Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Dust off those video tapes and enjoy VHS movie formats with the Magnavox DVD Recorder ZV427MG9 with Line-In Recording. This Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR features 1080p up-conversion and 2-way dubbing, so you can record VHS tapes to DVD, or vice versa. Plus, the Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR can record for up to six hours — so sit back and enjoy the show. The DVD and VCR recorder is also equipped with an HTMI output. The Magnavox DVD Recorder ZV427MG9 with Line-In Recording has multiple functions and is great for utilizing your entire movie collections.
Average Customer Rating:
3.953 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(551 Reviews) 458
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
151
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation82%450 out of 551reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
602 Questions | 717 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
151
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Disposable.

12/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these for a specific purpose. It worked for a few days. I unplugged it and and left it alone for a couple of weeks. After I plugged it in again, it wouldn't power up. The outlets were fine. This thing's power supply was shot. If you get one, use it quick before it goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great so far

02/08/2010
By ,
Pangburn, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this DVD/VCR recorder online and love it so far. I've only had it for about a week but have watched several DVDs and VHS tapes. I haven't tried to record anything yet but I bought it mainly for my grandkids to watch movies. Great price for a player/recorder with a tuner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great machine and easy to use

06/04/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an very good machine! It will record on either VHS or DVD and will also play both. If these are your needs then this is the machine. I would avoid the refurbished ones though, I got one and ended up with a dud and had to send it back, but then I found the new ones here for a decent price. I am very pleased with my purchase. My only complaint is that when you are watching the DVD, the machine won't always remember where you left off...little frustrating, but then I just set the auto chapter at 15 mins and it's easy to zip to where you need to be. I am recording off of over-the-air antenna and it works great!! I use the digital to analog converter box even though it isn't really necessary to get reception or for my digital TV, but it works great for a tuner for this machine, since it doesn't have one. I use S-video hook up and the VHS and DVDs are really clear! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9
12/27/2012
By ,
Anderson S C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because we have a lot of home movies from the early 90's on VHS tapes and wanted to transfer them to DVD and because I wanted a new VCR before they just dissappear. It cannot get any easier to make your own DVD' from VHS tape's than this machine. My husband had most of our's done in one afternoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

EASY TO SET UP AND USE

08/13/2013
By ,
MA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YOU MUST HAVE A SATELLITE OR CABLE RECEIVER BOX TO USE THIS MODEL.
I was able to transfer my VHS Home movies on to DVD's very easy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

So far, so good

01/08/2012
By ,
Littlestown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the Magnavox DVD Recorder for Christmas 2011. I've successfully recorded a TV program to DVD and have Dubbed a VHS tape to DVD. Have not yet attempted to dub a DVD to VHS. The recorder's many features and very reasonable price tag make for a great value. Keeping fingers crossed for long-term reliability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Exactly the unit to meet the dual requirement.

02/20/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance is excellent and met all expectations. The HDMI connections are simple and this is truly a plug and play unit. The HDMI cable is an a separately purchased item that is well worth the money, simplicity and picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Save your money

09/17/2010
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This recorder is too complicated, the print on the remote too small, & not worth your hard earned dollars. Returned the unit the following day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great value for the price.

09/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our church to convert a lot of our seminars that are on VHS tapes over to DVD. We didn't need a TV tuner, so this fit the need. Once I figured out the menu, I was able to set it up, record the DVD, then put a title right in the program in a few minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

nice vcr/dvd

12/31/2011
By ,
greensboro,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to record dvds and line in recording. This unit is easy to use once you realize what you are doing. I have not used all the features yet, but I have used this unit to record several dvds using line in recording and the dvds are nice and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

It works!

02/22/2012
By ,
Southfield,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Main reason for buying this product was to convert VHS tapes (about 30) to DVD. Product works well and did not have "any" problems with dubbing process. Was able to convert all cassette tapes over to DVD. One just have to follow instructions in manuel.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Does what it says it does

07/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit arrived as expected and in good condition ... No apparent dings or previous box opening etc. Shipped in the factory Box for all to see what it was by FedEx.
This unit has no tuner so don't order this if you want to record from anything external other than what you are watching at the time.
Will not record VHS or DVDs that are protected i.e. this is not to convert your VHS purchased videos to DVD.
The unit does a good basic job of copying a VHS to a DVD. It can record to VHS(I don't know why anyone would be doing this now) or to DVD from a direct line in .... cable, another DVD or camera. Has front and rear inputs and rear only outputs including HDMI.
Works well in this niche purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great value for the bucks !!

01/01/2012
By ,
Orlando, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything that it is designed for. A little tricky to get used to. I made at least 3 coasters from DVD's right off the bat. Don't really care for the instruction manual and just sorta crashed and banged then found the "ah ha" moment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Objective;Copy VCR to DVD

01/16/2012
By ,
Nashville TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased ZV427MG9 1/14/12
Begin dubbing vol 1 of 4 all went fine copied 110 minutes vcr 2 dvd
Load vol 2 vcr tape, recorder would not seat vcr tape correctly, ejects tape
Load vol 3 vcr tape, recorder would not seat vcr tape correctly,ejects tape
Load Vol 2 & 3 in my Toshiba recorder, vcr tapes load and play correctly.
Load vol 4 vcr tape loaded correctly was able to complete copying.
Load 3 more vcr moves and was able to complete copying.
Loaded next 3 vcr tape, would start play,then display NO Signal
Will return Recorder to walmart store on 2/17/14 for an exchange.
I am not happy a this time with my ZV427MG9, it performed like a refurbished recorder.
I will ask the assoicate if it's new or refurbished, one more try.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Love the player & warranty help

02/21/2012
By ,
Nashville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My player did not come with the remote. Waited way toooooo long to call about it, but was sent a free one, anyway :) The player works great, but needs the remote for most functions!! Lovethat I can record on DVD or VHS!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

So disappointed!

01/14/2013
By ,
Willis, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hook up instructions were very easy. We used the HDMI hookup but the unit did not recognize the HDMI at all. No matter what we tried could not get the VCR to tape anything. It appears to be an excellent value if you can get it to do what it is supposed to do. Even tried calling customer support and that was a waste of time. They have untrained people reading from a computer screen. Out of frustration, I returned it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Very simple operation with HDMI hookup..

12/20/2012
By ,
Pell City, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had many VHS tapes of family I wanted to copy to DVD format for protection of those precious moments. I almost make myself sick when purchasing an electronic item because I usually end up almost having a nervous breakdown just attempting to set it all up. This however was the easiest machine EVER to hook up and use. For a technically challenged person as myself I must say I was more than thrilled. I have almost completely copied all of my VHS tapes to DVD and the only negative thing I could possibly say @ this point is I cannot get anything else done because I have to sit and watch each and every moment of the tapes while recording because of the beautiful memories on each of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Very Old Technology

03/06/2010
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look for another manufacturer! Burned DVD's will not auto start. Disk showes two images and you must pick your movie. Tech support is fast to answer with some answer, any answer, just not the right answer. After 4 phone call got true answer. Manual was wrong twice according to techinal support and very lacking in information. Web sight not any better. Very disappointed in product, returned to Wal-Mart for refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Good dubbing of VHS to DVD

12/03/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy connection, good on screen menu. I had recorded TV news events and sporting events on VHS tapes for personal use. Now I am able to dubb or transfer to DVD and save my shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9
11/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is great for the money! I have turned all my VHS tapes into DVDs and recycled all those bulky tapes. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 459 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  23 Next