Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Real Flame Real Flame Gel Fuel

Real Flame Real Flame Gel Fuel

Average Customer Rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%72 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 63 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Awesome

12/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since finding this product for use in my hanging, vent-less fireplace a couple of years ago, I simply will not use any other product. The Real Flame gel fuel gives you ample hours of use, provides a nice amount of ambient heat and offers a beautiful, flickering glow. I also really like the crackling and popping that this product generates making it look, feel and sound extraordinarily like a real, true fire without all the hassle, smoke, soot and clean up! You can almost 'feel' the ambiance (see photos). The only negative thing I can say about this product is that it is (and has always been) on little on the pricey side. That is true of ALL the gel fuel though, not only the Real Flame product line. Having said that, for as often as I have the opportunity to use it (since I live in a tropical climate), I still continue to purchase it. I usually scout the internet looking for the absolute cheapest price I can find (with FREE shipping) and this time around, it just happened to be the best deal at Walmart.com.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Love Real Flame

11/25/2011
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in a small house, I was very pleased to find a fireplace we could add to our decor. Little did we realize that with this Real Flame Gel how much it would heat our house. Sure makes for cozy winters.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Hott... item!!!

02/22/2010
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hott... item!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Great Product

11/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Such an easy way to get the feel of a real fireplace; it even crackles. We use it every year. Just a side note: towards the very end of burning it will have a smell and we just put the lid back on it to stop the remaining flames. Also, in my experience do not use it immediately after you get them. We found that if you do (perhaps because they come in from the cold or perhaps because the gel has been moved around so much in transport) it gives off a smell immediately. We usually wait a day or two before using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Real Flame Gel Fuel

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this item! The semblance of a pit fire on a smaller scale - genius!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Just like the real deal

11/30/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't like to throw money away, so buying something to burn really goes against my instincts... However, my family lives in a home where there is no gas line for a fireplace and an electric "light-show" fireplace seemed too fake. We tried this stuff out and fell in love with it! It's a real flame, but it's safe in the home. It puts off heat and pops like a real burning log would, and all you have to do is throw away a can!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

It is a nice product.

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price. Great item. Very excited when it came.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Just one can increases temp in whole room

11/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this in the in between seasons; before we light the coal stove but don't want to run the radiators. Also love the look during the holidays. It really does increase the temp in a fairly large 20 x 17 room by anywhere from 5-8 degrees with one can; well over 10-15 with 2 or 3. It doesn't smell until it goes out and even then you don't mind it. This years package doesn't crackle as much as product from a few years ago (green lable) but that's okay as it's more gentle and quiet now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

In the mood

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 3 position portable fireplace. I decided to conduct an initial burning as follows: Load up all three positions. Light one end cell. One hour later light the middle. and then one hour later, the third. About a half hour after the third was lit, the first was burning out. The burn time varied from 2 and a half to 2 and three quarters hours.
The out side temp was 12 degrees when starting test.
I turned the thermostat down from 72 to 68 one half hour prior to start of test to simulate power outage.
By the time I had lit the second, the temp had risen to 73 degrees.
At the time all three were running, the temp got up to 77.
The outside temp went down to 10.
The fireplace was located one room away from the thermostat.
I live in a well insulated condo, middle unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Fireplace Fuel clean n easy

10/13/2009
By ,
Evesham. NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never was thrilled with the work and mess , and attetion required when burning wood or wood like subsistues . The log insert with alternatyive fuel cartidges provides a beautiful glo adding a liitle warmth to the room but most important just a homy/cozy feeling to the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Love this product

12/29/2011
By ,
Elyria, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is some of the best fuel gel out there. It has no odor as it burns down which is a problem for a few of the other competitors. It warms our house up a few degrees and the furnace stays off for hours. Another pleasant side effect is that it seems every time we start one of a fire, my husband and son tend to fall asleep. I believe the crackling sound is very soothing and I truly get to enjoy the piece and quiet. Lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Great option for vent less fireplace.

02/01/2014
By ,
Marietta, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for a reasonably priced option for a vent less fireplace in your home, this is it. I burn one can in a lantern I bought from a hobby store, and it gives off a foot high flame and generates enough heat to warm my front room by 10 degrees. Burning a can in the open creates a smaller flame. The burning gel does sound like a popping fireplace, but not as loud or as often as I might have liked. Its does burn cleanly without odor, plus cools off quickly after its finished for easy disposal. Overall; it does provide a real flame effect for any room in your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

WARM

03/09/2010
By ,
38849
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS IS A GOOD PRODUCT.
IT HEATS BETTER THAN I THOUGHT SOMETHING LIKE THIS COULD.
THE FLAMES AND SOUND ARE NICE. THEY DO REMIND ME OF WHEN I HAD A REAL FIREPLACE(WOOD BURNING).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Great product

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipped fast, easy to use, great crackling sound like a real fire. Puts out more heat than expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Real Flame Gel Fuel

05/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gel fuel works wonderfully. We use it to take the chill and dampness off when the furnace isn't really required.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Love this product

04/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Real Flame fireplace about a year ago and the Real Flame Gel Fuel product is fantastic. I love the crackling noise, the flame is very realistic and in the winter it actually does throw off a good amount of heat. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

great product

04/04/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had tried other gel fuel products. The Real Flame Gel burned longer and brighter than the other products I had previously used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Real crackling flames

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this product for years. It is very similar to real flames without the mess. The kids even roast marshmallows over them.
Only drawback is the cans cannot be recycled.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

Questionable Purchase!

01/17/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although I ordered 24 cans, 6 of these cans had significant dents in them and having seen where these 6 cans were placed in the shipping box, it does not appear to be the shipping company's fault. I just simply DO NOT LIKE receiving damaged items from online purchases when the seller knows perfectly well that if I had the opportunity to look at these dented cans in a brick-n mortar location, I would not have purchased them (the dent on one of the cans almost looked as though the fuel could have started to leak out)!
If you don't mind dented up merchandise, labels that you have to manually peel off because Real Flame does not print their info on the lids, then these cans may be for you. However, this is the first time I have ever strayed from Fire Glo fuel, and I'm going back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Real Flame Gel Fuel

An excellent reasonably priced product!

02/21/2011
By ,
Lebanon, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched to Real Flame gel. This product exceeds my former product 100%. It burns longer....3 hours as opposed to 2 1/2 hrs, burns clean and scentless and burns all the way down to the bottom of the can. Walmart also offer the best price and if you catch it just right..............free shipping. I use a can a night so price is very important to me. So far........Walmart offers the best price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next