Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Shark Shark GI468 Professional Iron

The Shark Professional Iron, GI468 is a 1500-watt electronic digital iron using smooth-gliding stainless-steel soleplate. The professional soleplate skims effortlessly over any kind of fabric for easy ironing. This electronic control iron emanates robust steam, which will work vertically and horizontally with changeable temperature options. There are even intelligent electronic controls to maintain and inform you of the actual and selected temperatures. This stainless steel iron box features multi-position instant shut-off for safety. The advanced electronic technology automatically turns the iron off from any position, sideways, flat or upright in 7 minutes. This comfort grip iron has self-cleaning properties. The anti-calcium filtering prolongs this Shark steam iron's life while the anti-drip pattern prevents formation of water droplets. This automatic Shark Professional Iron, GI468 is an intelligent appliance that carries out its job efficiently and easily.
Average Customer Rating:
3.419 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation62%64 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

simply the best

09/07/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
please note I do not work for Shark, but need a very strong steam iron for my work. This unit is perfect for travel or at home. My likes are it produces a lot of steam, better than handheld units, ( not be used around children!). I have tried two or three competitors and had to return them all. The price of this unit is too good to be true and I bought another two for backups when and if this one dies. Sadly a good product may not be around as a lot of companies fell pressure to introduce *new and improved" models. This unit is perfect now, and I bought the extras in case Shark falls to model changes. Its a small size, and it can get into small spaces and is not heavy to hold. I use it for over 3 hours a day and it holds up great. Only wish is I did not have to refill it as much, but thats the price you pay for it pushing out great steam at a light weight unit. My unit does not leak and heats up within a minute to full steam. I am sometimes brutal in a review if product is bad, but I love this unit and hope Stark never changes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Finally...an iron that works!

11/01/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I have been searching for a good iron for years...bought 4 in the past 3 years. Have spent $20-$70. Tried Panasonic, Rowenta, Black and Decker and now this Shark.
This Shark is hands down the best performer out of the box! The steam is tremendous. I have only had it a week but expect the love of this unit to continue. It recieved high marks from Consumer Reports and has the Good Housekeeping seal of approval. It also made the best 5 professional iron list for those on a budget.
It does require more refills than my others...but thats because it actually makes steam! So far it is not leaking and the front spray is the finest, most consistent of any i have used. one of the tech reviews stated this was the best to stay at a steady temp...even compared to the most expensive irons. This is critical if you work on delicate fabrics.
I just don't see how you can go wrong with this iron. It should not have been this hard to find an iron that works. I am glad my search is over and am enjoying ironing again...if that is possible!
Hope this helps those who have been as frustrated as I have to find a good iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
Posted 11/14/2013
i agree about its function.. however, after only 3 months, my steam nob quit registering for me.. now it operates as though i have the steam off no matter how far over to the full steam side i put it.. the steam button works, but the auto steam no longer does..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

temp dial in a bad spot

04/13/2014
By ,
Souderton, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great steam iron. Did not like the temperture button on the handle. Filled frequently as it was a super steam iron, but only lasted 4 years. The cord is not making good contact right where the round ball like cord connects to the iron and iron is continually shutting off. Not worth getting repaired. Will not buy another iron with digital set up or with the round ball electric cord that appears to swivel. Dissapointed that it didnt last longer and now looking again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Souderton, PA
Temp dial in a bad spot
Posted 04/18/2014
I wrote this review. I am mainly dissappointed in the temp gauge is on the handle and does get hit. Also the electric cord did not last as it should have with the ball connection that suppose to rotate. I went to look for another iron and ended up buying another Shark. Nothing compared to the weight and feel of the iron and I already know as a sewer/quilter it is the best steam iron I ever had. What were they thinking with the temp being on the handle??? I doubt a woman designed that feature to be where it is. Pure stupidity.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Could never get it to turn on

04/11/2014
By ,
Galveston, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read reviews first and it seemed worth a shot, but after reading instructions over and over, no matter what I did it never let me set the temp, never heated up. Maybe I am old school, just give me a dial to turn not a digital set up that doesn't work. Returned it and bought the Black and Decker Pro Iron. So far, so good on that one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Love It!

10/09/2009
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put off buying an iron, because of the poor choices of irons in the past. This iron surpasses all expectations! I have to iron my clothes every week, and this iron makes that easy. It heats up quickly, and works like dry cleaner press! Wow.
Have you every ironed your clothes and you couldn't tell that you have iron them? Not with this iron. You can iron the traditional way or use it like a steamer. The water will not leak either way.If you go slow because of a heavier cloth, the iron automatically steams the cloth for you if you are in the steam setting! On top of all this, it is very affordable. I love ironing for the first time ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Iron

02/15/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its the first shark iron I have owned & I would buy another one If I needed too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

GREAT IRON. LOTS OF STEAM.

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT IRON. LOTS OF STEAM.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Great Iron!!! Haven't experienced any problems....

10/03/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
... even after not following the instructions verbatim..
I have owned this iron for a couple of years, have used it almost every single day and have never had any issues. No leaks, no variable temps, no nothing. It has worked GREAT!
It recently started leaking a little and I did a self-cleaning, which I had never done (although the instructions say to self-clean every two weeks or so). It now works again as good as new.
Yes, I understand that every now and then faulty electronics straight from the manufacturer are a given, and I'm sure that some of the reviewers may have received some faulty irons. However, I would bet that many people may not have followed the instructions or just didn't know how to properly use the iron.
I have had a great experience thus far, even after 2 years. I used to be a die-hard Sunbeam iron fan; however, after a few months to a year, they always leaked sum'n awful.
I don't believe in paying $100+ for an iron, and I'm not a cheapskate either. This iron has really proven to be a good deal and great value. It has been great and lived up to everything that it advertised.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Better than my last iron

03/04/2014
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Iron works good

04/04/2014
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was worth spending more money than usual on an iron. This one works really good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Good Iron

02/26/2014
By ,
Franklin, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irons really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Great Iron!

12/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Agree with all posts here so far. I spent 8 years ironing military uniforms with a $9 iron. I had to dump that iron when I got out of the service because when I tried ironing my white and lighter colored shirts they would stain (Never had to worry about staining camo! LOL) This iron has made me regret the past 8 years of my life. I sooo wish I had known the value of a good iron sooner. Dunno how it stacks up to the competition in the same price range but I will say that if you iron any more than twice a week it's worth double the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

GOODHOUSE KEEPING RATED THIS IN THE TOP 10

03/18/2014
By ,
KLAMATH FALLS OR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I DON'T DUE ALOT OF IRONING BUT WHEN I DO THIS ONE MORE THAN WORKS FOR ME. I ALWAYS SAY "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" IN THIS CASE I GOT MORE . GREAT IRON !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Fantastic iron

11/10/2009
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FINALLY, found an iron that meets my needs and so far exceeded my expectations. This is probably the 5th iron I've purchased and by far the BEST! It cuts my ironing time in half! I would absolutely recommend this iron! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Excellent Product and easy to handle

03/12/2014
By ,
Elko ,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for 3 years now.Its worth its value...Irons perfectly, its autocut is good...Unlike other products like Black n Decker which are cheaper ,but buying five black decker and one Shark iron is same thing....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Shark Iron

02/01/2014
By ,
Milwaukee WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice iron.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

broken already

07/31/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this iron for less than a year and all of the sudden it just quit working. It won't stay on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

Worst iron I've ever used!

07/10/2010
By ,
Southern California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one Shark iron from Wal-Mart and after approximately 6 months the cord failed due to a short. I gave Shark another chance and now the second iron has a bad cord and will not stay hot. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

I would not recommend this iron.....

12/12/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this iron three years ago. I wanted to give a Shark iron a try because I love their vacuums. While using the iron on the highest setting, it would always go to the lowest setting and get cool. I never figured out why that happened. It also often leaked water. During the year's warranty, in ten months the iron stopped working. I called customer support and was told to send the receipt and iron back to them for repair. I had to pay $9.95 to ship it back to them and send them a check for $9.95 for return shipping. The rep said without the receipt they couldn't do anything for me. Luckily I save all of my receipts. I shipped the iron back for repair. A month later they sent the iron back to me. The iron did not get hot like it used to and did not iron as well after getting it back. This iron is not worth it. It was a "decent" iron while it lasted. It's very sturdy and well made; it just didn't last as long as I thought. Buy another iron besides this one. It will save you the headache of it going out on you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark GI468 Professional Iron

IT EXCELLENT.

01/16/2014
By ,
WASH, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE IRON (SHARK) KEPT UP TO IT ADVERTISEMENT. I WAS SURPRISE BECAUSE I ALWAYS BUY EN IRON WITH A DIFFERENT SOLE( THE GREYISH BOTTOM, NOT CLEAR SILVER). THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TRYING ONE.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next