Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Responding to the need for an easy-to-use machine that takes care of the smaller yards, the Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower offers power with the convenience of an electric lawn mower. With the Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box, no gas, oil, or tune-ups are necessary. This Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box features an easy pushbutton that safely engages mower operation. Plus, this Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower has a compact design that makes this it easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. With a powerful 12-amp motor, this Sun Joe electric mower mows a 14" (36cm) wide path in one pass. Durable steel blade cuts with precision. Provides an instant electric start. Hard-top rear bag collects and stores grass clippings while detaching easily for convenient disposal. This 14-inch lawn mower is ETL-approved and carries a full two-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(578 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
365
4 stars
140
3 stars
32
2 stars
15
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation92%529 out of 578reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 378 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
365
4 stars
140
3 stars
32
2 stars
15
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Everything I expected it to be!

12/04/2012
By ,
McAllen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, easy to handle, a must have. Immediately after receiving it, my son set it up. Took him less than fifteen minutes. It was easy to start, easy to manuever. The grass catcher was great. It was like using a vacuum cleaner except less noisy. A must have if you have a small yard. Only set back is the cord. You just need to be careful and try to keep cord over your shoulder. Will recommend it anytime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My Little Bug

08/25/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+308points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My first lawnmower!

06/20/2013
By ,
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car!
It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

LOVE THE MOWER

06/10/2010
By ,
Kent, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com.
Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub.
So far, I am highly pleased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great product for small jobs.

04/04/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
2 year warranty
Posted 10/20/2014
I did not read that this mower had a 2year warranty so I purchased a 2year warranty for $19.
Will that make it four years of warranty?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

An ergonomic mower

07/22/2009
By ,
Califronia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P
and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great Value

08/16/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Decent for the price

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's small but fairly powerful. Very maneuverable but since the body is totally plastic it can twist when you adjust the wheel height. Mine has 1 wheel off the ground when it's at the highest setting ... they are all on the ground on the middle setting. Doubtful you want to use the low wheel setting unless you're trying to totally remove your grass and have bare dirt. I don't like the fact you have to use the bagger unless you rig the back flap to stay open. If you do that you get pelted with anything and everything shooting out of the mower. Could be dangerous - definitely painful. The bagger is very small. When they say it's for small lawns they should really say it's for postage stamp sized lawns. But so far I can't complain - if you're looking for something a bit sturdier or with some bells and whistles you definitely do not want this mower - it's very basic. For home lots in most states in smaller metro areas it really isn't big enough. Major metro areas with small lawns would be best.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment

08/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual.
The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Good Mower

03/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipped fast and was assembled in a matter of minutes! I have to be honest I was a bit worried because when we first started, the grass had gotten quite high, we have a bunch of weeds throughout the grass AND because of previous gophers the lawn is "hilly" but this little mower still did a great job. We've had it for a month but our grass grows pretty fast so we use it once every week. Haven't had a problem yet! Its not too loud so that's nice and it has a basket in the back to catch the grass. I have a medium size front yard and a good size back yard and this mower flows through the grass smoothly with no issues. The basket is a bit on the smaller side so you will have to dump it every 2-2 1/2 rows or so but we don't mind it. It has two settings. The lowest level with mow the grass practically down to the dirt if that's what you need and the second level will leave you a short, yet still good amount of grass. I'm happy with my purchase! You DO NEED a heavy duty cord which I also bought from Walmart. Other than that you're good to go or "mow" rather :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

I love my Mow Joe!!!!

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Pleased with this purchase

03/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Dynamite Mower!

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was afraid it would take longer to mow, since this mower is thinner than my old gas mower. But I actually get done faster - it's lighter to use and gets into places the gas mower wouldn't; gets closer to objects than my old gas mower. Also, it's so light weight that I can easily mow the hills in my yard; whereas I couldn't mow them previously - too hard pulling the old mower up and down the hills. I did worry about the electrical cord; and the first time I used it took some getting used to mowing in a different pattern. By the second time I used it, no problem at all. I actually look forward to mowing now, where before I hated it. And it does a dynamite job - my lawn now looks like those in magazines - smooth and even cut; best looking lawn in the neighborhood. Never thought I'd have such a nice looking lawn, just from a mower. Would highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Clean it and Treat with Respect and it Runs & Runs

04/12/2015
By ,
Mid - West
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My yard is 8 ft by 15 ft this is the perfect lawn mower. It is not a heavy duty mower! I have to pick it up and carry it (light weight) to the backyard because I do not want to push it over the rocks on the way to the backyard grass. I am careful not to let the grass get too high. I always empty the grass bag, check all the nuts and bolts to make sure nothing fell off while I was mowing, and wipe it clean. I saves me the $30 the local yard man wants to mow each time. It takes up little space in the garage. It make like noise. I is easy to start. It is easy to put together. The customer service in NY was very helpful. They sent me a nut that was missing in the box within days of notifying them. It took like 15 minutes to put the mower together.
Make sure the grass catcher is attached properly. It is easy to remove and empty. I have a little yard so the bag is usually only 75% full once I mow the yard.
Mower paid for itself quickly. It is nice not to have to put gas in the lawn mower. I use 2 extension cords with 2 prongs, a medium weight cord.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Very good electric lawn mower!

07/08/2011
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this lawn mower for a little over a month now. I have a fairly average size yard in NJ with a little less than 1/4 acre lot. I used to use a Craftsman lawn mower with Honda gas engine, it was more powerful than this electric one but I couldn't stand the smell of gasoline and exhaust fumes. It does take a bit longer to get the job done due to the smaller blade size, only about 14" compare to the 21" I had with the Craftsman. But this little machine is extremely light with only about 30 lbs., mostly made out of plastic, not sure how long will it last but they seem durable for now. The cord can get in your way when you mow the lawn but if you plan out carefully with the pattern you are going the cord isn't a big concern. The bag is not very big so you need to empty out frequently but it is reasonable due to its size. Overall I'm very happy with it and will no longer use a single drop of gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

So Far Sp Good

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for your money. I bought the 2 year plan as well. Cannot go wrong with having a guaranteed working lawn mover for $70 a year. With gas one it cost half as mush just to keep it tunes up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

HappyMower

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really really like this little mower. It is the first of its kind I have had. I got the 100 ft cord, no messing around. It is easy to put together, it has pictures and directions, easy to pick up and put away. Has a lot of power, my grass was 8 to 10 inches high and it cut right thru it. I have a small yard and I think I dumped the grass catcher about 15 times. Mow your grass once a week and u might have to dump it 4 times if u have a small yard. I have no problem with the grass catcher staying on as some has mentioned. I was very awkward with it the first time I used it, not used to the cord, and dealing with the tall grass it is less frustrating if u follow the patteren in the booklet. Also the handle u have to hold down to keep it running, my hand got tired and I put a Velcro wrap around it and that seems to help. I think the biggest thing to get used to is the cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

First impressions aren't always the best

10/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a small cabin which sits on a nice size lot. We don't have a lot of grass (more like weeds) and my husband has been using a gas powered weed wacker to mow the "lawn" a couple of times a year. He decided to do some research to find an inexpensive mower which he could use instead of the wacker.
The order was placed on-line and a few weeks later, we received notice it was available for pick up at our local Wal-Mart. Easy.
First impression when opening the box ... uh oh -- big mistake. This thing is all plastic and won't handle the job. Assembly was pretty easy for a do-it-yourselfer. The hardest part was raising the cutting height (moving the wheels).
Second impression upon using the mower ... great deal and great value! It cut through the tall grass, grinding up pine needles and pine cones with ease. Our lot has plenty of small rocks and they weren't a problem at all. The bagger holds a lot! It's easy to use and handle.
We really like the fact that it's an electric mower since we don't have a garage and it's stored in our basement. No need for more gas. Just make sure you have plenty of cord and avoid it when mowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Powerful little machine!

10/17/2012
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I unpacked mower, I was concerned about it as it looks like a toy. However, after assembling handle and bagger, perhaps 10 minutes, we were up and running. Not a toy!!! As my grass was a bit higher than I normally let it get, as my old lawn mower had died and factoring in shipping on this one, I thought I had made a mistake getting something so small. Obviously, it did take a bit longer than normal to finish the lawn, as I had to stop more often to empty bag, but I was astounded at the power of this little mower! When I re-cut it a few days later, it was a snap! I had reservations regarding the dragging around of the extension cord, but after a few minutes getting the hang of flipping it around to keep it out of my way, I had a system going, and it serves me well. All in all, I would recommend this mower highly to anyone who would prefer to not use gas, and doesn't mind a smaller cut. You don't have to baby it, it just goes!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

It works wonderful

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wished, I would have bought one sooner
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 499 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next