Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Responding to the need for an easy-to-use machine that takes care of the smaller yards, the Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower offers power with the convenience of an electric lawn mower. With the Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box, no gas, oil, or tune-ups are necessary. This Sun Joe Lawn Mower with Grass Box features an easy pushbutton that safely engages mower operation. Plus, this Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower has a compact design that makes this it easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. With a powerful 12-amp motor, this Sun Joe electric mower mows a 14" (36cm) wide path in one pass. Durable steel blade cuts with precision. Provides an instant electric start. Hard-top rear bag collects and stores grass clippings while detaching easily for convenient disposal. This 14-inch lawn mower is ETL-approved and carries a full two-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(402 Reviews) 322
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
102
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation92%368 out of 402reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 310 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
102
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My Little Bug

08/25/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+196points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

My first lawnmower!

06/20/2013
By ,
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car!
It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

LOVE THE MOWER

06/10/2010
By ,
Kent, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com.
Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub.
So far, I am highly pleased!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great product for small jobs.

04/04/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

An ergonomic mower

07/22/2009
By ,
Califronia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P
and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Pleased with this purchase

03/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine).
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great Value

08/16/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment

08/08/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual.
The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Not a TOY! Great Compact Mower!

11/05/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, totally shocked by how fast this mower got to my house. Placed the order on Saturday and it got delivered to my house on Tuesday (one full week ahead of estimated delivery date). Anyways, back to the mower --> just like many reviews have stated before, it does look like a toy out of the box but it definitely don't work like one on the lawn. Assembly took less than 10 minutes, easy adjustments on the heights (3 different height adjustments). It's relatively quieter than the gas one I owned before. Only thing is I've yet to figure out how to use the cord clip/ holder. Make sure you use the 14 gauge extension cords with this mower. I have small yards, 600 sq ft back and 300 sq ft front and I only had to discharge the bag three times total. Overall, really satisfied with my purchase and this is the best deal out there for an electrical mower that doesn't take up much real estate in your garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

DOES NOT WORK

03/02/2014
By ,
Davie, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy set up, . With great excitement, I started it (easy start) only to find that it did not mow. Not sure if due to the springy clover in my yard so adjusted setting of wheels to low. Nothing, Zip, Nada. (No there was nothing on blade impeding movement. Put it all back in the box and drove back to Walmart to return. Now I have to see about a refund of the extended warranty.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great mower but not easy to assemble

11/22/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower got here a couple days ahead of projected delivery which was great. But the delivery guy just put it by the front door and left, no ring doorbell or advice of it being left. I wasn't home, my Mom was.
Had to put on the handles which I hadn't expected to be difficult, but the lower bar wouldn't fit into the slot on one side. I had to force it in by twisting it. I tried putting carboard over it and tapping with a hammer but curve made that not work and all I did was make a couple nicks in the paint. Once I got it twisted down and aligned with hole for screw I had to then squeeze the bars together and get the other side to pop in its place. Could of been a two person job maybe but I didn't have another person. After that it went together fine.
I used it right away and for the small space I need to mow it was/is wonderful. Did the job. So no complaints on how it runs or cuts.
It's a cute little machine too.
Overall very pleased with how it works, delivery and price. Saw same machine at Home Depot on line for about I think 30-40 more dollars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

mixed feelings

11/20/2012
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well, the sun joe mower was really cute. it was easy to use - however right out of the box the left back wheel kept popping off - i thought it was just a fluke thing but as i tried to use the mower it continued to pop off.
i called the warranty and explained exactly what the problem was - evidently there was a miscommunication because the warranty people sent me an item that i could n't even put into the wheel housing because it was a part of the machine that was never to be assembled by the consumer. (i thought they were sending me a whole new wheel). Needless to say the item they sent me couldn't be used.
i was a bit discouraged because i really had high hopes for the machine. the mower really picked up alot of grass - and the basket filled up pretty quickly. i gave it an average rating because it seemed effective however getting it broken out of the box really kinda ruined it for me. i could have sent back for another one but hired a lawn service instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Very good electric lawn mower!

07/08/2011
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this lawn mower for a little over a month now. I have a fairly average size yard in NJ with a little less than 1/4 acre lot. I used to use a Craftsman lawn mower with Honda gas engine, it was more powerful than this electric one but I couldn't stand the smell of gasoline and exhaust fumes. It does take a bit longer to get the job done due to the smaller blade size, only about 14" compare to the 21" I had with the Craftsman. But this little machine is extremely light with only about 30 lbs., mostly made out of plastic, not sure how long will it last but they seem durable for now. The cord can get in your way when you mow the lawn but if you plan out carefully with the pattern you are going the cord isn't a big concern. The bag is not very big so you need to empty out frequently but it is reasonable due to its size. Overall I'm very happy with it and will no longer use a single drop of gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

The actual mower was better than the reviews---

06/09/2013
By ,
Coon Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched electric cord mowers for 2 weeks and finally settled on this mower for my situation. I had plenty of electric cord. I went out bought a cord reel. Then the mower arrived at Walmart. I picked it up. Brought it home and assembled it. By accident I set the front wheels higher than the back wheels, but the mower still did a fine job. Yes I had to change my mowing pattern from my gas mowing pattern but I had plenty of cord. The mower did a fine job despite my error in setting the wheel height. I did not use the bagger, however. I just mulched the grass clippings. Lifting the mower up and letting the clippings out was an important part of mowing. Also stopping to clear the mower and set the cord for the next section of my odd shaped lawn. I have about five or six sections of lawn. This gave the motor a chance to cool off in between mows. I'm truly impressed. I store the mower in the trunk of my Saturn SC! with the cords and room to spare. In a few years, when the motor finally quits, I'll buy another Sunjoe Mower like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Very easy to use

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tis product is very easy to use, doesn't weigh a lot...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

First impressions aren't always the best

10/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a small cabin which sits on a nice size lot. We don't have a lot of grass (more like weeds) and my husband has been using a gas powered weed wacker to mow the "lawn" a couple of times a year. He decided to do some research to find an inexpensive mower which he could use instead of the wacker.
The order was placed on-line and a few weeks later, we received notice it was available for pick up at our local Wal-Mart. Easy.
First impression when opening the box ... uh oh -- big mistake. This thing is all plastic and won't handle the job. Assembly was pretty easy for a do-it-yourselfer. The hardest part was raising the cutting height (moving the wheels).
Second impression upon using the mower ... great deal and great value! It cut through the tall grass, grinding up pine needles and pine cones with ease. Our lot has plenty of small rocks and they weren't a problem at all. The bagger holds a lot! It's easy to use and handle.
We really like the fact that it's an electric mower since we don't have a garage and it's stored in our basement. No need for more gas. Just make sure you have plenty of cord and avoid it when mowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Good for very small lawn

04/13/2014
By ,
Springfield, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you have more than 1000 sq feet of lawn, I would not recommend this.
Cuts grass very nicely but bag gets filled very quickly and need to be emptied every 2 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Excellent mower... happy customer!

07/11/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a mid size lawn (400 Sq. ft) and didn't want a noisy mower. We also didn't want to spend a whole lot of money. This fit our need very well.
PROS:
It is very light in weight. Does an excellent job mowing (3 height settings), picking and mulching grass. Hardly makes any noise. Don't have to fill gas or maintain the mower.
CONS:
Need an extension cord that sometimes gets in the way... but that is true with any corded tool.
Size of the bag requires periodic emptying. I wish this was slightly bigger.
LOVE IT. COULDN'T HAVE BEEN BETTER FOR THIS PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Great Product

08/01/2009
By ,
Southern AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower was easy to assemble and operate. I have a small lawn and bought this to cut up the weeds that grow during our rainy season in AZ. Did exactly that. Bonus is the rear grass catcher which can fill up every 15 minutes or so. You need to stop and empty it or the clippings build up. I like it because it allows me to compost the clippings and gives myself and the mower a break!.
Only issue is if you need a long power cord, it can be difficult to pull around with you. Same issue if you had an electric weed trimmer.
Mower is light weight and can be pushed easily with one hand, no matter what grade the yard is. Mower gets heavier when the clippings bag fills up. Still much lighter then a gas mower.
Is not that loud and I did not need ear plugs. Hardly any grass clippings kicked out under the mower. I wore shorts and nothing hit my legs nor dirtied my shoes. The rear bag does a good job holding materials.
If you have a big lawn and heavy growth, this is not your mower. If you have something you can mow in 20-30 minutes, this may be an alternative to a gas mower. Easy to clean up after mowing.
Wheel adjustments take seconds to do and middle setting, from 3 available, gave my grass a nice even look. Hardly hit any stones. A problem in the desert where we try to have lawns.
An elderly family member in his 80's used the mower with no problem. He said it was effortless and felt it was no more exercise then just walking around. He felt safer using it since it was not as loud and as large as his old gas mower. He also liked the maintenance free aspect of the mower.
Blade looks easy to change and a tool is included for removing it for sharpening or replacing.
Mower comes with a 2 year warranty.
So far I am very satisfied with the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+379points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 14" Electric Lawn Mower with Grass Box

Powerful little mower for a small lawn.

04/06/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my small yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 323 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next