Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

This model offers 1080p HDMI upconversion with one-cable connectivity to your compatible HDTV. It can play DVDs and CDs, as well as MP3 music and JPEG photos that have been burned onto CD-Rs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation75%61 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

A pleasant surprise for the money

11/18/2009
By ,
Hatfield, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little guy is my primary DVD player! It plays everything I put into it and the optical/coaxial outputs do surround sound perfectly. The 1080 upconverted HDMI-out gives me a perfect picture even on a 1080p 37" tv. It had a brief problem with the video-scan in HDMI (but still played alright with standard A/V hookups), but somehow fixed or reset itself by just disconnecting the HDMI and using the composite output a few times (it looked like a progressive/interlaced scanning conflict that reset itself either in my set or in the unit).
The best testimony is that I bought a Blu-Ray player to replace it, but returned the Blu-Ray because it couldn't play all my disc formats and the surround sound was available only through the HDMI connection (even the optical-out only delivered l+r stereo!). And I didn't even notice the "improvement" in the picture! Also, it's so cheap I can run it into the ground and just buy another-or-two for backups. A diamond in the rough!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Review 2 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Ubelievable value for the money!

12/17/2009
By ,
Texas, unfortunately
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like others have mentioned, the price of the player is right one: Less than $50 and it upscales DVDs and plays back a wide variety of data files.
Though the box only mentions Divx playback, I got it to play MPEG, VOB and a variety of AVI encoded with Divx, Xvid and other methods. They all played without any issue. It was incredible.
The upscaling of the player, though not the best I've ever seen, is still excellent. Find a nicely encoded DVD and it will almost make it look like it's displaying in true HD.
Finally, it also displays pictures from disc. Unlike HD video files(see next paragraph), the picture playback will allow you to view pictures of any given size. Not only that but you can actually resize and rotate them. Even has some nice transition effects.
The only downside to any of this is that the player will not run video files encoded at 720p or higher(gives you a "resolution not supported" error), thus killing true HD playback. Also, it doesn't include an HDMI cable...but, really, you can get one at Big Lots for $2.99 so that's not that big of a deal.
All in all, one of the best deals out there for those not ready to start all over with the HD discs, or go through the time and effort it takes to set up an HTPC(Home Theatre PC). Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Best $45 spent

11/28/2009
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older Philips dvp and have been totally in love with it. Bought this one to give as a Christmas gift
took it home and this one does just like my other one. Plays AVI files that are burned onto Cds or DVDs. Looks great on my 65" tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Review 4 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Just as Good!

11/13/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After weeks of comparing products, the Philips DVD Player did everything I wanted for the price I was looking for. With easy set-up and hassel free directions you'll be watching you favorite movies in no time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 5 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

good deal

12/23/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally was looking for a 5 disc changer.The one I first ordered had terrible reviews.All the way around.Seen this and quickly canceled the first order.
Being that I already have over 200 Divx formatted movies and they are widely available on the internet,why not.This saves me from having to go back and forth to the video store.I have a 50 in. tv and the quality of viewing with this player is on par.The up-convert works well with commercial DVD's also.
What I enjoy most is having 4-7 Divx formatted movies on one disc.No need for a brand with disc changing options.
This plays mpeg1&2 with no hitches(vcd,svcd).
The quality of your converted movies always depends on the software you choose.I have used many and found that some freeware works well.
There's many for Window's.Few for Linux.Freestar works well on Ubuntu 8.04 when converting to Divx to maximize movies on disc.
For the price,this player has great options.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

barely lasts a year

03/09/2010
By ,
New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first this was a wonderful product, now it has barely been a year and the dvd player will not read any dvds or cds. It keeps making a horrible grinding sound. It is not worth the price paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Buyer beware!!

03/16/2010
By ,
Buckeye Nation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Philips DVP3982/F7 is not a good product. We bought on Cyber-Monday for a family Christmas present and I hooked it up a couple days before New Years. It worked great until this weekend when the menu screen turned a bright fluorescent orange. When we started the movie it was bright orange and purple (a friend commented it looked like a bad acid trip). I googled this situation and got several hits-- apparently a common problem with this model. But when I emailed Philips they told me to check the online FAQ's for a solution (none) then told me to check out their warranty policy. Nice. Like I'm going to spend 14 hours of my time haggling about a warranty claim on a $50 DVD. You got me! Lesson learned...no more Philips products. I'm taking it back to Wal-mart tonight to see what they'll do. Wish me luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Disappointed!!!

02/07/2010
By ,
Rogers, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We initially bought this product as an immediate solution to spacing issues. Before too long the player's color turned to, like a, photo negative. We promptly returned the product a got the same for a replacement considering the qualified name. To our insurmountable, the very same issue happened again. I will not be wasting my time and money on this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Great Value

03/16/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product two weeks ago and have been quite impressed with it thus far. I did a mild amount of research before actually going in-store to look at it. I'm a college student so price was a big factor. I'm also however very materialistic as well, no off brand products for me. I was unsure at first but after realizing that this product was only $5 more than the next cheapest product (a non upscaling Sony DVD player) I made the decison to buy. I've owned Philips products before and all worked flawlessly. It's light, quiet and has an intuitive menu. It has A/V HDMI and coaxial (not optical FYI) ports. My only concern would be that it's not stackable mainly because of it's dimensions but also because it's case is not very rigid. Yes, there are better upscaling DVD players than this one, but none are as good a value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Greatly Disappointed

04/04/2010
By ,
Greeley, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this player in Sept 09 and thought it was great! It was a great price and worked just fine - played anything we put in it. Then....all of a sudden a couple of weeks ago it just quit playing the video. We had just watched a movie earlier and was putting a movie in for this kids for the evening and it wouldn't play the video. The audio still worked but the video became a screen of orange, purple and white stripes - like the old nighttime tv days...was going to contact Phillips but after reading another review figured it was pointless. Won't be buying another phillips. I bought a cheap memorex on Black Friday in 2008 that is still working - how disappointing that this phillips would barely made it six months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Junk

12/05/2009
By ,
Council Bluffs, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound started skipping on my player after about a year. The picture also goes out sometimes and will not come back on until you unplug and replug it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 12 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7
12/23/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The player stopped reading discs altogether after 4-5 USES.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Best DVD player for the money!

12/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The up con version of DVD is the best that I have seen. The bonus feature is that it play jpeg images off of the internet at better than hoped for quality. I was so impressed that I bought one for my brother for Christmas.
You can even watch jpeg images that were recorded on a CD.
All those tiny jpeg images that can be down loaded from the web can be watched on your TV.
Brings new life to old DVDs with the upvert feature of existing DVDs.
Also has the best play back from your home recorded DVDs.
I am very satisfied and would highly recommend this model!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Great Bargain

12/30/2009
By ,
Washington, D.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player is really a great bargain for the price. Though Wal-mart has raised the price point from $39.99 to $44 and some change, it's still most likely the cheapest DVD player out there. What makes this DVD player different from the rest is its ability to play AVI files and upconvert regular DVD's to High Definition, though the HDMI cable will set you back almost half the price of the DVD player itself. All-in-all, for the size and price, it is a great deal. I highly recommend it and have bought quite a few of these for my family & friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Disappointment

05/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this dvd player based on the great recommendations on 2-25-10. Easy set up. Put the dvd in and the cover to the player broke right off. I wasn't bothered by it as the color and movies played so well. We probably used it maybe 10 times and then Avatar came out so we bought it and played the movie. It played it in a orange, purple pink color. Tried several movies and it was the same picture. Really too bad as I did like it in the beginning. Thanks goodness we still have the 90 day warranty so we'll be taking it back and trying a different modle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Not expected

04/28/2010
By ,
Southern IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned the Philips DVP 5990 for about 8 months now and had previously owned 3 other phillips dvd products prior. This one I am disappointed in as I cannot use it anymore. I get errors that say no disk, and the support I received was bad, I have the chat transcript, and phone support after waiting forever, only recommended that I call a repair shop. I would have expected that 1 year would be a decent amount of time for a product to last used properly. I was wrong, won't buy another Phillips Product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Useless Piece of Junk - Frooze after few DVDs

03/10/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would henceforth never buy a Philips DVD Player. I including 3 other people that I know of had the same experience with this model wherein it would stop playing the DVD after a few minutes of play time. I had hardly used this DVD player. I have an unknown brand player which works for a long time.
Recommends this product? No
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

Not Worth the Money

04/25/2010
By ,
Rockaway, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit in April of 2009. It stopped working on January 2010. It may be inexpensive, but it should last at least a year.
when I called Philips because the unit was overheating and shutting off, I was told they couldn't help me and I should buy a new one. I will buy a new one, but you can bet it won't be made by Philips.
This is just a lousy product with lousy customer support. Stay away!
Even when it worked, it was very slow loading movies and responding to the remote control.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

not worth the money

12/19/2009
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this for my 1080i tv to convert to the more desirable 1080p. the picture was no better than my original non-HD dvd player. then some remote buttons stopped working, batteries replaced, still problems. then the sound went but no fear, i could plug it into my stereo and had sound. until that went too. this is the second Phillips product i have had problems with. If you are looking for a short term DVD player then this may work for you but don't expect it to last more than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 20 for Philips DVD Player with Upconversion & DivX Ultra, DVP3982/F7

So far so Great

01/29/2010
By ,
Wayne Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these for my home and both get used everyday. Sound and picture are great and it plays every format I have used thus far.
On the downside I purchased another for a Christmas gift this year and it worked great for a week or two but now every dvd pauses and skips. When you try to open the player it sits for about 5 minutes before it pops out.
Overall I am pleased with this and will have the problem child returned for the same model to see what we get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next