up today from the store. When we got back with it and put it together this did not look like the picture or a bed at all. It honestly looked like I went to Menards, bought some particle board, painted it white, and screwed it together. Which mind you if I had done that I would have spent about 70$ less and still got the same look. To me this did just not look like a bed at all. Needless to say tomorrow after work we are taking it apart and taking it back to the store and we have already picked out a new bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 12 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

wrong size?

01/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered twin and the platform is over 6" too wide for mattress. We were worried that our kids would hurt themselves getting in and out of bed so we had to take out the middle panel and move the other panels closer together so the platform wasn't sticking out all around. Still need to cut the middle piece and put back in so there isn't a space in the platform. We first thought they had sent us a full platform but that would have been too small. Complete hassle. Should have spent the extra money and gotten a better platform or just made our own. We weren't expecting much for $95 but pretty much a waste and corners are sharp and plastic piece fell off 2 days after we put together.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

love it!!

05/20/2011
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved everything about it!! great height for my growing 3 year old, very sturdy and completely easy to put together. I do recommend having another person there to help you built it and make sure to build it in the room you plan to have it in because it is pretty heavy. yes, the particle board does show, but a little paint won't hurt it. that's exactly what my husband and i did and it's wonderful!! great deal and find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

painful

09/02/2010
By ,
Burlington, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bed for my teenage daughter. The bed was fairly easy to put together. There isn't anything to keep the mattress from sliding off the platform though. The edges have already gashed everyone's shins or knees. The 2 little rubber pads that they give to put at the corners came off the first time anyone brushed up against them. It is a cheap bed and from a distance, looks nice. I can't recommend it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

pretty good for the price.

01/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The top boards holding the mattress are not white so i have to keep the sides covered. Its also very easy to tear through the wood screwing the frame together. Otherwise, it's pretty sturdy and well priced and free shipping is a plus, the box is pretty heavy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

TOXIC GARBAGE DO NOT BUY IT

11/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once assembled it is VERY heavy to move around - also the wood composite sticks out around the perimeter of the mattress which looks terrible - also the wood composite SMELLS TOXIC - it is horrible - do not buy it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+14points
Review 17 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Perfect set up for my 4 year old daughter

11/16/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bed for not a lot spent, very sturdy, and not to hard to put together, is easiest with 2.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Only for vertical from the wall

08/31/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought the bed to sit horizontal along the wall and was surprised to see the back of the frame was unfinished. If you are sitting the bed verictical from the wall you wont have an issue, but in any other direction you will see particle board.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 19 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Awesome Bed

12/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my teen age daughter she loves it. The corners are sharp. Will need to put corner pads. Good price for the quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for South Shore Smart Basics Twin Platform Bed, White

Disappointing

06/14/2011
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Because of the price, I bought two of these beds. This bed is under $100, which is what I needed for my 6&7 year olds; however, the bed uses six pieces of wood for the base with a three-part top. With my limited experience with a skill saw and without doing the exact measurements, I could have built this bed with (2) 1x8x16, a sheet of plywood and a box of wood screws for a total cost of about $37. With that said, that's about how much the finished Walmart product looks like it cost.
Not to mention it took two weeks for them to ship. I put one together and sent the other back.
Save your money.
Note to those who buy, the screw holes don't match up on the headboard. Make sure you use a drill bit to pre-drill a hole before you try to screw it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 371 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next