Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark GI490 Professional Iron

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Shark Shark GI490 Professional Iron

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation74%39 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

shark

09/06/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use this for my sewing students. You want hot-this is the hottest iron we have used. (sewing tip) If you are ironing small seems you may easily burn your fingers. Things I didn't like at first...It is confusing to turn it on and use at first, so if you are challenged by overkill on gadgets, this may not be the product for you. The plastic looks like it could break easily if dropped and it seems tippy. I'd like the auto shut off to be longer.
I like the product because: it works as a steamer and iron, it seems lightweight, it has a wide gap for the grip, gets very hot, holds a good amount of water.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Review 2 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Outstanding

01/24/2010
By ,
Manhattan, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My overall rating for this product is outstanding. The price value meets all expectations and standards for its features, durability and appearance looks like a professional iron that a pattern maker would use in the fashion industry and very pleasing to the eye, and light weight and moves easily on fabrics. I highly recommend this iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 3 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Not bad

10/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only wish there was no auto shut-off. I like it to be ready at all times. But it irons well and has plenty of steam power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Review 4 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

AWESOME!

03/18/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced a well-loved iron with this one after doing much research and I have to say that my well-loved iron that I replaced became my second well-loved iron. This iron is second to none when it comes to getting wrinkles out of clothes, especially in stiff khakis. I was pleasantly surprised. Love the burst of steam and it being dripless. Hate when you're ironing and water gets all over your clothes! This iron is well worth the money..and why not? It's a SHARK product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron
05/12/2010
By ,
Pitkin, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron exceeds expections. Plenty of steam for a quick job of wrinkles in sportswear, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Looks good, but leaks sludge

03/01/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My wife is on the third one of this model, and all three have eventually started leaking brownish sludge from the steam ports, often ruining the items being ironed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Great iron for a man

07/31/2011
By ,
Covington, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this iron after reading the reviews, most of which were positive. So I was disappointed when I found the iron difficult to handle. My thumb and/or palm of my hand keeps resting on the button that changes fabric settings. Consequently, the steam stops because it is no longer on a proper steam setting. Perhaps it would suit a person w/ larger hands (?). A better solution would be to change the location of this button, given one only wants to consciously change fabric settings when appropriate to the piece of clothing being pressed.
I do find the water does not have to be refilled as often as with my previous iron. Also, wrinkles are handled much easier in general....though not quite fun yet.
I am truly sorry that this glitch ruins a chore I was hoping to enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 8 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Poor, poor quality

08/01/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this iron after using it the second time. It spewed water all over my clothes from the bottom "rest". We have owned a Shark iron for years, and needed to replace my old one. I purchased this one, thinking it was the same model as mine. It wasn't! The one I have had all these years is the Euro. After returning this one, I purchased the Euro and it's awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Shark Professional Iron

02/09/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron far exceeded my expectations. I bought this as a replacement for my Rowenta Pro, and I just love everything about the Shark. The lock tight water reservoir cover is a bonus, the steam function is unsurpassed, and it is a pleasure to use this iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Do not recommend

06/26/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Went through two of these in a week. Thought they would be good since its a Shark product but wasn't. Water would leak out of the back end of the iron and get the cloths soaked and when sat on it's end would leave a puddle on the ironing board while you were moving your cloths around.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron
08/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dreadful leaks water from between water storage tank and the actual iron part and is very heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 12 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Disappointed

10/14/2010
By ,
Lanham, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, I expected the iron not to drip. "Rained" on my clothes. Not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Shark Iron

04/03/2010
By ,
Taylor,Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doesn't hold enough water, but overall does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Excellent! I love it!

06/02/2011
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this iron after my new puppy ate the cord on my old iron (a Sunbeam) which I thought I really liked - until I got this one. I literally iron my work clothes and daughter's clothes every day. *sigh* I love, love, love this iron! Great amount of steam and works really well. The only downside I see about this iron is that I accidentally hit the fabric selection button while I'm ironing and change heat settings without realizing it. I use the steam push button a lot and that's when I tend to hit the selector. Otherwise, I am extremely happy with this iron and would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron
04/23/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this iron on 03/08/10. First of all, I paid $49.86 ($10 more). Overall, I like this iron. I do agree that I would prefer that it didn't shut off. Also, my iron doesn't always steam the way I like it to, even if it is on the high steam setting. What I dislike the most is that the steam burst button tends to get stuck in the compressed position, and when it happens, it is difficult to pull it out. However, when the steam burst is working, it is really working. This iron makes my job quite easy. It glides over fabrics, which cuts down on time spent ironing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron
12/22/2011
By ,
Newcastle, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Last Shark had broken and needed to use one of those lower value irons for a while. Ironing took twice as long and at times looked as if the clothes hadn't been ironed at all. Now that I have a Shark back (my dog ate the plug off the old one) my clothes look great in a quarter of the time. This iron floats over clothes, never sticks and on the medium setting works great on my husbands "no iron" shirts that really DO need to be ironed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 17 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

LOVE IT!!!

08/24/2011
By ,
Phiadelphia,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Iron! :) Its extremely heavy duty thats a PLUS..Its like one of those old fashion irons it doesn't break easy.Most of these Iron now days are very light weight. I had my Iron for 3 1/2 years and Im about to purchase another one. Its as describe. I love the fact that it has Auto shut off...and gets extremely HOT...it flatten clothes just right.. :)..I would defiantly recommend this Iron to a friend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Shark GI490 Professional Iron-Is Good

05/09/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm happy our local store was out of stock ... Bought it online ... Walmart did as promised ... Was exactly what my wife was looking for ... Only used a couple times but did exceptionally well ... Cord is very long (which is a good thing) ... Have high hopes of many years service ... I rated the durability in the middle because I have not had it long enough to rate but it is doing well so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron

Was great for 6 months

10/27/2010
By ,
OKC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We loved this iron for the 6 months it worked. So I finally went to use it for steaming and it just died. The iron wouldn't even power on after that. I didn't save my receipt, but I wouldn't wait to send it in plus having to pay $10 for the return from the manufacturer. So tomorrow we will go buy another iron, but it most likely won't be a shark now.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Shark GI490 Professional Iron
06/30/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase. It irons magnificently. It gives your garment the professional look from the amount of steam that the iron outputs. The only draw back is the amount of water it uses for the steam you have to refill quite often. Other than that it is an excellent iron and very affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next