Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Have a strong, tasty cup of coffee available anytime when you use the Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker. This appliance is a handy tool to have in your home or office when you need a pick-me-up. The Hamilton Beach coffee maker has a drip-free pouring feature that will help you to keep things clean when pouring for yourself or for guests. It also has an auto pause and serve feature. You can even program it in advance to brew your morning coffee for a smooth and energizing start to the day. This unique appliance has a large clock. It also has a two-hour shutoff feature. For versatility, it works with either easy-serving espresso pods or ground espresso. It features simple push-button operation with a powerful 15-bar Italian pump. The espresso coffee maker has an easy-to-clean, nonstick warmer plate that lets you have a hot brew anytime. The device uses 8-12 cup basket-style coffee filters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation82%122 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 112 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

I had to return it

02/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is cool looking. The coffee was hot and the brew strength was good. I was excited when it arrived after two weeks site to store. The carafe was leaking slightly from the seal around the top where the lid that opens and closes attaches to the glass. The second pot of coffee it started pouring out from under the rim. I called Hamilton Beach and after 20min. On hold I hung up and returned the entire thing to Walmart. I purchased a Mr Coffee awesome so far has brew strength delay
brew. It brews quickly and has an alert when the pot is done. It was a few dollars cheaper too .
BVMC-SJX33GT The other issues with the illusion are the water level is inside the pot I needed a flashlight to see it and there was no alert when the pot was finished brewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Great coffee maker

02/24/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this on line at Walmart looking for a new coffee maker. The looks struck me right away. The price seemed reasonable. I got it a few days ago and so far, I am more than pleased with it.
It is so easy to set up the time and program it for going off the next morning. I was kind of surprised it would be that easy, my other ones weren't
You can use either a paper filter, or a metal mess filter. It will brew a cup of coffee in 10 1/2 minutes and the coffee tasted great. I had no problems pouring from the carafe. it's pretty much spill proof. Filling it with water is a little tricky without spilling water, as the opening on either side isn't that wide. But you can do it if your carefull
The clock is pretty good size and easy to read. The power cord is stiff. More so than any coffee maker I have ever had.
It's got a one year warranty and it says you can order another carafe if you happen to break the one you have.
It is a very nice looking coffee maker. If it last, you can't go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

A great coffee pot

02/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item about a month ago and have been very, very pleased with the item. It has a no drip carafe, it keeps coffee nice and hot, has a 2 hour shut off. The only complaint I have is the water reservoir...it is difficult to judge how much water you have put into the reservoir. I think I would have preferred to have a see through measuring point on the side but am now used to the guide. It's a great pot, looks fantastic and I am glad I purchased it for my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker
02/12/2010
By ,
Moody, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little coffee maker! I'm hard on my coffee makers because I drink so much coffee and live in an area where there's hard water. Not only does this one look really cool, it makes great coffee too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

For people who take coffee serious!

12/11/2013
By ,
New Albany, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 cups, means actually 12 cups! I have owned the cheapest and the most expensive. Cuisinart, Bunn, Mr. Coffee You name it. 3 pots a day, I've burned through a lot of coffee makers. When my 6 month old $150.00 Mr. Coffee maker stopped working. The manual said it had to be brought in to be serviced. Are you kidding me? I don't take coffee pots in to be serviced. I throw them away and go buy another one. Finally I just went to the dollar store and paid $15.00 for a junker that poured water all over the counter when I tried to fill it. Then had to be completely taken apart after each day to be cleaned it was so gross. After racing home to shut it off because It didn't have an auto shut off. I decided it was time to get real. Do some research and find one that actually works, makes more 3 cups when it advertises 12, has an auto shut off and WILL NOT SPILL. That is when I found this beauty. I have owned it for about 2 months and I'm still crazy about it. I took my gold filter from my cuisinart and dropped it in this glorious machine. It was a match made in heaven. This 12 cup machine is programmable, digital, has the auto shut off, makes 10 large size coffee mugs. Not baby sized tea cups. The fact that its so modern and see through with the chrome and black shell. Very awesome. Everyone who see's this thing in my kitchen makes a comment on how cool it looks. I don't care if it looks like Charlie Brown's Christmas Tree. I just want the most functional coffee pot that' preferably programmable and does not soak my counter when I try to fill it or pour coffee. The extra features after that, just bonus items. The look is incredible. I don't no your needs. But if you like a coffee pot that is capable of blinking a red dot indicating that it needs to go to the service center. Then refer to my previous purchases. If you want one that works, needs regular cleaning like a regular appliance should. Will work when you turn it on, wont burn your house down, and will make and do what it claims, without destroying your floors and counters. While looking the cool to boot and taking less space. Give this one a try. Oh yea, by the way. IT'S COST EFFICIENT. My search is over. This is the DREAM MACHINE. I love it. I drink coffee because I like it and I need it. This machine is for real, the real deal. For serious coffee drinkers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Excellent purchase!

04/19/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped in the store and online before buying a new coffee maker. This one is not available in stores, and I'm so glad I found it online before buying. Many of the coffee makers that are in stores got mediocre reviews online. This one has been great. It looks and works great. I'm very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker
03/20/2010
By ,
Norwalk, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I really enjoy this coffee maker. The only thing I would change is the water level indicator on the inside. Very difficult to read so I have to rely on the carafe markings. Other then that, it's fast and attractive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Best Coffeemaker I Have Ever Owned!

01/26/2014
By ,
Macomb,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this coffeemaker about 4 years ago and it is still going strong. In the past I have always bought Mr. Coffee coffeemakers. When my last Mr. Coffee went out (which they do in a short amount of time - 2 years or less), I decided to change brands. I saw this one and decided to try it out mainly because of its modern look. I have had so many compliments on it and everyone wants to know where I got it. I'm back to purchase another one, not because my current has quit working, but to have a spare when my current one eventually goes out. You will not be dissatisfied with this coffeemaker and it will last you longer than most on the market. In fact, my mother-in-law purchased a $100 KitchenAid and it only lasted her less than 2 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Very good item, would puchase this item again.

03/18/2010
By ,
Mount Prospect, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking, easy to use. Has Large brite clock screen. Buttons are large, and are well lighted.
Had a Mr. coffee, before, and had electrical problems with it, kept tripping off. This is a very good coffee maker for the money you spend. I would buy this item again. Makes a good gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Hamilton coffee pot

04/26/2010
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design is nice, as to size of a 12 cup. I really like it at first, but after 2 weeks the seal begain to leak as pouring the coffee.
I would purchase another one if it didn't have the plastic around the lid. Just didn't like the mess pouring coffee made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

CARAFE DOES NOT DRIP WHEN POURING HAMILTON BEACH

01/11/2012
By ,
SKILLMAN, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAMILTON BEACH "ILLUSION" COFFEE MAKER- DRIPLESS CARAFE, MENTIONED IN THE OTHER ON-LINE REVIEWS, CLINCHED THE SALE FOR ME. I WAS TIRED OF ALWAYS USING A NAPKIN, PAPER TOWEL OR DISH CLOTH TO CATCH DRIPS FROM ALL THE OTHER COFFEE MAKERS, WHICH THEN SIZZLED AND BURNED ON THE HEATING PLATE. THE DESIGN IS CREATIVE, EYE CATCHING AND BOTH SPACE SAVING AND A CONVERSATION PIECE. MY WIFE CALLS IT MY "BEAM ME UP SCOTTI" COFFEE MAKER. MOST IMPORTANTLY IT MAKES GREAT COFFEE. I RECOMMEND POURING THE WATER INTO THE CARAFE FIRST, THEN POURING THE WATER INTO THE RESERVOIR, FROM THE CARAFE, AS IT IS DIFFICULT TO SEE HOW MUCH WATER IS IN THE RESERVOIR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker
03/29/2011
By ,
missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
there is no way to pour from pot with out dripping everywhere. looks nice but makes a big mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Great but and great shipping.

02/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the look of it and the fact that it was narrow under my cupboards as i dont have much for space. I ordered it next day shipping. It took one day to prossess and was here the day after, i was very impressed with the product and the delivery!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Issue with product

04/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit itself is ok. The decanter that came with it had a leak around the collar. You had to pour the coffee over the sink as you always had a mess as the coffee poured from the leak. Had to send $5 for a new one to be shipped to me. Was not happy as the first one was clearly defective. So add 5 to the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker
04/17/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got this online loved the look, plugged it in and it made LOTS of noise and that was all. The water heated but would not drip into the carafe very disappointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

neat coffee maker

05/03/2010
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after reviewing "reviews" from other walmart shoppers. I usually buy a Mr. Coffee - so I bought this. I like it - but the "program" button doesn't work - so I can't program it - and I can not get the clock to keep time. I decided to keep it because as a coffee maker, it is great. As a clock, it isn't. The dial is easy to read - but it keeps time to fast -
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Returned item

03/22/2010
By ,
troy, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Coffee pot looks great. Functioned well for first 2 days, then noticed the time was wrong on the clock. I'd reset and check later, it was 2 hours later. Unplugged pot to reset, functioned well for a day then, the same thing with the clock and timer. Had to return, purchased a different model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Perfect cup of coffee

04/02/2010
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for about a month, and love it. It is very easy to program, and love the automatic shut off. My only complaint is the narrow opening on the carafe . It makes it hard to put your hand in when washing it. Other than that, I recommend this for a good cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

The Perfect Coffee Maker

04/08/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always dread buying a new coffee maker because most of them are flimsy and just don't last. So, when our last one was about to break I read a lot of reviews on various makes and models. The conclusion was this Hamilton Beach had consistently good reviews on all sites, so we went with this one. The fact that it has a unique design was a great bonus. Upon receiving the coffee maker we were beyond thrilled in all ways. We've been using it for several weeks now and this is by far the best coffee maker we've had. It's really sturdy, makes a great pot of coffee, and has easy to use programming. I highly recommend this coffee maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Illusion 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Not impressed

03/24/2010
By ,
Austin,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a week of using this coffee maker the coffee pot starting leaking coffee out of the seam of the rim of the pot when pouring the coffee. Read the reviews and decided on this one and now don't know if reading the reviews are worth it. Going to return and have ordered a perculator, hope to have better luck with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next