Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Dust off those video tapes and enjoy VHS movie formats with the Magnavox DVD Recorder ZV427MG9 with Line-In Recording. This Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR features 1080p up-conversion and 2-way dubbing, so you can record VHS tapes to DVD, or vice versa. Plus, the Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR can record for up to six hours — so sit back and enjoy the show. The DVD and VCR recorder is also equipped with an HTMI output. The Magnavox DVD Recorder ZV427MG9 with Line-In Recording has multiple functions and is great for utilizing your entire movie collections.
Average Customer Rating:
3.953 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(551 Reviews) 458
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
151
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation82%450 out of 551reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
601 Questions | 716 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
268
4 stars
151
3 stars
42
2 stars
18
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Very satisfied, one caveat

05/08/2013
By ,
Southwest Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have hundreds of old VHS tapes that I wanted to convert to DVD. They are mostly recorded off television, therefore I wanted the capability of editing out commercials and junk. This product will do that. Unfortunately, I dubbed about 16 disks (Verbatim DVD-R) before I found out that I have to use DVD+RW in order for this function to work when the disk is played on other DVD players. I finally found this out after calling the service department; it took the guy a while to figure this out. He was so nice and really wanted to help; he finally saw the DVD+RW way up in the top left corner of the relevant page in the maual, in such fine print I had to use a magnifying glass to see it! But anyway, my problem is solved (I hope). I'll have to buy the DVD+RWs and give them a try. When they say "Read the mnaual," they mean ALL the manual!!! Otherwise, this recorder does a great job of transferring the VHS; the quality is improved in the process and it's been such fun seeing all those old recordings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Miserable Experience With This Product

01/25/2012
By ,
Lonedell, Mo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is amazing to read all the possitive reviews about this Player/Recorder. I must have bought from the wrong Walmart or they were shipped a very bad batch!
I returned and replaced 3 of these Magnavox DVD recorder/VCR players in a 6 month period. I was able to record maybe* 4 movies before they stopped working with an error message about the dvds. I did nothing wrong to cause this, I bought new DVDs of different brands (R & RW's#, but none would work. All 3 players did the same thing after appromimately 10 hours of use. Unfortunately, I am stuck with the last player since I had an out-of-state emergency and could not get it returned within the time limit. Since I won't even try to record anymore, I played a dvd approx. 3 weeks ago, and now it will not eject it. The player will not even power up now. I would say it is a good value #if any of the 3 worked properly), but in my case, it's a poor value, because of the loss of money I paid for the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Copies VHS to DVD but very poor instructions.

06/24/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If what you want to do is copy VHS home movies to DVD then this will do the job. Punch a few buttons and come back in a few hours. Video and audio quality is good.
But forget about trying to add helpful titles to the DVD, markers, chapters, titles. The owner's manual is the worst I've ever read. There is no explanation of the difference between chapters, titles, or markers, or HOW to actually create them on the DVD. When I tried to edit a "title" I somehow blanked out the entire DVD, similar to formatting a hard drive, and I had to start the whole process over again with a new DVD.
The remote doesn't act like a conventional remote. It's like the remote control software writers never actually used a remote before. When the DVD is is the "pause" mode the Fast Forward and Fast Rewind are in Extra Slow Motion.
The hardware aspect of this machine is OK but the instruction manual and remote control user interface are just awful. Not recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Read before you leap!

07/28/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder back in 2008, and I wish I had access to some of the negative reviews before I threw my money away. Less than 6 months after using the recorder the unit would not record clearly in SLP mode on the VHS side. The recorded images were snowy. To get a clear image I could only record on a 6 hour tape 2 hours of programming. No problem, I switched to recording on the DVD side. Next problem the recorder would not keep the correct date and time. It would reset itself to a random month and day. For some reason it seemed to like the year 2007. I time recorded a lot, and it was a hassle always having to correct the date and time. Fast forward to the year 2010. Now the unit won't record any time selected programs. I've gotten disc load errors, repairing disc notices, a loud grinding sound when trying to load a disc, and the unit turning itself off in the middle of playback on store bought movies. Right now I have a lovely clock for $158.00, and I'm sure that's probably on it's way out. Take my advice, DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

It is what it is.

07/25/2010
By ,
Northwest Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I had to buy it twice. The first unit was defective, the DVD drawer would not open. However the second one worked perfectly. It does everything advertised. Exactly, no more, no less. Do not succumb to the thought in your head that it will copy all of your old VHS tapes to DVD. It will not copy any commercial tapes with copy protection, period. There are ways to do that, but this machine is not one of them.
If you want to play VHS and DVD media to your TV it is easy to set up and it does a great job. The video and audio are exceptional and it will copy any home made VHS tapes directly to DVD with chapters and titles as you need them. The controls are easy to use and the manual is easy to understand.
I do recommend this product with the exception to those who want to copy their old Disney movies before the tapes go bad, you will need another solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Copyright Problems & Recording t..v Complicated

10/12/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Already have a DVR on main t.v. I bought this product for our second t.v. for 2 reasons:
1) To record programs during the day on second t.v. This way kids could watch favorite cartoons while husband watching sports/news. 2) To dub old VHS tapes to DVD so we could watch them in car DVD player.
Problems: 1) Does not work like a DVR where you can set it and forget it. You have to go in and set it up on record stand by every morning and it won't change the channel, so you can only record off one channel until you come back and manually change the channel. I don't have time for all that so recording t.v. shows while at work isn't going to work. 2) Will only dub home movies. Everything else is copyright protected (which isn't it legal to copy your own movies, if you arn't going to sell them?)
If you want to dub old home movies from VHS to DVD, record live t.v. while you are there to press the buttons, and watch DVDs and VHS movies this product will work for you. It just doesn't do the primary functions I wanted. Plan on returning it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

WORK'S GREAT !!!!

12/11/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST GOT IT... ordered it online and it was $147 with FREE SHIPPING.... in the store was $157. Make sure you order the 2 year protection plan only $20.00 so now you are good to go JUST IN CASE.
Took it out hooked it up read the manual and put a old tape from the store i had
VAN HALEN LIVE and loaded a DVD-R
And pushed DUB 90 min later the tape ended... Went into menu Edit and finalized the DVD-R only took about 7 min there it was played fine took it out went to my other dvd player put the disk in and worked fine took it out put it into my mac computer worked fine ........THIS MACHINE WORKS
YES IT RECORDS TV I hook it to my Verizon fios box.
Just hook the RCA cables to your cable box yellow video and red /white Audio OUT and then hooked the other ends the same way to you new vcr/dvd recorder IN get another set of RCA cables and do the same OUT and into your tv IN.
Very easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great value and great features

08/04/2009
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Magnavox DVD Recorder/VCR about 6 weeks ago with the specific purpose of transferring my old VHS tapes to DVDs. I don't normally write reviews, but I noticed a prior review that only awarded one star and did not recommend purchasing this product. I honestly disagree with the prior reviewer's opinion.
I was able to hook up the unit to my very old spare TV (it involved using an RF modulator to interface between the unit and the TV) without any problems. Another feature that motivated me to purchase this unit was its reverse dubbing ability; it's a long story, but sometimes I need to transfer from a DVD to a VHS tape. Since I have hooked up this unit, I have used every feature that it possesses and it has performed perfectly. The menus that you need to use to program the unit are logical and straight-forward. As a matter of fact, I liked the original unit so much (and it is very good value for the money) that I purchased a second unit for another one of the TVs in my home.
I highly recommend this unit as excellent value for your money, for the multitude of features it possesses and because it performed exactly as advertised with no unusual quirks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NEW YORK
EASY TO USE
Posted 02/21/2014
IS THIS RECORDER EASY TO USE, AND CAN YOU RECORD A TELEVISION PROGRAM ON DVD.
0points
Customer Avatar
Newark NJ
I to have this Magnavox DVD play /recorder & Vhs ,
Posted 01/11/2012
I just got my unit I wish to as many of you dub my old vhs and record over to dvd. hoping to get 4 hrs on each disk. And what I realy like to do Is record tv shows or especily movies.
But since I have verizion Fios which comes with cable box and flat screen tv has 1080p and HDMI out let, 1 in ,1 out. In any case I call surpport, I suggested this way and no no this way and that way, was crazy. I won;t be able to record from tv ,only p,lay dvd and same with vhs ,just play. What is this, This unit loaded with features , Then he say remove fios cables which has 5 jacks and put the 3 rca cABLES THERE, tH 5 jacks are blue grenn red , And right next to these jacks are 3 rca cables jacks yellow left, audio ,White right audio Jack , and red jack recording these r empty.. Does anyone know how to hook up this unit correctly with my FIOS cable box and my 32 rca mangnavox Flat screen tv 1080p. I would be very thak Thankful, I am disabled and it is hard to feal with the connections and there wrong ,put up take down. So I hope some one e mail how to do so I can enjoy recordiing movies On my Blank DvD blank -rw. and much moore. Hope some one responce. Thank you
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Frustrating Set Up

07/31/2009
By ,
Marquette, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was sure I could just hook this unit up, run through the set up and record from my newish, 2 year old flat screen hd tv. WRONG!
There are way too many variables in connections to make this easy for the general consumer. Details on connection types should be on the outside of the box specifying any additional hardware or cables needed. After about two hours of trying to record from multiple TV's I called Maganvox Tech Support. They seemed knowledgeable and helpful, but apparently my hd box from my cable company has only one set of output jacks, (red, white, yellow) and they are being used by the TV and this Magnavox unit doesn't have a tuner or component IN jacks for use with red, white, yellow jacks. Tech support says there should be hd boxes with multiple sets of output jacks and DVD/VCR recording units that have component IN jacks. Unfortunately I have neither. I'm told by other techies at work that an HDMI cable (cheap one is as good as the expensive one everyone tries to sell you) should solve my problem. We'll see! Can't give a fair review rating yet since I don't know if product works or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9
06/01/2010
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this DVD recorder! It works really well and is easy to use. When deciding whether or not it was the right recorder for me. At first I wasn't totally sure whether or not I needed a recorder that had a built-in tuner, since you save money with this recorder because it doesn't have one. Without the built-in tuner, you have to use the tri-color (red, white, & yellow) cables to connect from your cable or satellite box and also must use the tri-color cables to connect to your tv. It's the tuner that allows you to connect to and from coaxial cable. So as long as you have a newer tv, and get your signal from cable or satellite, it isn't a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+154points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Memory Saver

01/04/2010
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to copy our family home videos from VHS tapes to DVD. I have been very pleased with how well this has worked. I did not believe it was possible, but it certainly seems that the quality of the video on the DVD is actually better than on the original VHS tape. I have not yet used it to record broadcasts to DVD, mainly because most of the shows that have been on have not been worth wasting a DVD on. The unit is not as easy to use as it could have been. The procedures are a little convoluted and not as intuitive as I would have liked. After copying my fourth tape I find I still have to refer to the step by step instruction in the manual to make sure I don't miss a step. Maybe I'm just a slow learner. Overall I thought this was a great value, and ideal for what I am using it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Just What I Wanted

02/23/2010
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a recorder mainly for recording from my DVR onto DVD. I had bought this one at the store because the one I had my eye on was gone and this was the only one. I am so glad that I did buy it. The quality so far has been great, once I read through the manual everything was pretty easy. My only problem was I bought a HDMI cable because I thought I would need one but I am returning because even though I have an HD TV without the cable the picture quality is still very good (and this is on the 6 hour recording).
So if you are looking for a recorder to keep your shows and movies from your DVR to DVD buy this recorder and you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maine
DVD
Posted 01/29/2012
can you tell me how you recorded from your DVR I am looking to do the same thing with countless hours of childrens show I have recorded. But still skeptical about the whole process..... thank you for your help, this is what I've been looking for!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Good initially, but not built to last

11/17/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product about a year ago to play DVDs, VHS, and burn family videos from our camera to a DVD. It did everything perfectly and I was really happy with the product! I especially like that I can plug my camera into the front of the burner. After about 20 DVDs burned (over the course of the past year), I was unable to burn DVDs. I kept getting an error message, and I tried just about everything to get it to work. Now I am only able to watch DVDs and VHS. I wish I had gotten the extended warranty that was offered when I purchased it at the store (about $20). Now I'm shopping around for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
DVD record problem
Posted 07/01/2011
All DVD players and recorders use laser lenses. Recording & erasing use higher beam intensities and the equipment must be at its best. Over time, the lenses can gather dust and must be cleaned. Special kits are available for cleaning the lenses and there is a good chance this will cure your problem. They are widely available, easy to use, and fairly inexpensive. Also they often cure the stalling and skipping you may sometimes experience on playback.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Good Product

10/25/2009
By ,
Avon Park, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product at my local Wal-Mart and paid the $158.00 price. It's a good value for the money.
However, in order to watch a dvd in high def the hdmi has to be in but to watch a video you have to use the analog connections. You must disconnect the analog in order to watch hi-def dvds.
If you don't have power, which mine didn't this morning. I tried several outlets and nothing. I was a bit upset because I left a $20 dvd in it. So I called Tech Support she suggested I power cycle-hold power button, and at the same time plug the unit back in. It worked! She did give me admin warranty number to call m-f 8-5 if i need it in the future.
Dvd's from pre-recorded tapes that have the tab removed will not record to dvd. and the same for dvds that are write protected.
I find this product is good for the money. Would have been better with a digital tuner for the tv to record to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Bigger bang for the buck

12/27/2009
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found the Magnavox DVD recorder exceptionally adaptable to most of the TVs we have throughout our home (5) except for a +10 year old Phillips formerly in master bedroom. A 7 year old flat screen 25" Sanyo had compatible RCA plug ports. So we moved it into our master bedroom and not only found the new Magnavox enhanced the color quality of the TV picture, but also quality of recorded VHS tapes far surpassed previous Magnavox VCR recorder/player & DVD player that was only 3 years old. We copy movies for rural friends without cable service. While quality of VHS recordings are superior, we are thrilled to be able to multiple times recopy over on far easier to transport DVD+RW discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Works Great!

12/06/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this item, I was a bit weary. Several times I looked online for product reviews and saw mostly good comments and ratings. Still I was a was not sure; especially for the price tag. However, I decided to buy this. Although setting it all up took longer for me than expected, everything is great. You will be able to record your home vhs videos to dvd; other vhs tapes to dvd; and also, you can record tv to dvd by using another vhs player or external tuner. This product works great and am very satisfied. Highly recommend for those who are thinking about this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Great for copying old videos

12/28/2009
By ,
Columbia City, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to copy old family VHS tapes to DVD. It is very easy to use and if you stop the dubbing then restart it a chapter mark is automatically set. You can then add titles and edit the picture on the chapter marks. The quality on the DVD is also very good. This is an excellent product to dub your old movies onto DVDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

Does not work well with DVD+RW discs

03/31/2010
By ,
Little Rock, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this unit since December '09. It worked OK with DVD+RW discs for a week or two, but now it does not work well with DVD+RW discs even though the instruction manual says it is fully compatible. I have tried both Verbatim DVD+RW discs (which is one of the recommended discs in the instruction manual) and Memorex DVD+RW discs and on every disc I get a "Recording Error: Cannot record to this disc" error. As you can imagine, this has been rather inconvenient for recording TV shows that I just want to watch later and don't want to keep forever. Sometimes, timer recording hasn't worked because when it's time to record the show, the player won't cooperate with the DVD+RW disc and will just refuse to record.
I haven't tried DVD-RW discs because those have to be recorded in "VR" mode. For now, I'm using the VCR side of the unit to record TV shows until I find some RW discs that work with this unit. Disappointing.
It works fine with Verbatim DVD+R discs. No errors with those so far. The VHS tape-dubbing feature to DVD+R discs has worked great (so far).
Another annoyance with this recorder is that the machine takes 30 seconds to load a DVD (I timed it), even a blank DVD, after you insert it. So if a TV show is starting that you want to record immediately, hopefully you already have a disc in the unit (and if it's a DVD+RW disc, you'll probably get a recording error - see above).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indy
DVD+RW Disc recording
Posted 10/24/2012
I found that when recording with DVD+RW that they wear out, if you have a problem the disc has bcome corrupted much like a failure in firmware in a computer. Try a new disc and the problem should go away, until it wears out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

A good product

10/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product but had to return it and order the MDR513H/F7. This has to be used in conjunction with a cable box. If you have just basic cable you can not record TV programs. If it wasn't for that this would have worked great for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+464points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PAHRUMP NV
VHS RECORDING
Posted 06/10/2013
I AM JUST TRYING TO VERIFY THAT IT WILL/WILL NOT RECORD FROM JUST AN ANTENNA....IT SAYS IT WILL RECORD UP TO 12 EVENTS? THANKS
0points
Customer Avatar
Keene, NH
Posted 07/29/2012
I think line-in recording means that you can record only using cables (e.g. the red/yellow/white ones) since the Magnavox doesn't have its own tuner. Normally this means you can only record the same channel you're watching (if the VCR has its own tuner, which all of them used to in the old days, you could record one channel while watching another).
+11points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Recorder & 4-Head Hi-Fi VCR with Line-In Recording, ZV427MG9

great dvd, vcr recorder

12/30/2009
By ,
gilbert, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read many reviews that say this unit cannot records programs correctly so i almost decided not to buy it, but after recieving it and trying it i am glad i did. both the dvd and vcr recorders work fine. i have used it to record movies off of the regular channels and off of on demand thru my cable box and the programming recorded perfectly and with very good picture quality. i dont know if the other people had problems because of how they hooked it up, but i had very little trouble hooking it up and as i said, it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 459 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next