Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

The Black & Decker TROS1000 Toaster Oven is designed to fit in perfectly under the cabinet so as to save counter space. This stainless steel toaster oven features a sturdy construction and offers plenty of cooking options that include bake, toast, and keep-warm functions. The touch control buttons of the SpaceMaker Toaster Oven allow for easy operation and the LCD screen helps you select the desired settings. Provided with a spacious interior, you can cook larger portions of food such as a 9-inch frozen pizza and up to four slices of bread at a time. This under-the-cabinet toaster oven also features a Save-a-Plug outlet to connect to another SpaceMaker appliance such as a mini food processor/grinder or can opener.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%100 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
38
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Beautiful Sleek Toaster Oven

02/21/2012
By ,
Montreal, Quebec CANADA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Spacemaker Toaster Oven. It is beautiful. Installation of the plate on the bottom of the cupboard was very easy.... I am a handy female and had no problems. You just have to drill 4 holes using the template supplied, measure the spacers correctly and screw in the toaster oven. I LOVE IT......
The only complaint that I have is the Font for the buttons..... "Toast", "Timer", "Start" etc. If it was made bigger, it would be much more convenient (I have to always have my eyeglasses nearby)
I also bought the Spacemaker Can Opener which is a perfect companion.... they were made to be side by side..... installation of that was super easy......
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Spacemaker...model #TROS1000

04/12/2010
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a replacement for the original B&D Spacemaker that I used at least twice a day for many, many yrs (the spring to keep the door closed, wore out).
~ I will always love that the unit mounts under the cupboard, and is not taking up valuable counter top space.
~ Cleaning the crumbs out is a cinch with the drop down panel underneath.
~ I really appreciate the new sleeker & deeper design! (leaves more space between the unit and the counter). I can now comfortably fit 4 slices of bread inside.
~ I also enjoy the push buttons vs. the dials (looks nicer & quicker to wipe clean).
~We use the toaster daily and the oven portion at least several times a week.
Two things I would change:
#1 Include a baking tray like I received with my original model.
#2 Include auto shut off when you open the door, for safety.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 3 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Great Addition

08/28/2010
By ,
Berwick, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this toaster oven for about a month and am very pleased with it. Love the 'Keep Warm' setting. Easy to clean. I read many reviews before purchasing this oven - this gives one a heads up on a few things. The screws that came with the oven were not long enough & my husband did have to reorder from Black & Decker. He bought some from the local hardware store, however, they were not threaded the same. This delayed our installation by one week. We also kept the tray from our old oven, as this one did not come with one. All of the reviews complained about the same thing-the length of the screws & lack of the baking tray. One would think B & D would correct these problems. Overall, we are very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Not great instructions or hardware

08/23/2009
By ,
Fredericksburg, va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok so we got it, we use it alot which works well but when we opened up the instructions it was way too complicated, the blueprint is off and the screws were way to long, we had to cut them down to make sure the toaster would fit on its bracket.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Review 5 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Great being able to find it.

10/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought one of these ovens for my aunt and uncle many years ago. They loved it, especially the idea that it was located under the counter. Recently it ceased working, and my aunt asked if I could find another one. I found this one in Wal-Mart's on line shopping. I was pleased with the product, the price, and the idea that I could have it shipped to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Review 6 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

great

09/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great space saver. My kitchen is newer but small. It wasn't easy to put up because my trim is longer than what the pattern allows for, but with some adjustments we got it in. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Review 7 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Looks nice, not practical

04/24/2011
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took my husband about 2 hours to assemble and install the sheild/undercabinet mount that holds the toaster. The toaster worked fine for a few days, then it started making a funny noise when heating up to toast. Also, I would have to push the start button more than once to get it toasting. I felt bad that hubby spent all that time installing it, only to end up taking it all down to return it. After using it, we also discovered that you cannot warm up a leftover sub or anything larger than toast because there is not enough clearance inside the oven. Our older model worked fine for that, but it finally went kaput. So we decided not to replace the newer undercabinet toaster oven with another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless
02/06/2011
By ,
Meridian, ID
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this toaster oven because we've only owned spacemaker toasters and would not consider giving up the counter space. The toaster matches our other stainless steel appliances, however the mounting bracket is a totally different metal color, which is very irritating and I don't know what the company was thinking because it looks nothing like the photo. I am a little dissapointed in how the toast turns out, darker towards the outside and much lighter in the middle. Over all it is OK and I will keep it until we need to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Nice but a bit pricey

10/28/2009
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this toaster because it was the only one I could find that mounted under the counter and had a toast 'button'. It was more that I like to pay for a toaster/over. It did not come with any pans or trays. The crumb tray does not remove for easy cleaning. The toaster does work nice and the pre-heat works great. Not a bad toaster/over, but for the price I would have thought it would have a few extras.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 10 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Spacemaker Oven

01/21/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As with many other reviews, the screws provided were not usuable. The buttons do not always activate the "blinking blue light" which must be pushed quickly in order for the command to be followed. I find the toasting to be uneven unless the bread product is in the middle of the oven.
Luckily I saved my small baking tray from my previous oven as this one did not come with one. I needed a spacesaver oven and choice was limited.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Not worth the effort

09/20/2010
By ,
Harrison Ar
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The two quartz elements one top and one bottom heat unevenly. It browns uneven and because of the small interior you can't bake anything without constantly turning it. This does not work well with a cake batter. KEEP LOOKING
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 12 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

OK replacement for older models...

01/22/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement to my old black & decker spacemaker toaster oven... This model has a much sleeker and modern appearance. The heating elements heat up very quickly and seem to work very well. That said, I wish it came with the little tray that came with the older one, this only has the rack that lets all crumbs & grease/oil fall right on through. I have made a tin foil tray, but it is just not the same. Problem #2 is that the installation process was not very easy. The molding along the bottom of my cabinets was actually deeper than the screws that it came with, so I ended up at Lowe's searching for the right length... they were only $2, but still they were an added aggrevation. If it came with the tray and the installation were not so complicated, this would have been a 5 star review. Works great, and looks great now that I finally have it up, but be prepared for a little extra work to get it how you want it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

saves counter space

11/28/2010
By ,
Boulder, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this toaster oven to save counter space and replace an existing Black and Decker toaster oven. It is functional and looks nice. The screws that came with it for installation were not long enough. The directions looked good though were not completely accurate. It is lacking some features of the previous model such as the rack that slid out when the door opened and the unit shut off when the door was opened. It is also missing a cooking tray for baking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Black and Decker Spacesaver Toaster oven

10/18/2009
By ,
Hyattsville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return this item not because of the product but because of our cabinets. The cabinets we have would not accommdate the under counter mounting.
My old Black and Decker Spacesaver Toaster oven lasted 25 years! They make great products. The toaster oven still worked great ... I just couldn't get the door open anymore without prying it open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 15 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Great, but could use some improvements

10/10/2011
By ,
South, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would be nice if it came with a baking tray and have it so the toaster rack could be lowered for baking as well. My previous toaster oven, that was also under the cabinet, had that option for baking and it was great. It was also a B&D product. Would have keep it if the door spring didn't break. Also the template for this new model to install was worthless. Better off just clamping the mount to the shelf and then drilling the holes. Took me five minutes after that. Spent 45 minutes just trying to get the template to line up and tape it in place, as it rips, tears, and moves. I finally chucked it and lined up the mount myself. Installed in minutes after that. Does a nice job toasting and bakes good. I like the timer feature and the pre-heat notification. All in all, good for what I need, but I kept the old baking tray since none came with it. For 86 bucks, throw in a tray.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless
01/30/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this toaster oven to replace my old black and decker toaster oven that I had for many years. I like this new one except for the fact it didn't come with a bake pan . I know you can purchase one for $5.95 which isn't bad but they want to charge $8.95 for shipping which is bad considering that I think it should have come with the purchase. Plus like alot of people said the screws were too short so we had to buy some longer one. Overall it's a nice oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

A Nice Upgrade

01/19/2012
By ,
Central Point, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old B & D Spacemaker finally died after about 25 years (!), and I was a bit put off by all of the negative reviews from people like me who were replacing their ancient units with what appeared to be the closest thing still being manufactured. Went with the Applica instead and am so far very happy. Installation was pretty easy (though I did end up using the screws from my old B & D installation, which were the perfect length). I sometimes miss the convenience of the old, manual controls, but the precision and flexibility of the digital selection is very nice. Operation has been satisfactory, though the maximum toast setting shows that nobody seems to like toast as dark as I do, including Black & Decker. Now if it just lasts a couple of decades, like the last one, I'll really know I made the right choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Happy with my over the counter toaster oven.

02/09/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with the operation and glad to have the free countertop space. When purchasing, the specifications did not give clear measurements. I had to order and hope it would fit. Makes great toast. Wish it would have included the baking tray. Luckily I kept the one from my previous counter top toaster oven. It also does not broil. I miss that. All-in-all, I would recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless

Different kind of toaster oven

11/07/2010
By ,
Green Valley AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were surprised there is no broiler feature on this $80 oven. Also it did not come with a pan, but we wrote to the company and they said it was an item that we could purchase. They did send us a small complimentary pan. The controls seem difficult to work, but when it does toast or bake it does a good job. We do like the way it attaches to the bottom of the cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Black & Decker Spacemaker Toaster Oven, Black and Stainless
08/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were replacing our 18 year old Spacesaver which we loved dearly. This new Spacesaver is awesome. Heats up much faster than the old one, looks nicer and is much larger. We couldn't be any more pleased. The only thing is that it didn't bring a tray to fit the new larger space like the old Spacesaver so we are just using our old one. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next