Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Shark Shark GI468 Professional Iron

The Shark Professional Iron, GI468 is a 1500-watt electronic digital iron using smooth-gliding stainless-steel soleplate. The professional soleplate skims effortlessly over any kind of fabric for easy ironing. This electronic control iron emanates robust steam, which will work vertically and horizontally with changeable temperature options. There are even intelligent electronic controls to maintain and inform you of the actual and selected temperatures. This stainless steel iron box features multi-position instant shut-off for safety. The advanced electronic technology automatically turns the iron off from any position, sideways, flat or upright in 7 minutes. This comfort grip iron has self-cleaning properties. The anti-calcium filtering prolongs this Shark steam iron's life while the anti-drip pattern prevents formation of water droplets. This automatic Shark Professional Iron, GI468 is an intelligent appliance that carries out its job efficiently and easily.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation64%78 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

I would not recommend this iron.....

12/12/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this iron three years ago. I wanted to give a Shark iron a try because I love their vacuums. While using the iron on the highest setting, it would always go to the lowest setting and get cool. I never figured out why that happened. It also often leaked water. During the year's warranty, in ten months the iron stopped working. I called customer support and was told to send the receipt and iron back to them for repair. I had to pay $9.95 to ship it back to them and send them a check for $9.95 for return shipping. The rep said without the receipt they couldn't do anything for me. Luckily I save all of my receipts. I shipped the iron back for repair. A month later they sent the iron back to me. The iron did not get hot like it used to and did not iron as well after getting it back. This iron is not worth it. It was a "decent" iron while it lasted. It's very sturdy and well made; it just didn't last as long as I thought. Buy another iron besides this one. It will save you the headache of it going out on you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Spend the money, but not on this iron

08/18/2014
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was willing to spend the money on this iron if it was going to perform. I'm very disappointed. There are some good things about it, but overall, I'm not pleased and am going to return it. It's got a nice feel to it, the iron glides nicely across the fabric, and it heats up like a champ. Ironing was so quick. I didn't know that was possible. This was my first truly good iron that way and I'm now sold on buying a quality iron. Just not this one.
The cons:
- spits and drips water, despite being touted as a non-spitter, to the point of frustration (and I had it on the hottest setting)
- bad design for water opening cover; it flips up rather than dropping down which forces you to have to hold the iron at an awkward angle while pouring the water in; if you try to pour it in while sitting on it's heel, it goes all over the place; also because of this, you can't leave the cover open to let the iron dry inside when done (it falls back down over the opening)
- water opening is so small it takes ages to pour the water in, and to pour extra back out at end
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

simply the best

09/07/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
please note I do not work for Shark, but need a very strong steam iron for my work. This unit is perfect for travel or at home. My likes are it produces a lot of steam, better than handheld units, ( not be used around children!). I have tried two or three competitors and had to return them all. The price of this unit is too good to be true and I bought another two for backups when and if this one dies. Sadly a good product may not be around as a lot of companies fell pressure to introduce *new and improved" models. This unit is perfect now, and I bought the extras in case Shark falls to model changes. Its a small size, and it can get into small spaces and is not heavy to hold. I use it for over 3 hours a day and it holds up great. Only wish is I did not have to refill it as much, but thats the price you pay for it pushing out great steam at a light weight unit. My unit does not leak and heats up within a minute to full steam. I am sometimes brutal in a review if product is bad, but I love this unit and hope Stark never changes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Finally...an iron that works!

11/01/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I have been searching for a good iron for years...bought 4 in the past 3 years. Have spent $20-$70. Tried Panasonic, Rowenta, Black and Decker and now this Shark.
This Shark is hands down the best performer out of the box! The steam is tremendous. I have only had it a week but expect the love of this unit to continue. It recieved high marks from Consumer Reports and has the Good Housekeeping seal of approval. It also made the best 5 professional iron list for those on a budget.
It does require more refills than my others...but thats because it actually makes steam! So far it is not leaking and the front spray is the finest, most consistent of any i have used. one of the tech reviews stated this was the best to stay at a steady temp...even compared to the most expensive irons. This is critical if you work on delicate fabrics.
I just don't see how you can go wrong with this iron. It should not have been this hard to find an iron that works. I am glad my search is over and am enjoying ironing again...if that is possible!
Hope this helps those who have been as frustrated as I have to find a good iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 11/14/2013
i agree about its function.. however, after only 3 months, my steam nob quit registering for me.. now it operates as though i have the steam off no matter how far over to the full steam side i put it.. the steam button works, but the auto steam no longer does..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

I too, love ironing now!!!

09/24/2014
By ,
Strasburg Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not realize there were so many irons to choose from. I am all about reading customer reviews before I buy. This really is a great iron. I have not had it a week yet, but I have used it the past 3 days (which would be every day since it arrived in the mail) and I can honestly say I love ironing and look forward to it. This iron heats up very quickly. The light will stop blinking when it is ready. This is a great feature, as my old iron, I would just put my hand up close to it to feel for heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

keeps turning off

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had 2 of these irons within a year. the cord twists and then it turns off. You have to hold the cord up right with your hands to keep it on. I thought it was something I did with the first but then the same thing happened again. I will not try a third time. I don't even iron that much!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Great Iron!!! Haven't experienced any problems....

10/03/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
... even after not following the instructions verbatim..
I have owned this iron for a couple of years, have used it almost every single day and have never had any issues. No leaks, no variable temps, no nothing. It has worked GREAT!
It recently started leaking a little and I did a self-cleaning, which I had never done (although the instructions say to self-clean every two weeks or so). It now works again as good as new.
Yes, I understand that every now and then faulty electronics straight from the manufacturer are a given, and I'm sure that some of the reviewers may have received some faulty irons. However, I would bet that many people may not have followed the instructions or just didn't know how to properly use the iron.
I have had a great experience thus far, even after 2 years. I used to be a die-hard Sunbeam iron fan; however, after a few months to a year, they always leaked sum'n awful.
I don't believe in paying $100+ for an iron, and I'm not a cheapskate either. This iron has really proven to be a good deal and great value. It has been great and lived up to everything that it advertised.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Love It!

10/09/2009
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put off buying an iron, because of the poor choices of irons in the past. This iron surpasses all expectations! I have to iron my clothes every week, and this iron makes that easy. It heats up quickly, and works like dry cleaner press! Wow.
Have you every ironed your clothes and you couldn't tell that you have iron them? Not with this iron. You can iron the traditional way or use it like a steamer. The water will not leak either way.If you go slow because of a heavier cloth, the iron automatically steams the cloth for you if you are in the steam setting! On top of all this, it is very affordable. I love ironing for the first time ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

A GREAT iron!

05/14/2014
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I have put off reviewing this iron because before I purchased it, I did read all of the reviews, and was concerned about the durability. I too have purchased Shark brand before and was VERY disappointed in the lack of durability in their products. Having said that, I purchased this iron back in October of 2013 after looking at the various irons which our local Walmart carried. Of them, we had purchased several and would not purchase those same ones again. In addition, I liked the features, the stainless soleplate and the feel of this one.
Here are my thoughts thus far. First of all, it has held up very well so far. There is no sign that it might quit or die soon. I LOVE the stainless soleplate. On my other irons (and in a 32 1/2 year marriage, I can't even begin to count how many irons we've had!) the ones with the ceramic soleplates were forever discoloring and getting brown "gunk" on them and on the clothing. I would have to purchase iron cleaner (the paste you squirt on a rag and iron over) in order to begin to get it clean. This would happen even if I did not burn fabric, and we typically do use filtered water. This iron does not do that and I have to say that this is (I think) the first iron that I have had which DOES NOT DRIP on the clothes!!
The reason why I have only rated it 4 stars is simply because where the "settings" are, which is to say that they are on the iron, under the handle. Not easy to see the text at all, however if you typically use it on the same setting, there are a series of lights and you know where the light is for the setting you use most of the time. When the iron is plugged in, you push the settings button until you get to the appropriate one and the light flashes until the iron is warmed up. Once it's warmed up, the light is a steady green. If you wait until it's warmed up, the iron does NOT drip. This fact alone makes the purchase of this iron worthwhile for me.
It does a great job, and is a bit heavier iron than some of the others that are cheaper or even 1 or 2 more expensive. Anyone who irons a lot will tell you that the extra weight helps. It's not too heavy though, but it's enough weight to help iron out wrinkles quickly.
I also made the mistake of cranking it all the way up to iron something only to realize I did not want it to be that hot. I simply pushed the button until it got to the correct setting and waiting until the flashing stopped, and it was cool enough to use.
The steam is very good though it is very LOUD compared to every other iron I've ever had :) It also spritzes water and so far so good on those not clogging (had that problem too on every iron). As I said before, we do use filtered water however are not very good about emptying the iron after every use like you should.
All in all, I am quite pleased with this iron, though still kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop and have it be completely dead one day. Until then and at this point, I can say that I would purchase this iron again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

overall a good iron

10/11/2014
By ,
Hemphill, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like everything about this iron except where the heat setting button is located. I will be ironing and notice that I don't have any steam. The heat setting button is on top of the iron where your hand can accidentally hit it and lower the setting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Great Iron!

12/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Agree with all posts here so far. I spent 8 years ironing military uniforms with a $9 iron. I had to dump that iron when I got out of the service because when I tried ironing my white and lighter colored shirts they would stain (Never had to worry about staining camo! LOL) This iron has made me regret the past 8 years of my life. I sooo wish I had known the value of a good iron sooner. Dunno how it stacks up to the competition in the same price range but I will say that if you iron any more than twice a week it's worth double the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Great replacement for my old shark

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had my iron for 2 weeks but I have used it many times. It is light weight and the steam is amazing. I love the way you fill this one as opposed to my old shark. It was a good price and I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Fantastic iron

11/10/2009
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FINALLY, found an iron that meets my needs and so far exceeded my expectations. This is probably the 5th iron I've purchased and by far the BEST! It cuts my ironing time in half! I would absolutely recommend this iron! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

broken already

07/31/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this iron for less than a year and all of the sudden it just quit working. It won't stay on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Excellent steam burst function

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for heavy cotton fabric. Sometimes I can't get to my ironing for a week, by that time wrinkles are really set in. This iron flattens them out with ease!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Worst iron I've ever used!

07/10/2010
By ,
Southern California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one Shark iron from Wal-Mart and after approximately 6 months the cord failed due to a short. I gave Shark another chance and now the second iron has a bad cord and will not stay hot. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Good deal

09/05/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I did not like very much is the short cord & the undersized ironing plate, I am used to bigger irons. I got it on sale so it was a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

great iron

10/25/2009
By ,
weymouth ma.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i'm a guy, didnt think i would ever have to iron but now i do! just picked this up at the walmart store the other day.works great! read some reviews on here for help on other irons since i knew nothing about them and took a shot with this one. has a lot of steam and does a great job on my uniforms.
give it two thumbs up! :0)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GSO
Not that great
Posted 09/02/2012
I've purchased 2 Shark irons and both worked great, however, in less than a year both suddenly stopped working. Great buy if you only plan on ironing for about 6-9 months.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

It broke!

08/12/2010
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this iron and 9 months later it just stopped working. I called the company who won't give me a refund. I need to send the iron to them and then they said I will get it back repaired or replaced in about 6 weeks. Not much help since I can't to 6 weeks wearing wrinkled clothes. Don't buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

A Great Boat Anchor - Not Good Value

07/18/2010
By ,
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this iron 4 months ago it now does not work. I didn't like it in the first place, but thought it would last at least a year. Four months is not a near long enough for an iron to last. I used it about 4 times a week so it did get a more than average use. It's truly a hunk of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next