Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

RCA RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

The RCA DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player lets you view your favorite movies and programs in beautiful detail and definition. The RCA DVD Home Theater System provides an optical input that connects to your digital TV, satellite or cable box for a full surround sound experience. Plus, the RCA home theater system has a digital AM/FM tuner and 250 watts of total power. Your RCA DVD Home Theater System has 250 watts of total power and features a digital AM/FM tuner, Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound processor, line-in connection for iPod and other portable audio players, and AUX connection for connection of additional analog audio sources, such as an audio cassette deck or a VCR. This stylish RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player is designed to compliment any room decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(1185 Reviews) 899
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
440
4 stars
275
3 stars
116
2 stars
127
1 star
227
Customer Recommendation66%779 out of 1,183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
217 Questions | 782 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
440
4 stars
275
3 stars
116
2 stars
127
1 star
227
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Entertainment System 4 The Price

04/12/2014
By ,
Kingman AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product love the bass it has especially when you got neighbors who you want to quite lol.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Buy For The Price

02/15/2011
By ,
Adirondacks,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a good thearter system for our townhouse and found it here! This system was very easy to hook up and sounds great. (I hooked it up by myself, while watching my 3yr & 10 month old kids!!) I used TWO HDMI cables and now our PS3, Xbox 360 and surround sound are all hooked up to our TV! We are very happy with this product and its price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Returned

03/22/2014
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this system as part of a bundle with a 50 in tv. I thought it was a pretty decent system until I set it to 5.1 output. If there is any delay in changing channels or if the sound is muted it made a very annoying buzzing sound. In addition, I had to buy a converter piece because the tv had digital out and the receiver only accepted optical input. If you're going to bundle a tv and receiver why have the consumer by additional parts to make it work. Sure I could have used standard rca cables but what's the purpose of buying this type of system only to use stereo output. I was able to overlook this issue since I had already purchased the bundle but the Dolby digital 5.1 issue was a deal breaker so I returned it and purchased a sound bar with subwoofer that uses hdmi. Before returning, This was used in my bedroom. I would not recommend as the sound source for your main tv. I would invest in something better for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Very good system for price

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $80, this was a very good price for the surround sound, dvd and radio. Overall, an excellent purchase though have 2 minor issues:
1. Sound is quite loud even on volume 1. While not a problem during normal operating hours, when first waking up early morn I have to shut off the system and use TV speakers. Not a colossal issue.
2. The dvd player does not seem to allow the subwoofer on cds. This really changes how music sounds. On all my cds, the subwoofer simply did not activate. Works fine on dvds though, so not an issue with the system. All I did to circumvent this was connect the subwoofer wires into the center speaker area as well. Subwoofer is weaker, but perfectly acceptable.
Regardless, still an excellent purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

You Get What You Pay For (That's Good)

02/20/2014
By ,
Cuero TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't quite know what to expect when ordering this budget system. I got small satellite speakers with no Back (Rear/Behind) speaker, but the audio is clean. The control over the Sub is fantastic for those late nights when you don't want the kids to feel every explosion or orchestra score. Solid design, although the satellite speakers are deceptively tall, the actual driver is miniscule, but appropriate for my small living room. If you are looking for a premium home theater system, this isn't it. If you are looking for solid bang for you buck, then look no further. A great little system that does everything I need it to do for half the price of the fancy boys (Sony, Sennheiser, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Awesome Power!!!

03/26/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This theater system is quite powerful and the sound quality is remarkable!!! Very easy to assembly, close to child's play to put together. New and beautiful sleek look, it's appearance can fool the unlearned eye that has never spent a lot of money on a system...one may think just from the style of it and the sound that you must have spent lots of money on this system. Remember it is very powerful, be mindful of your neighbors>>hint, hint(^_^).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

happy with the purchase

01/10/2011
By ,
Pasadena, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I was a little bit concerned that it wouldn't be that good considering the price was so low, but I decided to go ahead and buy it because Walmart has a pretty flexable return policy. I could always return it if it didn't sound good. It turned out that I didn't have to return it after all. The sound is great and my husband is very happy with this product.
A special note- we did have to buy additional, longer wires for the speakers so that we could stretch them behind our sofa. The wires that came with the system were not long enough to stretch the length of my livingroom. THis means they are extremely short because I live in an apartment and my livingroom is not big at all. So you may want to go ahead and buy additional longer wires at the same time you purchase this surround sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

not what I expected

05/26/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using this product for two weeks and it sounded good. I turned it on "tuner" this morning to listen to the radio while I worked. I started hearing a lot of static type noise and then suddenly there was no souond. My mom said that she heard static type noise yesterday when she had the TV on. I have not been able to get the system to function since. I have no idea what happened. I did not have the system playing loud nor did I have the subwoofer on. I just had it in a normal low tone. I think the sound bar was at 9 or 10. I will be contacting Walmart to see what I need to do next. i've alread tried everything that I know to do - checked all connections - everything is connected properly and tightly. I even tried unpluging the unit and waited 30 seconds and replugged it back in. That didn't work either. I don't know if I just got a "lemon" or what. I've had problems with Walmart products in the past. My prior TV purchased from Walmart quit working after 1 year and after 6 years needed to be replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Deal!

10/04/2009
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 24'' RCA boob tube flat screen that i purchased about five years ago. It would be nice if i could afford a flat screen, but i'm in college and my 24'' has a good picture for not being a LCD or Plasma. I wanted surround sound to go with this, so i purchased this model at another store for $99 bucks. It is great for surround sound. It rumbled the room when the movie reached its peak sounds. People need to remember that this is a home theater and not for Music. If you want something to pump out your tunes then this is not for you, but if you're looking for something to spice up your home movie experience then i would reccomend this to you. Make sure you read the booklet and adjust individual channel volumes. You might want the surround speakers up louder than the front ones, and the sub woofer should be on "powerful" to get the best contrast between treble of the 5 spearks and the 1 subwoofer. You might experience a tinny sound when you first put it together, but adjust the different channel volumes and place them right and you'll solve the problem. you can't beat this item for the price. Especially $99 that i paid on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+245points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
franklin, ohio
surround sound
Posted 08/24/2012
I have been following the directions to a t and still cannot get any sound out of it...very disappointed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

RCA home theater system

04/16/2014
By ,
wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd one my first one broke when moving my fault. I like it and decided to stay with something I knew about and liked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Not worth the money!

04/07/2014
By ,
14075
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got his system as
part of a bundled package...lasted 6-months and the speakers stopped working!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

For the money, a good deal!

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned surround sound systems in the past and was a bit hesitant to buy one this inexpensive. But, overall, the quality and dvd player are great. It doesn't have all the "bells and whistles" like more expensive ones but performs perfectly. My main reason for buying this model was it has an AM/FM tuner, which many do not. Great reception on the radio which was a real plus. My only complaint is the speaker wires are fixed into the speakers instead of having a connection so you are stuck using them and limited by their length (besides splicing wires). I don't think you will find a better unit for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

DVD 5.1 surround system

03/28/2014
By ,
Milton, Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sounds and plays great for small to mid size room....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Extreme value for the dollar

12/02/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Note: You will need to purchase an audio cable for this or you can use an old a/v cable from an old TV (the kind that connected VCRs and DVD players on the pre-digital TVs). If you use the latter, you will only need to utilize the red and white cable endings (not the yellow). You will also need one HDMI cable to go from the player to the TV. If you elect not to use an audio cable, you will only be able to hear sound from the RCA speakers when you view DVDs through the player. The audio cables will enable you to hear surround sound via the RCA speakers coming from your new TV.
When you open up this package to assemble, you will need to wire the speakers into the back of the DVD player. Don't worry, the've made it bryan (me)-proof. The wires are color coded, and the process is simple to figure out. I have never done anything close to wiring in the past, and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete. It is really easy.
While I still haven't had much of an opportunity to get the sound just the way I like it, I can say that the quality of sound is much better than what I was expecting given the price that was paid. It isn't Bose quality, but I didn't pay Bose prices for it.
This unit is a good deal for what you get. We purchased it as part of a package deal with a Sceptre 42" TV. I sure hope this helps someone out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

I was hopefull

03/17/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Va.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sound system was great ...the first and second time I used it. It was easy to set up and seemed to be what I wanted. Then I couldn't get my DVD out of the machine. I tried all the trouble shooting hints in the book and at the web site. Nothing worked. I finally had to take it apart to get the DVD out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Superior quality

01/16/2011
By ,
Wilkesboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a home theater system for sometime but could not find an affordable one. I purchased this product based not only by price but also on the brand name reputation and experience I have with RCA and it paid off. This system provides theater-quality sound, was easy to setup and is very user friendly. I would recommend this system to anyone wanting better quality sound for their entertainment system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

The Basics

03/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is for someone who wants a traditional five speaker stereo system. The DVD player is the real value. It plays wonderfully in both picture quality and sound. Wow. However, on a scale of quiet to very loud, this system stops short at loud. Definitely not enough volume for a house party, but enough to feel the effects of watching a movie. The surround sound speakers are wired only, so it would take too much reconstruction for me to hook them up. It would be much better if they offered wireless back speakers. Instructions and set-up were a breeze. Definitely for someone who just wants the basics.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+305points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roseville, MI
It wasn't made for a house party.
Posted 03/14/2012
For the price you can't beat it, sound quality is great for movies & tv. If you want good sound at louder volumes or with a crowd buy a better system.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Garbage!!

04/19/2014
By ,
NYC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money! Arrived w a dead speaker. Returned and will purchase through a major electronic store. Horrible!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Great Product!

11/13/2013
By ,
eureka springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good deal...well worth the money! Sounds GREAT on my new TV!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player

Overall good deal

05/12/2010
By ,
Eastern Shore, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product as part of an LCD 42 inch television bundle and I think this is the perfect size system for us with a small living room.
The DVD player works great and it was simple to hook up and operate. The looks and size of the system are nice.
You will need to purchase a sound/audio cable to hook the system up to the television to listen to the television in surround sound, if not, it will only come through the speakers when the DVD player is used.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+223points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
Wireless Speakers
Posted 09/22/2013
Are the speakers that come with this system wireless?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 900 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next