Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Shark Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

For effortless vertical steaming of clothes, curtains and any above-floor fabrics, try the Shark Lightweight Professional Iron GI468. This agile yet durable iron provides the maximum steam performance by generating highly concentrated steam bursts that remove wrinkles from fabrics that are lying flat or hanging vertically. The intelligent electronic temperature controls allow you to select your exact fabric type and quickly heat up the iron to help remove wrinkles quickly. A must-have, the Shark Lightweight Professional Iron is supported by a premium stainless steel soleplate that glides over all fabrics with ease and provides uniform heat distribution and retention. The Shark Professional Iron features 1500 watts of power, an anti-drip feature, multi-position auto shut-off and a self-cleaning mode.
Average Customer Rating:
3.653 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation68%100 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

I would not recommend this iron.....

12/12/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this iron three years ago. I wanted to give a Shark iron a try because I love their vacuums. While using the iron on the highest setting, it would always go to the lowest setting and get cool. I never figured out why that happened. It also often leaked water. During the year's warranty, in ten months the iron stopped working. I called customer support and was told to send the receipt and iron back to them for repair. I had to pay $9.95 to ship it back to them and send them a check for $9.95 for return shipping. The rep said without the receipt they couldn't do anything for me. Luckily I save all of my receipts. I shipped the iron back for repair. A month later they sent the iron back to me. The iron did not get hot like it used to and did not iron as well after getting it back. This iron is not worth it. It was a "decent" iron while it lasted. It's very sturdy and well made; it just didn't last as long as I thought. Buy another iron besides this one. It will save you the headache of it going out on you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Finally...an iron that works!

11/01/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I have been searching for a good iron for years...bought 4 in the past 3 years. Have spent $20-$70. Tried Panasonic, Rowenta, Black and Decker and now this Shark.
This Shark is hands down the best performer out of the box! The steam is tremendous. I have only had it a week but expect the love of this unit to continue. It recieved high marks from Consumer Reports and has the Good Housekeeping seal of approval. It also made the best 5 professional iron list for those on a budget.
It does require more refills than my others...but thats because it actually makes steam! So far it is not leaking and the front spray is the finest, most consistent of any i have used. one of the tech reviews stated this was the best to stay at a steady temp...even compared to the most expensive irons. This is critical if you work on delicate fabrics.
I just don't see how you can go wrong with this iron. It should not have been this hard to find an iron that works. I am glad my search is over and am enjoying ironing again...if that is possible!
Hope this helps those who have been as frustrated as I have to find a good iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+193points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 11/14/2013
i agree about its function.. however, after only 3 months, my steam nob quit registering for me.. now it operates as though i have the steam off no matter how far over to the full steam side i put it.. the steam button works, but the auto steam no longer does..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

simply the best

09/07/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
please note I do not work for Shark, but need a very strong steam iron for my work. This unit is perfect for travel or at home. My likes are it produces a lot of steam, better than handheld units, ( not be used around children!). I have tried two or three competitors and had to return them all. The price of this unit is too good to be true and I bought another two for backups when and if this one dies. Sadly a good product may not be around as a lot of companies fell pressure to introduce *new and improved" models. This unit is perfect now, and I bought the extras in case Shark falls to model changes. Its a small size, and it can get into small spaces and is not heavy to hold. I use it for over 3 hours a day and it holds up great. Only wish is I did not have to refill it as much, but thats the price you pay for it pushing out great steam at a light weight unit. My unit does not leak and heats up within a minute to full steam. I am sometimes brutal in a review if product is bad, but I love this unit and hope Stark never changes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Spend the money, but not on this iron

08/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was willing to spend the money on this iron if it was going to perform. I'm very disappointed. There are some good things about it, but overall, I'm not pleased and am going to return it. It's got a nice feel to it, the iron glides nicely across the fabric, and it heats up like a champ. Ironing was so quick. I didn't know that was possible. This was my first truly good iron that way and I'm now sold on buying a quality iron. Just not this one.
The cons:
- spits and drips water, despite being touted as a non-spitter, to the point of frustration (and I had it on the hottest setting)
- bad design for water opening cover; it flips up rather than dropping down which forces you to have to hold the iron at an awkward angle while pouring the water in; if you try to pour it in while sitting on it's heel, it goes all over the place; also because of this, you can't leave the cover open to let the iron dry inside when done (it falls back down over the opening)
- water opening is so small it takes ages to pour the water in, and to pour extra back out at end
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

I LOVE THIS IRON

06/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very old "real" iron that belonged to my husbands grandmother. It was heavy, but it was a "real" iron. I loved everything about it, except the weight. I dropped it one day and it never worked again. I saw this Shark brand and decided to buy it. I am so glad I did. I love everything about this iron. The steam feature on this iron is fantastic. You can even iron curtains that are already hung on the rods. You get crisp flat seams when you use this iron. I love Shark products and this iron did not let me down. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Great Iron!!! Haven't experienced any problems....

10/03/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
... even after not following the instructions verbatim..
I have owned this iron for a couple of years, have used it almost every single day and have never had any issues. No leaks, no variable temps, no nothing. It has worked GREAT!
It recently started leaking a little and I did a self-cleaning, which I had never done (although the instructions say to self-clean every two weeks or so). It now works again as good as new.
Yes, I understand that every now and then faulty electronics straight from the manufacturer are a given, and I'm sure that some of the reviewers may have received some faulty irons. However, I would bet that many people may not have followed the instructions or just didn't know how to properly use the iron.
I have had a great experience thus far, even after 2 years. I used to be a die-hard Sunbeam iron fan; however, after a few months to a year, they always leaked sum'n awful.
I don't believe in paying $100+ for an iron, and I'm not a cheapskate either. This iron has really proven to be a good deal and great value. It has been great and lived up to everything that it advertised.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Makes Ironing a breeze!

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fantastic iron, so light and glides through clothes with ease. it has a good steam function for cotton and creases. The only draw back is that the water vessel could have been larger and held more water, but that isn't a major issue.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Shark lightweight iron

07/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron is very good, it has all the features of a good iron.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Love It!

10/09/2009
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put off buying an iron, because of the poor choices of irons in the past. This iron surpasses all expectations! I have to iron my clothes every week, and this iron makes that easy. It heats up quickly, and works like dry cleaner press! Wow.
Have you every ironed your clothes and you couldn't tell that you have iron them? Not with this iron. You can iron the traditional way or use it like a steamer. The water will not leak either way.If you go slow because of a heavier cloth, the iron automatically steams the cloth for you if you are in the steam setting! On top of all this, it is very affordable. I love ironing for the first time ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Very Pleased

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always purchased Rowenta irons. Thought an iron had to be pricey to be good. This Shark proved me wrong.Very happy with this iron (and the price).The steam button is a little hard to push down while operating iron but I think this will loosen in time with use. Would recommend to friends (or purchase for presents).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Someone didnt think about design!

04/04/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the way this iron heats, etc, but I have a major complaint about the design. They put the temperature control on the handle, right where you are holding it to iron. If you hold the iron too tight, you are constantly changing the temperature setting. I will notice that it won't be ironing the clothes very good and will look down and the temperature has been changed again. In one session of ironing about a dozen shirts and blouses, I probably turned it off at least once or twice on each shirt. Very frustrating.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Great Iron

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a Rowenta mainly because of the heat but tired of various things going wrong. Also tired of the price. At a quilt retreat recently they had this iron there to use. I fell in love with it & came home and ordered one. Had the heat I love for ironing quilt pieces and good steam control. I am so very pleased with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Glides like glass

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying other budget-priced irons, all of which disappointed me, thought I'd give the Shark a try, since I'd read good things about it. It glides well on fabric, and throws a lot of steam. Thus far, I'm pleased with its performance!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Worst iron I've ever used!

07/10/2010
By ,
Southern California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one Shark iron from Wal-Mart and after approximately 6 months the cord failed due to a short. I gave Shark another chance and now the second iron has a bad cord and will not stay hot. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

What a disappointment!

04/16/2010
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used a steam iron for 30 years and know to let the iron heat completely before using the steam setting. While I loved how the stainless ironing surface glided over fabric, I hated the random sputtering of dirty water staining my clothes and ironing board cover. Very frustrating! Also, the swiveling cord is not designed well and doesn't allow the iron to sit securely on the ironing board, without adjusting the cord every time you set it down.
Luckily, Walmart has a great return policy and I returned it and bought a less expensive GE that works much better!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

A GREAT iron!

05/14/2014
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I have put off reviewing this iron because before I purchased it, I did read all of the reviews, and was concerned about the durability. I too have purchased Shark brand before and was VERY disappointed in the lack of durability in their products. Having said that, I purchased this iron back in October of 2013 after looking at the various irons which our local Walmart carried. Of them, we had purchased several and would not purchase those same ones again. In addition, I liked the features, the stainless soleplate and the feel of this one.
Here are my thoughts thus far. First of all, it has held up very well so far. There is no sign that it might quit or die soon. I LOVE the stainless soleplate. On my other irons (and in a 32 1/2 year marriage, I can't even begin to count how many irons we've had!) the ones with the ceramic soleplates were forever discoloring and getting brown "gunk" on them and on the clothing. I would have to purchase iron cleaner (the paste you squirt on a rag and iron over) in order to begin to get it clean. This would happen even if I did not burn fabric, and we typically do use filtered water. This iron does not do that and I have to say that this is (I think) the first iron that I have had which DOES NOT DRIP on the clothes!!
The reason why I have only rated it 4 stars is simply because where the "settings" are, which is to say that they are on the iron, under the handle. Not easy to see the text at all, however if you typically use it on the same setting, there are a series of lights and you know where the light is for the setting you use most of the time. When the iron is plugged in, you push the settings button until you get to the appropriate one and the light flashes until the iron is warmed up. Once it's warmed up, the light is a steady green. If you wait until it's warmed up, the iron does NOT drip. This fact alone makes the purchase of this iron worthwhile for me.
It does a great job, and is a bit heavier iron than some of the others that are cheaper or even 1 or 2 more expensive. Anyone who irons a lot will tell you that the extra weight helps. It's not too heavy though, but it's enough weight to help iron out wrinkles quickly.
I also made the mistake of cranking it all the way up to iron something only to realize I did not want it to be that hot. I simply pushed the button until it got to the correct setting and waiting until the flashing stopped, and it was cool enough to use.
The steam is very good though it is very LOUD compared to every other iron I've ever had :) It also spritzes water and so far so good on those not clogging (had that problem too on every iron). As I said before, we do use filtered water however are not very good about emptying the iron after every use like you should.
All in all, I am quite pleased with this iron, though still kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop and have it be completely dead one day. Until then and at this point, I can say that I would purchase this iron again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

great product

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The perfect steam iron!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Lasted less than a year!

06/06/2012
By ,
SF
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this iron as a gift and was happy that it was such a solidly made product. Unfortunately the heft of it wasn't an indicator of it's durability. The iron broke (the plate stopped heating) after less than one year of use, and after a lenghtly process of navigating customer service I was able to get EuroPro to send me a refurbished iron at no charge. I noticed that the replacement had 'hot spots' where certain areas of the plate were hotter than others, and the steam function often didn't work even when the resevior was full. I kept using it, but less than a year later the iron broke and wouldn't heat up at all. Now EuroPro is refusing to replace or fix the iron. I've just bought another brand, and suggest you do the same! There are much less expensive irons out there that last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

It broke!

08/12/2010
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this iron and 9 months later it just stopped working. I called the company who won't give me a refund. I need to send the iron to them and then they said I will get it back repaired or replaced in about 6 weeks. Not much help since I can't to 6 weeks wearing wrinkled clothes. Don't buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Lightweight Professional Iron

Decent iron, good value.

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This iron is fast and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next