Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Responding to the need for an easy-to-use machine that takes care of the smaller yards, the Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower offers power with the convenience of an electric lawn mower. With the Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box, no gas, oil, or tune-ups are necessary. This Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box features an easy pushbutton that safely engages mower operation. Plus, this Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower has a compact design that makes this it easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. With a powerful 12-amp motor, this Sun Joe electric mower mows a 14" (36cm) wide path in one pass. Durable steel blade cuts with precision. Provides an instant electric start. Hard-top rear bag collects and stores grass clippings while detaching easily for convenient disposal. This 14-inch lawn mower is ETL-approved and carries a full two-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(545 Reviews) 465
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
341
4 stars
134
3 stars
32
2 stars
15
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation92%499 out of 545reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 377 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
341
4 stars
134
3 stars
32
2 stars
15
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Everything I expected it to be!

12/04/2012
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, easy to handle, a must have. Immediately after receiving it, my son set it up. Took him less than fifteen minutes. It was easy to start, easy to manuever. The grass catcher was great. It was like using a vacuum cleaner except less noisy. A must have if you have a small yard. Only set back is the cord. You just need to be careful and try to keep cord over your shoulder. Will recommend it anytime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My Little Bug

08/25/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+303points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My first lawnmower!

06/20/2013
By ,
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car!
It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

LOVE THE MOWER

06/10/2010
By ,
Kent, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com.
Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub.
So far, I am highly pleased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great product for small jobs.

04/04/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
2 year warranty
Posted 10/20/2014
I did not read that this mower had a 2year warranty so I purchased a 2year warranty for $19.
Will that make it four years of warranty?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

An ergonomic mower

07/22/2009
By ,
Califronia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P
and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+154points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great Value

08/16/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Decent for the price

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's small but fairly powerful. Very maneuverable but since the body is totally plastic it can twist when you adjust the wheel height. Mine has 1 wheel off the ground when it's at the highest setting ... they are all on the ground on the middle setting. Doubtful you want to use the low wheel setting unless you're trying to totally remove your grass and have bare dirt. I don't like the fact you have to use the bagger unless you rig the back flap to stay open. If you do that you get pelted with anything and everything shooting out of the mower. Could be dangerous - definitely painful. The bagger is very small. When they say it's for small lawns they should really say it's for postage stamp sized lawns. But so far I can't complain - if you're looking for something a bit sturdier or with some bells and whistles you definitely do not want this mower - it's very basic. For home lots in most states in smaller metro areas it really isn't big enough. Major metro areas with small lawns would be best.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Good Mower

03/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipped fast and was assembled in a matter of minutes! I have to be honest I was a bit worried because when we first started, the grass had gotten quite high, we have a bunch of weeds throughout the grass AND because of previous gophers the lawn is "hilly" but this little mower still did a great job. We've had it for a month but our grass grows pretty fast so we use it once every week. Haven't had a problem yet! Its not too loud so that's nice and it has a basket in the back to catch the grass. I have a medium size front yard and a good size back yard and this mower flows through the grass smoothly with no issues. The basket is a bit on the smaller side so you will have to dump it every 2-2 1/2 rows or so but we don't mind it. It has two settings. The lowest level with mow the grass practically down to the dirt if that's what you need and the second level will leave you a short, yet still good amount of grass. I'm happy with my purchase! You DO NEED a heavy duty cord which I also bought from Walmart. Other than that you're good to go or "mow" rather :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment

08/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual.
The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

I love my Mow Joe!!!!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Pleased with this purchase

03/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Clean it and Treat with Respect and it Runs & Runs

04/12/2015
By ,
Mid - West
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My yard is 8 ft by 15 ft this is the perfect lawn mower. It is not a heavy duty mower! I have to pick it up and carry it (light weight) to the backyard because I do not want to push it over the rocks on the way to the backyard grass. I am careful not to let the grass get too high. I always empty the grass bag, check all the nuts and bolts to make sure nothing fell off while I was mowing, and wipe it clean. I saves me the $30 the local yard man wants to mow each time. It takes up little space in the garage. It make like noise. I is easy to start. It is easy to put together. The customer service in NY was very helpful. They sent me a nut that was missing in the box within days of notifying them. It took like 15 minutes to put the mower together.
Make sure the grass catcher is attached properly. It is easy to remove and empty. I have a little yard so the bag is usually only 75% full once I mow the yard.
Mower paid for itself quickly. It is nice not to have to put gas in the lawn mower. I use 2 extension cords with 2 prongs, a medium weight cord.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

HappyMower

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really really like this little mower. It is the first of its kind I have had. I got the 100 ft cord, no messing around. It is easy to put together, it has pictures and directions, easy to pick up and put away. Has a lot of power, my grass was 8 to 10 inches high and it cut right thru it. I have a small yard and I think I dumped the grass catcher about 15 times. Mow your grass once a week and u might have to dump it 4 times if u have a small yard. I have no problem with the grass catcher staying on as some has mentioned. I was very awkward with it the first time I used it, not used to the cord, and dealing with the tall grass it is less frustrating if u follow the patteren in the booklet. Also the handle u have to hold down to keep it running, my hand got tired and I put a Velcro wrap around it and that seems to help. I think the biggest thing to get used to is the cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Very good electric lawn mower!

07/08/2011
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this lawn mower for a little over a month now. I have a fairly average size yard in NJ with a little less than 1/4 acre lot. I used to use a Craftsman lawn mower with Honda gas engine, it was more powerful than this electric one but I couldn't stand the smell of gasoline and exhaust fumes. It does take a bit longer to get the job done due to the smaller blade size, only about 14" compare to the 21" I had with the Craftsman. But this little machine is extremely light with only about 30 lbs., mostly made out of plastic, not sure how long will it last but they seem durable for now. The cord can get in your way when you mow the lawn but if you plan out carefully with the pattern you are going the cord isn't a big concern. The bag is not very big so you need to empty out frequently but it is reasonable due to its size. Overall I'm very happy with it and will no longer use a single drop of gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

nice little mower

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like the mower wish it mulched instead of bagged. one of the bolts that I screwed together during assembly came apart but i had a spare in the garage. make sure you check the bolts before mowing to avoid this. other wise a great mower. I would buy it again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Tiny but does the job

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As long as I don't let the lawn grow too tall, it works great. It is a little small, but does a nice clean cut. You have to lean the lawn mower back to let it get to full speed, before you can drop it down. Otherwise, works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great for SMALL, low-maintenance yards

04/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Out of the blue, my yardman quit me and the grass & weeds took over in no time at all. I have a relatively small yard, so I bought this machine and it got the job done --although there was a LOT of stopping and starting over again due to the height of the grass. The grass catcher bag filled up quickly, so I soon abandoned it. If you don't use the bag, be prepared to have grass spewed up all over your legs and feet. Again, the grass in my yard was really tall... 8" - 10". Now that I've got the lawn mowed down to a reasonable height, I'm sure that this mower will be all I need and will definitely use the grass catcher bag in the future. Overall, I am very pleased with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Love the cutie

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the perfect size for my small grassy area. I keep it in a storage unit and transport it in my pickup. I am sixty and it is very easy to lift into the bed of my truck. It is also easy to push across the lawn.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

I love my little mower

04/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going on its 4th season and still going strong! The catch bag is small, so have your lawn cart handy and then you'll make less trips to the compost. I don't mind having to empty it often because it's easy to do and I like when the mower is at its lightest. The only issue I have with this mower is that because a lot of it is plastic, bits do vibrate loose, so be sure to tighten everything up before beginning your work or you will be gridding off the yard to find a bolt. You soon learn the best pattern for cutting your particular yard that gives you the least amount of cord-adjustment AND best of all no stinky gas or moody pull-cranks.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 466 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next